DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, line 7, it is unclear which member of the plurality of members is being references by the limitation, “the member”?
In claim 7, lines 1-2, it is unclear which member of the plurality of members is being references by the limitation, “the member”?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WILSON et al. (US 2024/0280350 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wilson et al. disclose an adapter for a shaped charge 100 comprising: a plurality of members 102 configured to be secured to an inner surface of a shaped charge case 101; and a securing mechanism 104, wherein each member of the plurality of members 102 (shock attenuation layers) is spaced apart (Fig. 1) from each other such that the adapter has a central open area (Fig. 1), and the securing mechanism 104 is configured to secure the member to an inner surface feature (contour of the surface) of the shaped charge case 101.
Regarding claim 2, Wilson et al. disclose (Fig. 1) that each member of the plurality of members 102 comprises: a first end; and a second end opposite and spaced apart from the first end.
Regarding claim 5, Wilson et al. disclose that each member of the plurality of members 102 comprises: a first surface; and a second surface spaced apart from the first surface, wherein the second surface is configured to be adjacent the inner surface of the shaped charge case 101 (Fig. 1).
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SCHIEB et al. (DE 3933955 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Schieb et al. discloses an adapter for a shaped charge 2, 3, comprising: a collar 28 (Fig. 2); and a plurality of members (collar portion protruding between the grooves 29 – Fig. 2) secured to the collar 28 in a spaced apart configuration from each other such that the adapter has a central open area (Fig. 2), wherein the collar and the plurality of members are secured to an inner surface of a shaped charge case 1.
Regarding claim 10, Schieb et al. disclose the plurality of members (collar portion protruding between the grooves 29 – Fig. 2) comprises: a first member; and a second member, wherein the first and second members are spaced 180 degrees from each other on the collar 28.
Regarding claim 11, Schieb et al. reads on the recited range because in Fig. 2 the width of each of the plurality of members (collar portions protruding between the grooves 29) appears to fall within the range of 20 degrees to 100 degrees of the 360 degrees circumference of the collar 28.
Regarding claim 12, Schieb et al. disclose wherein each of the plurality of members (collar portions protruding between the grooves 29) comprise a first end (left side surface) and a second end (right side surface) opposite and spaced apart from the first end, wherein the collar is secured to a substantially central portion of each of the members between the first end (left side surface) and second ends (right side surface).
Regarding claim 13, Schieb et al. disclose wherein a surface profile of each of the plurality of members is contoured to conform to a contour of the inner surface of the shaped charge case (Fig. 2).
Claims 1-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DOUE et al. (DE 60314681 T2).
Regarding claim 1, Doue et al. disclose an adapter for a shaped charge 1 comprising: a plurality of members 11a, 11b configured to be secured to an inner surface of a shaped charge case; and a securing mechanism (ring 9 and screws 12a, 12b); wherein each member of the plurality of members 11a, 11b is spaced apart from each other (Fig. 2) such that the adapter has a central open area (Figs. 2-4b), and the securing mechanism is configured to secure [the] each member to an inner surface feature (the inwardly angled contour at the opening end of the case 3 - the conical section 6a) of the shaped charge case 3).
Regarding claim 2, Doue et al. disclose that each member 11a, 11b of the plurality of members comprises: a first end; and a second end opposite and spaced apart from the first end (Figs. 2-4b).
Regarding claim 3, Doue et al. disclose that the securing mechanism (ring 9) extends from the second end of at least one of the members 11a, 11b (Figs. 2-4b).
Regarding claim 4, Doue et al. disclose that the securing mechanism (ring 9) extends from the at least one member 11a, 11b in a direction away from the first end to engage the inner surface feature (Figs. 2-4b).
Regarding claim 5, Doue et al. disclose that each member of the plurality of members 11a, 11b, comprises: a first surface; and a second surface spaced apart from the first surface, wherein the second surface is configured to be adjacent the inner surface of the shaped charge case 3 (Figs. 1-4b).
Regarding claim 6, Doue et al. disclose that the securing mechanism (ring 9) extends outwardly from the second surface of the member 11a, 11b to engage the inner surface feature.
Regarding claim 7, Doue et al. disclose that the securing mechanism (ring 9) extends from the first end of the member 11a, 11b (Figs. 2-4b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHIEB et al. (DE 3933955 A1).
Schieb et al. do not specifically disclose that the adapter 28 is made from a plastic material. However, it would have been obvious to a POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to form the adapter 28 from a plastic material so as to benefit from the ease of manufacture using plastic materials and/or cost advantages of using plastic materials.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DOUE et al. (DE 60314681 T2).
Regarding claim 8, Doue et al. disclose that the securing mechanism (ring 9) comprises a conical surface 20 for engagement with the conical section 6a of the shaped charge case 3 (Figs 1, 3a-4b). To modify Doue by adding a circumferential slot in the inner conical section 6a of the case 3, and a matching circumferential bead on the conical surface 21 of the ring 9, would have been obvious design choice within the skill level of a POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention, the motivation to enhance the securement of the ring 9 to the case wall 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the attached PTO-FORM 892.
/JAMES S BERGIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641