DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application 19/076,671 filed on 03/11/2025.
Claims 1-16 are presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for domestic priority to which claims benefit of CON of PCT/EP2023/073138 08/23/2023 and Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application in GERMANY 10 2022 124 559.4 09/23/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 03/11/2025 and 04/03/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
6. The drawings are objected to because Figures 1 and 2 are missing descriptive legends. In particular, Figures 1 and 2 contain a plurality of boxes having no descriptive legends making it impossible to understand the drawing. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application.
Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-3, 6-8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Risse et al. (US 2015/0349977 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Risse teaches a trailer network system for data communication in a trailer vehicle ([paragraph 0004, 0028] discloses a trailer data-oriented network system for data communication in a trailer vehicle),
the trailer network system comprising: at least two main control units for executing safety-relevant functions of the trailer vehicle ([Fig 1 [ 12, 13], paragraph 0027-0028] describes the trailer data-oriented network system comprising The trailer vehicle 6 is equipped with an electronic trailer brake system 12 (e.g. first main control unit) that reacts to brake operation signals from the driver sitting in the driver's cab 3 (e.g. safety relevant function) and converts them into control commands for brake actuators on the wheels 7a, 7b, 7c of the trailer vehicles 6. Furthermore, an electronic expansion module 13 (e.g. second main control unit) is arranged in the trailer vehicle 6 and is connected to the electronic trailer brake system 12 via a CAN bus line 17 shown by dotted lines, to the electronic expansion module 13);
at least one auxiliary control unit for executing non-safety-relevant functions of the trailer vehicle ([Fig 1 [ 11,15, 16], paragraph 0029, 0039] describes The cooling unit 11 such as the operating status of a cooling unit 11, the indication of a defrost cycle for the cold room (e.g. non-safety relevant function), a tire pressure monitoring system 16 for indicating tire pressure (e.g. non-safety relevant function, a display and operator control console 15 (e.g. auxiliary control unit) and other functional elements that are arranged in or on the trailer vehicle 6 are connected to the electronic expansion module 13 for signaling purposes via CAN bus lines 17 to the electronic expansion module 13);
a main data bus having a plurality of main data bus interfaces, wherein each of said at least two main control units is connected to a main data bus interface of said plurality of main data bus interfaces and said auxiliary control unit is unconnected to the main data bus ([Fig 1 [ 11,12, 13, 15, 16], paragraph 0027-0030] describes main bus interfaces for data (e.g. main data bus interfaces) connection between electronic trailer brake system 12 (e.g. first main control unit) and electronic expansion module 13 (e.g. second main control unit) and The cooling unit 11, a tire pressure monitoring system 16 and a display and operator control console 15 (e.g. auxiliary control unit) not connected to the CAN bus (e.g. main data bus));
and an auxiliary data bus having a plurality of auxiliary data bus interfaces , wherein each of said at least two main control units is connected to one of said plurality of auxiliary data bus interfaces and said auxiliary control unit is connected to a further auxiliary data bus interface of said plurality of auxiliary data bus interfaces ([Fig 1 [ 11,12, 13, 15, 16], paragraph 0027-0030] describes CAN data bus (e.g. auxiliary data bus) having CAN bus interfaces (e.g. auxiliary data bus interfaces) which connects the cooling unit 11, a tire pressure monitoring system 16 and a display and operator control console 15 (e.g. auxiliary control unit), the electronic expansion module 13 is connected via the CAN data bus (e.g. auxiliary data bus) to the cooling unit 11, a tire pressure monitoring system 16 and a display and operator control console 15 (e.g. auxiliary control unit)).
Regarding claim 2, Risse teaches the trailer network system, wherein: each of said at least two main control units corresponds, in each case, to a control unit configured to influence a driving function of the trailer vehicle ([paragraph 0027] describes The trailer vehicle 6 is equipped with an electronic trailer brake system 12 that reacts to brake operation signals from the driver sitting in the driver's cab 3 and converts them into control commands for brake actuators on the wheels 7a, 7b, 7c of the trailer vehicles 6); and, said auxiliary control unit corresponds to a further control unit configured to leave the driving function of the trailer vehicle uninfluenced ([paragraph 0029,0041] describes a display and operator control console 15 and other functional elements that are arranged in or on the trailer vehicle 6 (e.g. auxiliary control unit) are connected to the electronic expansion module 13 for signaling purposes via CAN bus lines 17 and driver's cab 3 allow the vertical level of the trailer vehicle 6 and a lift axle control that is possibly present which cannot be influenced by the driver directly on the trailer vehicle).
Regarding claim 3, Risse teaches the trailer network system, wherein at least one of: the control unit configured to influence a driving function of the trailer vehicle is configured to activate at least one actuator of the trailer vehicle; and, the further control unit is configured to execute an actuator-free function ([paragraph 0027-0028] describes The trailer vehicle 6 is equipped with an electronic trailer brake system 12 that reacts to brake operation signals from the driver sitting in the driver's cab 3 and converts them into control commands for brake actuators on the wheels 7a, 7b, 7c of the trailer vehicles 6. The electronic expansion module 13 additionally allows a series of supplementary functions in conjunction with the electronic trailer brake system 12, particularly the operation of the rear monitoring system that has the ultrasonic sensors 10 ).
Regarding claim 6, Risse teaches the trailer network system, wherein said at least one auxiliary control unit corresponds to one of: a telematics system; a wireless interface module; an operating unit; and, a display unit ([Fig 1 [ 11, 15, 16], paragraph 0018, 0027-0030] describes main bus interfaces for data (e.g. main data bus interfaces) connection between electronic trailer brake system 12 (e.g. first main control unit) and electronic expansion module 13 (e.g. second main control unit) and The cooling unit 11(e.g. auxiliary control unit), a tire pressure monitoring system 16 and a display and operator control console 15 (e.g. auxiliary control unit) not connected to the CAN bus (e.g. main data bus), a telematics controller (e.g. auxiliary control unit)).
Regarding claim 7, Risse teaches the trailer network system, wherein said at least two main control units is a plurality of main control units, wherein: one of said plurality of main control units corresponds to a trailer brake control unit and is configured to activate friction brakes of the trailer vehicle, and, a further one of said plurality of main control units is a control unit for activating an electric drive of the trailer vehicle, wherein safety-critical data include braking requests for activation of friction brakes and activating signals for activation of the electric drive, which are addressed to one of said plurality of main control units; or ,a trailer brake control unit is formed by at least two of said plurality of main control units, wherein at least one of said plurality of main control units forming said trailer brake control unit is configured to activate the friction brakes of the trailer vehicle, wherein safety- critical data include braking requests for activation of the friction brakes, which are addressed to at least one of said at least two main control units forming said trailer brake control unit ([Fig 1 [ 12, 13], paragraph 0027-0028, 0035-0041] describes the trailer data-oriented network system comprising The trailer vehicle 6 is equipped with an electronic trailer brake system 12 (e.g. first main control unit) that reacts to brake operation signals from the driver sitting in the driver's cab 3 (e.g. safety relevant function) and converts them into control commands for brake actuators on the wheels 7a, 7b, 7c of the trailer vehicles and an electronic trailer brake system 12 (e.g. first main control unit) that forming said trailer brake control unit is configured to activate reduce brake (e.g. friction brake) of the trailer vehicle. The trailer vehicle 6 is equipped with that reacts to brake operation signals from the driver sitting in the driver's cab 3 (e.g. safety relevant function) include braking requests for activation of reduce brakes (e.g. friction brakes and activating signals for activation of the electric drive, which are addressed to an electronic trailer brake system 12 (e.g. first main control unit)).
Regarding claim 8, Risse teaches the trailer network system, wherein: said at least two main control units is a plurality of main control units; one of said plurality of main control units is a trailer interface module having a first towing-vehicle data interface, wherein at least one of: said first towing-vehicle data interface is an Ethernet data interface; and, said trailer interface module has a second towing-vehicle data interface, wherein the second towing-vehicle data interface is an interface according to standard ISO 11992-3 ([Fig 1 [12, 13], paragraph 0011-0013, 0027-0030] describes main bus interfaces for data (e.g. main data bus interfaces) connection between electronic trailer brake system 12 (e.g. first main control unit) and electronic expansion module 13 (e.g. second main control unit) and main bus interfaces for data (e.g. main data bus interfaces) is a trailer interface module having antenna-based telematics interface in the towing vehicle and another antenna-based telematics interface in the towing vehicle (e.g. second towing-vehicle data interface) is any version of ISO 11992 (e.g. 11992-3)).
Regarding claim 10, Risse teaches the trailer network system, wherein one of said at least two-main control units is a trailer brake control unit having a third towing-vehicle data interface; and, said third towing-vehicle data interface is an interface according to standard ISO 11992-2 ([Fig 1 [12, 13], paragraph 0011-0013, 0027-0030] describes any another antenna-based telematics interface in the towing vehicle (e.g. third towing-vehicle data interface) is any version of ISO 11992 (e.g. 11992-2)).
Regarding claim 11, Risse teaches A trailer vehicle comprising the trailer network system of claim 1([paragraph 0004, 0028] discloses a trailer vehicle comprising a trailer data-oriented network system for data communication).
Regarding claim 12, Risse teaches A towing vehicle/trailer combination comprising the trailer vehicle of claim 11 and, a towing vehicle ([paragraph 0004, 0025-0026] discloses a trailer vehicle comprising a trailer and a truck 1 that consists of a towing vehicle 2 and a trailer vehicle 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Risse et al. (US 2015/0349977 A1); in view of Boyce et al. (US 2020/0114892 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Risse teaches the trailer network system, wherein each of said at least two main control units is configured to activate at least one actuator of the trailer vehicle including (Risse: [paragraph 0027-0028] describes The trailer vehicle 6 is equipped with an electronic trailer brake system 12 that reacts to brake operation signals from the driver sitting in the driver's cab 3 and converts them into control commands for brake actuators on the wheels 7a, 7b, 7c of the trailer vehicles 6. The electronic expansion module 13 additionally allows a series of supplementary functions in conjunction with the electronic trailer brake system 12, particularly the operation of the rear monitoring system that has the ultrasonic sensors 10):
Risse fails to teach wherein activate at least one actuator of the trailer vehicle including: an actuator for actuating a service brake; an actuator for actuating a parking brake; an actuator for at least one of lifting and lowering a lifting axle; an actuator for at least one of lifting and lowering a trailer support foot; an actuator for activating a trailer-vehicle level control; an actuator for driving or braking a wheel; and, said auxiliary control unit is configured to execute a function which differs from an activation of said at least one actuator.
However, Boyce teaches wherein activate at least one actuator of the trailer vehicle including: an actuator for actuating a service brake; an actuator for actuating a parking brake; an actuator for at least one of lifting and lowering a lifting axle; an actuator for at least one of lifting and lowering a trailer support foot; an actuator for activating a trailer-vehicle level control; an actuator for driving or braking a wheel; and, said auxiliary control unit is configured to execute a function which differs from an activation of said at least one actuator ([paragraph 0008, 0031] describes controlling, responsive to the total brake actuator force, at least one of a first valve configured to control the first fluid pressure and a second valve configured to control the second fluid pressure to adjust a corresponding one of the first fluid pressure and the second fluid pressure and thereby obtain an adjusted total brake actuator force includes Foot pedal valve 98 is supported within the cabin of the vehicle and is provided to allow controlled application of the brakes 68 by the vehicle operator for service braking by selectively releasing fluid pressure from fluid reservoirs 86, 88. Actuation of valve 98 by the vehicle operator allows fluid pressure to flow from reservoirs 86, 88 to relay valves 100, 102, 104, and tractor protection valve 116. Relay valves 100, 102, 104 increase the volume of fluid, and therefore the speed, at which fluid is delivered to, and exhausted from, wheel brakes 68 in order to eliminate lag times between the commanded and actual application and release of brakes 68. Relay valves 100, 102, 104 may operate under the control of controller 84 to implement service braking, traction control and stability control when required. Modulator valves 106, 108 are provided to implement an anti-lock braking function. During normal braking, valves 106, 108 allow fluid pressure to pass from relay valve 100 to wheel brakes 68 without interference. During a loss of traction, however, signals from controller 84 cause valves 106, 108 to modulate the fluid pressure to prevent lockup of the wheels. Quick release valves 110, 112, 114 increases the speed at which fluid pressure is exhausted from portions of fluid circuit 70. Valve 114, in particular, increases the speed at which fluid pressure is exhausted from wheel brakes 68 on the drive axle when brakes 68 are released. Tractor protection valve 116 transmits pneumatic signals relating to operation of the trailer wheel brakes from the tractor to the trailer. Valve 116 also protects the fluid supply for the tractor in the event of a break in the fluid connection between the tractor and trailer. Parking control valve 120 delivers fluid to, and exhausts fluid from, wheel brakes 68 on both the drive axles in the tractor and the trailer axles in the trailer(s) (through tractor protection valve 116 and glad hand connector 96) in order to implement parking or emergency braking in the tractor and trailer(s)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Risse to include wherein activate at least one actuator of the trailer vehicle including: an actuator for actuating a service brake; an actuator for actuating a parking brake; an actuator for at least one of lifting and lowering a lifting axle; an actuator for at least one of lifting and lowering a trailer support foot; an actuator for activating a trailer-vehicle level control; an actuator for driving or braking a wheel; and, said auxiliary control unit is configured to execute a function which differs from an activation of said at least one actuator as taught by Boyce. One ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Risse in the Boyce system in order to provide vehicle brake actuator which generates actuating forces during both service braking and parking or emergency braking ([paragraph 0002] in Boyce).
12. Claims 5 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Risse et al. (US 2015/0349977 A1); in view of Besier et al. (US 2017/0072920 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Risse fails to teach the trailer network system wherein at least one of said at least two main control units includes a data interface unit configured to differentiate between disrupted data traffic and undisrupted data traffic on said main data bus and, in a case of undisrupted data traffic, to ignore predefined safety-critical data on said auxiliary data bus which are addressed to said at least one of said at least two main control units.
However, Besier teaches the trailer network system wherein at least one of said at least two main control units includes a data interface unit configured to differentiate between disrupted data traffic and undisrupted data traffic on said main data bus and, in a case of undisrupted data traffic, to ignore predefined safety-critical data on said auxiliary data bus which are addressed to said at least one of said at least two main control unit ([paragraph 0007, 0009, 0021, 0074-0076] describes any type of vehicle brake system is connected by means of at least two independent communications connections 501, 502 or data buses (first data bus 501: Bus 1, second data bus 502: Bus 2) to the environment control unit or to a controller network in which a number of control units—also including the environment control unit—are incorporated (e.g. the trailer network system), a brake system that is suitable for automated driving and in particular meets the safety requirements and data are received from an environment control unit or sent to the environment control unit via the first interface and data are received from an environment control unit or sent to the environment control unit via the second interface. the first interface is connected to a first interface of an environment control unit by means of a first data bus and the second interface is connected to a second interface of the environment control unit by means of a second data bus (e.g. auxiliary data bus), i.e. one that is independent of the first data bus. A reliable connection is thus guaranteed even if one of the data buses is disrupted. the first interface is connected by means of a first data bus to an interface of a first environment control unit and the second interface is connected to an interface of a second environment control unit by means of a second data bus, i.e. one that is independent of the first data bus. A reliable connection is thus guaranteed even if one of the data buses is disrupted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Risse to include the trailer network system wherein at least one of said at least two main control units includes a data interface unit configured to differentiate between disrupted data traffic and undisrupted data traffic on said main data bus and, in a case of undisrupted data traffic, to ignore predefined safety-critical data on said auxiliary data bus which are addressed to said at least one of said at least two main control unit as taught by Besier. One ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Risse in the Besier system in order to provide a brake system that is suitable for automated driving and in particular meets the safety requirements ([paragraph 0009] in Besier).
Regarding claim 13, Risse teaches A method for operating a trailer network system for data communication in a trailer vehicle, the trailer network system including at least two main control units for executing safety-relevant functions of the trailer vehicle ([paragraph 0004, 0028] discloses a trailer data-oriented network system for data communication in a trailer vehicle [Fig 1 [ 12, 13], paragraph 0027-0028] describes the trailer data-oriented network system comprising The trailer vehicle 6 is equipped with an electronic trailer brake system 12 (e.g. first main control unit) that reacts to brake operation signals from the driver sitting in the driver's cab 3 (e.g. safety relevant function) and converts them into control commands for brake actuators on the wheels 7a, 7b, 7c of the trailer vehicles 6. Furthermore, an electronic expansion module 13 (e.g. second main control unit) is arranged in the trailer vehicle 6 and is connected to the electronic trailer brake system 12 via a CAN bus line 17 shown by dotted lines, to the electronic expansion module 13),
at least one auxiliary control unit for executing non-safety-relevant functions of the trailer vehicle ([Fig 1 [ 11,15, 16], paragraph 0029, 0039] describes The cooling unit 11 such as the operating status of a cooling unit 11, the indication of a defrost cycle for the cold room (e.g. non-safety relevant function), a tire pressure monitoring system 16 for indicating tire pressure (e.g. non-safety relevant function, a display and operator control console 15 (e.g. auxiliary control unit) and other functional elements that are arranged in or on the trailer vehicle 6 are connected to the electronic expansion module 13 for signaling purposes via CAN bus lines 17 to the electronic expansion module 13),
a main data bus having a plurality of main data bus interfaces, wherein each of the at least two main control units is connected to a main data bus interface of the plurality of main data bus interfaces and the auxiliary control unit is unconnected to the main data bus ([Fig 1 [ 11,12, 13, 15, 16], paragraph 0027-0030] describes main bus interfaces for data (e.g. main data bus interfaces) connection between electronic trailer brake system 12 (e.g. first main control unit) and electronic expansion module 13 (e.g. second main control unit) and The cooling unit 11, a tire pressure monitoring system 16 and a display and operator control console 15 (e.g. auxiliary control unit) not connected to the CAN bus (e.g. main data bus)),
the trailer network system further including an auxiliary data bus having a plurality of auxiliary data bus interfaces, wherein each of the at least two main control units is connected to an auxiliary data bus interface of the plurality of auxiliary data bus interfaces and the auxiliary control unit is connected to a further auxiliary data bus interface of the plurality of auxiliary data bus interfaces ([Fig 1 [ 11,12, 13, 15, 16], paragraph 0027-0030] describes CAN data bus (e.g. auxiliary data bus) having CAN bus interfaces (e.g. auxiliary data bus interfaces) which connects the cooling unit 11, a tire pressure monitoring system 16 and a display and operator control console 15 (e.g. auxiliary control unit), the electronic expansion module 13 is connected via the CAN data bus (e.g. auxiliary data bus) to the cooling unit 11, a tire pressure monitoring system 16 and a display and operator control console 15 (e.g. auxiliary control unit)), the method comprising:
Risse fails to teach detecting a data packet, which is addressed to one of the at least two main control units and contains safety-critical data, on the auxiliary data bus via the one of the at least two main control units; determining whether the main data bus is disrupted or undisrupted; processing the data packet if the main data bus is disrupted; and, discarding the data packet if the main data bus is undisrupted.
However, Besier teaches detecting a data packet, which is addressed to one of the at least two main control units and contains safety-critical data, on the auxiliary data bus via the one of the at least two main control units; determining whether the main data bus is disrupted or undisrupted; processing the data packet if the main data bus is disrupted; and, discarding the data packet if the main data bus is undisrupted ([paragraph 0007, 0009, 0021, 0074-0076] describes any type of vehicle brake system is connected by means of at least two independent communications connections 501, 502 or data buses (first data bus 501: Bus 1, second data bus 502: Bus 2) to the environment control unit or to a controller network in which a number of control units—also including the environment control unit—are incorporated (e.g. the trailer network system), a brake system that is suitable for automated driving and in particular meets the safety requirements and data are received from an environment control unit or sent to the environment control unit via the first interface and data are received from an environment control unit or sent to the environment control unit via the second interface. the first interface is connected to a first interface of an environment control unit by means of a first data bus and the second interface is connected to a second interface of the environment control unit by means of a second data bus (e.g. auxiliary data bus), i.e. one that is independent of the first data bus. A reliable connection is thus guaranteed even if one of the data buses is disrupted. the first interface is connected by means of a first data bus to an interface of a first environment control unit and the second interface is connected to an interface of a second environment control unit by means of a second data bus, i.e. one that is independent of the first data bus. A reliable connection is thus guaranteed even if one of the data buses is disrupted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Risse to include the trailer network system wherein at least one of said at least two main control units includes detecting a data packet, which is addressed to one of the at least two main control units and contains safety-critical data, on the auxiliary data bus via the one of the at least two main control units; determining whether the main data bus is disrupted or undisrupted; processing the data packet if the main data bus is disrupted; and, discarding the data packet if the main data bus is undisrupted as taught by Besier. One ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Risse in the Besier system in order to provide a brake system that is suitable for automated driving and in particular meets the safety requirements ([paragraph 0009] in Besier).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Risse and Besier teaches the method further comprising: detecting a further data packet, which is addressed to one of the at least two main control units and contains non-safety-critical data, on the auxiliary data bus via the one of the at least two main control units; and, processing the further data packet (Risse: [Fig 1 [ 11,15, 16], paragraph 0029, 0039] describes The cooling unit 11 such as the operating status of a cooling unit 11, the indication of a defrost cycle for the cold room (e.g. non-safety relevant function), a tire pressure monitoring system 16 for indicating tire pressure (e.g. non-safety relevant function, a display and operator control console 15 (e.g. auxiliary control unit) and other functional elements that are arranged in or on the trailer vehicle 6 are connected to the electronic expansion module 13 for signaling purposes via CAN bus lines 17 to the electronic expansion module 13).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Risse and Besier teaches the method wherein one of the at least two main control units is a trailer brake control unit and one of the at least two main control units is a trailer interface module , the method further comprising: receiving safety-critical data for the trailer brake control unit via a first towing-vehicle data interface or a second towing-vehicle data interface via the trailer interface module; determining whether the main data bus is disrupted or undisrupted via the trailer interface module; and, sending the data packet addressed to the trailer brake control unit and containing the safety-critical data on the main data bus if the main data bus is undisrupted or, if the main data bus is disrupted, sending the data packet on the auxiliary data bus (Risse: [Fig 1 [ 12, 13], paragraph 0027-0028, 0035-0041] describes the trailer data-oriented network system comprising The trailer vehicle 6 is equipped with an electronic trailer brake system 12 (e.g. first main control unit) that reacts to brake operation signals from the driver sitting in the driver's cab 3 (e.g. safety relevant function) and converts them into control commands for brake actuators on the wheels 7a, 7b, 7c of the trailer vehicles and an electronic trailer brake system 12 (e.g. first main control unit) that forming said trailer brake control unit is configured to activate reduce brake (e.g. friction brake) of the trailer vehicle. The trailer vehicle 6 is equipped with that reacts to brake operation signals from the driver sitting in the driver's cab 3 (e.g. safety relevant function) include braking requests for activation of reduce brakes (e.g. friction brakes and activating signals for activation of the electric drive, which are addressed to an electronic trailer brake system 12 (e.g. first main control unit) and determining whether the main data bus is disrupted or not via the trailer interface module and, sending the data packet addressed to the trailer brake control unit on the auxiliary data bus).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Risse and Besier teaches the method wherein one of the at least two main control units is a trailer interface module, the method further comprising: receiving data for the auxiliary control unit from a towing vehicle via a trailer interface module, via a first towing-vehicle data interface or a second towing-vehicle data interface; and, sending the data packet addressed to the auxiliary control unit and containing the data on the auxiliary data bus, irrespective of whether the main data bus is disrupted or undisrupted (Risse: [paragraph 0013-0014, 0032-0036] describes the trailer data-oriented network system comprising The trailer vehicle 6 is equipped with an electronic trailer brake system 12 (e.g. first main control unit) that reacts to brake operation signals from the driver sitting in the driver's cab 3 (e.g. safety relevant function) and converts them into control commands for brake actuators on the wheels 7a, 7b, 7c of the trailer vehicles 6. Furthermore, an electronic expansion module 13 (e.g. second main control unit) is arranged in the trailer vehicle 6 and receiving data for operator control console 15 (e.g. auxiliary control unit) from a towing vehicle via a trailer interface module via a first towing-vehicle data interface sending the data packet addressed to the auxiliary control unit and containing the data on the auxiliary data bus).
13. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Risse et al. (US 2015/0349977 A1); in view of LeBeau et al. (US 2021/0197810 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Risse fails to teach the trailer network system, wherein said first towing-vehicle data interface is a Gigabit Ethernet data interface.
However, LeBeau teaches the trailer network system, wherein said first towing-vehicle data interface is a Gigabit Ethernet data interface ([paragraph 015, 0064] describes vehicle engaged in towing (e.g. towing vehicle), given the system may be interfaced to a vehicle control and display system having towing-vehicle data interface is a Gigabit Ethernet data interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Risse to include wherein said first towing-vehicle data interface is a Gigabit Ethernet data interface as taught by LeBeau. One ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Risse in the LeBeau system in order to provide that improve safety and more efficient Advanced Driver Assistance Systems and autonomous vehicle systems for vehicular operation ([paragraph 0005] in LeBeau).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
- Fry et al., US 2019/0308594 A1, A connector in a commercial vehicle electronic braking and communication system for a trailer to connect the system to a prime mover.
- BROK et al., US 2022/0314946 A1, A braking system in an at least partially autonomous vehicle, having one vehicle wheel brake per vehicle wheel.
- Adler et al., US 2021/0347346 A1, A brake system for a vehicle includes a first axle pressure modulator (APM) for service-brake-chambers.
/M.J.S/Examiner, Art Unit 2459 /TONIA L DOLLINGER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2459