DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made that the instant application claims priority from JP 2024-040932, filed on 3/15/2024.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract uses the legal phraseology “means” in lines 3 and 4 (i.e. “detecting means” and “plasma forming means”). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 4, 9, 10, and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 4, “detecting unit” should be changed to --a detecting unit-- to improve readability by including an article.
Claim 1, line 6, “plasma forming unit” should be changed to --a plasma forming unit-- to improve readability.
Claim 1, line 15, “first detecting unit” should be changed to --a first detecting unit-- to improve readability.
Claim 1, line 17, “second detecting unit” should be changed to --a second detecting unit-- to improve readability.
Claim 2, line 4, “detecting unit” should be changed to --a detecting unit-- to improve readability by including an article.
Claim 2, line 16, “first detecting unit” should be changed to --a first detecting unit-- to improve readability.
Claim 2, line 18, “second detecting unit” should be changed to --a second detecting unit-- to improve readability.
Claim 4, line 2, “switching unit” should be changed to --a switching unit-- to improve readability.
Claim 9, line 4, “detecting unit” should be changed to --a detecting unit-- to improve readability by including an article.
Claim 9, line 6, “plasma forming unit” should be changed to --a plasma forming unit-- to improve readability by including an article.
Claim 9, line 16, “first detecting unit” should be changed to --a first detecting unit-- to improve readability.
Claim 9, line 18, “second detecting unit” should be changed to --a second detecting unit-- to improve readability.
Claim 10, line 4, “detecting unit” should be changed to --a detecting unit-- to improve readability by including an article.
Claim 10, line 15, “first detecting unit” should be changed to --a first detecting unit-- to improve readability.
Claim 10, line 17, “second detecting unit” should be changed to --a second detecting unit-- to improve readability.
Claim 12, “switching unit” should be changed to --a switching unit-- to improve readability.
Appropriate correction is required to place claims in better form.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an optical system” in lines 2-3 and lines 8-13 in claim 1; “plasma forming unit” in lines 6-7 in claim 1; “first detecting unit” in lines 15-16 in claim 1; “second detecting unit” in lines 17-18 in claim 1; “first detecting unit” in lines 16-17 in claim 2; “second detecting unit” in lines 18-19 in claim 2; “switching unit” in lines 2-5 in claim 4; “an optical system” in lines 2-3 in claim 9; “plasma forming unit” in lines 6-7” in claim 9; “first detecting unit” in lines 16-17 in claim 9; “second detecting unit” in lines 18-20 in claim 9; “first detecting unit” in lines 15-17 in claim 10; “second detecting unit” in lines 17-19 in claim 10; “switching unit” in lines 3-5 in claim 12.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a bright point forming step” in lines 9-10 in claim 9; “an illuminating step” in lines 11-15 in claim 9; “a detecting step” in lines 16-20 in claim 9; “an illuminating step” in lines 7-14 in claim 10; “a detecting step” in lines 15-19 in claim 10; “a switching step” in lines 3-5 in claim 12. In recited steps, the limitations further recite sufficient acts to entirely perform the recited functions (see, for example, the recitation “causing the plasma forming unit to form at least the first bright point and the second bright point as the bright point” in the recited “bright point forming step”).
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (KR20110049336; Ahn hereinafter; English translation included with this Office Action) in view of Takehisa et al. (JP 2021-009274, Takehisa hereinafter; cited by 3/14/2025 IDS with English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Ahn discloses an optical apparatus (Figs. 1-3, abstract, an apparatus for detecting a defect on a reflective mask), comprising:
an optical system configured to illuminate an object with critical illumination with plasma as a bright point (Figs. 1-2, page 4 of attached English translation, the apparatus includes a light source unit 20, a defect detection unit 30, and a defect imaging unit 40, and the light source unit 20 includes a light source 21 for emitting EUV light through plasma discharge);
detecting unit configured to detect secondary light from the object illuminated by the critical illumination (Figs. 1-2, page 4, defect detection unit 30, and a defect imaging unit 40 detect EUV light reflected from the surface of the mask M); and
plasma forming unit (Figs. 1-2, page 4, light source 21 generated EUV light from plasma discharge), wherein the optical system is configured to:
illuminate a first region of the object with first critical illumination by first illuminating light (Figs. 1-2, pgs. 4-5, defect imaging unit 30 illuminates a first region of the mask M with EUV light reflected by mirror 29); and
illuminate a second region of the object that differs from the first region of the object with second critical illumination by second illuminating light (Figs. 1-2, pgs. 5-6 and 7, defect imaging unit 40 illuminates a second region of the mask M with EUV light reflected by mirrors 41 and 43), and the detecting unit includes:
first detecting unit configured to detect first light including the secondary light from the object illuminated by the first critical illumination (Figs. 1-2, pgs. 5 and 6, reflectance meter 31 and detector 33 detects EUV light reflected from the mask M from a first location); and
second detecting unit configured to detect second light including the secondary light from the object illuminated by the second critical illumination (Figs. 1-2, pgs. 5 and 6, imaging device 45 and computational device 47 detects EUV light reflected from the mask M from a second location). Ahn does not appear to explicitly describe the plasma forming unit configured to form at least a first bright point and a second bright point as the bright point, and the first illuminating light generated from the first bright point, and the second illuminating light generated from the second bright point.
Takehisa discloses plasma forming unit configured to form at least a first bright point and a second bright point as the bright point (Figs. 1-6, 8-10, 13-15, paras. [0037]-[0043], [0048], of the English translation filed 3/14/2025, a target material is irradiated with laser beam L1 and forms multiple irradiation spots 16 which produce EUV light), and the first illuminating light generated from the first bright point (Figs. 1-6, 8-10, 13-15, paras. [0037]-[0043], [0048], [0063]-[0064], [0081]-[0086], [0092]-[0095], [0096]-[0097], the irradiation spots 16 produce EUV light to irradiate elongated inspection area 53 a mask 50), and the second illuminating light generated from the second bright point (Figs. 1-6, 8-10, 13-15, paras. [0037]-[0043], [0048], [0063]-[0064], [0081]-[0086], [0092]-[0095], [0096]-[0097], the irradiation spots 16 produce EUV light to irradiate a mask 50 with an extended inspection area).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included plasma forming unit configured to form at least a first bright point and a second bright point as the bright point, and the first illuminating light generated from the first bright point, and the second illuminating light generated from the second bright point as taught by Takehisa in the optical apparatus as taught by Ahn since including plasma forming unit configured to form at least a first bright point and a second bright point as the bright point, and the first illuminating light generated from the first bright point, and the second illuminating light generated from the second bright point is commonly used to produce light sources to improve inspection performance to provide EUV light while reducing contamination of the inspection system (Takehisa, abstract, paras. [0015], [0017], [0024]-[0025]).
Regarding claim 9, Ahn discloses a control method of an optical apparatus (Figs. 1-3, abstract, an apparatus and method for detecting a defect on a reflective mask) including:
an optical system configured to illuminate an object with critical illumination with plasma as a bright point (Figs. 1-2, page 4, the apparatus includes a light source unit 20, a defect detection unit 30, and a defect imaging unit 40, and the light source unit 20 includes a light source 21 for emitting EUV light through plasma discharge);
detecting unit configured to detect secondary light from the object illuminated by the critical illumination (Figs. 1-2, page 4, defect detection unit 30, and a defect imaging unit 40 detect EUV light reflected from the surface of the mask M); and
plasma forming unit (Figs. 1-2, page 4, light source 21 generated EUV light from plasma discharge);
the control method of the optical apparatus comprising:
a bright point forming step of causing the plasma forming unit to form at least the bright point (Figs. 1-2, page 4, light source 21 generated EUV light from plasma discharge);
an illuminating step of causing the optical system to illuminate a first region of the object with first critical illumination by first illuminating light (Figs. 1-2, pgs. 4-5, defect imaging unit 30 illuminates a first region of the mask M with EUV light) and to illuminate a second region of the object that differs from the first region of the object with second critical illumination by second illuminating light (Figs. 1-2, pgs. 5-6 and 7, defect imaging unit 40 illuminates a second region of the mask M with EUV light); and
a detecting step of causing first detecting unit in the detecting unit to detect first light including the secondary light from the object illuminated by the first critical illumination (Figs. 1-2, pgs. 5 and 6, reflectance meter 31 and detector 33 detects EUV light reflected from the mask M from a first location) and causing second detecting unit in the detecting unit to detect second light including the secondary light from the object illuminated by the second critical illumination (Figs. 1-2, pgs. 5 and 6, imaging device 45 and computational device 47 detects EUV light reflected from the mask M from a second location). Ahn does not appear to explicitly describe the plasma forming unit configured to form at least a first bright point and a second bright point as the bright point, a bright point forming step of causing the plasma forming unit to form at least the first bright point and the second bright point as the bright point; first illuminating light generated from the first bright point; and second illuminating light generated from the second bright point.
Takehisa discloses plasma forming unit configured to form at least a first bright point and a second bright point as the bright point (Figs. 1-6, 8-10, 13-15, paras. [0037]-[0043], [0048], a target material is irradiated with laser beam L1 and forms multiple irradiation spots 16 and produce EUV light);
a bright point forming step of causing the plasma forming unit to form at least the first bright point (Figs. 1-6, 8-10, 13-15, paras. [0037]-[0043], [0048], laser beams L1 are incident on target material 11 to form the irradiation spots 16 produce EUV light to irradiate a mask 50) and the second bright point as the bright point (Figs. 1-6, 8-10, 13-15, laser beams L1 are incident on target material 11 to form the irradiation spots 16 produce EUV light to irradiate a mask 50);
first illuminating light generated from the first bright point (Figs. 1-6, 8-10, 13-15, paras. [0037]-[0043], [0048], [0063]-[0064], [0081]-[0086], [0092]-[0095], [0096]-[0097], the irradiation spots 16 produce EUV light to irradiate elongated inspection area 53 a mask 50); and second illuminating light generated from the second bright point (Figs. 1-6, 8-10, 13-15, paras. [0037]-[0043], [0048], [0063]-[0064], [0081]-[0086], [0092]-[0095], [0096]-[0097], the irradiation spots 16 produce EUV light to irradiate a mask 50 with an extended inspection area).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the plasma forming unit configured to form at least a first bright point and a second bright point as the bright point, a bright point forming step of causing the plasma forming unit to form at least the first bright point and the second bright point as the bright point; first illuminating light generated from the first bright point; and second illuminating light generated from the second bright point as taught by Takehisa in the method as taught by Ahn since including the plasma forming unit configured to form at least a first bright point and a second bright point as the bright point, a bright point forming step of causing the plasma forming unit to form at least the first bright point and the second bright point as the bright point; first illuminating light generated from the first bright point; and second illuminating light generated from the second bright point is commonly used to produce light sources to improve inspection performance to provide EUV light while reducing contamination of the inspection system (Takehisa, abstract, paras. [0015], [0017], [0024]-[0025]).
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn in view of Katzir et al. (US Patent No. 5,153,668, Katzir hereinafter).
Regarding claim 2, Ahn discloses an optical apparatus (Figs. 1-3, abstract, an apparatus for detecting a defect on a reflective mask), comprising:
an optical system configured to illuminate an object with critical illumination with plasma as a bright point (Figs. 1-2, page 4, the apparatus includes a light source unit 20, a defect detection unit 30, and a defect imaging unit 40, and the light source unit 20 includes a light source 21 for emitting EUV light through plasma discharge);
detecting unit configured to detect secondary light from the object illuminated by the critical illumination (Figs. 1-2, page 4, defect detection unit 30, and a defect imaging unit 40 detect EUV light reflected from the surface of the mask M), wherein
the optical system includes:
a first mirror configured to illuminate a first region of the object with first critical illumination by first illuminating light generated from a first light flux of light from the bright point (Figs. 1-2, pgs. 4-5, defect imaging unit 30 illuminates a first region of the mask M with EUV light reflected by mirror 29); and
a second mirror configured to illuminate a second region of the object that differs from the first region of the object with second critical illumination by second illuminating light generated from a second light flux of the light from the bright point that differs from the first light flux of the light from the bright point (Figs. 1-2, pgs. 5-6 and 7, defect imaging unit 40 illuminates a second region of the mask M with EUV light reflected by mirrors 41 and 43 that is along a path of EUV light separate from the defect detection unit 30), and
the detecting unit includes:
first detecting unit configured to detect first light including the secondary light from the object illuminated by the first critical illumination (Figs. 1-2, pgs. 5 and 6, reflectance meter 31 and detector 33 detects EUV light reflected from the mask M from a first location); and
second detecting unit configured to detect second light including the secondary light from the object illuminated by the second critical illumination (Figs. 1-2, pgs. 5 and 6, imaging device 45 and computational device 47 detects EUV light reflected from the mask M from a second location). Ahn does not appear to explicitly describe a first elliptical mirror configured to illuminate a first region of the object with first critical illumination by first illuminating light generated from a first light flux of light from the bright point; and a second elliptical mirror configured to illuminate a second region of the object that differs from the first region of the object with second critical illumination by second illuminating light generated from a second light flux of the light from the bright point that differs from the first light flux of the light from the bright point.
Katzir discloses a first elliptical mirror configured to illuminate a first region of the object with first critical illumination by first illuminating light generated from a first light flux of light from the bright point (Figs. 2-6, 7b, col. 6, lines 13-46, col. 6, lines 64-68, col. 7, lines 1-8, col. 7, lines 30-59, a first elliptical reflector of the elliptical reflectors 74 is arranged for each light guide to guide light from one or more lamps 71 and illuminate a portion of the annular illumination field); and
a second elliptical mirror configured to illuminate a second region of the object that differs from the first region of the object with second critical illumination by second illuminating light generated from a second light flux of the light from the bright point that differs from the first light flux of the light from the bright point (Figs. 2-6, 7b, col. 6, lines 13-46, col. 6, lines 64-68, col. 7, lines 1-8, col. 7, lines 30-59, a second elliptical reflector of the elliptical reflectors 74 is arranged for each light guide to guide light from one or more lamps 71 and illuminate a second portion of the annular illumination field).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a first elliptical mirror configured to illuminate a first region of the object with first critical illumination by first illuminating light generated from a first light flux of light from the bright point; and a second elliptical mirror configured to illuminate a second region of the object that differs from the first region of the object with second critical illumination by second illuminating light generated from a second light flux of the light from the bright point that differs from the first light flux of the light from the bright point as taught by Katzir in the optical system of the optical apparatus as taught by Ahn since including a first elliptical mirror configured to illuminate a first region of the object with first critical illumination by first illuminating light generated from a first light flux of light from the bright point; and a second elliptical mirror configured to illuminate a second region of the object that differs from the first region of the object with second critical illumination by second illuminating light generated from a second light flux of the light from the bright point that differs from the first light flux of the light from the bright point is commonly used to provide uniform annular inspection illumination for high resolution inspection (Katzir, col. 2, lines 10-15, 33-45).
Regarding claim 10, Ahn discloses a control method of an optical apparatus (Figs. 1-3, abstract, an apparatus and method for detecting a defect on a reflective mask) including:
an optical system configured to illuminate an object with critical illumination with plasma as a bright point (Figs. 1-2, page 4, the apparatus includes a light source unit 20, a defect detection unit 30, and a defect imaging unit 40, and the light source unit 20 includes a light source 21 for emitting EUV light through plasma discharge);
detecting unit configured to detect secondary light from the object illuminated by the critical illumination (Figs. 1-2, page 4, defect detection unit 30, and a defect imaging unit 40 detect EUV light reflected from the surface of the mask M); and
the control method of the optical apparatus comprising:
an illuminating step of causing a first mirror in the optical system to illuminate a first region of the object with first critical illumination by first illuminating light generated from a first light flux of light from the bright point (Figs. 1-2, pgs. 4-5, defect imaging unit 30 illuminates a first region of the mask M with EUV light reflected by mirror 29) and causing a second mirror to illuminate a second region of the object that differs from the first region of the object with second critical illumination by second illuminating light generated from a second light flux of the light from the bright point that differs from the first light flux of the light from the bright point (Figs. 1-2, pgs. 5-6 and 7, defect imaging unit 40 illuminates a second region of the mask M with EUV light reflected by mirrors 41 and 43 that is along a path of EUV light separate from the defect detection unit 30); and
a detecting step of causing first detecting unit in the detecting unit to detect first light including the secondary light from the object illuminated by the first critical illumination (Figs. 1-2, pgs. 5 and 6, reflectance meter 31 and detector 33 detects EUV light reflected from the mask M from a first location) and causing second detecting unit in the detecting unit to detect second light including the secondary light from the object illuminated by the second critical illumination (Figs. 1-2, pgs. 5 and 6, imaging device 45 and computational device 47 detects EUV light reflected from the mask M from a second location). Ahn does not appear to explicitly describe the illumination step of causing a first elliptical mirror in the optical system to illuminate a first region of the object with first critical illumination by first illuminating light generated from a first light flux of light from the bright point and causing a second elliptical mirror in the optical system to illuminate a second region of the object that differs from the first region of the object with second critical illumination by second illuminating light generated from a second light flux of the light from the bright point the differs from the first light flux of the light from the bright point.
Katzir discloses an illuminating step of causing a first elliptical mirror in the optical system to illuminate a first region of the object with first critical illumination by first illuminating light generated from a first light flux of light from the bright point (Figs. 2-6, 7b, col. 6, lines 13-46, col. 6, lines 64-68, col. 7, lines 1-8, col. 7, lines 30-59, a first elliptical reflector of the elliptical reflectors 74 is arranged for each light guide to guide light from one or more lamps 71 and illuminate a portion of the annular illumination field) and causing a second elliptical mirror in the optical system to illuminate a second region of the object that differs from the first region of the object with second critical illumination by second illuminating light generated from a second light flux of the light from the bright point the differs from the first light flux of the light from the bright point (Figs. 2-6, 7b, col. 6, lines 13-46, col. 6, lines 64-68, col. 7, lines 1-8, col. 7, lines 30-59, a second elliptical reflector of the elliptical reflectors 74 is arranged for each light guide to guide light from one or more lamps 71 and illuminate a second portion of the annular illumination field).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a first elliptical mirror in the optical system to illuminate a first region of the object with first critical illumination by first illuminating light generated from a first light flux of light from the bright point and causing a second elliptical mirror in the optical system to illuminate a second region of the object that differs from the first region of the object with second critical illumination by second illuminating light generated from a second light flux of the light from the bright point the differs from the first light flux of the light from the bright point as taught by Katzir in the illuminating step in the control method as taught by Ahn since including a first elliptical mirror in the optical system to illuminate a first region of the object with first critical illumination by first illuminating light generated from a first light flux of light from the bright point and causing a second elliptical mirror in the optical system to illuminate a second region of the object that differs from the first region of the object with second critical illumination by second illuminating light generated from a second light flux of the light from the bright point the differs from the first light flux of the light from the bright point is commonly used to provide uniform annular inspection illumination for high resolution inspection (Katzir, col. 2, lines 10-15, 33-45).
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn as modified by Takehisa as applied to claims 1 and 9 and further in view of Matsui (US PGPub 2009/0213364).
Regarding claim 3, Ahn as modified by Takehisa does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the optical system is configured to illuminate the second region of the object with the second critical illumination when illuminating the first region of the object with the first critical illumination.
Matsui discloses wherein the optical system is configured to illuminate the second region of the object with the second critical illumination when illuminating the first region of the object with the first critical illumination (Figs. 1, 2, 7, 9, paras. [0098], [0100]-[0101], measurement units 110 and 111 simultaneously illuminate the measurement spots on the wafer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the optical system is configured to illuminate the second region of the object with the second critical illumination when illuminating the first region of the object with the first critical illumination as taught by Matsui in the optical system in the optical apparatus as taught by Ahn as modified by Takehisa since including wherein the optical system is configured to illuminate the second region of the object with the second critical illumination when illuminating the first region of the object with the first critical illumination is commonly used to improve inspection speed and throughput while maintaining sensitivity in detecting defects in different regions of the measured object (Matsui, abstract, para. [0044]).
Regarding claim 11, Ahn as modified by Takehisa does not appear to explicitly describe wherein in the illuminating step, the optical system is caused to illuminate the second region of the object with the second critical illumination when illuminating the first region of the object with the first critical illumination.
Matsui discloses the optical system is caused to illuminate the second region of the object with the second critical illumination when illuminating the first region of the object with the first critical illumination (Figs. 1, 2, 7, 9, paras. [0098], [0100]-[0101], measurement units 110 and 111 simultaneously illuminate the measurement spots on the wafer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the optical system is caused to illuminate the second region of the object with the second critical illumination when illuminating the first region of the object with the first critical illumination as taught by Matsui in the illuminating step in the control method as taught by Ahn as modified by Takehisa since including wherein in the illuminating step, the optical system is caused to illuminate the second region of the object with the second critical illumination when illuminating the first region of the object with the first critical illumination is commonly used to improve inspection speed and throughput while maintaining sensitivity in detecting defects in different regions of the measured object (Matsui, abstract, para. [0044]).
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn as modified by Takehisa as applied to claims 1 and 9 and further in view of Toomre et al. (US PGPub 2011/0069382 Toomre hereinafter).
Regarding claim 4, Ahn as modified by Takehisa does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the optical system includes switching unit configured to switch to a first mode in which the second region is illuminated by the second critical illumination or a second mode in which the first region is illuminated by the second critical illumination.
Toomre discloses switching unit configured to switch to a first mode in which the second region is illuminated by the second critical illumination or a second mode in which the first region is illuminated by the second critical illumination (Figs. 1-3, 7-10, paras. [0018]-[0023], [0030]-[0031], [0034]-[0039], [0045]-[0046], a light steering device 110 selectively directs light to one or two light paths, which include a collimated mode and a convergent mode to illuminate different regions on plane 199).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included switching unit configured to switch to a first mode in which the second region is illuminated by the second critical illumination or a second mode in which the first region is illuminated by the second critical illumination as taught by Toomre in the optical apparatus as taught by Ahn as modified by Takehisa since including switching unit configured to switch to a first mode in which the second region is illuminated by the second critical illumination or a second mode in which the first region is illuminated by the second critical illumination is commonly used to provide selection between operational modes (Toomre, abstract) to improve utilization of the inspection system.
Regarding claim 12, Ahn as modified by Takehisa does not appear to explicitly describe further comprising: a switching step of causing switching unit to switch to a first mode in which the second region is illuminated by the second critical illumination or to a second mode in which the first region is illuminated by the second critical illumination.
Toomre discloses a switching step of causing switching unit to switch to a first mode in which the second region is illuminated by the second critical illumination or to a second mode in which the first region is illuminated by the second critical illumination (Figs. 1-3, 7-10, paras. [0018]-[0023], [0030]-[0031], [0034]-[0039], [0045]-[0046], a light steering device 110 selectively directs light to one or two light paths, which include a collimated mode and a convergent mode to illuminate different regions on plane 199).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a switching step of causing switching unit to switch to a first mode in which the second region is illuminated by the second critical illumination or to a second mode in which the first region is illuminated by the second critical illumination as taught by Toomre in the control method as taught by Ahn as modified by Takehisa since including : a switching step of causing switching unit to switch to a first mode in which the second region is illuminated by the second critical illumination or to a second mode in which the first region is illuminated by the second critical illumination is commonly used to provide selection between operational modes (Toomre, abstract) to improve utilization of the inspection system.
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn as modified by Takehisa as applied to claims 1 and 9 and further in view of Murakami et al. (US Patent No. 5,017,798, Murakami hereinafter).
Regarding claim 5, Ahn as modified by Takehisa does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the first detecting unit and the second detecting unit are alternately provided in a staggered manner as viewed from an optical axis direction of the first light and the second light.
Murakami discloses wherein the first detecting unit and the second detecting unit are alternately provided in a staggered manner as viewed from an optical axis direction of the first light and the second light (Figs. 3, 5-13, 17, col. 5, lines 30-40, col. 8, lines 1-50, col. 10, lines 6-35, col. 14, lines 15-60, col. 15, lines 1-40, the detecting means 9a-9d with photosensors 8a, 8b, 108a, 108b are arranged in a staggered manner as viewed from the optical axis direction of light beams 3 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the first detecting unit and the second detecting unit are alternately provided in a staggered manner as viewed from an optical axis direction of the first light and the second light as taught by Murakami in the optical apparatus as taught by Ahn as modified by Takehisa since including wherein the first detecting unit and the second detecting unit are alternately provided in a staggered manner as viewed from an optical axis direction of the first light and the second light is commonly used to arrange the detecting units to improve surface inspection accuracy for multiple surfaces at high speed (Murakami, col. 2, lines 65-68, col. 3, lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 13, Ahn as modified by Takehisa does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the first detecting unit and the second detecting unit are alternately provided in a staggered manner as viewed from an optical axis direction of the first light and the second light.
Murakami discloses wherein the first detecting unit and the second detecting unit are alternately provided in a staggered manner as viewed from an optical axis direction of the first light and the second light (Figs. 3, 5-13, 17, col. 5, lines 30-40, col. 8, lines 1-50, col. 10, lines 6-35, col. 14, lines 15-60, col. 15, lines 1-40, the detecting means 9a-9d with photosensors 8a, 8b, 108a, 108b are arranged in a staggered manner as viewed from the optical axis direction of light beams 3 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the first detecting unit and the second detecting unit are alternately provided in a staggered manner as viewed from an optical axis direction of the first light and the second light as taught by Murakami in the control method as taught by Ahn as modified by Takehisa since including wherein the first detecting unit and the second detecting unit are alternately provided in a staggered manner as viewed from an optical axis direction of the first light and the second light is commonly used to arrange the detecting units to improve surface inspection accuracy for multiple surfaces at high speed (Murakami, col. 2, lines 65-68, col. 3, lines 1-6).
Claims 6, 8, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn as modified by Takehisa as applied to claims 1 and 9 and further in view of Adler et al. (US PGPub 2002/0181233, Adler hereinafter).
Regarding claim 6, Ahn as modified by Takehisa does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the optical system includes: a first elliptical mirror including one focusing point at a position of the first bright point and another focusing point at a position of the first region; and a second elliptical mirror including one focusing point at a position of the second bright point and another focusing point at a position of the second region.
Adler discloses a first elliptical mirror including one focusing point at a position of the first bright point and another focusing point at a position of the first region (Figs. 1-2, 5, paras. [0048]-[0049], [0068]-[0070], the first reflector 14, 514 is an elliptical reflector with a location 13, 513 on a surface 12, 512 of an article located at a first focus and first illuminator 18, 518 at the second focus); and
a second elliptical mirror including one focusing point at a position of the second bright point and another focusing point at a position of the second region (Figs. 1-2, 5, paras. [0051]-[0054], [0070]-[0071], second reflector 24, 524 is an elliptical reflector with linear illuminated portion 20, 520 located at the first focus and second illuminator 26, 526 located at the second focus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a first elliptical mirror including one focusing point at a position of the first bright point and another focusing point at a position of the first region; and a second elliptical mirror including one focusing point at a position of the second bright point and another focusing point at a position of the second region as taught by Adler in the optical system with the first and second regions in the optical apparatus as taught by Ahn as modified by Takehisa since including wherein the optical system includes a first elliptical mirror including one focusing point at a position of the first bright point and another focusing point at a position of the first region; and a second elliptical mirror including one focusing point at a position of the second bright point and another focusing point at a position of the second region is commonly used to provide high intensity illumination for an inspection system with adjustable uniformity (Adler, paras. [0016]-[0017]).
Regarding claim 8, Ahn as modified by Takehisa in view of Adler discloses wherein a diaphragm is not provided on an optical path of the first illuminating light and the second illuminating light from the bright point to the object (Ahn, Figs. 1-2, pgs. 4-6, defect imaging unit 30 illuminates a first region of the mask M with EUV light reflected by mirror 29, and defect imaging unit 40 illuminates a second region of the mask M with EUV light reflected by mirrors 41 and 43; there is no diaphragm between light source 21 and the mask M, and as modified by Takehisa, Figs. 1-6, 8-10, 13-15, paras. [0037]-[0043], [0048], [0063]-[0064], [0081]-[0086], [0092]-[0095], [0096]-[0097], the irradiation spots 16 produce EUV light to irradiate a mask 50 without an intervening diaphragm).
Regarding claim 14, Ahn as modified by Takehisa does not appear to explicitly describe wherein in the illuminating step, the first region is illuminated by a first elliptical mirror including one focusing point at a position of the first bright point and another focusing point at a position of the first region, and the second region is illuminated by a second elliptical mirror including one focusing point at a position of the second bright point and another focusing point at a position of the second region.
Adler discloses the first region is illuminated by a first elliptical mirror including one focusing point at a position of the first bright point and another focusing point at a position of the first region (Figs. 1-2, 5, paras. [0048]-[0049], [0068]-[0070], the first reflector 14, 514 is an elliptical reflector with a location 13, 513 on a surface 12, 512 of an article located at a first focus and first illuminator 18, 518 at the second focus), and
the second region is illuminated by a second elliptical mirror including one focusing point at a position of the second bright point and another focusing point at a position of the second region (Figs. 1-2, 5, paras. [0051]-[0054], [0070]-[0071], second reflector 24, 524 is an elliptical reflector with linear illuminated portion 20, 520 located at the first focus and second illuminator 26, 526 located at the second focus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the first region is illuminated by a first elliptical mirror including one focusing point at a position of the first bright point and another focusing point at a position of the first region, and the second region is illuminated by a second elliptical mirror including one focusing point at a position of the second bright point and another focusing point at a position of the second region as taught by Adler in the illuminating step with the first and second regions in the control method as taught by Ahn as modified by Takehisa since including wherein in the illuminating step, the first region is illuminated by a first elliptical mirror including one focusing point at a position of the first bright point and another focusing point at a position of the first region, and the second region is illuminated by a second elliptical mirror including one focusing point at a position of the second bright point and another focusing point at a position of the second region is commonly used to provide high intensity illumination for an inspection system with adjustable uniformity (Adler, paras. [0016]-[0017]).
Regarding claim 16, Ahn as modified by Takehisa in view of Adler discloses wherein in the illuminating step, a diaphragm is not provided on an optical path of the first illuminating light and the second illuminating light from the bright point to the object (Ahn, Figs. 1-2, pgs. 4-6, defect imaging unit 30 illuminates a first region of the mask M with EUV light reflected by mirror 29, and defect imaging unit 40 illuminates a second region of the mask M with EUV light reflected by mirrors 41 and 43; there is no diaphragm between light source 21 and the mask M, and as modified by Takehisa, Figs. 1-6, 8-10, 13-15, paras. [0037]-[0043], [0048], [0063]-[0064], [0081]-[0086], [0092]-[0095], [0096]-[0097], the irradiation spots 16 produce EUV light to irradiate a mask 50 without an intervening diaphragm).
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn as modified by Katzir as applied to claims 2 and 10 and further in view of Adler et al. (US PGPub 2002/0181233, Adler hereinafter).
Regarding claim 7, Ahn as modified by Katzir does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the first elliptical mirror includes one focusing point at a position of the bright point and another focusing point at a position of the first region, and the second elliptical mirror includes one focusing point at a position of the bright point and another focusing point at a position of the second region.
Adler discloses the first elliptical mirror includes one focusing point at a position of the bright point and another focusing point at a position of the first region (Figs. 1-2, 5, paras. [0048]-[0049], [0068]-[0070], the first reflector 14, 514 is an elliptical reflector with a location 13, 513 on a surface 12, 512 of an article located at a first focus and first illuminator 18, 518 at the second focus), and
the second elliptical mirror includes one focusing point at a position of the bright point and another focusing point at a position of the second region (Figs. 1-2, 5, paras. [0051]-[0054], [0070]-[0071], second reflector 24, 524 is an elliptical reflector with linear illuminated portion 20, 520 located at the first focus and second illuminator 26, 526 located at the second focus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the first elliptical mirror includes one focusing point at a position of the bright point and another focusing point at a position of the first region, and the second elliptical mirror includes one focusing point at a position of the bright point and another focusing point at a position of the second region as taught by Adler as the arrangement of the first elliptical mirror and the second elliptical mirror in the optical apparatus as taught by Ahn as modified by Katzir since including wherein the first elliptical mirror includes one focusing point at a position of the bright point and another focusing point at a position of the first region, and the second elliptical mirror includes one focusing point at a position of the bright point and another focusing point at a position of the second region is commonly used to provide high intensity illumination for an inspection system with adjustable uniformity (Adler, paras. [0016]-[0017]).
Regarding claim 15, Ahn as modified by Katzir does not appear to explicitly describe wherein in the illuminating step the first elliptical mirror includes one focusing point at a position of the bright point and another focusing point at a position of the first region, and the second elliptical mirror includes one focusing point at a position of the bright point and another focusing point at a position of the second region.
Adler discloses the first elliptical mirror includes one focusing point at a position of the bright point and another focusing point at a position of the first region (Figs. 1-2, 5, paras. [0048]-[0049], [0068]-[0070], the first reflector 14, 514 is an elliptical reflector with a location 13, 513 on a surface 12, 512 of an article located at a first focus and first illuminator 18, 518 at the second focus), and
the second elliptical mirror includes one focusing point at a position of the bright point and another focusing point at a position of the second region (Figs. 1-2, 5, paras. [0051]-[0054], [0070]-[0071], second reflector 24, 524 is an elliptical reflector with linear illuminated portion 20, 520 located at the first focus and second illuminator 26, 526 located at the second focus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the first elliptical mirror includes one focusing point at a position of the bright point and another focusing point at a position of the first region, and the second elliptical mirror includes one focusing point at a position of the bright point and another focusing point at a position of the second region as taught by Adler as the arrangement of the first elliptical mirror and the second elliptical mirror in the illuminating step in the control method as taught by Ahn as modified by Katzir since including wherein in the illuminating step the first elliptical mirror includes one focusing point at a position of the bright point and another focusing point at a position of the first region, and the second elliptical mirror includes one focusing point at a position of the bright point and another focusing point at a position of the second region is commonly used to provide high intensity illumination for an inspection system with adjustable uniformity (Adler, paras. [0016]-[0017]).
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA A RIDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882