DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is made in response to applicant’s RESPONSE TO ELECTION REQUIREMENT AND AMENDMENT, filed on 03/04/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of species I in the reply filed on 03/04/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant has indicated claims 1-4, 10, 11, 13, 14 and 16-21 readable on the elected species I. Examiner respectfully disagrees claims 2-4 and 10 readable on the elected species I illustrated by Figures 6-9 because claim 2 recites a limitation, “a sixth transistor configured to provide a first reference voltage to the common node based on a fourth signal,” which is not read on the elected species I. Further, the limitation, “a sixth transistor [T17/ T28] configured to provide a first reference voltage [Vbias] to the common node [n14/ n25] based on a fourth signal [GBk],” is readable on the non-elected species II-IV.
Accordingly, claims 2-10 and 15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/04/2026. Claims 1, 11-14 and 16-21 are considered in the application. An action follows below:
First Notice to Applicant(s)
Since some U.S. applications are not correctly translated from the foreign applications due to, e.g., incorrect gramma, missed punctuations, and etc., it is in the best interest of the patent community that applicant, in his/her normal review and/or rewriting of the disclosure, especially claims and, to take into consideration these editorial situations and make changes as necessary, in order to avoid at least unnecessary 112 issue(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 11-14 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
As per claim 1, this claim recites a limitation, “a first capacitor including a first electrode connected to the first node, and configured to store a first voltage based on a data signal transmitted through the first data line and corresponding to a first current to be provided to the first light- emitting element” in lines 5-8. Since it is unclear the above underlined limitation requires “a first voltage,” “a data signal,” or other corresponding to a first current, it is considered that the invention is not clearly defined.
In addition to claim 1, this claim further recites a limitation, “a second capacitor including a first electrode connected to the second node, and configured to store a second voltage based on a data signal transmitted through the first data line and corresponding to a second current to be provided to the second light-emitting element” in lines 14-17. Since it is unclear the above underlined limitation requires “a second voltage,” “a data signal,” or other corresponding to a second current, it is considered that the invention is not clearly defined.
As per claim 11, this claim recites a limitation, “a first capacitor connected between the first node and a second node, and configured to store a first voltage based on a data signal transmitted through the first data line and corresponding to a first current to be provided to the first light-emitting element” in lines 5-8. Since it is unclear the above underlined limitation requires “a first voltage,” “a data signal,” or other corresponding to a first current, it is considered that the invention is not clearly defined.
In addition to claim 11, this claim further recites a limitation, “a second capacitor connected between the third node and a fourth node, and configured to store a second voltage based on a data signal transmitted through the first data line and corresponding to a second current to be provided to the second light-emitting element” in lines 14-17. Since it is unclear the above underlined limitation requires “a second voltage,” “a data signal,” or other corresponding to a second current, it is considered that the invention is not clearly defined.
As per claims 12-14, these claims are therefore rejected for at least the reasons set for the in claim 11 above.
As per claim 18, this claim recites a limitation, “a first capacitor including a first electrode connected to the first node, and configured to store a first voltage based on a data signal transmitted through the first data line and corresponding to a first current to be provided to the first light- emitting element” in lines 13-16. Since it is unclear the above underlined limitation requires “a first voltage,” “a data signal,” or other corresponding to a first current, it is considered that the invention is not clearly defined.
As per claims 19-20, these claims are therefore rejected for at least the reasons set for the in claim 18 above.
As per claim 21, see the rejection of claim 1 for similar limitations.
Second Notice to Applicant(s)
Examiner notes that the specification is not the measure of invention. Therefore, limitations contained therein can’t be read into the claims for the purpose of avoiding the prior art. See In re Sporck, 55 CCPA 743, 386 F.2d 924, 155 USPQ 687 (1968).
Further, the names/ terms of the features/elements used in the pending application or pending claims may be different from the names/terms of the matching features/ elements of the prior arts; however, the matching features/ elements of the prior arts contain all characteristics/ functions of the features/elements DEFINED by the pending claims.
Note that in order to avoid confusion, the below citations in the below rejection(s) are mere one or more places in the reference to disclose the "claimed" limitation(s) and/or are directed to one or more of embodiments disclosed by the cited reference(s). In other words, the “claimed” features/limitations may be read in other places in the reference or other embodiments of the reference. In order to better understand how the claimed limitations are taught by the reference(s), a review of the entire reference(s) is suggested by the examiner. Applicant is reminded a prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention as not all relevant paragraphs may have been cited in the rejection. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuan et al. (WO 2023/000215 A1; hereinafter Yuan; see the corresponding US 2024/0161691 A1 for the following citations.)
As per claim 1, Yuan discloses a display device (see at least Fig. 1) comprising:
a first light-emitting element [EL] and a second light-emitting element [EL’] (see at least Figs. 2-3, disclosing a first light-emitting element, e.g., EL of one sub-pixel of a sub-pixel group P1 associated with a scan line G1(i) and a second light-emitting element, e.g., EL’ of another sub-pixel of the sub-pixel group P1 associated with a scan line G1(i+1);)
a first transistor [T1] configured to connect a first data line [D1] and a first node [a node between elements [T1, T3] shown in Fig. 3] to each other based on a first signal [G1(i)] (see at least Fig. 3;)
a first capacitor [Cst1] including a first electrode connected to the first node, and configured to store a first voltage based on a data signal transmitted through the first data line and corresponding to a first current to be provided to the first light-emitting element [EL] (see at least Fig. 3; ¶ 84;)
a second transistor [T3] connected between the first light-emitting element [EL] and a common node [a node between the elements [T3, T6, T7] shown in Fig. 3], and configured to provide the first current based on the first voltage to the first light-emitting element [EL] (see at least Fig. 3; ¶ 86;)
a third transistor [T4] configured to connect the first data line [D1] and a second node [a node between elements [T4, T6] shown in Fig. 3] to each other based on a second signal [G1(i+1)] different from the first signal [G1(i)] (see at least Fig. 3;)
a second capacitor [Cst2] including a first electrode connected to the second node (see at least Fig. 3,) and configured to store a second voltage based on a data signal transmitted through the first data line [D1] and corresponding to a second current to be provided to the second light-emitting element [EL’] (see at least Fig. 3; ¶ 88;)
a fourth transistor [T6] connected between the second light-emitting element [EL’] and the common node (see at least Fig. 3,) and configured to provide the second current based on the second voltage to the second light-emitting element [EL’] (see at least Fig. 3; ¶ 89;) and
a fifth transistor [T7] configured to connect a power voltage line [PL1] and the common node to each other based on a third signal [EM(i)] (see at least Fig. 3.)
As per claim 11, see the rejection of claim 1 for similar limitations. Yuan, at Fig. 3, further discloses the first capacitor [Cst1] connected between the first node and a second node, the second transistor [T3] connected between the second node and a common node, the second capacitor [Scts2] connected between the third node and a fourth node, and the fourth transistor [T6] connected between the fourth node and the common node.
As per claim 16, Yuan discloses: wherein while compensation operations are performed on the second transistor [T3] and the fourth transistor [T6], the second transistor [T3] and the fourth transistor [T6] are configured to operate as source followers (see at least Fig. 3; ¶¶ 86-87.)
As per claim 17, Yuan discloses wherein the first to fifth transistors are N-type metal oxide semiconductor (NMOS) transistors (see at least Fig. 3; ¶ 92, ¶ 108.)
As per claim 18, see the rejection of claim 1 for similar limitations. Yuan further discloses an electronic device (see at least Fig. 18; ¶ 160, disclosing an electronic device/ apparatus, such as a mobile phone, a tablet computer, a notebook computer and etc.) comprising: a plurality of pixels [a plurality of sub-pixels arranged in a plurality of sub-pixel groups [P1, P2, P3 …] of the pixel unit groups P] including a first pixel [e.g., a sub-pixel in a sub-pixel group P1] and a second pixel [another sub-pixel in the sub-pixel group P1], wherein the first pixel and the second pixel share a common circuit [a circuit including at least element T7, shown in Fig. 3] disposed therebetween and are connected to a first data line [D1] (see at least Figs. 1-3;) a scan driver [scanning driver; Fig. 1] configured to provide a scan signal to each of the plurality of pixels (see at least Figs. 1, 3; ¶¶ 78-79;) and a light emission driver [light emitting driver; Fig. 1] configured to provide a light-emitting signal to each of the plurality of pixels (see at least Figs. 1, 3; ¶¶ 78-79.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 13 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan.
As per claim 12, Yuan further discloses the device further comprising:
a third light-emitting element [EL] and a fourth light-emitting element [EL’] (see at least Figs. 1-3, disclosing a third light-emitting element, e.g., EL of one sub-pixel of a sub-pixel group P2 associated with a scan line G1(i) and a fourth light-emitting element, e.g., EL’ of another sub-pixel of the sub-pixel group P2 associated with a scan line G1(i+1);)
a sixth transistor [T1] configured to connect a second data line [D2], which is different from the first data line [D1], and a fifth node [a node between elements [T1, T3] shown in Fig. 3] to each other based on the first signal [G1(i)] (see at least Figs. 1-3;)
a third capacitor [Cst1] connected between the fifth node and a sixth node [a node between elements [T2, Cst1] shown in Fig. 3], and configured to store a third voltage based on a data signal transmitted through the second data line [D2] and corresponding to a third current to be provided to the third light-emitting element [EL] (see at least Fig. 3;)
a seventh transistor [T3] connected between a [[second]] common node [a node between elements [T3, T6, T7] shown in Fig. 3] and the third light-emitting element [EL], and configured to provide the third current based on the third voltage to the third light-emitting element (see at least Fig. 3;)
an eighth transistor [T4] configured to connect the second data line [D2] and a seventh node [a node between elements [T4, T6] shown in Fig. 3] to each other based on the second signal [G1(i+1)] (see at least Fig. 3;)
a fourth capacitor [Cst2] connected between the seventh node and an eighth node [a node between elements [T5, T6] shown in Fig. 3], and configured to store a fourth voltage based on a data signal transmitted through the second data line [D2] and corresponding to a fourth current to be provided to the fourth light-emitting element [EL’] (see at least Fig. 3;) and
a ninth transistor [T6] connected between the common node and the fourth light-emitting element [EL’], and configured to provide the fourth current based on the fourth voltage to the fourth light-emitting element [EL’] (see at least Fig. 3.)
Yuan, as discussed in the rejection of claim 11 and above, discloses (i) two sub-pixels in the first/vertical direction of a sub-pixel group sharing a common circuit comprising at least elements [T7, PL1, EM(i), a common node; Fig. 3], (ii) a common circuit associated with the first sub-pixel group [P1] being same as a common circuit associated with the second/adjacent sub-pixel group [P2], and (iii) both the transistors [T7] of the two common circuits turned on and off based on the same signal [EM(i)] (see at least Fig. 3.) Based on these teachings of Yuan, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of invention of the pending application would have readily modified four sub-pixels in the first and second sub-pixel groups [P1, P2] to share a common circuit, so as to reduce a number of the common circuits in the display device. Accordingly, the above modified Yuan obviously renders all limitations of this claim.
As per claim 13, Yuan further discloses:
the first transistor [T1 of the sub-pixel group P1; Figs. 1-3] and the second transistor [T3 of the sub-pixel group P1; Figs. 1-3] are disposed in a first area (see at least Figs. 1-3,)
the third transistor [T4 of the sub-pixel group P1; Figs. 1-3] and the fourth transistor [T6 of the sub-pixel group P1; Figs. 1-3] are disposed in a second area adjacent to the first area in a first/vertical direction in which the first data line [D1] extends (see at least Figs. 1-3,)
the sixth transistor [T1 of the sub-pixel group P2; Figs. 1-3] and the seventh transistor [T3 of the sub-pixel group P2; Figs. 1-3] are disposed in a third area adjacent to the first area in a second/horizontal direction intersecting the first direction (see at least Figs. 1-3,)
the eighth transistor [T4 of the sub-pixel group P2; Figs. 1-3] and the ninth transistor [T6 of the sub-pixel group P2; Figs. 1-3] are disposed in a fourth area adjacent to the second area in the second direction and adjacent to the third area in the first direction (see at least Figs. 1-3,) and
the fifth transistor [T7] is disposed in a fifth area disposed to the right and between the first and second fourth areas (see at least Figs. 1-3.)
Further, the above modified Yuan, discussed in the rejection of claim 12 above, obviously renders four sub-pixels sharing the common circuit. Therefore, the above modified Yuan obviously renders the fifth transistor [T7] disposed in a fifth area disposed between the first to fourth areas. Accordingly, the above modified Yuan obviously renders all limitations of this claim.
As per claims 19-20, see the discussion in the rejections of claims 12-13 for similar limitations.
As per claim 21, see the rejection of claim 1 for similar limitations. Yuan further discloses an electronic device, such as a mobile phone, a tablet computer, a notebook computer and etc. (see at least Fig. 18; ¶ 160,) comprising a memory; a processor; and the display device discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Yuan is silent to the processor executing an application stored in the memory; and the display device comprising a display module outputting video information provided by the application. Official Notice is taken that both the concept and the advantages of providing the processor executing an application stored in the memory and the display device comprising a display module outputting video information provided by the application are well-known and expected in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention of the pending application to modify the electronic device of Yuan to have the processor executing an application stored in the memory and the display device comprising a display module outputting video information provided by the application, in accordance with the particular electronic device.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0366849 A1; hereinafter Lee.)
As per claim 14, Yuan, discussed in the rejection of claim 13, discloses all limitations of this claim, but is silent to fifth to eight capacitors, as claimed.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses a related display device (see at least Fig. 1) comprising a plurality of pixels, each pixel comprising a [[holding]] capacitor [C2], which is connected between a power voltage line [ELVDD] and a node [ND2] connected to a terminal of the driving transistor [T1], for holding a voltage at the node during an initialization period (see at least Fig. 2; ¶ 72, ¶ 76,) thereby improving display quality (see at least ¶ 5.) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of invention of the pending application to further modify the display device of the Yuan reference to include a [[holding]] capacitor associated with each pixel and in the fifth area as Yuan discloses the power voltage line of the common circuit is in the fifth area, in view of the teaching in the Lee reference, to improve the above modified display device of the Yuan reference for the predictable result of improving display quality.
Accordingly, the above modified Yuan obviously renders: a fifth [[holding]] capacitor connected between the second node and a power voltage line; a sixth [[holding]] capacitor connected between the fourth node and the power voltage line; a seventh [[holding]] capacitor connected between the sixth node and the power voltage line; and an eighth [[holding]] capacitor connected between the eighth node and the power voltage line, wherein one electrode of each of the fifth to eighth capacitors is disposed in the fifth area.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kwak (US 2006/0113551 A1) discloses a related display device comprising four light emitting elements [OLED1a-OLED4a] associated with a common circuit [111a] (see at least Fig. 4.) Yang (US 9,978,307 B2) discloses a related display device comprising two light emitting elements [OLED1-OLED2] associated with a common circuit including at least element [Cst] (see at least Fig. 2.)
/Jimmy H Nguyen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626