DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “being applied to a opticalperson’s skin.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 9, 12 – 16, and 19 – 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tankovich et al. (USPN 6,050,990 – in IDS).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Tankovich discloses a skin treatment system and method, comprising:
a laser generating device (e.g. Fig. 35, col. 8, lines 60 – 64);
a hydrogel patch (e.g. col. 21, line 62 to col. 22, line 66) including: including an absorber, wherein the hydrogel patch, when receiving a laser beam from the laser generating device, results in Extracorporeal Shock Wave Therapy ("ESWT") being applied to a person's skin to treat a dermatologic condition; and an optic element between the laser generating device and the hydrogel patch (e.g. col. 30, lines 25 – 30 teaches shockwave therapy, and col. 29, line 35 to col. 30, line 65 teaches the use of carbon black as a chromophore, which is the adsorbing medium. Putting carbon black on the patch of Tankovich is considered to be an obvious design choice yielding predictable results such as more efficient and compact design, as opposed to placing it on the skin by itself. Further, treatment of a dermatologic condition is considered to be intended use, not a structural limitation. Even so, removing hair from the skin is considered to be a dermatologic procedure, and col. 58:15-63 teaches treating scars, and col. 59:10-15 explicitly teaches using shockwave therapy to treat scars).
Regarding claim 2 and 13, Tankovich discloses the dermatologic condition comprises at least one of: (1) an epidermal or dermal tissue structure irregularity, (ii) cellulite, (iii) a stretch mark, (iv) a scar, (v) scar-tissue, (vi) a hypertrophic scar, and (vii) an acne scar (e.g. least col. 58, lines 15 – 63 which teaches treating scars).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Tankovich discloses the laser beam has a pulse width from .2 to 80 nanoseconds (“ns”) (e.g. col. 29, lines50-54), a pulse energy from 100 to 2500 millijoules (“mj”) (e.g. col. 11, lines 5-10); and a spot size from 6 to 15 millimeters. (e.g. col. 11, line 6).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Tankovich discloses the laser beam has Pulse-Per-Second (“PPS”) rate Pulse-Per-Second (“PPS”) rate of 20 to 50 (e.g. col. 34, lines 10-11).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Tankovich discloses the laser beam delivers pulses less than 8 nanoseconds in duration (e.g. col. 29, lines 50 – 54).
Regarding claims 6, 7, 20 and 21, Tankovich discloses the laser beam directs pulses in a reinforcing pattern from one side of a spot to an opposite side of the spot or in a reinforcing pattern from an edge of a spot to center of the spot (e.g. col. 30, lines 52 – 65).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Tankovich discloses the hydrogel patch contains carbon black or any other substance that would have a similar effect (e.g. col. 29, lines 18 – 30).
Regarding claim 9, Tankovich discloses the hydrogel patch is approximately 8 inches by 4 inches (e.g. Fig 19A and corresponding text).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 11, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tankovich et al. in view of Karni (US PGPUB 2021/0052292 – in IDS).
Regarding claims 10, 11, 17, and 18, Tankovich discloses the claimed invention except for the laser generating device includes a scanner to provide 50 Hz Q-Switched laser energy to the person's skin and wherein the Laser generating device generates the Q- Switched laser energy in a first mode and further has a second mode that generates a fast pulsed, non Q-Switched laser energy that treats laxity by gently heating the person's skin.
Karni teaches a Q switched scanning laser to produce shockwaves (e.g. ¶ 23 – 25). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use such laser generating device with the device of Tankovich since it would yield predictable results and allow for effective production of shockwaves as set forth in Karni.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796