DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6-8, 10-12, 14, and 19-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the closest related art is Hong and Ebisawa. The closest prior art however does not detail the claim 3 limitations stating, The electronic device of claim 2, wherein when the first pixel operates in the first mode, the second correction circuit is turned on, and the third correction circuit is turned off, and
wherein when the first pixel operates in the second mode, the second correction circuit is turned off, and the third correction circuit is turned on.
Regarding claim 6, the closest related art is Hong and Ebisawa. The closest prior art however does not detail the claim 6 limitations stating, The electronic device of claim 5, wherein when the first pixel operates in the second mode and the second pixel operates in the first mode, the first-type light emitting element does not emit light, the second-type light emitting element emits light, the third-type light emitting element emits light, the fourth-type light emitting element does not emit light, the second correction circuit and the third correction circuit are turned on, the second correction circuit is configured to generate the third-type intermediate correction data, and the third correction circuit is configured to generate the second-type intermediate correction data.
Regarding claim 7, the closest related art is Hong and Ebisawa. The closest prior art however does not detail the claim 7 limitations stating, the electronic device of claim 5, wherein when the first pixel and the second pixel operate in the first mode, the first-type light emitting element emits light, the second-type light emitting element does not emit light, the third-type light emitting element emits light, the fourth-type light emitting element does not emit light, the second correction circuit is turned on, the third correction circuit is turned off, and the second correction circuit is configured to generate the first-type intermediate correction data and the third-type intermediate correction data.
Regarding claim 8, the closest related art is Hong and Ebisawa. The closest prior art however does not detail the claim 8 limitations stating, the electronic device of claim 5, wherein when the first pixel and the second pixel operate in the second mode, the first-type light emitting element does not emit light, the second-type light emitting element emits light, the third-type light emitting element does not emit light, the fourth-type light emitting element emits light, the second correction circuit is turned off, the third correction circuit is turned on, and the third correction circuit is configured to generate the second-type intermediate correction data and the fourth-type intermediate correction data.
Regarding claim 10, the closest related art is Hong and Ebisawa. The closest prior art however does not detail the claim 10 limitations stating, The electronic device of claim 9, wherein when the first pixel operates in the second mode and the second pixel operates in the first mode, the first correction data is provided to the second-type light emitting element, and the second correction data is provided to the third- type light emitting element.
Regarding claim 11, the closest related art is Hong and Ebisawa. The closest prior art however does not detail the claim 11 limitations stating, The electronic device of claim 9, wherein when the first pixel and the second pixel operate in the first mode, the first correction data is provided to the first-type light emitting element, and the second correction data is provided to the third-type light emitting element.
Regarding claim 12, the closest related art is Hong and Ebisawa. The closest prior art however does not detail the claim 12 limitations stating, The electronic device of claim 9, wherein when the first pixel and the second pixel operate in the second mode, the first correction data is provided to the second-type light emitting element, and the second correction data is provided to the fourth-type light emitting element.
Regarding claim 14, the closest related art is Hong, Ebisawa, and Tang. The closest prior art however does not detail the claim 14 limitations stating, The electronic device of claim 13, wherein an active period of the first clock signal overlaps an inactive period of the second clock signal, and an active period of the second clock signal overlaps an inactive period of the first clock signal.
Regarding claim 19, the closest related art is Hong and Ebisawa. The closest prior art however does not detail the claim 19 limitations stating, The electronic device of claim 17, wherein when the first pixel and the second pixel are driven in the first mode, the first-type light emitting element emits light, the second- type light emitting element does not emit light, the third-type light emitting element emits light, the fourth-type light emitting element does not emit light, the second correction circuit is turned on, the third correction circuit is turned off, and the second correction circuit is configured to generate the first-type intermediate correction data and the third-type intermediate correction data, and wherein when the first pixel and the second pixel are driven in the second mode, the first-type light emitting element does not emit light, the second-type light emitting element emits light, the third-type light emitting element does not emit light, the fourth-type light emitting element emits light, the second correction circuit is turned off, the third correction circuit is turned on, and the third correction circuit is configured to generate the second-type intermediate correction data and the fourth-type intermediate correction data.
Regarding claim 20, the closest related art is Hong and Ebisawa. The closest prior art however does not detail the claim 20 limitations stating, a first division correction circuit configured to receive a first portion of the intermediate correction data, the first division correction circuit including the second correction circuit and the third correction circuit; and a second division correction circuit configured to receive a second portion of the intermediate correction data, wherein the display panel includes a first division area and a second division area, wherein the first division correction circuit is configured to correct the first portion of the intermediate correction data that is provided to the first division area, and wherein the second division correction circuit is configured to correct the second portion of the intermediate correction data that is provided to the second division area.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 9, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 20230217763 A1) in view of Ebisawa et al. (US 20080150842 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hong teaches an electronic device (Title, Fig. 1, display device) comprising:
a display panel (Title, Fig. 1, display device) including a first pixel including a first pixel circuit (Figs. 1 and 6 show a plurality of pixels and a pixel circuit thereby teaching a first pixel), a first-type light emitting element electrically connected to the first pixel circuit (Figs. 5-6, [0072], “first and second light emitting diodes D1 and D2”), and a second-type light emitting element electrically connected to the first pixel circuit (Figs. 5-6, [0072], “first and second light emitting diodes D1 and D2”), wherein the first pixel is configured to operate in a first mode or a second mode different from the first mode (Fig. 5, [0068, 0095-0097], teaches first and second modes, wide view and narrow view modes).
Hong is not relied upon for teaching a first, second, and third correction circuit.
Ebisawa teaches a display device comprising a first correction circuit configured to receive data and generate intermediate correction data by performing a primary correction on the data (Fig. 4, see inversed gamma correction unit 14 which receives image signal data and generate intermediate correction data as evidenced by its output being fed into a second halation unit 15);
a second correction circuit configured to receive first intermediate correction data corresponding to the first-type light emitting element among the intermediate correction data from the first correction circuit, and generate first-type intermediate correction data by correcting the first intermediate correction data (Figs. 1 and 4, noting [0041] teaches fig. 1 is the halation correction circuit 15 shown in figure 4. See in fig. 1 the multiplier within the adjustment gain multiplication unit 5 that outputs Red correction value. The red correction value corresponds to “first-type light emitting element.” This multiplier within the multiplication unit outputs a first-type or red intermediate correction data that corrects image data received from inversed gamma correction unit 14); and
a third correction circuit configured to receive second intermediate correction data corresponding to the second-type light emitting element among the intermediate correction data from the first correction circuit, and generate second-type intermediate correction data by correcting the second intermediate correction data (Figs. 1 and 4, see the multiplier within the adjustment gain multiplication unit 5 that outputs green correction value. The green correction value corresponds to “second-type light emitting element.” This multiplier within the multiplication unit outputs a first-type or green intermediate correction data that corrects image data received from inversed gamma correction unit 14).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Hong with Ebisawa as this amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Hong and Ebisawa include each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in combination, each element of Hong and Ebisawa merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further note, Ebisawa [0008] teaches his correction circuits result in an image display having small image unevenness. Therefore, one skilled in the art would have recognized, before the effective filing date of the invention, that modifying Hong’s display to include Ebisawa’s correction circuits would result in an image display having small image unevenness (Ebisawa, [0008]).
Regarding claim 2, Hong teaches wherein when the first pixel operates in the first mode, the first-type light emitting element emits light, and the second-type light emitting element does not emit light (Fig. 5, [0092], “when the display panel 150 operates in the wide view mode, the first light emitting diode D1 of each of the red, green and blue subpixels SPr, SPg and SPb has an ON state to emit a light, and the second light emitting diode D2 of each of the red, green and blue subpixels SPr, SPg and SPb has an OFF state not to emit a light.”), and
wherein when the first pixel operates in the second mode, the first-type light emitting element does not emit light, and the second-type light emitting element emits light (Fig. 5, [0094], “When the display panel 150 operates in the narrow view mode, the first light emitting diode D1 of each of the red, green and blue subpixels SPr, SPg and SPb has an OFF state not to emit a light, and the second light emitting diode D2 of each of the red, green and blue subpixels SPr, SPg and SPb has an ON state to emit a light.”).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Hong teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein a first area, in which the first pixel is placed, and a second area adjacent to the first area are defined in the display panel (Fig. 1, [0064-0065], “ the display panel 150 includes a plurality of pixels P.” Examiner notes the plurality of pixels P teaches first and second pixels, and, the display panel first pixel defines a first area and a second pixel defines a second area), and
wherein the display panel further includes a second pixel placed in the second area (Fig. 1, [0064-0065], see explanation above), the second pixel including a second pixel circuit (Fig. 6 shows a pixel circuit), a third-type light emitting element electrically connected to the second pixel circuit (Figs. 5-6 show sub-pixels comprising light emitting elements. SPr, for example, is third light emitting element. In fig. 6, D1 can also be considered a third light emitting element. Examiner notes, “third” is interpreted as a label in the same manner as SPr and D1 are labels), and a fourth-type light emitting element electrically connected to the second pixel circuit (Figs. 5-6 show sub-pixels comprising light emitting elements. SPg, for example, is a fourth light emitting element. In fig. 6, D2 can also be considered a fourth light emitting element. Examiner notes, “fourth” is interpreted as a label in the same manner as SPr and D1 are labels),
and the first pixel and the second pixel are configured to be driven in a first mode or in a second mode different from the first mode (Fig. 5, [0068, 0095-0097], teaches first and second modes, wide view and narrow view modes. Fig. 1 teaches first and second pixels).
Regarding claim 5, Hong is not relied upon for teaching the claim limitations.
Ebisawa teaches the second correction circuit is configured to generate third-type intermediate correction data by correcting third intermediate correction data corresponding to the third-type light emitting element among the intermediate correction data (Fig. 4, adjustment gain multiplication unit 5 within halation correction unit 15 generates intermediate correction data which can be labeled third intermediate correction data. The halation correction unit will correct data corresponding to all light emitting elements including a third type light emitting element. Examiner recommends applicant amend this limitation such that the third intermediate correction data is only applied to the third-type light emitting element), and
wherein the third correction circuit is configured to generate fourth-type intermediate correction data by correcting the fourth intermediate correction data corresponding to the fourth-type light emitting element among the intermediate correction data (Figs. 1 and 4, adjustment gain multiplication unit 5 within halation correction unit 15 generates generate intermediate correction data, such as blue correction value, which can be labeled as fourth-type).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Hong with Ebisawa as this amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Hong and Ebisawa include each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in combination, each element of Hong and Ebisawa merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further note, Ebisawa [0008] teaches his correction circuits result in an image display having small image unevenness. Therefore, one skilled in the art would have recognized, before the effective filing date of the invention, that modifying Hong’s display to include Ebisawa’s correction circuits would result in an image display having small image unevenness (Ebisawa, [0008]).
Regarding claim 9, Hong is not relied upon for teaching the claim limitations.
Ebisawa teaches the electronic device of claim 5, further comprising:
a fourth correction circuit configured to receive at least one of the first-type intermediate correction data, the second-type intermediate correction data, the third-type intermediate correction data, and the fourth-type intermediate correction data (Fig. 4, Phosphor saturation correction unit 17 will receive all intermediate correction data from previous correction units),
wherein the fourth correction circuit is configured to generate first correction data by performing a secondary correction on at least one of the first-type intermediate correction data and the second-type intermediate correction data, and the fourth correction circuit is configured to generate second correction data by performing a secondary correction on at least one of the third-type intermediate correction data and the fourth-type intermediate correction data (Fig. 4, phosphor saturation correction unit will perform correction on all data that it receives from the previous correction units thereby meeting these claim limitations).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Hong with Ebisawa as this amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Hong and Ebisawa include each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in combination, each element of Hong and Ebisawa merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further note, Ebisawa [0008] teaches his correction circuits result in an image display having small image unevenness. Therefore, one skilled in the art would have recognized, before the effective filing date of the invention, that modifying Hong’s display to include Ebisawa’s correction circuits would result in an image display having small image unevenness (Ebisawa, [0008]).
Regarding claim 15, Hong is not relied upon for teaching the claim limitations.
Ebisawa teaches the electronic device of claim 4, further comprising:
a fourth correction circuit configured to generate third-type intermediate correction data by correcting third intermediate correction data corresponding to the third-type light emitting element among the intermediate correction data (Fig. 4, Phosphor saturation correction unit 17 will receive all intermediate correction data from previous correction units and perform correction on said data).
Ebisawa does not explicitly teach a fifth correction circuit configured to generate fourth-type intermediate correction data by correcting fourth intermediate correction data corresponding to the fourth-type light emitting element among the intermediate correction data, however, a fifth correction circuit as claimed is merely a duplication of parts, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144. As Ebisawa details first – fourth correction circuits one skilled in the art would have recognized a fifth correction circuit configured to generate intermediate correction data based on the previous correction unit stages would provide the benefit of an image display having small image unevenness (Ebisawa, [0008]).
Regarding claim 16, Hong teaches an electronic device (Title, Fig. 1, display device) comprising:
a display panel (Title, Fig. 1, display device) including a first pixel including a first pixel and a second pixel (Figs. 1 and 6 show a plurality of pixels and a pixel circuit thereby teaching a first pixel and a second pixel), a first-type light emitting element electrically connected to the first pixel circuit (Figs. 1-2, 5-6 show plurality of pixels and pixel circuits. [0013], The plurality of subpixels include red subpixels), and a second-type light emitting element electrically connected to the first pixel circuit ([0013], The plurality of subpixels include green subpixels), and the second pixel includes a second pixel circuit (Figs. 1-2, 5-6 show plurality of pixels and pixel circuits thereby teaching a second pixel includes a second pixel circuit), a third-type light emitting element electrically connected to the second pixel circuit (Fig. 5 and [0013, The plurality of subpixels include red subpixels. Note applicant [0114] teaches, “the first-type light emitting element EE1 of the first pixel PXR1 and the third-type light emitting element EE3 of the second pixel PXR2 may be light emitting elements of substantially the same type”), and a fourth-type light emitting element electrically connected to the second pixel circuit ([0013], The plurality of subpixels include green subpixels. Note applicant [0114] teaches, “The second-type light emitting element EE2 of the first pixel PXR1 and the fourth-type light emitting element EE4 of the second pixel PXR2 may be light emitting elements of substantially the same type”).
Hong is not relied upon for teaching a first, second, and third correction circuit.
Ebisawa teaches a display device comprising a first correction circuit configured to receive data and generate intermediate correction data by performing a primary correction on the data (Fig. 4, see inversed gamma correction unit 14 which receives image signal data and generate intermediate correction data as evidenced by its output being fed into a second halation unit 15);
a second correction circuit configured to receive first intermediate correction data corresponding to the first-type light emitting element and third intermediate correction data corresponding to the third-type light emitting-element among the intermediate correction data from the first correction circuit, generate first-type intermediate correction data by correcting the first intermediate correction data and generate third-type intermediate correction data by correcting the third intermediate correction data (Figs. 1 and 4, noting [0041] teaches fig. 1 is the halation correction circuit 15 shown in figure 4. See in fig. 1 the multiplier within the adjustment gain multiplication unit 5 that outputs Red correction value. The red correction value corresponds to both “first-type” and “third-type” light emitting elements and intermediate correction data. This multiplier within the multiplication unit outputs a first-type/third-type or red intermediate correction data that corrects image data received from inversed gamma correction unit 14. Again note applicant specification [0114] teaches, “the first-type light emitting element EE1 of the first pixel PXR1 and the third-type light emitting element EE3 of the second pixel PXR2 may be light emitting elements of substantially the same type.” Hence, the first multiplier handling all red data and producing red correction data reads on these limitations); and
a third correction circuit configured to receive second intermediate correction data corresponding to the second-type light emitting element and fourth intermediate correction data corresponding to the fourth-type light emitting element among the intermediate correction data from the first correction circuit, generate second-type intermediate correction data by correcting the second intermediate correction data and generate fourth-type intermediate correction data by correcting the fourth intermediate correction data (Figs. 1 and 4, see the multiplier (herein, the “second multiplier”) within the adjustment gain multiplication unit 5 that outputs green correction value. The green correction value corresponds to “second-type” and ‘fourth type” light emitting elements and intermediate correction data. This second multiplier within the multiplication unit outputs a second-type/fourth-type or green intermediate correction data that corrects image data received from inversed gamma correction unit 14. Again note applicant specification [0114], “The second-type light emitting element EE2 of the first pixel PXR1 and the fourth-type light emitting element EE4 of the second pixel PXR2 may be light emitting elements of substantially the same type” Hence, the second multiplier handling all green data and producing green correction data reads on these limitations).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Hong with Ebisawa as this amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Hong and Ebisawa include each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in combination, each element of Hong and Ebisawa merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further note, Ebisawa [0008] teaches his correction circuits result in an image display having small image unevenness. Therefore, one skilled in the art would have recognized, before the effective filing date of the invention, that modifying Hong’s display to include Ebisawa’s correction circuits would result in an image display having small image unevenness (Ebisawa, [0008]).
Regarding claim 18, Hong teaches when the first pixel is driven in the second mode and the second pixel is driven in the first mode (Fig. 5, [0068, 0095-0097], teaches first and second modes, wide view and narrow view modes which each pixel can be driven in. Fig. teaches a plurality of pixels), the first-type light emitting element does not emit light ([0094], narrow view mode for first pixel results in its first light emitting element D1 being in an off state), the second-type light emitting element emits light ([0094], second light emitting diode D2 is on), the third-type light emitting element emits light ([0092], wide view mode for third light emitter of second pixel which corresponds to D1 which is ON), the fourth-type light emitting element does not emit light ([0092], fourth light emitter of second pixel corresponds to D2 which is off).
Hong is not relied upon for teaching the remaining limitations.
Ebisawa teaches the second correction circuit and the third correction circuit are turned on, the second correction circuit is configured to generate the third-type intermediate correction data, and the third correction circuit is configured to generate the second-type intermediate correction data (Fig. 4, halation correction unit 15 and bit correction unit 16 are turned on when display is operating and are configured to generate intermediate correction data which can be labeled as third-type correction data and second-type correction data).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Hong with Ebisawa as this amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Hong and Ebisawa include each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in combination, each element of Hong and Ebisawa merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further note, Ebisawa [0008] teaches his correction circuits result in an image display having small image unevenness. Therefore, one skilled in the art would have recognized, before the effective filing date of the invention, that modifying Hong’s display to include Ebisawa’s correction circuits would result in an image display having small image unevenness (Ebisawa, [0008]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 20230217763 A1) in view of Ebisawa et al. (US 20080150842 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tang et al. (US 20140362936 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Hong and Ebisawa are not relied upon for teaching the claim limitations.
Tang teaches a phase locked loop (PLL) configured to output a first clock signal and a second clock signal, wherein the PLL outputs a first clock signal to a first transceiver and a second clock signal to a third transceiver (see claim 9, “first and second phase-locked-loop (PLL) circuits, coupled to the first and second RF transceivers, configured to receive a common clock source signal to respectively generate a first clock signal for use by the first and second RF transceivers, and a second clock signal for use by the third RF transceiver; and the first and second clock signals have different clock frequencies”).
As Ebisawa teaches the second correction circuit and third correction circuit, the combination of Hong, Ebisawa, and Tang will arrive at the claim 13 limitations stating a phase locked loop configured to output a first clock signal and a second clock signal, wherein when the second correction circuit is turned on, the phase locked loop is configured to output the first clock signal to the second correction circuit, and wherein when the third correction circuit is turned on, the phase locked loop is configured to output the second clock signal to the third correction circuit.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Hong and Ebisawa with Tang as this amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Hong, Ebisawa, and Tang include each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in combination, each element of Hong, Ebisawa, and Tang merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 9, 2026 are directed towards the amended subject matter. A remapping of Hong in view of Ebisawa, particularly Ebisawa, reads on the amended claims as detailed in the rejection above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20240321180 A1, Deighton [0041] is related to claim 16 teaching a display device may include pixels of four different colors
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN P BRITTINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629