Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Lee et al. US 2004/0013378 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Lee’78) in view of Moret et al. US 2023/0092060 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Moret) in view of Ngo et al. JP2011033731A (hereinafter referred to as Ngo).
Regarding claim 1, Lee’78 discloses an optical probe (fig. 5, optical probe 2000, par. [0037]) configured for optical testing of at least one micro-optical component (fig. 5, waveguide 1110, par. [0037]), comprising: a probe head (fig. 5, optical probe 2050, par. [0037]), wherein the probe head comprises a test component (fig. 5, core 2060 of probe, par. [0037]); at least one micro-optical element (fig. 5, microlens 3090, par. [0038]), wherein the micro-optical element is a separate element with regard to the test component (fig. 5, core 2060 of probe, par. [0037]), and in mechanical contact with the test component (see fig. 5); and wherein the micro-optical element (3090) is configured to optically couple light between the test component (2060) and the micro-optical component (1110), (par. [0037]-[0039]) thereby being configured to determine an optical performance of the micro-optical component (characterize optical chips while in a wafer form, par. [0058]), and wherein the micro-optical element is configured to be operated in an index matching liquid (index matching fluid, par. [0033], [0050]-[0051]).
Lee’78 does not disclose whereby degradation of the light transmitted through the index matching liquid between the micro-optical element and the micro-optical component is less than 1 dB and wherein the micro-optical component comprises a taper configured to be operated in the index matching liquid.
Moret discloses whereby degradation of the light transmitted through the index matching liquid (fig. 2, elm. 136, par. [0038]) between the micro-optical element (fig. 2, elm. 116, 126, par. [0029], [0038]) and the micro-optical component (fig. 2, elm. 102, 142, par. [0024], [0038]) is less than 1 dB (par. [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reduce loss in the coupling of light between the PIC and the substrate, an index-matching material can be disposed between the PIC edge surface and the at least one sidewall of the cavity, as taught in Moret in modifying the apparatus of Lee’78. The motivation would be to reduce reflections and/or scattering at an interface between the PIC and the substrate (see Moret: [par. [0038]).
Ngo discloses and wherein the micro-optical component comprises a taper (fig. 7, tapered built-in fiber body 32, par. [0034], [0040]-[0041]) configured to be operated in the index matching liquid (fig. 7, refractive index-matching material layer 321, par. [0040]-[0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connecting two optical devices together at a low loss even when the end faces of the inserted optical devices are irregular when butted and connected to each other, as taught in Ngo in modifying the apparatus of Lee’78 and Moret. The motivation would be to provide liquid refractive index matching agent at a butt connection portion between the optical devices to reduce connection loss. (see Ngo: par. [0002]).
Regarding claim 3, Lee’78, Moret and Ngo discloses the optical probe according to claim 1, Lee’78 discloses wherein the micro-optical element (fig. 5, microlens 3090, par. [0038]), has at least one of: a cavity; a waveguide; a reflecting surface, wherein the reflecting surface is configured to deflect the light by at least 100, or wherein at least at two reflecting surfaces are configured to reflected the light; a refractive surface (fig. 5, microlens 3090, par. [0038]), wherein the refractive surface is configured to deflect the light by at least 20;a functional surface configured to alter at least one of a refractive property or a wetting property; at least one high-index material, wherein the high-index material has a refractive index of at least 1.6.
Regarding claim 4, Lee’78, Moret and Ngo discloses the optical probe according to claim 1, Lee’78 discloses wherein the micro-optical element (fig. 5, microlens 3090, par. [0037]), comprises at least one optical fiber (fig. 5, 2060, par. [0037]), wherein the optical fiber is tilted at an angle of at least 5° with respect to a surface normal (see fig. 5) of the micro-optical component (fig. 5, waveguide 1110, par. [0037]).
Regarding claim 5, Lee’78, Moret and Ngo discloses the optical probe according to claim 1, Lee’78 discloses wherein the optical probe (fig. 5, 2000, par. [0037]) is configured for coupling at least two coupling locations of the micro-optical component (probe contains multiple waveguides, par. [0033], [0054]).
Regarding claim 9, Lee’78, Moret and Ngo discloses the optical probe according to claim 1, Lee’78 discloses wherein the test component (fig. 3, 5, waveguide 2060, par. [0037]) comprises at least one of: a fiber array; a transparent substrate (fig. 3, substrate 2010, par. [0031]) .
Regarding claim 10, Lee’78, Moret and Ngo discloses the optical probe according to claim 1, Lee’78 discloses wherein the optical probe (fig. 5, optical probe 2000, par. [0037]) is configured for optical testing of a micro-optical component (fig. 5, waveguide 1110, par. [0037]), wherein the micro-optical component comprises; a metamaterial taper (fig. 5, elm. 2050, par. [0037]) configured to be operated in the index matching liquid (par. [0037]), wherein the taper is selected from a metamaterial taper, a suspended taper or an adiabatic taper.
Lee’78, Moret and Ngo do not disclose the taper is selected from a metamaterial taper, a suspended taper or an adiabatic taper. The particular type of material used to make the taper, absent any criticality, is only considered to be the use of a “preferred” or “optimum” material out of a plurality of well-known materials that a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have find obvious to provide using routine experimentation based, among other things, on the intended use of Applicant’s apparatus, i.e., suitability for the intended use of Applicant’s apparatus. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and MPEP 2144.07 where the court stated that a selection of a material on the basis of suitability for intended use of an apparatus would be entirely obvious.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee’78 in view of Moret in view of Ngo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hashimoto et al. US 2009/0142023 A1(hereinafter referred to as Hashimoto).
Regarding claim 2, Lee’78, Moret and Ngo discloses the optical probe according to claim 1, Lee’78, Moret and Ngo do not disclose further configured to operate the index-matching liquid by having at least one of: a liquid dispensing element, wherein the liquid dispensing element is configured to dispense at least one portion of the index matching liquid; a hollow-core fiber, wherein the hollow-core fiber is configured to receive the at least one portion of the index matching liquid; a liquid guarding element, wherein the liquid guarding element is configured to control a spread of the at least one portion of the index matching liquid; a liquid removal element, wherein the liquid removal element is configured to remove the at least one portion of the index matching liquid; a microfluidic chip.
Hashimoto discloses operate the index-matching liquid by having at least one of: a liquid dispensing element (fig. 1, dispenser 10, par. [0037]), wherein the liquid dispensing element is configured to dispense at least one portion of the index matching liquid (fig. 1, supplies the liquid refractive index matching member, par. [0037]); a hollow-core fiber (fig. 1, optical fiber 1 is used as an optical transmission medium, par. [0027]), wherein the hollow-core fiber is configured to receive the at least one portion of the index matching liquid; a liquid guarding element (fig. 1, supply amount of the liquid refractive index matching member to the optical fiber 1 is stably controlled by the dielectric member 4, par. [0042]), wherein the liquid guarding element is configured to control a spread of the at least one portion of the index matching liquid (par. [0042]); a liquid removal element, wherein the liquid removal element is configured to remove the at least one portion of the index matching liquid (fig. 1, 3, operation of the dispenser 10 may be electronically controlled by a control circuit, par. [0039]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to (provide an optical connecting part including an optical transmission medium with a connecting end surface provided with a refractive index matching member, as taught in Hashimoto in modifying the apparatus of Lee’78, Moret and Ngo. The motivation would be the refractive index matching member is removable, so that the refractive index matching member can be repeatedly used by adhering and removing multiple times (see Hashimoto: par. 0030]).
Claim(s) 6-8 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee’78 in view of Moret in view of Ngo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Trappen et al., 3D-printed optical probes for wafer-level testing of photonic integrated circuits, Vol. 28, No. 25 / 7 December 2020 / Optics Express 37996 (hereinafter referred to as Trappen).
Regarding claim 6, Lee’78, Moret and Ngo discloses the optical probe according to claim 1, Lee’78, Moret and Ngo do not disclose wherein the micro-optical element meets at least one accuracy selected from at least one of: a shape accuracy of the micro-optical element is at least 250 nm; an alignment accuracy of the micro-optical element with respect to a coupling location of the of test component is at least 1000 nm; a pitch accuracy between two micro-optical elements is at least 1000 nm; a mode-field accuracy of at least 10%.
Trappen discloses the micro-optical element meets at least one accuracy selected from at least one of: a shape accuracy of the micro-optical element is at least 250 nm; an alignment accuracy of the micro-optical element with respect to a coupling location of the of test component is at least 1000 nm (fig. 1a, alignment complies well with the typical positioning step size of 100 nm, 2. Concept. pg. 1, col. 2); a pitch accuracy between two micro-optical elements is at least 1000 nm; a mode-field accuracy of at least 10%.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wafer-level probing with 3D-printed optical coupling elements, as taught in Trappen in modifying the apparatus of Lee’78, Moret and Ngo. The motivation would be compact 3D-printed coupling elements can be inserted into standard dicing trenches etched into the wafer surface of the photonic integrated circuits (see Trappen: 5. summary).
Regarding claim 7, Lee’78, Moret, Ngo and Trappen discloses the optical probe according to claim 6, Lee’78 discloses wherein the optical performance of the probe head is calibrated (par. [0049]).
Regarding claim 8, Lee’78, Moret, Ngo and Trappen discloses the optical probe according to claim 1, Lee’78, Moret and Ngo do not disclose wherein at least one of the probe head or the micro- optical component comprises at least one marker element, wherein the marker element is configured for an alignment of the probe head with respect to the micro-optical component.
Trappen discloses wherein at least one of the probe head or the micro-optical component (fig. 1, photonic chip, 2. Concept) comprises at least one marker (fig. 1, 2, alignment markers (green), 2. Concept) element, wherein the marker element is configured for an alignment of the probe head with respect to the micro-optical component (fig. 1, 2, 2. Concept).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 21, Lee’78, Moret, Ngo and Trappen discloses the optical probe according to claim 5, Lee’78, Moret and Ngo do not disclose wherein the probe head includes a plurality of channels for coupling whereby the probe head is adapted to test multi-port micro-optical components.
Trappen discloses probe head includes a plurality of channels for coupling whereby the probe head (fig. 1(b), 2. Concept) is adapted to test multi-port micro-optical components (fig. 4a, 4. Experimental verification).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 6.
Claim(s) 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee’78 in view of Trappen in view of Moret in view of Ngo.
Regarding claim 11, Lee’78 discloses a method for producing an optical probe (fig. 5, optical probe 2000, par. [0037]) configured for optical testing of at least one micro- optical component (fig. 5, waveguide 1110, par. [0037]) according to claim 1, the method comprising the following steps:(i) providing a probe head (fig. 5, optical probe 2050, par. [0037]) wherein the probe head comprises a test component (fig. 5, core 2060 of probe, par. [0037]); and(ii) generating at least one micro-optical element (fig. 5, microlens 3090, par. [0038]), wherein the micro-optical element (3090) is being generated as a separate element with regard to the test component (2060) and in mechanical contact with the test component (see fig. 5); wherein the micro-optical element (3090) is configured to optically couple light between the test component (1110) and a micro-optical component (par. [0037]-[0039]), thereby being configured to determine an optical performance of the micro-optical component (characterize optical chips while in a wafer form, par. [0058]) and wherein the micro-optical element is configured to be operated in an index matching liquid (index matching fluid, par. [0033], [0050]-[0051]).
Lee’78 does not disclose by generating at least one micro-optical element using a direct-write process; whereby degradation of the light transmitted through the index matching liquid between the micro-optical element and the micro- optical component is less than 1 dB and wherein the micro-optical component comprises a taper configured to be operated in the index matching liquid
Trappen discloses at least one micro-optical element (fig. 1, 3D-printed freeform element, 2. Concept) by using a direct-write process (3D printing using a customized two-photon lithography system, 3. Fabri.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wafer-level probing with 3D-printed optical coupling elements, as taught in Trappen in modifying the apparatus of Lee’78. The motivation would be compact 3D-printed coupling elements can be inserted into standard dicing trenches etched into the wafer surface of the photonic integrated circuits (see Trappen: 5. summary).
Moret discloses whereby degradation of the light transmitted through the index matching liquid (fig. 2, elm. 136, par. [0038]) between the micro-optical element (fig. 2, elm. 116, 126, par. [0029], [0038]) and the micro-optical component (fig. 2, elm. 102, 142, par. [0024], [0038]) is less than 1 dB (par. [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reduce loss in the coupling of light between the PIC and the substrate, an index-matching material can be disposed between the PIC edge surface and the at least one sidewall of the cavity, as taught in Moret in modifying the apparatus of Lee’78. And Trappen The motivation would be to reduce reflections and/or scattering at an interface between the PIC and the substrate (see Moret: [par. [0038]).
Ngo discloses and wherein the micro-optical component comprises a taper (fig. 7, tapered built-in fiber body 32, par. [0034], [0040]-[0041]) configured to be operated in the index matching liquid (fig. 7, refractive index-matching material layer 321, par. [0040]-[0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connecting two optical devices together at a low loss even when the end faces of the inserted optical devices are irregular when butted and connected to each other, as taught in Ngo in modifying the apparatus of Lee’78, Trappen and Moret. The motivation would be to provide liquid refractive index matching agent at a butt connection portion between the optical devices to reduce connection loss. (see Ngo: par. [0002]).
Regarding claim 13, Lee’78, Trappen, Moret and Ngo discloses the method according to claims 11, Trappen discloses wherein the micro-optical element (fig. 1, 3D-printed freeform element, 2. Concept) is generated during step (ii) by using by an additive manufacturing method (fig. 1, 3D-printing, 3. Fabrication).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 11.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee’78 in view of Trappen in view of Moret in view of Ngo as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Hashimoto.
Regarding claim 12, Lee’78, Trappen, Moret and Ngo discloses the method according to claim 11, Lee’78 discloses to the test component (fig. 5, core 2060 of probe, par. [0037]) prior to step (ii);(iv) mounting the at least one micro-optical element (fig. 5, microlens 3090, par. [0038]) on a support (fig. 5, cladding 2040, par. [0031]) prior to step (ii).
Lee’78, Trappen, Moret and Ngo do not disclose further comprising at least one of the following steps:(iii) applying an adhesion promoter.
Hashimoto disclose further comprising at least one of the following steps:(iii) applying an adhesion promoter (adhesive strength adjusting agents par. [0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to (provide an optical connecting part including an optical transmission medium with a connecting end surface provided with a refractive index matching member, as taught in Hashimoto in modifying the apparatus of Lee’78, Trappen, Moret and Ngo. The motivation would be the refractive index matching member is removable, so that the refractive index matching member can be repeatedly used by adhering and removing multiple times (see Hashimoto: par. 0030]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Lee’78 in view of Snow et al. US 5,039,193 A (hereinafter referred to as Snow) in view of Ngo.
Regarding claim 14, Lee’78 discloses a method for optical testing of at least one micro-optical component (fig. 5, waveguide 1110, par. [0037]), the method comprising the following steps: a) providing an optical probe (fig. 5, optical probe 2000, par. [0037]), wherein the optical probe comprises a probe head and at least one micro-optical element (fig. 5, microlens 3090, par. [0038]), wherein the probe head comprises a test component (fig. 5, core 2060 of probe, par. [0037]), wherein the micro-optical element is a separate element with regard to the test component and in mechanical contact with the test component (see fig. 5, par. [0037]); b) positioning the probe head (2050) in a manner that the micro-optical element (3090) optically couples light between the test component (2060) and the micro-optical component (1110), (see fig. 5, par. [0037]), wherein the light at least partially propagates through an index matching liquid (index matching fluid, par. [0033], [0050]-[0051]), wherein the index matching liquid is at least partially in contact with the at least one micro-optical component (par. [0033], [0050]-[0051]); and c) determining an optical performance of the micro-optical component by measuring an optical signal being indicative for the optical performance of the micro-optical component (characterize optical chips while in a wafer form, par. [0058]).
Lee’78 does not disclose wherein the index matching liquid surrounds is at least partially in contact with the at least one micro-optical component; the micro-optical component comprises a taper configured to be operated in the index matching liquid.
Snow discloses wherein the index matching liquid (fig. 4c-4d, elm. 86, col. 5, ln. 53-60) surrounds is at least partially in contact with the micro-optical component (fig. 4c-4d, elm. 70, 78, col. 5, ln. 53-60)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use oil of refractive index matched to that of the glass fibers and to that of fiber tapers or lenses to expand the beam emitted from one fiber and contract it for transmission into the other fiber, as taught in Snow in modifying the apparatus of Lee’78. The motivation would be to minimize insertion loss and unwanted reflections (return loss). (see Snow: abs.)
Ngo discloses and wherein the micro-optical component comprises a taper (fig. 7, tapered built-in fiber body 32, par. [0034], [0040]-[0041]) configured to be operated in the index matching liquid (fig. 7, refractive index-matching material layer 321, par. [0040]-[0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connecting two optical devices together at a low loss even when the end faces of the inserted optical devices are irregular when butted and connected to each other, as taught in Ngo in modifying the apparatus of Lee and Snow. The motivation would be to provide liquid refractive index matching agent at a butt connection portion between the optical devices to reduce connection loss. (see Ngo: par. [0002]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee’78 in view of Snow in view of Ngo applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Trappen.
Regarding claim 15, Lee’78, Snow and Ngo discloses the method according to claim 14, Lee’78 and Snow do not disclose further comprising at least one of the following steps: d) calibrating the optical performance of the probe head prior to step b);e) inserting at least one portion of the micro-optical element into a trench, wherein the trench is comprised by the micro-optical component in a manner that the light is optically coupled between the test component and the micro-optical component during step b);f)
dispensing the index matching liquid prior to or during step b); g) removing the index matching liquid during or after step b) or step c); h) determining the optical performance of the micro-optical component during step c) prior to, under, or after an application of the index matching liquid; i) altering a temperature of the micro-optical component or a surface thereof at least during step c); j) treating the optical probe in a critical point dryer at least during step c); k) operating the optical probe by using a broadband light source having a linewidth of at least 5 nm at least during step c).
Trappen discloses further comprising at least one of the following steps: d) calibrating the optical performance of the probe head prior to step b);e) inserting at least one portion of the micro-optical element (fig. 1, 3D-printed freeform element, 2. Concept) into a trench, wherein the trench (fig. 1, deep-etched trenches, 4. Experimental verification) is comprised by the micro-optical component (fig. 1, photonic chip, 2. Concept) in a manner that the light is optically coupled between the test component (fig. 1, single-mode fiber (SMF) array, 2. Concept) and the micro-optical component during step b) f) dispensing the index matching liquid prior to or during step b);g) removing the index matching liquid during or after step b) or step c);h) determining the optical performance of the micro-optical component during step c) prior to, under, or after an application of the index matching liquid; i) altering a temperature of the micro-optical component or a surface thereof at least during step c);j) treating the optical probe in a critical point dryer at least during step c);k) operating the optical probe by using a broadband light source having a linewidth of at least 5 nm at least during step c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wafer-level probing with 3D-printed optical coupling elements, as taught in Trappen in modifying the apparatus of Lee’78, Snow and Ngo. The motivation would be compact 3D-printed coupling elements can be inserted into standard dicing trenches etched into the wafer surface of the photonic integrated circuits (see Trappen: 5. summary).
Claim(s) 16-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Lee’78 in view of Shastri et al. US 2019/0086618 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Shastri) in view of Ngo.
Regarding claim 16, Lee’78 discloses an optical probe (fig. 5, optical probe 2000, par. [0037]) configured for optical testing of at least one micro-optical component (fig. 5, waveguide 1110, par. [0037]), comprising: a probe head (fig. 5, optical probe 2050, par. [0037]), wherein the probe head comprises a test component (fig. 5, core 2060 of probe, par. [0037]); at least one micro-optical element (fig. 5, microlens 3090, par. [0038]), wherein the micro-optical element is a separate element with regard to the test component and in mechanical contact with the test component (see fig. 5); wherein the micro-optical element (3090) is configured to optically couple light between the test component (2060) and the micro-optical component (par. [0037]-[0039]), thereby being configured to determine an optical performance of the micro-optical component (characterize optical chips while in a wafer form, par. [0058]), and wherein the micro-optical element is configured to be operated in an index matching liquid (index matching fluid, par. [0033], [0050]-[0051]).
Lee’78 does not disclose a liquid guarding element in the form of a mechanical element at a surface of the probe head or the micro-optical component wherein the liquid guarding element is configured to limit a spread of the index matching liquid
Shastri discloses a liquid guarding element (fig. 18-19, channels 86-1 and 86-2, par. [0089]-[0090]) in the form of a mechanical element at a surface of the probe head or the micro-optical component (fig. 18-19, PIC 28A., par. [0089]-[0090]) wherein the liquid guarding element is configured to limit a spread of the index matching liquid (fig. 18-19, index-matching fluid 91 is directed into the precise regions where the individual fibers (e.g., 70-1 70-2 . . . ) will be butt-coupled against edge end face 83, par. [0089]-[0090]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a pair of channels used to apply index-matching fluid and direct it to the recessed pockets along an edge end face of the substrate, as taught in Shastri in modifying the apparatus of Lee’78. The motivation would be to improve the optical coupling between the individual fibers and the optical waveguides (see Shastri: par. [0089]).
Ngo discloses and wherein the micro-optical component comprises a taper (fig. 7, tapered built-in fiber body 32, par. [0034], [0040]-[0041]) configured to be operated in the index matching liquid (fig. 7, refractive index-matching material layer 321, par. [0040]-[0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connecting two optical devices together at a low loss even when the end faces of the inserted optical devices are irregular when butted and connected to each other, as taught in Ngo in modifying the apparatus of Lee’78 and Shastri. The motivation would be to provide liquid refractive index matching agent at a butt connection portion between the optical devices to reduce connection loss. (see Ngo: par. [0002]).
Regarding claim 17, Lee’78, Shastri and Ngo discloses the optical probe according to claim 16, Shastri discloses wherein the liquid guarding element is a coating or a structured surface (fig. 18-19, channels 86-1 and 86-2, par. [0089]-[0090]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 16.
Regarding claim 19, Lee’78, Shastri and Ngo discloses the optical probe according to claim 16, Shastri discloses wherein the liquid guarding element is a structured surface formed by a capillary, a sharp edge, or a hole (fig. 18-19, channels 86-1 and 86-2, par. [0089]-[0090]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Lee’78 in view of Shastri in view of Ngo as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Robbins et al. US 2023/0258871 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Robbins).
Regarding claim 18, Lee’78, Shastri and Ngo discloses the optical probe according to claim 17, Lee’78, Shastri and Ngo do not disclose wherein the liquid guarding element is a coating formed by a metal, an oxide, an oxide removal, a fluorinated coating, or an organic coating.
Robbins discloses wherein the liquid guarding element is a coating formed by a metal, an oxide, an oxide removal, a fluorinated coating, or an organic coating (fig. 6, flowable oxide liquids 610, 612, par. [0028]-[0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide flowable oxide liquids are added to an area between input waveguide interface and input fiber interface, oxide liquids are cured at a high temperature and become solid oxide materials, as taught in Robbins in modifying the apparatus of Lee’78, Shastri and Ngo. The motivation would be to index matching material offers near-perfect index matching, environmental stability, high power handling, and low coefficient of thermal expansion mismatch in the fiber-matching material-chip interface (see Robbins: par. [0010]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee’78 in view of Moret in view of Ngo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pang et al. US 2016/0356969 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Pang).
Regarding claim 20, Lee’78, Shastri and Ngo discloses the optical probe according to claim 1, Lee’78 and Moret do not disclose wherein a lens surface of the micro-optical element has a curvature configured to achieve a selected numerical aperture in the index matching liquid and wherein the curvature of the micro-optical element is greater than a curvature of a lens design configured for use in air for achieving the selected numerical aperture.
Pang discloses wherein a lens surface (fig. 1, curve reflecting surface 24, par. [0038]) of the micro-optical element surface (fig. 1, right-angle reflecting prism 23, par. [0038]) has a curvature configured to achieve a selected numerical aperture in the index matching liquid (the examiner equates the numerical aperture of the index matching liquid to that of optical fibre: fig. 1, optical fibre, par. [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a curvature of the curve reflecting surface is designed according to a value of an aperture parameter of the optical fibre coupling tube, as taught in Pang in modifying the apparatus of Lee’78, Shastri and Ngo. The motivation would be to reduce loss of the device when transmitting light and increasing light coupling efficiency. (see Pang: par. [0027]).
Regarding the curvature of the micro-optical element: Pang discloses a curvature of the micro-optical element but does not disclose a particular value for the aperture parameter. However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a curvature of the micro-optical element is greater than a curvature of a lens design configured for use in air for achieving a selected numerical aperture, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the “optimum range” involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Lee’78 in view of Snow in view Ngo as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Cok et al. US 2024/0295692 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Cok).
Regarding claim 22, Lee’78, Snow and Ngo discloses the method according to claim 14, Lee’78 and Snow do not discloses wherein the micro-optical component is disposed on a wafer and step b) includes completely immersing the micro-optical component and the wafer in the index matching liquid.
Cok discloses wherein the micro-optical component is disposed on a wafer (fig. 16A-D, elm. 42, par. [0140]) and step b) includes completely immersing the micro-optical component (fig. 16A-D, elm. 14, par. [0140]) and the wafer in the index matching liquid (fig. 16A-D, optical-index-matching material, par. [0020], [0140]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to fill or partially fill with optical-index-matching material to reduce stray reflections from surfaces of cavity or micro-optical element, as taught in Cok in modifying the apparatus of Lee’78, Snow and Ngo. The motivation would be to minimize unwanted reflections. (see Cok: par. [0140]).
Conclusion
/COURTNEY G MCDONNOUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858
6/30/2026