DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09 July 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 5 be found allowable, claim 12 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12, “a recessed manner” in line 2 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in claim 5, on which claim 12 is dependent. Is this limitation referring to the same recessed manner mentioned previously or a different recessed manner? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same recessed manner mentioned previously. Additionally, “an amount of ambient light” in line 2 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in claim 5, on which claim 12 is dependent. Is this limitation referring to the same amount of ambient light mentioned previously or a different amount of ambient light? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same amount of ambient light mentioned previously.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10353160 B1) in view of FiberLert and Simard et al. (USPGPub 20210278313 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a testing system for identification of an optical fiber under test (FUT) (see col. 4, lines 1-16), comprising: an optical power meter (10) (col. 1, lines 6-9, The present disclosure relates generally to optical connection apparatus and assemblies for fiber optic connectors, such as for connecting the fiber optic connectors to optical power meters for loss testing and other applications) comprising: a casing (see figure 1, optical power meter 10 having a casing (unlabeled)); a detection port (12) extending through the casing (see figures 1 and 2, optical connection port 12 (i.e. detection port) extending through part of the casing; and col. 3, lines 33-36, Such optical connection apparatus 12 can, for example, be connected to a power meter 10 (such as a separate component or as a component part of the optical power meter 10)); and a photodetector (30) optically coupled to the detection port (12) within the casing (see figure 2, photodetector 30; and col. 4, lines 62-67 and col. 5, lines 1-6, Apparatus 12 may further include a base housing 60. The base housing 60 may include a mount portion 62 which interfaces with the optical power meter 10 to connect the apparatus 12 to the optical power meter 10. For example, the mount portion 62 may include inner or outer threads, or a groove or other suitable fitting, which mates with an opposing component on the optical power meter 10. This mating may connect the apparatus 12 to the optical power meter 10. In some embodiments, as shown, the photodetector 30 may be disposed within the base housing 60. Alternatively, the photodetector 30 may be disposed within the optical power meter 10); and an optical accessory (50) comprising: a housing (50) extending between an attachment end and a testing end (see figure 2, body 50 extending between an attachment end (i.e. towards power meter 10) and a testing end (i.e. towards optical fiber 20)), the housing (50) enclosing an interior region defining an optical pathway therethrough (see figures 2 and 3, interior region comprising distances 46 and 56 which define an optical pathway), and a focusing lens (40) positioned within the housing (50) along the optical pathway and configured to direct the fiber light onto the photodetector (30) through the detection port (12) for the photodetector (30) to detect the fiber light for identification of the FUT (20/22) (see figure 2, lens 40 disposed within body 50 (i.e. housing) and within optical pathway defined by distances 46 and 56 focusing light towards photodetector 30; and col. 4, lines 62-67 and col. 5, lines 1-6). However, Liu fails to explicitly teach wherein the identification is contactless identification; wherein the attachment end is releasably connected to the detection port, and wherein the testing end is configured to be positioned at a testing distance from the FUT and allow fiber light emanating from the FUT to enter the optical pathway via free-space propagation.
However, FiberLert teaches wherein the identification is contactless identification; and wherein the testing end is configured to be positioned at a testing distance from the FUT and allow fiber light emanating from the FUT to enter the optical pathway via free-space propagation (page 1, “Non contact” detector reduces the risk of contamination and damage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to incorporate the teachings of FiberLert to have the detector be a non-contact detector in order to reduce contamination and damage (FiberLert, page 1). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the attachment end is releasably connected to the detection port.
However, Simard teaches wherein the attachment end is releasably connected to the detection port (150) (see figures 1 and 2, connector cartridge 200 (i.e. optical assembly) having attachment end and testing end (unlabeled), wherein the cartridge 200 is releasably connected to cartridge receiving cavity 150 (i.e. detection port)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu and FiberLert to incorporate the teachings of Simard to have the optical accessory releasably connected to the detection port to allow replacement of the connector cartridge (200), such as when the cartridge outer end (220) is worn or damaged (Simard, ¶47).
Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches an optical accessory (50) for use with an optical power meter (10) for identification of an optical fiber under test (FUT) (20/22) (see figures 1 and 2, body 50 (i.. optical accessory) and optical power meter 10; and see col. 4, lines 1-16), the optical power meter (10) comprising a casing (see figure 1, optical power meter 10 having a casing (unlabeled)); a detection port (12) extending through the casing (see figures 1 and 2, optical connection port 12 (i.e. detection port) extending through part of the casing; and col. 3, lines 33-36, Such optical connection apparatus 12 can, for example, be connected to a power meter 10 (such as a separate component or as a component part of the optical power meter 10)); and a photodetector (30) optically coupled to the detection port (12) within the casing (see figure 2, photodetector 30; and col. 4, lines 62-67 and col. 5, lines 1-6, Apparatus 12 may further include a base housing 60. The base housing 60 may include a mount portion 62 which interfaces with the optical power meter 10 to connect the apparatus 12 to the optical power meter 10. For example, the mount portion 62 may include inner or outer threads, or a groove or other suitable fitting, which mates with an opposing component on the optical power meter 10. This mating may connect the apparatus 12 to the optical power meter 10. In some embodiments, as shown, the photodetector 30 may be disposed within the base housing 60. Alternatively, the photodetector 30 may be disposed within the optical power meter 10), the optical accessory (50) comprising: a housing (50) extending between an attachment end and a testing end (see figure 2, body 50 extending between an attachment end (i.e. towards power meter 10) and a testing end (i.e. towards optical fiber 20)), the housing (50) enclosing an interior region defining an optical pathway therethrough (see figures 2 and 3, interior region comprising distances 46 and 56 which define an optical pathway), and a focusing lens (40) positioned within the housing (50) along the optical pathway and configured to direct the fiber light onto the photodetector (30) through the detection port (12) for the photodetector (30) to detect the fiber light for identification of the FUT (20/22) (see figure 2, lens 40 disposed within body 50 (i.e. housing) and within optical pathway defined by distances 46 and 56 focusing light towards photodetector 30; and col. 4, lines 62-67 and col. 5, lines 1-6). However, Liu fails to teach wherein the identification is contactless identification; wherein the attachment end is configured for releasable connection to the detection port, and wherein the testing end is configured to be positioned at a testing distance from the FUT and allow fiber light emanating from the FUT to enter the optical pathway via free-space propagation.
However, FiberLert teaches wherein the identification is contactless identification; and wherein the testing end is configured to be positioned at a testing distance from the FUT and allow fiber light emanating from the FUT to enter the optical pathway via free-space propagation (page 1, “Non contact” detector reduces the risk of contamination and damage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to incorporate the teachings of FiberLert to have the detector be a non-contact detector in order to reduce contamination and damage (FiberLert, page 1). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the attachment end is releasably connected to the detection port.
However, Simard teaches wherein the attachment end is releasably connected to the detection port (150) (see figures 1 and 2, connector cartridge 200 (i.e. optical assembly) having attachment end and testing end (unlabeled), wherein the cartridge 200 is releasably connected to cartridge receiving cavity 150 (i.e. detection port)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu and FiberLert to incorporate the teachings of Simard to have the optical accessory releasably connected to the detection port to allow replacement of the connector cartridge (200), such as when the cartridge outer end (220) is worn or damaged (Simard, ¶47).
Regarding claim 8, Liu as modified by FiberLert and Simard teaches the optical accessory of claim 7, wherein the attachment end is configured for releasable connection to the detection port (Liu 12 | Simard 150) via a threaded connection, a snap-fit connection, a slip-fit connection, a bayonet connections, a screw connection, a spring- loaded connection, a magnetic-coupling connection, a clamp connection, or a latch connection (Simard, ¶48, Also visible in FIG. 2 is a clip (232), provided with a clip tab (231). When the optical connector cartridge (200) is inserted in the receiving cavity (150), the clip tab (231) engages with a corresponding recess in the casing (110) or another component of the test instrument, to connect and secure the cartridge (200) within the cavity (150)… Other types of non-permanent connections can be considered, such as snap fit connections, male/female connectors, push buttons or even screws, just to name a few).
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10353160 B1) in view of FiberLert and Simard et al. (USPGPub 20210278313 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Verheyden et al. (USPGPub 20180329153 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Liu as modified by FiberLert and Simard teaches the testing system of claim 1, wherein the FUT (Liu 20/22) is inserted within a fiber adapter (Liu 52) (Liu, see figure 2, slot 52 (i.e. fiber adapter) into which a fiber optic connector 24 comprising the optical fiber 20 is inserted), and the optical accessory (Liu 50) (Liu, see figure 2, body 50 (i.e. optical accessory)). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the fiber adapter comprises a protective shutter, and wherein the optical accessory comprises a pushing protrusion at the testing end, the pushing protrusion being configured to engage the protective shutter into an open position to allow the fiber light to escape from within the fiber adapter and enter the optical pathway.
However, Verheyden teaches wherein the fiber adapter (10) comprises a protective shutter (34/17) (see figure 2, fiber optic adapter 10 comprising shutter assemblies 34 and 17), and wherein the optical accessory comprises a pushing protrusion (70) at the testing end (see figure 8, access groove 70 (i.e. pushing protrusion)), the pushing protrusion (70) being configured to engage the protective shutter (34/17) into an open position to allow the fiber light to escape from within the fiber adapter (10) and enter the optical pathway (¶36, As the second fiber optic connector 14 is inserted into the second port 24, a distal end face 60 (see FIG. 7) of the second fiber optic connector 14 contacts an outer surface 62 (see FIG. 7) of the locking member 48 and rides thereon to push the first and second rear shutter plates 52, 54 inwardly moving them from the closed position toward the open position. When the second fiber optic connector 14 is inserted into the second port 24 of the fiber optic adapter 10, the locking member 48 slides respectively along the second fiber optic connector 14 to approach an access groove 70 formed on opposite sides of the second fiber optic connector 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu, FiberLert, and Simard to incorporate the teachings of Verheyden to further include a shutter element for obstructing light beams as a safety attribute of protecting eyes of persons nearby (Verheyden, ¶6).
Regarding claim 9, Liu as modified by FiberLert and Simard teaches the optical accessory of claim 7, wherein the FUT (Liu 20/22) is inserted within a fiber adapter (Liu 52) (Liu, see figure 2, slot 52 (i.e. fiber adapter) into which a fiber optic connector 24 comprising the optical fiber 20 is inserted), and the optical accessory (Liu 50) (Liu, see figure 2, body 50 (i.e. optical accessory)). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the fiber adapter comprises a protective shutter, and wherein the optical accessory comprises a pushing protrusion at the testing end, the pushing protrusion being configured to engage the protective shutter into an open position to allow the fiber light to escape from within the fiber adapter and enter the optical pathway.
However, Verheyden teaches wherein the fiber adapter (10) comprises a protective shutter (34/17) (see figure 2, fiber optic adapter 10 comprising shutter assemblies 34 and 17), and wherein the optical accessory comprises a pushing protrusion (70) at the testing end (see figure 8, access groove 70 (i.e. pushing protrusion)), the pushing protrusion (70) being configured to engage the protective shutter (34/17) into an open position to allow the fiber light to escape from within the fiber adapter (10) and enter the optical pathway (¶36, As the second fiber optic connector 14 is inserted into the second port 24, a distal end face 60 (see FIG. 7) of the second fiber optic connector 14 contacts an outer surface 62 (see FIG. 7) of the locking member 48 and rides thereon to push the first and second rear shutter plates 52, 54 inwardly moving them from the closed position toward the open position. When the second fiber optic connector 14 is inserted into the second port 24 of the fiber optic adapter 10, the locking member 48 slides respectively along the second fiber optic connector 14 to approach an access groove 70 formed on opposite sides of the second fiber optic connector 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu, FiberLert, and Simard to incorporate the teachings of Verheyden to further include a shutter element for obstructing light beams as a safety attribute of protecting eyes of persons nearby (Verheyden, ¶6).
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10353160 B1) in view of FiberLert and Simard et al. (USPGPub 20210278313 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Souda et al. (USPGPub 20030210874 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Liu as modified by FiberLert and Simard teaches the testing system of claim 1 and the optical accessory of claim 7, further comprising a spectral filter (Liu 70) positioned within the housing (Liu 50) (Liu, see figure 3, film coating 70 (i.e. filter)), wherein the spectral filter (Liu 70) is configured to transmit the fiber light within a specified spectral band (Liu, col. 6, lines 40-43, such film coating 70 may be a wavelength selective film which may filter out certain undesirable light wavelengths while transmitting therethrough specific, desired, narrow wavelength ranges). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the spectral filter is positioned in front of the focusing lens.
However, Souda teaches wherein the spectral filter (5) is positioned in front of the focusing lens (8) (see figure 1, filter 5 disposed in front of ball lens 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu, FiberLert, and Simard to incorporate the teachings of Souda to instead provide the filter in front of the lens because the mere rearrangement of parts that does not alter the function of the device is an obvious matter of choice.
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10353160 B1) in view of FiberLert, Simard et al. (USPGPub 20210278313 A1) and Souda et al. (USPGPub 20030210874 A1) as applied to claims 3 and 10 above, and further in view of Meek et al. (USPGPub 20150116700 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Liu as modified by FiberLert, Simard, and Souda teaches the spectral filter (Liu 70 | Souda 5) (Liu, see figure 3; and Souda, see figure 1). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the spectral filter is configured to block visible ambient light.
However, Meek teaches wherein the spectral filter (80(1)) is configured to block visible ambient light (¶38, an optional band pass filter 80(1) may also be disposed in front of lens 74(1) in order to normalize and regulate the amount and wavelengths of ambient light entering the lens 74(1)… the ambient light source can be a single color LED, ambient light or white light LED).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu, FiberLert, Simard, and Souda to incorporate the teachings of Meek to have a filter that blocks ambient light in order to prevent noise in the detected signal.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10353160 B1) in view of FiberLert and Simard et al. (USPGPub 20210278313 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Birnkrant et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10665075 B2).
Regarding claim 6¸ Liu as modified by FiberLert and Simard teaches the testing system of claim 1, further comprising a processing unit (Liu 34) coupled to the photodetector (Liu 30) to analyze the fiber light detected by the photodetector (Liu 30) and derive therefrom fiber identification information associated with the FUT (Liu 20/22) (Liu, see figure 2, measurement device 34 (i.e. processing unit); and col. 4, lines 3-10, As is generally understood, the photodetector (and photosensitive area 32 thereof) may convert the received light to electrical signals. These electrical signals may then be communicated to measurement devices 34 which measure the intensity (for example, one or more of current, voltage, etc., which may correspond to optical power) of the electrical signals, which corresponds to the optical power of the light), wherein the fiber identification information associated with the FUT (Liu 20-22) comprises at least one of: (i) an assessment as to whether the FUT is an active or inactive fiber, (ii) a determination of a power level associated with the fiber light, (iii) an identification of a wavelength of the fiber light, and (iv) a detection of a tone signal at a specific modulation frequency within the fiber light (Liu, see col. 4, lines 1-16). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the processing unit is a control and processing unit comprising a processor and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon computer readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to analyze the light detected.
However, Birnkrant teaches wherein the processing unit is a control and processing unit comprising a processor and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon computer readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to analyze the light detected (col. 7, lines 7-15, The control system 50 of the detection system 20 is utilized to manage the detection system operation and may include control of components, data acquisition, data processing and data analysis. The control system 50, illustrated in FIG. 7, includes at least one light sensitive device 38, at least one light source, 36, and a control unit 52, such as a computer having one or more processors 54 and memory 56 for implementing an algorithm 58 as executable instructions that are executed by the processor 54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu, FiberLert, and Simard to incorporate the teachings of Birnkrant to further include a control/computing component with computer readable instructions as these are common components used in computers in order to process received data.
Claims 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10353160 B1) in view of FiberLert.
Regarding claim 13, Liu teaches a testing method for identification of an optical fiber under test (FUT) (20/22) (see col. 4, lines 1-16), comprising: providing an optical power meter (10) and an optical accessory (50) (see figures 1 and 2, body 50 (i.e. optical accessory) and optical power meter 10; and see col. 4, lines 1-16), wherein the optical power meter (10) comprises a casing (see figure 1, optical power meter 10 having a casing (unlabeled)), a detection port (12) extending through the casing (see figures 1 and 2, optical connection port 12 (i.e. detection port) extending through part of the casing; and col. 3, lines 33-36, Such optical connection apparatus 12 can, for example, be connected to a power meter 10 (such as a separate component or as a component part of the optical power meter 10)), and a photodetector (30) optically coupled to the detection port (12) within the casing (see figure 2, photodetector 30; and col. 4, lines 62-67 and col. 5, lines 1-6, Apparatus 12 may further include a base housing 60. The base housing 60 may include a mount portion 62 which interfaces with the optical power meter 10 to connect the apparatus 12 to the optical power meter 10. For example, the mount portion 62 may include inner or outer threads, or a groove or other suitable fitting, which mates with an opposing component on the optical power meter 10. This mating may connect the apparatus 12 to the optical power meter 10. In some embodiments, as shown, the photodetector 30 may be disposed within the base housing 60. Alternatively, the photodetector 30 may be disposed within the optical power meter 10), and wherein the optical accessory (50) comprises a housing (50) and a focusing lens (40) (see figure 2, body 50 (i.e. housing) and lens 40), the housing (50) extending between an attachment end and a testing end and enclosing an interior region defining an optical pathway therethrough (see figure 2, body 50 extending between an attachment end (i.e. towards power meter 10) and a testing end (i.e. towards optical fiber 20); and see figures 2 and 3, interior region comprising distances 46 and 56 which define an optical pathway), and the focusing lens (40) being positioned within the housing (50) along the optical pathway (see figure 2, lens 40 disposed within body 50 (i.e. housing) and within optical pathway defined by distances 46 and 56); connecting the attachment end of the optical accessory (50) to the detection port (12) of the optical power meter (10) (see figure 2, attachment end (i.e. towards power meter 10) of body 50 attached to power meter casing (unlabeled)); positioning the testing end of the optical accessory (50) at a testing distance from the FUT (20/22) (see figure 2, testing end (i.e. towards optical fiber 20) of body 50 disposed at a distance from optical fiber 20); directing, with the focusing lens (40), the fiber light onto the photodetector (30) through the detection port (12) (see figure 2, lens 40 disposed within body 50 (i.e. housing) and within optical pathway defined by distances 46 and 56 focusing light towards photodetector 30; and col. 4, lines 62-67 and col. 5, lines 1-6); and detecting, with the photodetector (30), the fiber light for identification of the FUT (20/22) (col. 4, lines 2-3, The photodetector 30 may include a photosensitive area 32 which detects light provided thereto). However, Liu fails to explicitly teach wherein the identification is contactless identification; and allowing fiber light emanating from the FUT to enter the optical pathway through the testing end via free-space propagation.
However, FiberLert teaches wherein the identification is contactless identification; and allowing fiber light emanating from the FUT to enter the optical pathway through the testing end via free-space propagation (page 1, “Non contact” detector reduces the risk of contamination and damage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to incorporate the teachings of FiberLert to have the detector be a non-contact detector in order to reduce contamination and damage (FiberLert, page 1).
Regarding claim 20, Liu as modified by FiberLert teaches the testing method of claim 13, further comprising analyzing the fiber light detected by the photodetector (Liu 30) and deriving therefrom fiber identification information associated with the FUT (Liu 20/22) (Liu, see figure 2, measurement device 34 (i.e. processing unit); and col. 4, lines 3-10, As is generally understood, the photodetector (and photosensitive area 32 thereof) may convert the received light to electrical signals. These electrical signals may then be communicated to measurement devices 34 which measure the intensity (for example, one or more of current, voltage, etc., which may correspond to optical power) of the electrical signals, which corresponds to the optical power of the light).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10353160 B1) in view of FiberLert as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Omron.
Regarding claim 14, Liu as modified by FiberLert teaches the testing distance (Liu, see figure 2, testing end (i.e. towards optical fiber 20) of body 50 disposed at a distance from optical fiber 20; and FiberLert, page 1, “Non contact” detector reduces the risk of contamination and damage). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the testing distance ranges from about 1 mm to about 60 cm.
However, Omron teaches wherein the testing distance ranges from about 1 mm to about 60 cm (page 5, Sensing distance ranging from several centimeters to several meters).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu and FiberLert to incorporate the teachings of Omron to provide a testing distance in the given range as it allows for light to be detected without having to provide direct contact between the source of detected light and the detector.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10353160 B1) in view of FiberLert as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Travis (USPGPub 20190101703 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Liu as modified by FiberLert teaches wherein the FUT (Liu 20/22) is inserted within a fiber adapter (Liu 52) (Liu, see figure 2, slot 52 (i.e. fiber adapter) into which a fiber optic connector 24 comprising the optical fiber 20 is inserted). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the fiber adapter comprises a protective shutter, and wherein the fiber light passes through the protective shutter before reaching the optical pathway.
However, Travis teaches wherein the fiber adapter (100) comprises a protective shutter (118) (see figure 1, fiber adapter 100 having shutter 118), and wherein the fiber light passes through the protective shutter (118) before reaching the optical pathway (¶4, The shutter door includes a material that is adapted to pass the infrared signal therethrough when in the shutter closed position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu and FiberLert to incorporate the teachings of Travis to provide a shutter that can pass light in order to both not transmit potentially eye damaging laser light through the shutter door in the shutter closed position (Travis, ¶5) yet still pass light that can confirm whether or not a fiber optic connector is inserted into the adapter (Travis, ¶3).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10353160 B1) in view of FiberLert as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Verheyden et al. (USPGPub 20180329153 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Liu as modified by FiberLert teaches the testing method of claim 13, wherein the FUT (Liu 20/22) is inserted within a fiber adapter (Liu 52) (Liu, see figure 2, slot 52 (i.e. fiber adapter) into which a fiber optic connector 24 comprising the optical fiber 20 is inserted). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the fiber adapter comprises a protective shutter, and wherein allowing the fiber light emanating from the FUT to enter the optical pathway through the testing end comprises engaging the protective shutter with a pushing protrusion provided at the testing end to move the protective shutter into an open position to allow the fiber light to escape from within the fiber adapter and enter the optical pathway.
However, Verheyden teaches wherein the fiber adapter (10) comprises a protective shutter (34/17) (see figure 2, fiber optic adapter 10 comprising shutter assemblies 34 and 17), and wherein allowing the fiber light emanating from the FUT to enter the optical pathway through the testing end comprises engaging the protective shutter (34/17) with a pushing protrusion (70) provided at the testing end to move the protective shutter (34/17) into an open position to allow the fiber light to escape from within the fiber adapter (10) and enter the optical pathway (see figure 8, access groove 70 (i.e. pushing protrusion); and ¶36, As the second fiber optic connector 14 is inserted into the second port 24, a distal end face 60 (see FIG. 7) of the second fiber optic connector 14 contacts an outer surface 62 (see FIG. 7) of the locking member 48 and rides thereon to push the first and second rear shutter plates 52, 54 inwardly moving them from the closed position toward the open position. When the second fiber optic connector 14 is inserted into the second port 24 of the fiber optic adapter 10, the locking member 48 slides respectively along the second fiber optic connector 14 to approach an access groove 70 formed on opposite sides of the second fiber optic connector 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu and FiberLert, to incorporate the teachings of Verheyden to further include a shutter element for obstructing light beams as a safety attribute of protecting eyes of persons nearby (Verheyden, ¶6).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10353160 B1) in view of FiberLert as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Souda et al. (USPGPub 20030210874 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Liu as modified by FiberLert teaches the testing method of claim 13, further comprising using a spectral filter (Liu 70) positioned within the housing (Liu 50) to transmit the fiber light within a specified spectral band (Liu, see figure 3, film coating 70 (i.e. filter); and col. 6, lines 40-43, such film coating 70 may be a wavelength selective film which may filter out certain undesirable light wavelengths while transmitting therethrough specific, desired, narrow wavelength ranges). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the spectral filter is positioned in front of the focusing lens.
However, Souda teaches wherein the spectral filter (5) is positioned in front of the focusing lens (8) (see figure 1, filter 5 disposed in front of ball lens 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu and FiberLert, to incorporate the teachings of Souda to instead provide the filter in front of the lens because the mere rearrangement of parts that does not alter the function of the device is an obvious matter of choice.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10353160 B1) in view of FiberLert and Souda et al. (USPGPub 20030210874 A1) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Meek et al. (USPGPub 20150116700 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Liu as modified by FiberLert and Souda teaches the spectral filter (Liu 70 | Souda 5) (Liu, see figure 3; and Souda, see figure 1). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the spectral filter is configured to block visible ambient light.
However, Meek teaches wherein the spectral filter (80(1)) is configured to block visible ambient light (¶38, an optional band pass filter 80(1) may also be disposed in front of lens 74(1) in order to normalize and regulate the amount and wavelengths of ambient light entering the lens 74(1)… the ambient light source can be a single color LED, ambient light or white light LED).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu, FiberLert, and Souda to incorporate the teachings of Meek to have a filter that blocks ambient light in order to prevent noise in the detected signal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record individually or combined fails to teach the testing system of claim 1 as claimed, wherein the focusing lens is positioned within the housing in a recessed manner more specifically in combination with to reduce an amount of ambient light allowed to reach the focusing lens.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of record individually or combined fails to teach the testing method of claim 13 as claimed, wherein the FUT is part of an optical fiber array, and more specifically in combination with wherein positioning the testing end comprises scanning the testing end over the optical fiber array to detect the fiber light from the FUT.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Filion et al. (USPGPub 20220035104 A1): drawn to an adapter tip for an optical fiber inspector.
Gibbs et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12265264 B2): drawn to an optical fiber adaptor with a shutter configuration (see abstract and figures 32-42).
Baribault (USPGPub 20190391041 A1): drawn to an optical fiber inspection device for measuring optical power.
Baribault (USPGPub 20160170151 A1): drawn to an optical fiber inspection device.
Lin et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8851763 B2): drawn to a fiber optic adaptor with a shutter configuration (see figure 7).
Huang et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7356236 B1): drawn to a fiber optic inspector for in-field use.
/ERIN R GARBER/Examiner, Art Unit 2878