DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/11/2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 7 recites “a second external boundary profile” in Lines 6 and 7 and late recites “a second external boundary profile” in Lines 13-14 instead of “the second external boundary profile”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 4 recite the limitation "the extremity”, however, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8, 10-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hartner et al. (US 20210359387).
Hartner et al. disclose;
Regarding claim 1:
(in Figs. 2, 10 and 13) an antenna assembly (200), comprising: a stack (26) comprising: at least one electrically conductive layer structure (32) and at least one electrically insulating layer structure (34), wherein at least a portion of said electrically conductive layer structure (32) is provided at the external side (defined by 32C) of the stack (26) and is configured to act at least as part of an electromagnetic wave coupling structure (along 38); and a component (14), at least partially embedded in the stack (26), and coupled to said electromagnetic wave coupling structure (along 38); and an antenna structure (30), comprising an opening (38) to a channel passing through the antenna structure (30); wherein the stack (26) and the antenna structure (30) are connected such that the electromagnetic wave coupling structure (along 38) and the opening (38) to the channel face each other (See Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2:
the channel (for passage of 40) vertically extends through the entire antenna structure (30).
Regarding claim 3:
the extremity of the channel (for passage of 40), opposed to the opening faced to the electromagnetic wave coupling structure (along 38), comprises an opening structure configured as a wave emitter or wave receiver (12).
Regarding claim 4:
the extremity of the channel (for passage of 40), opposed to the opening (38) faced to the electromagnetic wave coupling structure (along 38), comprises an electrically conductive coupling layer structure (defined by structure mounted on 32C forming the passage 38) comprising at least one aperture being in communication with the opening (38) of the antenna structure (30).
Regarding claim 8:
the electromagnetic wave coupling structure (along 38) comprises a launcher structure (defined by 12) configured for transmitting electromagnetic waves (40) from the stack (26) to the antenna structure (30).
Regarding claim 10:
the electromagnetic wave coupling structure (along 38) comprises an external layer structure of a material (in this case air) not affecting the electromagnetic waves (Para. 0045, Lines 4-7).
Regarding claim 11:
the electromagnetic wave coupling structure (along 38) is provided at the external main surface of the stack (26); or wherein the electromagnetic wave coupling structure (along 38) is provided in a recess at the external main surface (along 32C) of the stack (26).
Regarding claim 12:
the stack (26) is directly connected with the antenna structure (30) by at least one of an adhesive, a solder material, a through solder structure, a connecting element, a nanowire or a pillar (Para. 0044, Lines 13-16).
Regarding claim 13:
the stack (26) is connected with the antenna structure (30) with a vertical distance between the stack (26) and the antenna structure (30) smaller than 200 μm (Para. 0042, Lines 16-20).
Regarding claim 14:
the stack (26) and the antenna structure (30) are connected by a connection structure (defined by 32C).
Regarding claim 16:
a plurality of stacks (26) is connected to one common antenna structure (30).
Regarding claim 17:
the surface of the stack (26) opposite to the surface connected with the antenna structure (30) comprises at least one connecting portion (along 32C), the at least one connecting portion (along 32C) configured to be connected to an external component and/or to a further stack (See Figs. 11 and 13).
Regarding claim 18:
(in Figs. 2, 10 and 13) an antenna system (200), comprising: an antenna assembly (defined by 26 and 30), comprising: a stack (26) comprising: at least one electrically conductive layer structure (32) and at least one electrically insulating layer structure (34), wherein at least a portion of said electrically conductive layer structure (32) is provided at the external side (defined by 32C) of the stack (26) and is configured to act at least as part of an electromagnetic wave coupling structure (along 38); and a component (10), at least partially embedded in the stack (26), and coupled to said electromagnetic wave coupling structure (along 38); and an antenna structure (30), comprising an opening (38) to a channel passing through the antenna structure (30); wherein the stack (26) and the antenna structure (30) are connected such that the electromagnetic wave coupling structure (along 38) and the opening (38) to the channel face each other (See Fig. 2); and (in Fig. 10) a common further stack (26) with at least a second antenna assembly mounted (along the side of 26) on the common further stack (26).
Regarding claim 19:
at least two of the antenna assemblies comprise different features regarding frequency.
Regarding claim 20:
(in Figs. 2, 10 and 13) a method of manufacturing an antenna assembly (200), the method comprising: providing a stack (26) comprising: at least one electrically conductive layer structure (32) and at least one electrically insulating layer structure (34), wherein at least a portion of said electrically conductive layer structure (32) is provided at the external side (defined by 32C) of the stack (26) and is configured to act at least as part of an electromagnetic wave coupling structure (along 38); at least partially embedding a component (10) in the stack (26) and coupling the component (10) to said electromagnetic wave coupling structure (along 38); providing an antenna structure (30), comprising an opening (38) to a channel passing through the antenna structure (30); and connecting the stack (26) and the antenna structure (30), so that the electromagnetic wave coupling structure (along 38) and the opening (38) to the channel face each other (See Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartner et al. (US 20210359387) in view of Tong et al. (US 20150364830).
Regarding claim 5:
Hartner et al. are silent on that the internal walls of the at least opening on the antenna structure and/or the channel are coated by an electrically conductive material having a magnetic permeability in the range from 10−6 H/m to 10−5 H/m.
Tong et al. disclose (in Figs. 9 and 10) the internal walls (80) of the at least opening (70) on the antenna structure (20) and/or the channel (along 80) are coated by an electrically conductive material (defined by 80).
Tong et al. contemplate that the electrically conductive material is a copper (Para. 0040, Lines 19-20) having a magnetic permeability in the range from 10−6 H/m to 10−5 H/m.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was filed to implement the internal walls of the at least opening on the antenna structure and/or the channel are coated by an electrically conductive material having a magnetic permeability in the range from 10−6 H/m to 10−5 H/m as taught by Tong et al. into the device of Hartner et al. for the benefit of enhancing the radiating efficiency of the integrated antenna structure and reducing the radiation and insertion losses (Para. 0038, Lines 7-8; Para. 0039, Lines 16-23).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartner et al. (US 20210359387) in view of Brandenburg et al. (US 20220109247).
Regarding claim 6:
Hartner et al. disclose the channel (for passage of 40) defines a waveguide (defined by 38) and an antenna wave emitter or receiver (12); wherein the waveguide (defined by 38) is in direct physical and/or electromagnetic connection with the antenna (12); wherein a portion of the opening (38) of the antenna structure (30) is configured as the waveguide (defined by 38) and a further portion is configured as the antenna wave emitter or receiver (12); wherein the component (14) is fully embedded in the stack (26); wherein the component (14) is located in a vertical central portion (See Fig.); wherein a respective build-up layer (28) is located on both opposed main surfaces of the component (14); wherein the component (14) comprises electrical connections (22) on both opposed surfaces (See Fig.).
Hartner et al. are silent on that further comprising at least one of the following features: the antenna structure comprises a further stack comprising at least one further electrically conductive layer structure and at least one further electrically insulating layer structure, wherein the at least one further electrically conductive layer structure comprises the electrically conductive coupling layer structure, wherein an antenna is located at least partially inside the further stack and/or on an external side of the further stack at the opposed side compared with the opening.
Brandenburg et al. disclose (Fig. 4) the antenna structure comprises a further stack comprising at least one further electrically conductive layer structure and at least one further electrically insulating layer structure, wherein the at least one further electrically conductive layer structure comprises the electrically conductive coupling layer structure, wherein an antenna is located at least partially inside the further stack and/or on an external side of the further stack at the opposed side compared with the opening (Para. 0053, Lines 1-5; Para. 0061, Lines 1-3; Para. 0068, Lines 1-5).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to implement the antenna structure comprises a further stack comprising at least one further electrically conductive layer structure and at least one further electrically insulating layer structure, wherein the at least one further electrically conductive layer structure comprises the electrically conductive coupling layer structure, wherein an antenna is located at least partially inside the further stack and/or on an external side of the further stack at the opposed side compared with the opening as taught by Brandenburg et al. into the device of Hartner et al. for the benefit of providing increased gain and directivity compared to a single antenna element to provide the desired antenna pattern (Para. 0025, Lines 4-8).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartner et al. (US 20210359387) in view of Lee et al. (US 20230327311).
Regarding claim 7:
Hartner et al. are silent on that a metal structure, wherein said metal structure comprises: a first metal layer structure comprising a first recess exposed to one first surface and defining a first external boundary profile; and a second metal layer structure comprising a second recess exposed to a second surface and defining a second external boundary profile; wherein the first metal layer structure and the second metal layer structure are stacked to face each other, so that the first recess and the second recess define a common recess; wherein the channel is at least partially formed by the common recess of the metal structure; wherein a first external boundary profile of the first recess and a second external boundary profile of the second recess are misaligned in the stacking direction of the metal structure.
Lee et al. disclose (in Figs. 1 and 2) a metal structure (100), wherein said metal structure (100) comprises: a first metal layer structure (110) comprising a first recess (102) exposed to one first surface (along 102a) and defining a first external boundary profile (102a); and a second metal layer structure (120) comprising a second recess (102) exposed to a second surface (along 102b) and defining a second external boundary profile (102b); wherein the first metal layer structure (110) and the second metal layer structure (120) are stacked to face each other (See Figs.), so that the first recess (102 in 110) and the second recess (102 in 120) define a common recess (102); wherein the channel is at least partially formed by the common recess of the metal structure (100; Para. 0051, Lines 1-5); wherein a first external boundary profile (102a) of the first recess (102 in 110) and a second external boundary profile (102b) of the second recess (102 in 120) are misaligned in the stacking direction of the metal structure (100; See Figs.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a metal structure, wherein said metal structure comprises: a first metal layer structure comprising a first recess exposed to one first surface and defining a first external boundary profile; and a second metal layer structure comprising a second recess exposed to a second surface and defining a second external boundary profile; wherein the first metal layer structure and the second metal layer structure are stacked to face each other, so that the first recess and the second recess define a common recess; wherein the channel is at least partially formed by the common recess of the metal structure; wherein a first external boundary profile of the first recess and a second external boundary profile of the second recess are misaligned in the stacking direction of the metal structure as taught by Lee et al. into the device of Hartner et al. for the benefit of minimizing loss of the electromagnetic waves (Para. 0004, Lines 5-7).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartner et al. (US 20210359387) in view of Vincent et al. (US 20210183796).
Regarding claim 9:
Hartner et al. disclose the launcher (defined by 12) comprises a conductive layer structure (See Fig.), wherein the conductive layer structure is provided on a second electrically insulating layer structure (18) of the stack (26), wherein the second electrically insulating layer structure (18) comprises a high frequency material and/or a constituent different from that of the at least one electrically insulating layer structure (34); wherein the electromagnetic wave coupling structure (along 38) is connected with the embedded component (14) only with the electrically conductive layer structures (32) of the stack (26), the electrically conductive layer structures (32) being solder material-free (including connection means like screws, clamp, clip etc.; Para. 0044, Lines 13-16).
Hartner et al. are silent on that wherein the launcher planar extension is smaller than the planar extension of the opening of the antenna structure; wherein the launcher is directly facing a waveguide;
wherein the launcher planar extension is smaller than the planar extension of the waveguide; wherein the launcher comprises at least a portion of the at least one electrically conductive layer structure; wherein the launcher comprises an external protection structure, in particular a surface finish.
Vincent et al. disclose (in Fig. 11) the launcher (914) planar extension (defined by the structure of 914) is smaller than the planar extension (defined by 1110) of the opening (1010) of the antenna structure (300); wherein the launcher (914) is directly facing a waveguide (1106); wherein the launcher (914) planar extension (defined by the structure of 914) is smaller than the planar extension (defined by 1110) of the waveguide (1106); wherein the launcher (914) comprises at least a portion of the at least one electrically conductive layer structure (See Fig.); wherein the launcher (914) comprises an external protection structure (928), in particular a surface finish (See Fig.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the launcher planar extension is smaller than the planar extension of the opening of the antenna structure; wherein the launcher is directly facing a waveguide;
wherein the launcher planar extension is smaller than the planar extension of the waveguide; wherein the launcher comprises at least a portion of the at least one electrically conductive layer structure; wherein the launcher comprises an external protection structure, in particular a surface finish as taught by Vincent et al. into the device of Hartner et al. for the benefit of having the overlapping waveguide structure physically decoupled from the packaged assembly, so that package stress is reduced and reliability is improved while providing low loss RF signal performance in a compact footprint (Para. 0048, Lines 9-13).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartner et al. (US 20210359387) in view of Vincent et al. (US 20220068828).
Regarding claim 15:
Hartner et al. are silent on that the antenna structure has a planar extension greater than that of the stack.
Vincent et al. disclose (in Fig. 2) the antenna structure (200) has a planar extension greater than that of the stack (100; See Fig.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the antenna structure has a planar extension greater than that of the stack as taught by Vincent et al. into the device of Hartner et al. for the benefit of allowing translation feature to provide a known relative location to the launcher and enables high accuracy alignment of a waveguide structure (Para. 0054, Lines 7-9).
Conclusion
/BAMIDELE A IMMANUEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845