This Office Action has been issued in response to Applicant’s Communication of application S/N 19/079,232 filed on March 13, 2025. Claims 21 to 40 are currently pending with the application.
Priority
The instant application is a continuation of Application No. 17/348,377, filed on June 15, 2021, which is a continuation of Application No. 15/479,510, filed on April 5, 2017, which claims priority from provisional Application No. 62/439,844, filed on December 28, 2016. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of the prior-filed applications under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, or 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 02/26/2026 (1) fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but not all references listed therein have been considered.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/26/2026 (2) was filed before the mailing date of the first action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 23, 26, 31, 34, and 39 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 23 recites the limitation “causing display a presentation” in line 2, which appears to contain a typographical error, and that it should read, for example, “causing a presentation”. Same rationale applies to claims 26, 31, 34, and 39, since they also include same deficiencies. Appropriate corrections are required.
Double Patenting
Claims 21, 27 to 29, and 35 to 37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, and 6 of U.S. Patent 12,271,432. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the instant application are anticipated by the claims in the U.S. Patents.
Following mapping of claims 21, 27, and 28 of Instant Application to claims 1, 3, and 6 of U.S. Patent 12,271,432. Similar mapping applies to claims 29, and 35 to 37 of instant application, since they recite similar limitations.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent 12,271,432
21. A method comprising: receiving a query that comprises a query term from a user; initiating a query session; identifying a search result based on the query term of the query and a credential associated with the user; recording a state of the query session without user interaction, the recorded state of the query session including the query, an interrelated query, and a presentation format; detecting an unexpected interruption; and in response to detecting the unexpected interruption, restarting the query session according to the recorded state of the query session including: recalling the search result and an interrelated search result associated with the interrelated query that were generated prior to the unexpected interruption; and formatting the search result and the interrelated search result based on the presentation format recorded prior to the unexpected interruption; wherein the method is performed using one or more processors.
1. A method comprising: receiving, from a client device associated with a user account of a user, an input that defines a flag criteria, the flag criteria comprising a document field value; receiving a query that comprises a query term from the user account; initiating a query session; accessing a plurality of search results based on the query term of the query and a credential associated with the user account; identifying a search result from among the plurality of search results based on the document field value of the flag criteria; recording a state of the query session without user interaction, the recorded state of the query session including the query, an interrelated query, and a presentation format; detecting an unexpected interruption; in response to detecting the unexpected interruption, restarting the query session according to the recorded state of the query session including: recalling the search result and an interrelated search result associated with the interrelated query that were generated prior to the unexpected interruption; formatting the search result and the interrelated search result based on the presentation format recorded prior to the unexpected interruption; and causing display of a presentation of the plurality of search results at the client device, the presentation of the plurality of search results including a display of a flag icon based on a position of the search result among the presentation of the plurality of search results.
27. The method of claim 26, wherein the search result includes a plurality of search results, wherein the presentation of the search result comprises a display region, wherein the method further comprises: receiving a selection of the search result from among the plurality of search results; and presenting a document that corresponds with the search result within the display region.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the presentation of the plurality of search results comprises a display region, and the method further comprises: receiving a selection of the search result from among the plurality of search results; and presenting a document that corresponds with the search result within the display region.
28. The method of claim 21, wherein the receiving a query includes: receiving a selection of a field of a displayed document; and generating the query based at least in part on the field of the displayed document.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the receiving the query includes: receiving a selection of a field of a displayed document; and generating the query based on the field of the displayed document.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21 to 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stading (U.S. Publication No. 2008/0243784), in view of Colrain et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0297566) hereinafter Colrain, and further in view of Pattabhiraman et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0012111) hereinafter Pattabhiraman.
As to claim 21:
Stading discloses:
A method comprising:
receiving a query that comprises a query term from a user [Paragraph 0048 teaches searching a variety of data sources using one or more keywords in a query string provided by a user via the user device; Paragraph 0054 teach remote devices are associated with users having a subscription with the search system, and/or with users having an account with the enterprise system; Paragraph 0056 teaches receiving a query];
initiating a query session [Paragraph 0045 teaches managing subscriber accounts, individual sessions, and controlling a user experience with the search system; Paragraph 0055 teaches managing individual sessions and controlling a user experience with the search system];
identifying a search result based on the query term of the query and a credential associated with the user [Paragraph 0048 teaches receive search results that satisfy the query string; Paragraph 0056 teaches receiving a query, and determining a desired result based on the user input and the initial query; Paragraph 0062 teaches user manager that manages and tracks user information, preferences, permissions for each user, and interconnections; Paragraph 0094 teaches the graphical user interface may be adapted to allow a user to interact with the data set to sort, filter and display the same information in multiple different ways; Paragraph 0144 teaches company clustering visualization, which displays search result data based on the ownership data];
recording a state of the query session [Paragraph 0062 teaches session manager tracks user information, user preferences, permissions, and other information, and tracks user input, implicit and explicit user interactions, store the input and the interactions, and adjust the user experience accordingly];
wherein the method is performed using one or more processors [Paragraph 0031 teaches instructions are executable by the processor].
Stading does not appear to expressly disclose recording a state of the query session without user interaction, the recorded state of the query session including the query, an interrelated query, and a presentation format; detecting an unexpected interruption; and in response to detecting the unexpected interruption, restarting the query session according to the recorded state of the query session including: recalling the search result and an interrelated search result associated with the interrelated query that were generated prior to the unexpected interruption; and formatting the search result and the interrelated search result based on the presentation format recorded prior to the unexpected interruption.
Colrain discloses:
recording a state of the query session without user interaction [Paragraph 0047 teaches maintaining a history of commands for replay, by, on a command-by-command basis as each comment is received, monitoring a command that is sent on a first database session during runtime, and adding the monitored command to a history of commands, hence, without user interaction];
detecting an unexpected interruption [Paragraph 0045 teaches detecting unavailability of the database session, in other words, an unexpected interruption; Paragraph 0049 teaches detecting unavailability of a first database session while commands are being sent for execution during runtime, i.e., by detecting an error; Paragraph 0106 teaches the unavailability of the database session could result from an unplanned outage]; and
in response to detecting the unexpected interruption, restarting the query session according to the recorded state of the query session [Paragraph 0045 teaches in response to detecting unavailability of the database session, restoring the session state in a different session; Paragraph 0049 teaches in response to detecting unavailability, initiate a second database session and begin replay of the session, by replaying the commands saved in the session history; Paragraph 0096 teaches rebuilding the client state on a new session, to safely re-establish the same client visible results].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of the cited references and modify the invention as taught by Stading, by recording a state of the query session without user interaction; detecting an unexpected interruption; and in response to detecting the unexpected interruption, restarting the query session according to the recorded state of the query session, as taught by Colrain [Paragraph 0045, 0047, 0049, 0096], because both applications are directed to searching and retrieval of data; recording state of sessions without user interaction, and allowing a user to reliably interact with the application without the loss of information or session state, may retain a higher percentage of users, draw more users, and/or increase the reputation of the application, the mid-tier server, or the database server, or even the company providing the application, the mid-tier server, or the database server, and promote more reliable applications, even if a database session fails (See Colrain Para [0142]).
Neither Stading nor Colrain appear to expressly disclose the recorded state of the query session including the query, an interrelated query, and a presentation format; restarting the query session including: recalling the search result and an interrelated search result associated with the interrelated query that were generated prior to the unexpected interruption; and formatting the search result and the interrelated search result based on the presentation format recorded prior to the unexpected interruption.
Pattabhiraman discloses:
the recorded state of the query session including the query, an interrelated query, and a presentation format [Paragraph 0107 teaches as user enters or specifies search criteria, manipulates search results, and associates UI controls, the search results may be progressively narrowed; Paragraph 0108 teaches at any point during the search process, the search session may be saved, with includes the searches, the search results, and the specified analytics, therefore, the presentation format; Paragraph 0110 teaches analytics include charts, pivot grids, etc., hence, presentation formats; Paragraph 0139 teaches search prompt settings (queries and interrelated queries), selection, chart options, and settings used to display the chart, options, and other settings, are saved as a session];
restarting the query session including: recalling the search result and an interrelated search result associated with the interrelated query that were generated prior to the unexpected interruption [Paragraph 0108 teaches the session may be opened, and returned where the user left of, i.e., to the display screen, which replicates the saved session; Paragraph 0139 teaches a saved session can be accessed to restore the UI display screen, which includes queries, related queries, selections, and options; Paragraph 0176 teaches search results and analytics settings will be saved as the current session, so that the same search results and data visualization (analytics) can be easily restored];
formatting the search result and the interrelated search result based on the presentation format recorded prior to the unexpected interruption [Paragraph 0139 teaches a saved session can be accessed to restore the UI display screen, which includes queries, related queries, selections, options, charts, therefore, the search results based on the saved session format; Paragraph 0176 teaches search results and analytics settings will be saved so that the same search results and data visualization (analytics) can be easily restored].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of the cited references and modify the invention as taught by Stading, by incorporating a recorded state of the query session including the query, an interrelated query, and a presentation format; restarting the query session including: recalling the search result and an interrelated search result associated with the interrelated query that were generated prior to the unexpected interruption; and formatting the search result and the interrelated search result based on the presentation format recorded prior to the unexpected interruption, as taught by Pattabhiraman [Paragraph 0108, 0139, 0176], because the applications are directed to searching and retrieval of data; recording the state of the query session including the query, interrelated queries, and presentation formats, and restarting the query session including recalling the search result and an interrelated search result associated with the interrelated query, and the results format, provides enhanced end-user experience, and improves user productivity and efficiency (See Pattabhiraman Paras [0072], [0115]).
As to claim 22:
Stading discloses:
wherein the interrelated query includes a plurality of interrelated queries [Paragraph 0071 teaches generating a query based on user selections of results, and sending the query to multiple data sources in response to the received data, and further generates a secondary query based on extracted data to be sent to the one or more data sources, in other words, a plurality of interrelated queries].
As to claim 23:
Stading discloses:
causing display a presentation of the search result [Paragraph 0071 teaches receives search results based on the query, and where each search result is associated with a document; Paragraph 0072 teaches generating a graphical user interface, including search results];
receiving one or more inputs associated with the search result [Paragraph 0056 teaches receiving user input related to the search results];
generating the plurality of interrelated queries based on the one or more inputs [Paragraph 0056 teaches determine a desired result based on the user input and the initial query, and to generate new queries based on the determination].
As to claim 24:
Stading discloses:
wherein the interrelated query includes a series of interrelated queries [Paragraph 0071 teaches generating a query based on user selections of results, and sending the query to multiple data sources in response to the received data, and further generates a secondary query based on extracted data to be sent to the one or more data sources, in other words, a series of interrelated queries].
As to claim 25:
Stading discloses:
receiving a concept from a user [Paragraph 0071 teaches each selectable graphic element is associated with a category of information, receives data related to a selection of one of the multiple selectable graphic elements];
determining a list of documents associated with the concept [Paragraph 0071 teaches receives search results based on the query, where the query can include a search term related to the category of information associated with the selection, and where each search result is associated with a document];
causing display a presentation of the list of documents to the user [Paragraph 0072 teaches generating a graphical user interface, including search results; Paragraph 0075 teaches generating a graphical user interface providing search results, where a view comprises a list of the search results and a control panel including multiple selectable elements]; and
receiving an input associated with the list of documents [Paragraph 0091 teaches receiving an input selection];
wherein the receiving a query includes generating the query based at least on the input and the list of documents [Paragraph 0091 teaches generating a second query including a search term related to the category of information associated with the selection, to produce a third data set].
As to claim 26:
Stading discloses:
causing display a presentation of the search result, wherein, the presentation of the search result comprises a spreadsheet [Paragraph 0081 teaches results may be presented within a graphical user interface in a chart, a graph, or spreadsheet form].
As to claim 27:
Stading discloses:
the search result includes a plurality of search results, wherein the presentation of the plurality of search results comprises a display region, and the method further comprises: receiving a selection of the search result from among the plurality of search results [Paragraph 0077 teaches receives an input selection that is related to the search results; Paragraph 0148 teaches providing a visual representation of the search results as selectable graphic elements, and selecting one of the selectable graphic elements]; and
presenting a document that corresponds with the search result within the display region [Paragraph 0079 teaches determining that the input selection is a selected document, and providing the document; Paragraph 0148 teaches by selecting one of the selectable graphic elements (by clicking on the element using a mouse pointer, for example), documents associated with the
selected graphic element may be displayed].
As to claim 28:
Stading discloses:
receiving a selection of a field of a displayed document [Paragraph 0091 teaches graphical map includes visual representation of a data set, such as a search result, where data related to an input selection is received, as a selection of one of the multiple selectable graphic elements]; and
generating the query based on the field of the displayed document [Paragraph 0091 teaches generating a query including a search term related to the category of information associated with the selection].
Claims 29 to 40 are similarly rejected by applying the same rationale, since they recite similar limitations.
Conclusion
/RAQUEL PEREZ-ARROYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2169