DETAILED ACTION
This action is in reply to an application filed March 11th, 2025. Claims 1-17 are currently pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 11th, 2025 and April 3rd, 2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 8 of the claim recites housing such that ones of said at least two components (emphasis added) which should be –one--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, 9, and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Layfield et al. (US Pub. No. 20200122715 A1), herein after Layfield.
Regarding claim 1, Layfield teaches [a] central electrical device for operating an axle of a trailer or semitrailer of a utility vehicle, the axle being at least one of a recuperation axle and an electric drive axle, the central electrical device comprising (Layfield: Para. 0014, teaching a motor generator coupled to an axle of a trailer): a housing (Layfield: Para. 0164, teaching a battery with a control enclosure); at least two components, wherein said at least two components are at least one of electrical components and electronic components; and, said at least two components being in said housing and being interconnected inside said housing such that ones of said at least two components which operate at a same voltage level are routed to a common interface, formed on said housing, for connection to the axle of the trailer or semitrailer of the utility vehicle (Layfield: Para. 0166, teaching multiple electrical devices such as connected to the battery; and Para. 0169, teaching a communication interface that connects the battery to the trailer and the axle that connects the vehicle to the trailer).
Regarding claim 4, Layfield remains as applied as in claim 1 and goes on to further teach [t]he central electrical device of claim 1, wherein said electrical components of said at least two components operating at a high voltage level are connected via a high-voltage distribution and protection unit to a high-voltage source positioned in said housing and are routed to a common high-voltage interface for operating a drive component of the axle (Layfield: Para. 0149, teaching that the energy storage device may be operate at a high-voltage power and is connected to transformers or converters for use elsewhere in the system).
Regarding claim 5, Layfield remains as applied as in claim 1 and goes on to further teach [t]he central electrical device of claim 1, wherein said at least one of electrical components and electronic components are routed via a low-voltage module to a common low-voltage interface for controlling at least one low-voltage component positioned on the axle (Layfield: Para. 0149, teaching that the energy storage device may be operate at a high-voltage power and is connected to transformers or converters for use elsewhere in the system where it is converter to low-voltage power).
Regarding claim 9, Layfield remains as applied as in claim 4 and goes on to further teach [t]he central electrical device of claim 4, wherein said at least one of electrical components and electronic components are routed via a low-voltage module to a common low-voltage interface for controlling at least one low-voltage component positioned on the axle; wherein said high-voltage source is configured to supply voltage to an inverter positioned on at least one of the driving axle and the recuperation axle via said high-voltage interface configured as a direct current interface; and, said low-voltage interface is configured to supply and control a control device of the electric motor, the control device being mounted on the axle (Layfield: Para. 0149, teaching that the energy storage device may be operate at a high-voltage power and is connected to transformers or converters for use elsewhere in the system where it is converter to low-voltage power; and Para. 0179, teaching an intelligent controller that distributes voltage from the batteries to motor-generators).
Regarding claim 11, Layfield remains as applied as in claim 5 and goes on to further teach [t]he central electrical device of claim 5, wherein a control device outside said housing for the trailer or semitrailer, which is connected via a standardized interface between the tractor and the semitrailer to a data and energy line of the utility vehicle, is routed from outside via a control device interface of said housing to said low-voltage module and, via the low-voltage interface of said housing, outputs control signals to a control device of the axle (Layfield: Para. 0183, teaching a power line communication unit that connects to a communication interface, the truck, all connected trailers, and the battery).
Regarding claim 12, Layfield remains as applied as in claim 11 and goes on to further teach [t]he central electrical device of claim 11, wherein the control device outside the housing is a brake control device (Layfield: Para. 0166, teaching that the control module includes brake control).
Regarding claim 13, Layfield remains as applied as in claim 11 and goes on to further teach [t]he central electrical device of claim 11, wherein the control device is connected to a telematics unit of the utility vehicle for improving at least one of driving dynamics, efficiency, and vehicle monitoring of the utility vehicle (Layfield: Para. 0186, teaching that an intelligent controller connects to various sensors to improve operations of the tractor-trailer and the dolly).
Regarding claim 14, Layfield remains as applied as in claim 1 and goes on to further teach [t]he central electrical device of claim 1 further comprising an electrical power interface configured to be routed via at least one power interface of said housing to an auxiliary unit of the trailer or semitrailer for the operation thereof; and, said electrical power interface is arranged in said housing (Layfield: Para. 0143, teaching that that the electrical charge from the battery may be used to power auxiliary devices).
Regarding claim 15, Layfield remains as applied as in claim 14 and goes on to further teach [t]he central electrical device of claim 14, wherein the auxiliary unit of the trailer or semitrailer is a cooling unit (Layfield: Para. 0143, teaching that that the electrical charge from the battery may be used to power auxiliary devices such as refrigeration, an HVAC unit, or other climate control systems).
Regarding claim 16, Layfield remains as applied as in claim 1 and goes on to further teach [t]he central electrical device of claim 1 further comprising a battery charger connected to a further high-voltage interface of said housing for external energy transfer into and/or from a high-voltage battery in at least one direction; and, said battery charger is arranged in said housing (Layfield: Para. 0149, teaching that the energy storage device may be operate at a high-voltage power and is connected to transformers or converters for use elsewhere in the system where it is converter to low-voltage power).
Regarding claim 17, Layfield remains as applied as in claim 1 and goes on to further teach [t]he central electrical device of claim 1 further comprising a mechanical interface for fastening to a chassis of the trailer or semitrailer of the utility vehicle being formed on said housing (Layfield: Para. 0171, teaching that the enclosure is mounted to the frame of the vehicle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Layfield as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Healy et al. (US Pub. No. 20180236994 A1), herein after Healy.
Regarding claim 2, Layfield remains as applied as in claim 1, however Layfield is silent to [t]he central electrical device of claim 1, wherein the interconnection, within the housing, of said ones of said at least two components operating at the same voltage level is accomplished via a distribution unit corresponding to the same voltage level.
In a similar field, Healy teaches [t]he central electrical device of claim 1, wherein the interconnection, within the housing, of said ones of said at least two components operating at the same voltage level is accomplished via a distribution unit corresponding to the same voltage level (examiner interprets that the distribution unit is a circuit that controls power supplied to electrical components) (Healy: Para. 0042, teaching an electrical system for connecting a trailer to a towing vehicle; and Para. 0056, teaching a control system circuit attached to or integrated in a towing vehicle that uses known components such as fuses, fuse block, relay modules) for the benefit of distributing power to various electrical components of the vehicle and trailer.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the electrical power system that connects the vehicle to a trailer from Layfield to utilize a control circuit that uses known components such as fuses, fuse block, relay modules, as taught by Healy, for the benefit of distributing power to various electrical components of the vehicle and trailer.
Regarding claim 3, Layfield and Healy remain as applied as in claim 2, and Healy goes on to further teach [t]he central electrical device of claim 2, wherein said distribution unit has a protection unit (examiner interprets that the protection unit is a fuse and/or relay) (Healy: Para. 0056, teaching a control system circuit attached to or integrated in a towing vehicle that uses known components such as fuses, fuse block, relay modules).
Regarding claim 6, Layfield remains as applied as in claim 5, however Layfield is silent to [t]he central electrical device of claim 5, wherein said low-voltage module has a low-voltage distribution and protection unit.
In a similar field, Healy teaches [t]he central electrical device of claim 5, wherein said low-voltage module has a low-voltage distribution and protection unit (examiner interprets that the distribution unit is a circuit that controls power supplied to electrical components and that the protection unit is a fuse and/or relay) (Healy: Para. 0042, teaching an electrical system for connecting a trailer to a towing vehicle; and Para. 0056, teaching a control system circuit attached to or integrated in a towing vehicle that uses known components such as fuses, fuse block, relay modules) for the benefit of protecting the electrical system against sudden electrical surges above a certain level.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the electrical power system that connects the vehicle to a trailer from Layfield with the use of fuses and relays, as taught by Healy, for the benefit of protecting the electrical system against sudden electrical surges above a certain level.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Layfield as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Timofeev et al. (US Pub. No. 20210129915A1), herein after Timofeev.
Regarding claim 7, Layfield remains as applied as in claim 5, however Layfield is silent to [t]he central electrical device of claim 5, wherein the low-voltage module is connected directly to a low-voltage source.
In a similar field, Timofeev teaches [t]he central electrical device of claim 5, wherein the low-voltage module is connected directly to a low-voltage source (Timofeev: Para. 0046, teaching a semi-truck with low-voltage batteries that are connected to low-voltage components) for the benefit of improving the efficiency of the operation of low-powered components by reducing the need to use power converters and transformers.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the electrical system for powering low voltage components from Layfield to have them be directly powered by low-powered batteries, as taught by Timofeev, for the benefit of improving the efficiency of the operation of low-powered components by reducing the need to use power converters and transformers.
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Layfield as applied to claims 4 and 1 above, and further in view of Kemmet et al. (US Pub. No. 20220281307 A1), herein after Kemmet.
Regarding claim 8, Layfield remains as applied as in claim 4, however Layfield is silent to [t]he central electrical device of claim 4, wherein said high-voltage interface, which is connected to the high-voltage source via an inverter, is configured as an alternating current interface for direct voltage supply to an electric motor driving the axle.
In a similar field, Kemmet teaches [t]he central electrical device of claim 4, wherein said high-voltage interface, which is connected to the high-voltage source via an inverter, is configured as an alternating current interface for direct voltage supply to an electric motor driving the axle (Kemmet: Para. 0027, teaching high-voltage batteries that operate using DC voltage are connected to an inverter that produces AC voltage) for the benefit of allowing electrical components that require AC voltage to connect to DC voltage power sources.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the electrical system for connecting and powering a vehicle and trailer from Layfield to use inverters that can change the current type, as taught by Kemmet, for the benefit of allowing electrical components that require AC voltage to connect to DC voltage power sources.
Regarding claim 10, Layfield remains as applied as in claim 1, however Layfield is silent to [t]he central electrical device of claim 1 further comprising a cooling system for the axle arranged in said housing; and said cooling system being routed via a cooling line located within said housing to a coolant interface, formed on said housing, for cooling the axle.
In a similar field, Kemmet teaches [t]he central electrical device of claim 1 further comprising a cooling system for the axle arranged in said housing; and said cooling system being routed via a cooling line located within said housing to a coolant interface, formed on said housing, for cooling the axle (Kemmet: Para. 0042, teaching a cooling system for the battery and axle that cools the battery and axle using fooling fluids that run throughout the cooling system) for the benefit of reducing the number of components that are running throughout the system.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the cooling system from Layfield to run cooling lines through the battery and the axle, as taught by Kemmet, for the benefit of reducing the number of components that are running throughout the system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Duncan; Cory (US Pub. No. 20220329050 A1) discloses a system and method for connecting the electrical system of a vehicle with a trailer.
Moller; Scot R. (US Pub. No. 20200290414 A1) discloses an accessory that connects an electrical system of a towing vehicle with a trailer.
/A.K.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663