DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/13/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yaroshchuk et al. (US 2022/0107517 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yaroshchuk discloses a display device (Figure 1A) comprising:
a display panel ([0076] discloses: 100, PBP lens, can be part of a display screen); and
a first optical layer ([0074] discloses: 105, anisotropic film) on the display panel (Figure 1 depicts 105, anisotropic film, part of 100, PBP lens),
wherein the first optical layer comprises a geometric phase module ([0052] teaches: PBP is a geometric phase related to changes in the polarization state experienced by a light while it propagates in an optically anisotropic material; thus 105, anisotropic film, comprises a geometric phase module; [0053] discloses: phase profile coded into anisotropic film) having a cross section with a curved shape ([0076] discloses: 105, anisotropic film may have a curved shape).
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yaroshchuk et al. (US 2022/0107517 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Signoretto et al. (US 2024/0058700 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Yaroshchuk discloses the display device of claim 1.
Yaroshchuk fails to disclose a device wherein the first optical layer further comprises a lens between the display panel and the geometric phase module. Yaroshchuk and Signoretto are related because both disclose display devices.
Signoretto teaches a device wherein the first optical layer further comprises a lens between the display panel and the geometric phase module (Claim 5 teaches: a lens between the semi-transparent mirror and the Pancharatnam-Berry lens).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yaroshchuk in view of Signoretto and provide a device wherein the first optical layer further comprises a lens between the display panel and the geometric phase module. Doing so would allow for increased optical design flexibility, thereby improving image quality and field of view of the display device.
Regarding claim 10, the modified Yaroshchuk discloses the display device of claim 1.
Yaroshchuk fails to disclose a device further comprising a second optical layer between the display panel and the first optical layer. Yaroshchuk and Signoretto are related because both disclose display devices.
Signoretto teaches a device further comprising a second optical layer between the display panel and the first optical layer (Figure 3 depicts: 20, circular polarizer disposed between 10, display panel and 40PB, Pancharatnam-Berry lens; thus a second optical layer between the display panel and the first optical layer).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yaroshchuk in view of Signoretto and provide a device further comprising a second optical layer between the display panel and the first optical layer. Doing so would allow for increased optical design flexibility, thereby improving image quality and field of view of the display device.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yaroshchuk et al. (US 2022/0107517 A1) in view of Signoretto et al. (US 2024/0058700 A1), as applied to claim 2 above, in view of Amirsolaimani et al. (US 2020/0341268 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Yaroshchuk discloses the display device of claim 2.
Yaroshchuk fails to disclose a device wherein the geometric phase module comprises a geometric phase lens, and wherein a curvature of the geometric phase lens and a curvature of the lens are same as each other. Yaroshchuk and Amirsolaimani are related because both disclose display devices.
Amirsolaimani teaches a device wherein the geometric phase module comprises a geometric phase lens ([0030] teaches: 130, Pancharatnam Berry Phase element), and wherein a curvature of the geometric phase lens and a curvature of the lens ([0030] teaches: 110, pancake lens) are same as each other (Figure 3 depicts: curvature of 110, pancake lens and 130, Pancharantam Berry Phase element are the same).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yaroshchuk in view of Amirsolaimani and provide a device wherein the geometric phase module comprises a geometric phase lens, and wherein a curvature of the geometric phase lens and a curvature of the lens are same as each other. Doing so would allow for the PBS lens to provide chromatic-aberration correction while maintaining a compact optical assembly, thereby improving image quality and reducing system form factor.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yaroshchuk et al. (US 2022/0107517 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Urukura (US 2024/0210699 A1) in view of Signoretto et al. (US 2024/0058700 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Yaroshchuk discloses the display device of claim 1.
Yaroshchuk fails to disclose a device wherein the first optical layer further comprises: an absorptive polarization layer on the display panel; a translucent mirror on the absorptive polarization layer; a first lens on the translucent mirror; a second lens on the first lens; a phase delay layer on the second lens; a reflective polarization layer on the phase delay layer; and a third lens on the reflective polarization layer. Yaroshchuk and Urukura are related because both disclose display devices.
Urukura teaches a device wherein the first optical layer further comprises:
an absorptive polarization layer on the display panel ([0080] teaches: 20, linearly polarizing plate, is an absorptive polarizing plate; Figure 1 depicts: 20, polarizing plate on 10, display panel) and a third lens on the reflective polarization layer ([0097] teaches: 53, third lens, attached to the curved surface of the second polarized light selective reflector; thus considered a third lens on the reflective polarizer layer). Yaroshchuk and Signoretto are related because both disclose display devices.
Signoretto teaches a device wherein the first optical layer further comprises:
a translucent mirror on the absorptive polarization layer (Figure 3 depicts: 30, semi-transparent mirror with 20, containing 21, polarizing plate; thus considered a translucent mirror on the absorptive polarization layer);
a first lens on the translucent mirror (Figure 3 depicts: 41, first lens on 30, semi-transparent mirror);
a second lens on the first lens (Figure 3 depicts: 42, second lens on 41, first lens);
a phase delay layer on the second lens (Figure 3 depicts: 52, second quarter wave plate on 42, second lens);
a reflective polarization layer on the phase delay layer (Figure 3 depicts: 51, second quarter wave plate).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yaroshchuk in view of Urukura and Signoretto and provide a device wherein the first optical layer further comprises: an absorptive polarization layer on the display panel; a translucent mirror on the absorptive polarization layer; a first lens on the translucent mirror; a second lens on the first lens; a phase delay layer on the second lens; a reflective polarization layer on the phase delay layer; and a third lens on the reflective polarization layer. Doing so would allow for increased optical design flexibility and a wider field of view while maintaining a thin profile display device.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yaroshchuk et al. (US 2022/0107517 A1) in view of Urukura (US 2024/0210699 A1) in view of Signoretto et al. (US 2024/0058700 A1), as applied to claim 4 above, in view of Signoretto et al. (US 2024/0345411 A1) hereinafter Signoretto411.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Yaroshchuk discloses the display device of claim 4.
Yaroshchuk fails to disclose a device wherein the geometric phase module is between the absorptive polarization layer and the translucent mirror. Yaroshchuk and Signoretto411 are related because both disclose display devices.
Signoretto411 teaches a device wherein the geometric phase module is between the absorptive polarization layer and the translucent mirror (Figure 12 depicts: 42PB, PB lens between 21, polarizing plate and 30, semi-transparent mirror; [0086] teaches: polarizing plate may be an absorptive one).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yaroshchuk in view of Signoretto41 and provide a device wherein the geometric phase module is between the absorptive polarization layer and the translucent mirror. Doing so would allow for additional optical power to be provided within the folded optical path, thereby shortening the optical system while improving MTF performance and field of view.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yaroshchuk et al. (US 2022/0107517 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Signoretto et al. (US 2024/0058700 A1) in view of Urukura (US 2024/0210699 A1).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Yaroshchuk discloses the display device of claim 1.
Yaroshchuk fails to disclose a device wherein the first optical layer further comprises:
an absorptive polarization layer on the display panel; a first phase delay layer on the absorptive polarization layer; a translucent mirror on the first phase delay layer; a first lens on the translucent mirror; a second lens on the first lens; a second phase delay layer on the second lens; a reflective polarization layer on the second phase delay layer; and a third lens on the reflective polarization layer. Yaroshchuk and Signoretto are related because both disclose display devices.
Signoretto teaches a device wherein the first optical layer further comprises:
an absorptive polarization layer on the display panel (Figure 3 depicts: 10, display panel, followed by 21, first linearly polarizing plate);
a first phase delay layer on the absorptive polarization layer (Figure 3 depicts: 22, first quarter wave plate on 21, first linearly polarizing plate; [0095] teaches: polarizing plate can be an absorptive one);
a translucent mirror on the first phase delay layer (Figure 3 depicts: 30, semi-transparent mirror, on 22, first quarter wave plate);
a first lens on the translucent mirror (Figure 3 depicts: 41, lens on 30, semi-transparent mirror);
a second lens on the first lens (Figure 3 depicts: 42, second lens, on 41, first lens);
a second phase delay layer on the second lens (Figure 3 depicts: 52, quarter-wave plate on 42, second lens);
a reflective polarization layer on the second phase delay layer (Figure 3 depicts: 51, linearly polarizing plate on 52, second quarter wave plate). Yaroshchuk and Urukura are related because both disclose optical systems.
Urukura teaches a third lens on the reflective polarization layer ([0097] teaches: 53, third lens, attached to the curved surface of the second polarized light selective reflector; thus considered a third lens on the reflective polarizer layer).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yaroshchuk in view of Urukura and Signoretto and provide a device wherein the first optical layer further comprises:
an absorptive polarization layer on the display panel; a first phase delay layer on the absorptive polarization layer; a translucent mirror on the first phase delay layer; a first lens on the translucent mirror; a second lens on the first lens; a second phase delay layer on the second lens; a reflective polarization layer on the second phase delay layer; and a third lens on the reflective polarization layer. Doing so would allow for increased optical design flexibility and a wider field of view while maintaining a thin profile display device.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yaroshchuk et al. (US 2022/0107517 A1) in view of Signoretto et al. (US 2024/0058700 A1) in view of Urukura (US 2024/0210699 A1) as applied to claim 6 above, in view of Amirsolaimani et al. (US 2020/0341268 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Yaroshchuk discloses the display device of claim 6.
Yaroshchuk fails to disclose a device wherein the geometric phase module is on the third lens. Yaroshchuk and Amirsolaimani are related because both disclose display devices.
Amirsolaimani teaches a device wherein the geometric phase module (Figure 1 depicts: 130, PBP element, on 110, pancake lens) is on the third lens (Examiner notes that Urukura supplies the third lens and Amirsolaimani is relied upon for adding PBP element to the third lens).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yaroshchuk in view of Amirsolaimani and provide a device wherein the geometric phase module is on the third lens. Doing so would allow for the geometric phase element to correct chromatic aberration of the lens while reducing the form factor of the optical system, thereby improving image quality in a compact display device.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yaroshchuk et al. (US 2022/0107517 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Jamali et al. (US 2023/0324672 A1).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Yaroshchuk discloses the display device of claim 1,
wherein the geometric phase lens has a cross section with a curved shape ([0002] teaches: PBP lenses may have a curved shape).
Yaroshchuk fails to disclose a device wherein the geometric phase module comprises: a first linear polarization conversion layer; a first phase delay layer on the first linear polarization conversion layer; and a geometric phase lens on the first phase delay layer. Yaroschchuk and Jamali are related because both disclose optical systems.
Jamali teaches a device wherein the geometric phase module comprises:
a first linear polarization conversion layer ([0055] teaches: 205, polarization switch, with a twisted nematic liquid crystal cell; the TNCL layer is considered the first linear polarization conversion layer);
a first phase delay layer ([0055] teaches: 205, polarization switch, may include a quarter-wave plate) on the first linear polarization conversion layer (Examiner notes that the quarter-wave plate is considered to be on the TNCL layer as they are both part of 205, polarization switch); and
a geometric phase lens ([0055] teaches: 207, PBP lens) on the first phase delay layer ([0055] teaches: quarter-wave plate disposed between TNCL cell and 207, PBP lens),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yaroshchuk in view of Jamali and provide wherein the geometric phase module comprises: a first linear polarization conversion layer; a first phase delay layer on the first linear polarization conversion layer; and a geometric phase lens on the first phase delay layer. Doing so would allow for selective control of the handedness of the circularly polarized light incident on the geometric phase lens, thereby enabling selective switching between focusing and defocusing optical states.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yaroshchuk et al. (US 2022/0107517 A1) in view of Jamali et al. (US 2023/0324672 A1), as applied to claim 8 above, in view of Yan et al. (US 11,762,197 B2) in view of Oh et al. (US 2021/0231986 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Yaroshchuk discloses the display device of claim 8.
Yaroshchuk fails to disclose a device wherein the geometric phase module further comprises: a second phase delay layer on the geometric phase lens; a second linear polarization conversion layer on the second phase delay layer; and a third phase delay layer on the second linear polarization conversion layer. Yaroshchuk and Yan are related because both disclose display devices.
Yan teaches a device wherein the geometric phase module further comprises:
a second phase delay layer on the geometric phase lens (Figure 4 depicts: QWP2, quarter wave plate between GPL2, geometrical phase lens and P2, polarization switch);
a second linear polarization conversion layer on the second phase delay layer (Examiner notes that the polarization switch is an electrically adjustable polarization rotator, Col. 4 lines 25-28). Yaroshchuk and Oh are related because both disclose display devices.
Oh teaches a device where a third phase delay layer on the second linear polarization conversion layer (Figure 13B and [0163] teach: 1300A, TNLC switchable waveplate between quarter waveplates 1324 and 1326).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yaroshchuk in view of Yan and Oh and provide a device wherein the geometric phase module further comprises: a second phase delay layer on the geometric phase lens; a second linear polarization conversion layer on the second phase delay layer; and a third phase delay layer on the second linear polarization conversion layer. Doing so would allow for broadband polarization conversion with improved conversion efficiency over a wider range of incident angles, thereby improving optical performance across a wider field of view.
Claims 11-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yaroshchuk et al. (US 2022/0107517 A1) in view of Signoretto et al. (US 2024/0058700 A1), as applied to claim 10 above, in view of Chen et al. (US 11,778,858 B1).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Yaroshchuk discloses the display device of claim 10.
Yaroshchuk fails to disclose a device wherein the second optical layer comprises a plurality of micro lenses. Yaroshchuk and Chen are related because both disclose display devices.
Chen teaches a device wherein the second optical layer comprises a plurality of micro lenses (Figure 3 depicts: an optical layer disposed over 42, display panel wherein 49, plurality of micro lenses, form a microlens array).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yaroshchuk in view of Chen and provide a device wherein the second optical layer comprises a plurality of micro lenses. Doing so would allow light emitted by the display panel to be focused in the on-axis direction, thereby improving display efficiency.
Regarding claim 12, the modified Yaroshchuk discloses the display device of claim 11, wherein the plurality of micro lenses corresponds to a plurality of color filters of the display panel (Chen: Figure 3 depicts: 46, color filter elements and a plurality of 48, microlenses; Col. 5 lines 30-37 teach: a respective microlens is formed over each color filter element; thus a plurality of micro lenses correspond to a plurality of color filters of the display panel; Examiner notes that the same motivation to combine applied to an earlier claim, 10, also applies here, and no further analysis is required, consistent with MPEP § 2143, which permits reliance on previously articulated rationale where the combination and reasonings remain unchanged).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yaroshchuk et al. (US 2022/0107517 A1) in view of Signoretto et al. (US 2024/0058700 A1), as applied to claim 2 above, in view of Ouderkirk et al. (US 2021/0263342 A1).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Yaroshchuk discloses the display device of claim 10.
Yaroshchuk fails to disclose a device further comprising a filling layer between the first optical layer and the second optical layer. Yaroshchuk and Ouderkirk are related because both disclose optical displays.
Ouderkirk teaches a device further comprising a filling layer between the first optical layer and the second optical layer (in at least abstract teaches: adhesive layer are positioned between optical substrate and first lens; thus considered a first and second optical layer under BRI).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yaroshchuk in view of Ouderkirk and provide a device further comprising a filling layer between the first optical layer and the second optical layer.. Doing so would allow for a gap between optical layers to be eliminated, thereby reducing reflections and optical artifacts and improve optical performance.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yaroshchuk et al. (US 2022/0107517 A1) in view of Kume et al. (US 2003/0133706 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Yaroshchuk discloses an optical device (Figure 1A) comprising:
a display device ([0076] discloses: 100, PBP lens, can be part of a display screen; thus a display device)
wherein the display device comprises:
a display panel ([0076] discloses: 100, PBP lens, can be part of a display screen); and
a first optical layer ([0074] discloses: 105, anisotropic film) on the display panel, wherein the first optical layer comprises a geometric phase module ([0052] teaches: PBP is a geometric phase related to changes in the polarization state experienced by a light while it propagates in an optically anisotropic material; thus 105, anisotropic film, comprises a geometric phase module; [0053] discloses: phase profile coded into anisotropic film) having a cross section with a curved shape ([0076] discloses: 105, anisotropic film may have a curved shape).
Yaroshchuk fails to disclose a device with an optical path conversion member on the display device. Yaroshchuk and Kume are related because both disclose optical systems.
Kume teaches a device with an optical path conversion member on the display device ([0083] teaches: 13b, prism adjoining TFT panel and eyepiece; thus considered an optical path conversion member on the display device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yaroshchuk in view of Kume and provide a device with an optical path conversion member on the display device. Doing so would allow light emitted by the display device to be redirected toward an eyepiece, thereby reducing the thickness of the optical device and providing a more compact optical arrangement.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yaroshchuk et al. (US 2022/0107517 A1) in view of Kume et al. (US 2003/0133706 A1), as applied to claim 14 above, in view of Signoretto et al. (US 2024/0058700 A1).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Yaroshchuk discloses the optical device of claim 14. Yaroshchuk fails to disclose a device wherein the first optical layer further comprises a
lens between the display panel and the geometric phase module. Yaroshchuk and Signoretto are related because both disclose display devices.
Signoretto teaches a device wherein the first optical layer further comprises a lens between the display panel and the geometric phase module (Claim 5 teaches: a lens between the semi-transparent mirror and the Pancharatnam-Berry lens).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yaroshchuk in view of Signoretto and provide a device wherein the first optical layer further comprises a lens between the display panel and the geometric phase module. Doing so would allow for increased optical design flexibility, thereby improving image quality and field of view of the display device.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yaroshchuk et al. (US 2022/0107517 A1) in view of Kume et al. (US 2003/0133706 A1) in view of Signoretto et al. (US 2024/0058700 A1), as applied to claim 15 above, in view of Amirsolaimani et al. (US 2020/0341268 A1).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Yaroshchuk discloses the optical device of claim 15.
Yaroshchuk fails to disclose a device wherein the geometric phase module comprises a geometric phase lens, and wherein a curvature of the geometric phase lens and a curvature of the lens are same as each other. Yaroshchuk and Amirsolaimani are related because both disclose display devices.
Amirsolaimani teaches a device wherein the geometric phase module comprises a geometric phase lens ([0030] teaches: 130, Pancharatnam Berry Phase element), and wherein a curvature of the geometric phase lens and a curvature of the lens ([0030] teaches: 110, pancake lens) are same as each other (Figure 3 depicts: curvature of 110, pancake lens and 130, Pancharantam Berry Phase element are the same).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yaroshchuk in view of Amirsolaimani and provide a device wherein the geometric phase module comprises a geometric phase lens, and wherein a curvature of the geometric phase lens and a curvature of the lens are same as each other. Doing so would allow for the PBS lens to provide chromatic-aberration correction while maintaining a compact optical assembly, thereby improving image quality and reducing system form factor.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yaroshchuk et al. (US 2022/0107517 A1) in view of Kume et al. (US 2003/0133706 A1), as applied to claim 14 above, in view of Urukura (US 2024/0210699 A1) in view of Signoretto et al. (US 2024/0058700 A1) in view of Signoretto et al. (US 2024/0345411 A1) hereinafter Signoretto411.
Regarding claim 17, the modified Yaroshchuk discloses the optical device of claim 14.
Yaroshchuk fails to disclose a device wherein the first optical layer further comprises: an absorptive polarization layer on the display panel; a translucent mirror on the absorptive polarization layer; a first lens on the translucent mirror; a second lens on the first lens; a phase delay layer on the second lens; a reflective polarization layer on the phase delay layer; a third lens on the reflective polarization layer and wherein the geometric phase module is between the absorptive polarization layer and the translucent mirror. Yaroshchuk and Urukura are related because both disclose display devices.
Urukura teaches a device wherein the first optical layer further comprises:
an absorptive polarization layer on the display panel ([0080] teaches: 20, linearly polarizing plate, is an absorptive polarizing plate; Figure 1 depicts: 20, polarizing plate on 10, display panel) and a third lens on the reflective polarization layer ([0097] teaches: 53, third lens, attached to the curved surface of the second polarized light selective reflector; thus considered a third lens on the reflective polarizer layer). Yaroshchuk and Signoretto are related because both disclose display devices.
Signoretto teaches a device wherein the first optical layer further comprises:
a translucent mirror on the absorptive polarization layer (Figure 3 depicts: 30, semi-transparent mirror with 20, containing 21, polarizing plate; thus considered a translucent mirror on the absorptive polarization layer);
a first lens on the translucent mirror (Figure 3 depicts: 41, first lens on 30, semi-transparent mirror);
a second lens on the first lens (Figure 3 depicts: 42, second lens on 41, first lens);
a phase delay layer on the second lens (Figure 3 depicts: 52, second quarter wave plate on 42, second lens);
a reflective polarization layer on the phase delay layer (Figure 3 depicts: 51, second quarter wave plate). Yaroshchuk and Signoretto411 are related because both disclose display devices.
Signoretto411 teaches a device wherein the geometric phase module is between the absorptive polarization layer and the translucent mirror (Figure 12 depicts: 42PB, PB lens between 21, polarizing plate and 30, semi-transparent mirror; [0086] teaches: polarizing plate may be an absorptive one).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yaroshchuk in view of Urukura and Signoretto and Signoretto411 and provide fails to disclose a device wherein the first optical layer further comprises: an absorptive polarization layer on the display panel; a translucent mirror on the absorptive polarization layer; a first lens on the translucent mirror; a second lens on the first lens; a phase delay layer on the second lens; a reflective polarization layer on the phase delay layer; a third lens on the reflective polarization layer and wherein the geometric phase module is between the absorptive polarization layer and the translucent mirror. Doing so would allow for increased optical design flexibility and a wider field of view while maintaining a thin profile display device.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yaroshchuk et al. (US 2022/0107517 A1) in view of Kume et al. (US 2003/0133706 A1), as applied to claim 14 above, in view of Signoretto et al. (US 2024/0058700 A1) in view of Urukura (US 2024/0210699 A1) in view of Amirsolaimani et al. (US 2020/0341268 A1)..
Regarding claim 18, the modified Yaroshchuk discloses the optical device of claim 14.
Yaroshchuk fails to disclose a device wherein the first optical layer further comprises: an absorptive polarization layer on the display panel; a first phase delay layer on the absorptive polarization layer; a translucent mirror on the first phase delay layer; a first lens on the translucent mirror; a second lens on the first lens; a second phase delay layer on the second lens; a reflective polarization layer on the second phase delay layer; a third lens on the reflective polarization layer; and wherein the geometric phase module is on the third lens. Yaroshchuk and Signoretto are related because both disclose display devices.
Signoretto teaches a device wherein the first optical layer further comprises:
an absorptive polarization layer on the display panel (Figure 3 depicts: 10, display panel, followed by 21, first linearly polarizing plate);
a first phase delay layer on the absorptive polarization layer (Figure 3 depicts: 22, first quarter wave plate on 21, first linearly polarizing plate; [0095] teaches: polarizing plate can be an absorptive one);
a translucent mirror on the first phase delay layer (Figure 3 depicts: 30, semi-transparent mirror, on 22, first quarter wave plate);
a first lens on the translucent mirror (Figure 3 depicts: 41, lens on 30, semi-transparent mirror);
a second lens on the first lens (Figure 3 depicts: 42, second lens, on 41, first lens);
a second phase delay layer on the second lens (Figure 3 depicts: 52, quarter-wave plate on 42, second lens);
a reflective polarization layer on the second phase delay layer (Figure 3 depicts: 51, linearly polarizing plate on 52, second quarter wave plate). Yaroshchuk and Urukura are related because both disclose optical systems.
Urukura teaches a third lens on the reflective polarization layer ([0097] teaches: 53, third lens, attached to the curved surface of the second polarized light selective reflector; thus considered a third lens on the reflective polarizer layer). Yaroshchuk and Amirsolaimani are related because both disclose display devices.
Amirsolaimani teaches a device wherein the geometric phase module (Figure 1 depicts: 130, PBP element, on 110, pancake lens) is on the third lens (Examiner notes that Urukura supplies the third lens and Amirsolaimani is relied upon for adding PBP element to the third lens).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yaroshchuk in view of Urukura and Signoretto and provide a device wherein the first optical layer further comprises: an absorptive polarization layer on the display panel; a first phase delay layer on the absorptive polarization layer; a translucent mirror on the first phase delay layer; a first lens on the translucent mirror; a second lens on the first lens; a second phase delay layer on the second lens; a reflective polarization layer on the second phase delay layer; a third lens on the reflective polarization layer; and wherein the geometric phase module is on the third lens. Doing so would allow for increased optical design flexibility and a wider field of view while maintaining a thin profile display device.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Signoretto et al. (US 2024/0058700 A1) in view of Yaroshchuk et al. (US 2022/0107517 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Signoretto discloses an electronic device (Figure 15) comprising a display device ([0174] discloses: 200, head mounted display), the display device comprises:
a display panel (Figure 15 depicts: 70, display panel);
a first optical layer on the display panel (Figure 15 depicts: 40PB, Pancharatnam-Berry lens); and
a second optical layer between the display panel and the first optical layer (Figure 15 depicts: 20, circular polarizer between 40PB and 70).
Signoretto fails to disclose a device wherein the first optical layer comprises a geometric phase module having a cross section with a curved shape. Signoretto and Yaroshchuk are related because both disclose display devices.
Yaroshchuk teaches a device wherein the first optical layer comprises a geometric phase module ([0052] teaches: PBP is a geometric phase related to changes in the polarization state experienced by a light while it propagates in an optically anisotropic material; thus 105, anisotropic film, comprises a geometric phase module; [0053] teaches: phase profile coded into anisotropic film) having a cross section with a curved shape ([0076] teaches: 105, anisotropic film may have a curved shape).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Signoretto in view of Yaroshchuk and provide a device wherein the first optical layer comprises a geometric phase module having a cross section with a curved shape. Doing so would allow for additional optical power and design flexibility while maintaining the compact form factor of the display system.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Signoretto et al. (US 2024/0058700 A1) in view of Yaroshchuk et al. (US 2022/0107517 A1), in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0155825 A1).
Regarding claim 20, the modified Signoretto discloses electronic device of claim 19.
Signoretto fails to disclose a device wherein the electronic device comprises a mobile phone, a smartphone, a tablet personal computer, a mobile communication terminal, an electronic book, a portable multimedia player (PMP), a navigation system, an ultra mobile PC (UMPC), a television, a laptop, a monitor, a billboard, or an Internet-of-Things (loT) terminal. Signoretto and Kim are related because both disclose display devices.
Kim teaches a device wherein the electronic device comprises a mobile phone, a smartphone, a tablet personal computer, a mobile communication terminal, an electronic book, a portable multimedia player (PMP), a navigation system, an ultra mobile PC (UMPC), a television, a laptop, a monitor, a billboard, or an Internet-of-Things (loT) terminal ([0079] teaches: for use in a television).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Signoretto in view of Kim and provide a device wherein the electronic device comprises a mobile phone, a smartphone, a tablet personal computer, a mobile communication terminal, an electronic book, a portable multimedia player (PMP), a navigation system, an ultra mobile PC (UMPC), a television, a laptop, a monitor, a billboard, or an Internet-of-Things (loT) terminal. Doing so would allow for image display functionality in a known portable electronic apparatus.
Compact Prosecution
Applicant may consider further limiting the geometric phase module to the disclosed multilayer structure disposed in contact with the convex surface of the third lens, with the reflective polarization layer in contact with the opposite flat surface of the third lens, and with the layers of the geometric phase module having the same curvature. Such additional structural relationships may further distinguish over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Yamaguchi (US 2018/0011239 A1) and Lu et al. (US 10,379,419 B1) both disclose relevant optical devices but fails to disclose the claimed layer structure.
John Sipes
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/J.C.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872