DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 7, 9-10, 12-15, 18-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 7, 9-10, 12-15, 18-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12485640. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of U.S Patent 12485640 is the exact same as the instant claim 1, but has an added limitation that makes the patent claim narrower. Claims 2-3, 9-10, 12-15, and 18-20, are exactly the same as the corresponding patent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 9-10, 12-15, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kohler (U.S PG Pub 20210040696 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kohler, drawn to the art of a method of correcting post-warp in a multi-layer product under prevailing conditions (Abstract), discloses detecting an initial warp value that is indicative of an initial degree of warpage [0096-0097]. Kohler also discloses a step of selecting a first-moisture condition setpoint based on a database correlating a plurality of moisture-conditioning setpoints to respective initial warp values and their associates post-warp values for prior products, wherein the post-warp values are indicative of the degree of warpage of the prior products, and further where the selection is based on comparing the detected initial warp value and the initial warp value in the database [0093-0094 & 0099]. Kohler also discloses adjusting a moisture content in a first layer of the multi-layer product according to the selected first moisture-conditioning setpoint [0083].
Regarding claim 2, Kohler has further disclosed detecting a post-warp value of the product and updating the database to correlate the detected post-warp and initial warp values to the selected first moisture setpoint [0096-0097 & 0099].
Regarding claim 7, Kohler discloses enhancing the degree of warpage prior to or during detecting the initial warp value [0094 & 006-0097 & 0099-0100].
Regarding claim 9, Kohler has disclosed detecting the initial warp value with a warp detection apparatus [0096].
Regarding claim 10, Kohler discloses the warp detection apparatus to be an imaging device [0096].
Regarding claim 12, Kohler has also disclosed detecting the initial warp value at a location directly downstream from a double-backer of a corrugation apparatus [0098].
Regarding claim 13, Kohler discloses a step of selecting a second moisture setpoint also based on a database, wherein the first and second setpoints are correlated together and wherein the moisture content of a second layer of the multi-layer product is adjusted based on the selected second moisture setpoint [0093-0095 & 0099].
Regarding claim 14, Kohler has disclosed using an artificial intelligence model to select the moisture setpoint, with the AI model being trained based on the database [0093-0995 & 0099-0100].
Regarding claim 15, Kohler discloses an apparatus as claimed including a moisture conditioning apparatus for adjusting a moisture content [0100], a warp detection apparatus [0096], and a non-transitory medium storing a database and a program, wherein the program comprises instructions [0110-0111], wherein the instructions are executed by a processor of an electronic device and wherein the steps are as claimed in instant claim 1 above (see claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claim 18, Kohler discloses that the product is an uncut, unscored double-faced corrugated product [0003 & 0016]. It is also noted, however, that the instant limitation amount to an intended use or product and article worked upon limitation and does not patentably limit the apparatus or its structure (MPEP 2144 & 2115).
Regarding claim 19, Kohler teaches the warp detection apparatus to be directly downstream from a double backer in a travel direction of the corrugated board product [0096-0098].
Regarding claim 20, Kohler has disclosed a moisture sensor positioned downstream from the warp detection apparatus in a travel direction of the product, wherein the moisture sensor detects a moisture content of the product [0101].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohler (U.S PG Pub 20210040696 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kohler discloses measuring the post-warp value at 24 hours or 48 hours after, which falls after 30 seconds at least [0097]. Further, Kohler discloses that the dwell time or dwell distance of a travelling web (which directly would have an effect on when values of warp are measured of the web product), has an effect on the applied moisture content to the web in a given corrugating process, thus establishing the dwell time/dwell distance and i.e. when measurements are taken, as a result effective variable [0057 & 0086]. The courts have held that it is within the purview of an ordinarily skilled artisan to routinely optimize a result effective variable in the absence of new or unexpected results (MPEP 2144.05(II)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 8, and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record has not explicitly disclosed a first and second flotation column as claimed and the limitations pertaining to it in claims 5, 8, and 16 (claims 6 and 17 depend on claims 5 & 16, respectively). While Kohler (U.S PG Pub 20100181015A1 & U.S PG Pub 20060225830A1 (referred to hereinafter as Kohler 2 & Kohler 3, respectively)), does disclose a zero-contact roll over which the web is transported by a cushion of air, Kohler 2 & 3 has not explicitly disclosed a first and second flotation column and the limitations as pertaining to the columns as claimed in claims 5, 8, and 16.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US-20150224733-A1, US-20220267108-A1, US-20180345618-A1, US-20180244480-A1, US-20160236438-A1, US-20080077267-A1, US-20050284579-A1, US-11375124-B2, US-10858202-B1, US-10655950-B2, US-9169086-B1, US-7993081-B2, US-6630633-B1, US-5837974-A, US-5788803-A, US-5632830-A, US-5090330-A, US-4805626-A, US-4616960-A, US-4202723-A, US-3826178-A, US-20060225830-A1, US-20100181015-A1, US-6364247-B1, US-3981758-A, US-3178494-A – all drawn to corrugation apparatus and methods, as well as warp detection apparatus and methods.
/ABHISHEK A PATWARDHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1746
/MICHAEL N ORLANDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1746