DETAILED ACTION
It would be of great assistance to the Office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items:
1. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.).
2. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication).
3. Filing date.
4. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action.
5. Title of invention.
6. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 6 recites: “in the second on-pixel ratio the first pixel emits light, and the second pixel, the third pixel and the fourth pixel stop emitting”, but claim 6 depends on claim 3 which recites: “in the second on-pixel ratio, the first pixel and the second pixel emit light, and the third pixel and the fourth pixel stop emitting”. These two recitation disclose different results for the same condition, therefore it is unclear as to what happens when “in the second on-pixel ratio”. For the purpose of examination the recitation of claim 6 is interpreted as: “in the third on-pixel ratio the first pixel emits light, and the second pixel, the third pixel and the fourth pixel stop emitting”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2016/0314761).
As to claim 14, Kim discloses a display apparatus comprising:
a display panel (display 110 of fig. 1) including a plurality of pixels (pixels PX of fig. 1);
and a display panel driver (data driver 130 of fig. 1) configured to drive the display panel as a normal mode or a low luminance mode (driving the display panel at various luminance levels as shown in TABLE I on page 4), wherein
in the low luminance mode (in the low luminance range shown in TABLE I on page 5), a length of an emission period in which the plurality of pixels emits light is increased (Off-duty ration is decreased to 0 at Luminance step 100 in comparison to Off-Duty at Luminance step 110 at 40%, wherein the off-duty ratio corresponding to a non-emission time [0010], inherently, in a period, when non-emission time period is decrease the emission period is increased), and an on-pixel ratio of the plurality of pixels is decreased (the luminance corresponds to the on-pixel ratio [0021 – 0023], wherein the display is in low luminance mode when the on-pixel ratio is decreased [0081 – 0082]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 10 and 15 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung et al. (US 2017/0110059) in view of Pyo et al. (2017/0294156).
As to claim 1, Sung discloses a display apparatus comprising:
a display panel (display panel 110 of fig. 2) including a plurality of pixels (pixels P of fig. 2);
a gate driver (scan driver 121 of fig. 2 supplying scan signals [0035]) configured to output gate signals (signals on scan lines S1 - Sn of fig. 2 [0035]) to the display panel (display panel 110 of fig. 2);
an emission driver (scan driver 121 of fig. 2 supplying emission signals [0035]) configured to output an emission signal (signals on emission control lines S1 - Sn of fig. 2 [0035 - 0036]) to the display panel (display panel 110 of fig. 2);
a data driver (data driver 122 of fig. 2) configured to apply data voltages (applying signals to data lines D1 - Dm of fig. 2 [0037]) to the display panel (display panel 110 of fig. 2);
and a driving controller (timing controller 125 of fig. 2) configured to control the gate driver (scan driver 121 of fig. 2 supplying scan signals [0035]), the emission driver (scan driver 121 of fig. 2 supplying emission signals [0035]) and the data driver (data driver 122 of fig. 2), wherein
in a state in which a setting luminance (required luminance determined by the brightness controller 320 of fig. 3 [0046]) of the display panel (display panel 110 of fig. 2) has a second setting luminance (reduced required brightness in the darker environment [0047 - 0050]) lower than a first setting luminance (required brightness in the brighter environment [0047 - 0050]), wherein
an on-pixel ratio (OPR [0047 - 0058]) of the plurality of pixels (pixels P of fig. 2) is changed based on the setting luminance (OPR is reduced based on the lower required luminance determined by the brightness controller 320 of fig. 3 [0046 - 0058]),
but does not explicitly disclose that in a state in which a setting luminance of the display panel has a second setting luminance lower than a first setting luminance, an emission period in which the plurality of pixels emits has a second emission period length longer than a first emission period length.
In the same field of endeavor, Pyo discloses a display apparatus, comprising a display panel (fig. 1) and a emission driver (150 of fig. 1), wherein in a state in which an on-pixel ratio of the display panel has a second on-pixel ratio lower (OPR 90% of fig. 7) than a first on-pixel ratio (OPR 100% of fig. 7), an emission period in which the plurality of pixels emits has a second emission period length (AID 94% ON of fig. 7, 94% of on-duty [0154 – 0155], wherein on-duty corresponds to the length of the emission period [0147]) longer than a first emission period length (AID 92% ON of fig. 7, 92% of on-duty [0150 – 0151], wherein on-duty corresponds to the length of the emission period [0147]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and the teachings of Pyo, such that in a state in which a setting luminance of the display panel has a second setting luminance lower than a first setting luminance, and the an on-pixel ratio of the plurality of pixels is changed based on the setting luminance, the emission period in which the plurality of pixels emits was a second emission period length longer than a first emission period length as disclosed by Pyo, with motivation to reduce power consumption (Pyo, [0147]).
As to claim 2 (dependent on 1), Sung discloses the display apparatus, wherein
the plurality of pixels (pixels P of fig. 2) emits light in response to the emission signal (signals on emission control lines S1 - Sn of fig. 2 [0035 - 0036]), and wherein
in the second setting luminance (reduced required brightness in the darker environment [0047 - 0050]), the on-pixel ratio (OPR [0047 - 0058]) has a second on-pixel ratio (OPR of the display panel 110 may be 50% [0057]) lower than a first on-pixel ratio (OPR [0047 - 0058]), but does not disclose that
an on-duty ratio of the emission signal has a second duty ratio higher than a first duty ratio.
In the same filed of endeavor, Pyo discloses that in a state in which the on-pixel ratio of the display panel has the second on-pixel ratio lower (OPR 90% of fig. 7) than a first on-pixel ratio (OPR 100% of fig. 7), the an on-duty ratio of the emission signal has a second duty ratio (AID 94% ON of fig. 7, 94% of on-duty [0154 – 0155], wherein on-duty corresponds to the length of the emission period [0147]) higher than a first duty ratio (AID 92% ON of fig. 7, 92% of on-duty [0150 – 0151], wherein on-duty corresponds to the length of the emission period [0147]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and the teachings of Pyo, such that in a state in which a setting luminance of the display panel has a second setting luminance lower than a first setting luminance, and the an on-pixel ratio of the plurality of pixels is changed based on the setting luminance, the emission period in which the plurality of pixels emits was a second emission period length longer than a first emission period length as disclosed by Pyo, with motivation to reduce power consumption (Pyo, [0147]).
As to claim 3 (dependent on 2), Sung discloses the display apparatus, wherein
the plurality of pixels (pixels P of fig. 2) includes a first pixel (R1 of fig. 4), a second pixel (B1 of fig. 4), a third pixel (B2 of fig. 4) and a fourth pixel (R2 of fig. 4), and wherein
in the second on-pixel ratio (OPR of the display panel 110 may be 50% [0057]), the first pixel (R1 of fig. 5) and the second pixel (B1 of fig. 5) emit light (fig. 4 [0054 - 0055]), and the third pixel (B2 of fig. 5) and the fourth pixel (R2 of fig. 5) stop emitting [0057].
As to claim 4 (dependent on 3), Sung discloses the display apparatus, wherein
in a state in which the setting luminance (required luminance determined by the brightness controller 320 of fig. 3 [0046]) has a third setting luminance (required luminance determined by the brightness controller 320 of fig. 3 [0046] which could be set at various levels [0061]) lower than the second setting luminance (luminance may be set at various levels [0061], inherently including first, second or third level), but does not explicitly disclose that the on-duty ratio has a third duty ratio higher than the second duty ratio.
In the same filed of endeavor, Pyo discloses that in a state in which the on-pixel ratio of the display panel has the third on-pixel ratio lower (OPR 78% of fig. 7), the on-duty ratio has a third duty ratio (AID 96% ON of fig. 7, 96% of on-duty [0156 – 0157], wherein on-duty corresponds to the length of the emission period [0147]) higher than the second duty ratio (AID 94% ON of fig. 7, 94% of on-duty [0154 – 0155], wherein on-duty corresponds to the length of the emission period [0147]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and the teachings of Pyo, such that in a state in which a setting luminance of the display panel has a second setting luminance lower than a first setting luminance, and the an on-pixel ratio of the plurality of pixels is changed based on the setting luminance, the emission period in which the plurality of pixels emits was a second emission period length longer than a first emission period length as disclosed by Pyo, with motivation to reduce power consumption (Pyo, [0147]).
As to claim 5 (dependent on 4), Sung discloses the display apparatus, wherein
the on-pixel ratio (OPR [0047 - 0058]) has a third on-pixel ratio lower than the second on-pixel ratio (OPR of the display panel 110 may be varied based on required luminance [0057 – 0061], inherently including first, second or third ratio)
As to claim 6 (dependent on 5) (in view of rejection under 112), Sung discloses the display apparatus, wherein
the plurality of pixels (pixels P of fig. 2) includes a first pixel (R1 of fig. 4), a second pixel (B1 of fig. 4), a third pixel (B2 of fig. 4) and a fourth pixel (R2 of fig. 4), the third on-pixel ratio (OPR of the display panel 110 may be varied based on required luminance [0057 – 0061], inherently including first, second or third ratio) and that the pixels may be turned off as required [0069 – 0073], but does not explicitly disclose the first pixel emits light, and the second pixel, the third pixel and the fourth pixel stop emitting.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sung in view of Pyo, such that during a third on-pixel ratio, lower than the second on-pixel ratio, the pixels were set such that the first pixel emits light, and the second pixel, the third pixel and the fourth pixel stop emitting with motivation to further improve power consumption of the system as required by Sung [0007].
As to claim 7 (dependent on 4), Sung discloses the display apparatus, wherein
in the second setting luminance (reduced required brightness in the darker environment [0047 - 0050]), a data voltage corresponding to the first setting luminance (required brightness in the brighter environment [0047 - 0050]) and a data voltage corresponding to the second setting luminance (reduced required brightness in the darker environment [0047 - 0050]) among the data voltages are same as each other (pixels are turned off using emission control without data control [0052]).
As to claim 8 (dependent on 4), Sung discloses the display apparatus, wherein
in the second setting luminance (reduced required brightness in the darker environment [0047 - 0050]), a first luminance driving current corresponding to the first setting luminance (required brightness in the brighter environment [0047 - 0050]) and a second luminance driving current corresponding to the second setting luminance (reduced required brightness in the darker environment [0047 - 0050]) are same as each other (pixels are turned off using emission control without data control [0052]), but does not explicitly disclose that at least one pixel of the plurality of pixels includes: a driving transistor configured to generate a driving current based on a data voltage of the data voltages; and a light-emitting element configured to emit light based on the driving current.
In the same filed of endeavor, Pyo discloses the display apparatus, wherein
at least one pixel of the plurality of pixels (pixels 111 of fig. 1) includes:
a driving transistor (M1 of fig. 5) configured to generate a driving current based on a data voltage of the data voltages (voltage on line Dm of fig. 5);
and a light-emitting element (OLED of fig. 5) configured to emit light based on the driving current (current Id of fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and the teachings of Pyo, such that the display apparatus was provided with pixel structure as disclosed by Pyo, with motivation to provide a display device to maximize an effect of reducing power consumption (Pyo, [0005]).
As to claim 9 (dependent on 8), Sung discloses the display apparatus, wherein
in the third setting luminance (required luminance determined by the brightness controller 320 of fig. 3 [0046]), a third luminance driving current corresponding to the third setting luminance (required luminance determined by the brightness controller 320 of fig. 3 [0046]) is lower than the second luminance driving current.
As to claim 10 (dependent on 1), Sung discloses the display apparatus, but does not explicitly disclose at least one pixel of the plurality of pixels) includes: a driving transistor including a control electrode connected to a first node, a first electrode connected to a second node and a second electrode connected to a third node; a writing transistor configured to apply a data voltage of the data voltages to the first node in response to a write gate signal among the gate signals; an emission transistor configured to apply a first power voltage to the second node in response to the emission signal; and a light-emitting element including a first electrode connected to the third node and a second electrode which receives a second power voltage.
In the same filed of endeavor, Pyo discloses the display apparatus, wherein
at least one pixel of the plurality of pixels (pixels 111 of fig. 1) includes:
a driving transistor (M1 of fig. 5) including a control electrode connected to a first node (node N1 of fig. 5), a first electrode connected to a second node (node between M1 and M3 of fig. 5) and a second electrode connected to a third node (N2 of fig. 5);
a writing transistor (M2 of fig. 5) configured to apply a data voltage of the data voltages (voltage on line Dm of fig. 5) to the first node (N1 of fig. 5) in response to a write gate signal among the gate signals (SCAN signal on line Sn of fig. 5);
an emission transistor (M3 of fig. 5) configured to apply a first power voltage (ELVDD of fig. 5) to the second node (node between M1 and M3 of fig. 5) in response to the emission signal (signal GC on line En of fig. 5);
and a light-emitting element (OLED of fig. 5) including a first electrode connected to the third node (N2 of fig. 5) and a second electrode which receives a second power voltage (ELVSS of fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and the teachings of Pyo, such that the display apparatus was provided with pixel structure as disclosed by Pyo, with motivation to provide a display device to maximize an effect of reducing power consumption (Pyo, [0005]).
As to claim 15, Sung discloses an electronic apparatus comprising:
a display panel (display panel 110 of fig. 2) including a plurality of pixels (pixels P of fig. 2);
a gate driver (scan driver 121 of fig. 2 supplying scan signals [0035]) configured to output a gate signal to the display panel (display panel 110 of fig. 2);
an emission driver (scan driver 121 of fig. 2 supplying emission signals [0035]) configured to output an emission signal (signals on emission control lines S1 - Sn of fig. 2 [0035 - 0036]) to the display panel (display panel 110 of fig. 2);
a data driver (data driver 122 of fig. 2) configured to apply a data voltage to the display panel (display panel 110 of fig. 2);
a driving controller (timing controller 125 of fig. 2) configured to control the gate driver (scan driver 121 of fig. 2 supplying scan signals [0035]), the emission driver (scan driver 121 of fig. 2 supplying emission signals [0035]) and the data driver (data driver 122 of fig. 2) based on an input control signal (signal CON of fig. 2);
and a processor (external source [0039]) configured to output the input control signal (signal CON of fig. 2 [0039]), wherein
in a state in which a setting luminance (required luminance determined by the brightness controller 320 of fig. 3 [0046]) of the display panel (display panel 110 of fig. 2) has a second setting luminance (reduced required brightness in the darker environment [0047 - 0050]) lower than a first setting luminance (required brightness in the brighter environment [0047 - 0050]), wherein
an on-pixel ratio (OPR [0047 - 0058]) of the plurality of pixels (pixels P of fig. 2) is changed based on the setting luminance (OPR is reduced based on the lower required luminance determined by the brightness controller 320 of fig. 3 [0046 - 0058]);
but does not explicitly disclose that in a state in which a setting luminance of the display panel has a second setting luminance lower than a first setting luminance, an emission period in which the plurality of pixels emits has a second emission period length longer than a first emission period length.
In the same field of endeavor, Pyo discloses a display apparatus, comprising a display panel (fig. 1) and a emission driver (150 of fig. 1), wherein in a state in which an on-pixel ratio of the display panel has a second on-pixel ratio lower (OPR 90% of fig. 7) than a first on-pixel ratio (OPR 100% of fig. 7), an emission period in which the plurality of pixels emits has a second emission period length (AID 94% ON of fig. 7, 94% of on-duty [0154 – 0155], wherein on-duty corresponds to the length of the emission period [0147]) longer than a first emission period length (AID 92% ON of fig. 7, 92% of on-duty [0150 – 0151], wherein on-duty corresponds to the length of the emission period [0147]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and the teachings of Pyo, such that in a state in which a setting luminance of the display panel has a second setting luminance lower than a first setting luminance, and the an on-pixel ratio of the plurality of pixels is changed based on the setting luminance, the emission period in which the plurality of pixels emits was a second emission period length longer than a first emission period length as disclosed by Pyo, with motivation to reduce power consumption (Pyo, [0147]).
As to claim 16 (dependent on 15), Sung discloses the electronic apparatus, wherein
the plurality of pixels (pixels P of fig. 2) emits light in response to the emission signal (signals on emission control lines S1 - Sn of fig. 2 [0035 - 0036]), and wherein
in the second setting luminance (reduced required brightness in the darker environment [0047 - 0050]), the on-pixel ratio (OPR [0047 - 0058]) has a second on-pixel ratio (OPR of the display panel 110 may be 50% [0057]) lower than a first on-pixel ratio (OPR [0047 - 0058]), but does not disclose that
an on-duty ratio of the emission signal has a second duty ratio higher than a first duty ratio.
In the same filed of endeavor, Pyo discloses that in a state in which the on-pixel ratio of the display panel has the second on-pixel ratio lower (OPR 90% of fig. 7) than a first on-pixel ratio (OPR 100% of fig. 7), the an on-duty ratio of the emission signal has a second duty ratio (AID 94% ON of fig. 7, 94% of on-duty [0154 – 0155], wherein on-duty corresponds to the length of the emission period [0147]) higher than a first duty ratio (AID 92% ON of fig. 7, 92% of on-duty [0150 – 0151], wherein on-duty corresponds to the length of the emission period [0147]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and the teachings of Pyo, such that in a state in which a setting luminance of the display panel has a second setting luminance lower than a first setting luminance, and the an on-pixel ratio of the plurality of pixels is changed based on the setting luminance, the emission period in which the plurality of pixels emits was a second emission period length longer than a first emission period length as disclosed by Pyo, with motivation to reduce power consumption (Pyo, [0147]).
As to claim 17 (dependent on 16), Sung discloses the electronic apparatus, wherein
the plurality of pixels (pixels P of fig. 2) includes a first pixel (R1 of fig. 4), a second pixel (B1 of fig. 4), a third pixel (B2 of fig. 4) and a fourth pixel (R2 of fig. 4), and wherein
in the second on-pixel ratio (OPR of the display panel 110 may be 50% [0057]), the first pixel (R1 of fig. 4) and the second pixel (B1 of fig. 4) emit light (fig. 4 [0054 – 0055]), and the third pixel (B2 of fig. 5) and the fourth pixel (R2 of fig. 5) stop emitting [0057].
As to claim 18 (dependent on 17), Sung discloses the electronic apparatus, wherein
in a state in which the setting luminance (required luminance determined by the brightness controller 320 of fig. 3 [0046]) has a third setting luminance (required luminance determined by the brightness controller 320 of fig. 3 [0046] which could be set at various levels [0061]) lower than the second setting luminance (luminance may be set at various levels [0061], inherently including first, second or third level), but does not explicitly disclose that the on-duty ratio has a third duty ratio higher than the second duty ratio.
In the same filed of endeavor, Pyo discloses that in a state in which the on-pixel ratio of the display panel has the third on-pixel ratio lower (OPR 78% of fig. 7), the on-duty ratio has a third duty ratio (AID 96% ON of fig. 7, 96% of on-duty [0156 – 0157], wherein on-duty corresponds to the length of the emission period [0147]) higher than the second duty ratio (AID 94% ON of fig. 7, 94% of on-duty [0154 – 0155], wherein on-duty corresponds to the length of the emission period [0147]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and the teachings of Pyo, such that in a state in which a setting luminance of the display panel has a second setting luminance lower than a first setting luminance, and the an on-pixel ratio of the plurality of pixels is changed based on the setting luminance, the emission period in which the plurality of pixels emits was a second emission period length longer than a first emission period length as disclosed by Pyo, with motivation to reduce power consumption (Pyo, [0147]).
As to claim 19 (dependent on 18), Sung discloses the electronic apparatus, wherein the on-pixel ratio (OPR [0047 - 0058]) has a third on-pixel ratio lower than the second on-pixel ratio (OPR of the display panel 110 may be varied based on required luminance [0057 – 0061], inherently including first, second or third ratio)
As to claim 20 (dependent on 16), Sung discloses the electronic apparatus, wherein
the plurality of pixels (pixels P of fig. 2) includes a first pixel (R1 of fig. 4), a second pixel (B1 of fig. 4), a third pixel (B2 of fig. 4) and a fourth pixel (R2 of fig. 4), and wherein
in the second on-pixel ratio (OPR of the display panel 110 may be varied based on required luminance [0057 – 0061], inherently including first, second or third ratio) and that the pixels may be turned off as required [0069 – 0073], but does not explicitly disclose the first pixel emits light, and the second pixel, the third pixel and the fourth pixel stop emitting.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sung in view of Pyo, such that during a second on-pixel ratio, lower than the first on-pixel ratio, the pixels were set such that the first pixel emits light, and the second pixel, the third pixel and the fourth pixel stop emitting with motivation to further improve power consumption of the system as required by Sung [0007].
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung in view of Pyo and Kim et al. (US 2020/0111404)
As to claim 11 (dependent on 1), Sung discloses the display apparatus, wherein in the second setting luminance (reduced required brightness in the darker environment [0047 - 0050]), the on-pixel ratio (OPR [0047 - 0058]) has a second on-pixel ratio (OPR of the display panel 110 may be 50% [0057]) lower than a first on-pixel ratio (OPR [0047 - 0058]), but Sung does not explicitly disclose the apparatus further comprising: a sweep signal generator configured to output a sweep signal to the display panel, wherein the data driver further outputs a pulse data voltage to the display panel, wherein at least one pixel of the plurality of pixels includes: a driving transistor configured to generate a driving current based on a data voltage of the data voltages; a sweep transistor configured to apply a first power voltage to a control electrode of the driving transistor based on the pulse data voltage; and a light-emitting element configured to emit light based on the driving current.
Pyo discloses the apparatus comprising:
a signal generator (emission driver 150 of fig. 1) configured to output a signal (signal on lines E1 - En) to the display panel (panel of fig. 1), wherein
the data driver (data driver 130 of fig. 1) further outputs a data voltage (voltage on lines D1 – Dm of fig. 1) to the display panel (panel of fig. 1), wherein
at least one pixel of the plurality of pixels (pixel 111 of fig. 1) includes:
a driving transistor (M1 of fig. 5) configured to generate a driving current (Id of fig. 5) based on a data voltage of the data voltages (voltage on Dm of fig. 5);
and a light-emitting element (OLED of fig. 5) configured to emit light based on the driving current (Id of fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and the teachings of Pyo, such that the display apparatus was provided with pixel structure as disclosed by Pyo, with motivation to provide a display device to maximize an effect of reducing power consumption (Pyo, [0005]).
Sung in view of Pyo fails to disclose the apparatus further comprising: a sweep signal generator configured to output a sweep signal to the display panel, wherein the data driver further outputs a pulse data voltage to the display panel, wherein at least one pixel of the plurality of pixels includes: a sweep transistor configured to apply a first power voltage to a control electrode of the driving transistor based on the pulse data voltage.
In the same filed of endeavor, Kim discloses a display panel comprising:
a sweep signal generator configured to output a sweep signal to the display panel (outputting signal Vsweep to the pixel of figs. 9 and 10, inherently a generator generates the Vsweep signal), wherein
the data driver further outputs a pulse data voltage to the display panel (outputting the PWM DATA on the line Sig of the pixel of fig. 9 as shown in fig. 10, inherently a data driver outputs PWM DATA signal), wherein
at least one pixel of the plurality of pixels includes:
a sweep transistor (transistor 321 of fig. 9) configured to apply a first power voltage (voltage VDD of fig. 9) to a control electrode of the driving transistor (transistor 311 of fig. 9) based on the pulse data voltage (based on signal on Sig line connected to the transistor 321 of fig. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung in view of Pyo and the teachings of Kim, such that the display apparatus was provided with pixel structure as further disclosed by Kim, with motivation to provide a display panel providing improved color reproducibility (Kim [0006]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 12 (dependent on 11), Sung alone or in combination with other references fails to disclose the display apparatus, wherein in the second setting luminance, the pulse data voltage has a second pulse data voltage higher than a first pulse data voltage (Emphasis Added.).
As to claim 13 (dependent on 11), Sung alone or in combination with other references fails to disclose the display apparatus, wherein in the first setting, the sweep signal is gradually decreased from a first high voltage to a first low voltage, and wherein in the second setting luminance, the sweep signal is gradually decreased from a second high voltage higher than the first high voltage to the first low voltage (Emphasis Added).
Conclusion
/DMITRIY BOLOTIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623