DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Klein et al. US 11414904.
Regarding claim 1, Klein discloses a front trunk system (abstract), comprising:
a latch device (10) configured to engage with a striker (22) provided at a front hood (13) for covering a front trunk (17) of a vehicle (11);
an operation portion (controller 117) provided in the front trunk and configured to transmit an operation force input (via cable 58, fig2a) thereto to the latch device via a first transmission path (to release from both primary and secondary latch) or a second transmission path (release from primary latch); and
a switching mechanism (vehicle speed sensor, not labeled, see col.27 line 52 to col. 29 line 24) configured to switch paths for transmitting the operation force input to the operation portion to the latch device based on a state of the vehicle (determining the speed of the vehicle, comparing it to the vehicle speed threshold 3004, all based on input from the vehicle speed sensor determines whether the controller 117 will energize the actuator 338 or not, enabling release of primary latch or secondary latch position via pull of cable 58), wherein the latch device includes:
a latch (12) configured to engage with the striker when the front hood is in a closed state and be biased by a biasing member in a direction to disengage from the striker;
a primary pawl (14) configured to mesh with the latch when the latch engaging with the striker is disposed at a predetermined primary latch position (fig2a) to maintain the front hood at a fully closed position (fig2a); and
a secondary pawl (16) configured to mesh with the latch when the latch released from a meshing state with the primary pawl is disposed at a predetermined secondary latch position (fig4a) to maintain the front hood at a half-engaged position (fig4a),
when the vehicle is in a first state including a stopped state, the switching mechanism connects the operation portion and the latch device via the first transmission path, allowing the meshing state between the latch and the primary pawl and a meshing state between the latch and the secondary pawl to be released by the operation force input to the operation portion, (i.e., when predetermined condition does not exist and latch moves to open position, see col. 27 line 23 to col. 27 line 51) and
when the vehicle is in a second state including a traveling state, the switching mechanism connects the operation portion and the latch device via the second transmission path, allowing the meshing state between the latch and the primary pawl to be released by the operation force input to the operation portion (i.e., when speed is above threshold and only the primary pawl is released therefore released from primary latch position, see col. 28 lines 50 – 59).
Regarding claim 2, Klein discloses the front trunk system according to claim 1, wherein the second state includes at least one of a state where a speed of the vehicle is equal to or greater than a predetermined value or a state where a gear position of the vehicle is other than a parking range. (col.28 lines 50-59)
Regarding claim 5, Klein discloses the front trunk system according to claim 1, wherein the switching mechanism is disposed apart from the latch device. (fig1-2a)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein et al. US 11414904 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Compeau et al. US 4869537.
Regarding claim 3, Klein discloses the front trunk system according to claim 1, further comprising: wherein the switching mechanism includes an electric actuator (76) configured to operate with power.
However, Klein does not teach an auxiliary power supply, and the actuator is configured to operate with power from a battery mounted on the vehicle or the auxiliary power supply.
Compeau teaches a trunk system (fig1) comprising an auxiliary power supply (capacitor 303) wherein the electric actuator (38) configured to operate (via required circuity connecting both the auxiliary power supply and battery to actuator) with power from a battery (146) mounted on the vehicle or the auxiliary power supply. (col. 9 lines 9 -18)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Klein with the addition of an auxiliary power supply and battery in order to provide an alternate means to energize the actuator (i.e. when battery is discharged, Compeau col.9 lines 9-18).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Klein and Compeau further teaches the front trunk system according to claim 3, wherein the auxiliary power supply includes a capacitor (Compeau 303) configured to be charged with power from the battery (Compeau 146), and a boost circuit (Compeau, circuity involved connecting capacitor and battery to actuator) configured to boost power supplied from the capacitor to the electric actuator. (Compeau, col. 9 lines 9 -18)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Klein with the addition of an auxiliary power supply (capacitor) and battery with the associated boost circuit in order to provide an alternate means to energize the actuator. (i.e. when battery is discharged, Compeau col.9 lines 9-18).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Klein and Compeau further teaches the front trunk system according to claim 3, wherein the switching mechanism (Klein) is disposed apart from the latch device (Klein), and the auxiliary power supply (Compeau) is disposed near the latch device or the switching mechanism. (Klein, fig1-2a, Compeau fig1-7)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Art is related to vehicle hood/trunk latch system.
Related but not relied upon prior art: US 4702094 drawn to an electronic trunk system, US 11808064 drawn to a front latch system, US 11220848 drawn to a front trunk latch system.
/F.F.A./
Examiner
Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675