DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-9 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bhat (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0297697).
Regarding claims 1 and 3-4, Bhat discloses a method comprising:
obtaining first data indicative of a load [0015, 0019, the controller 110 can obtain data on the steering wheel input which indicates an expected lateral acceleration of the vehicle, the lateral acceleration being a parameter indicative of vehicle load, i.e. the forces applied to the vehicle];
obtaining second data indicative of at least one parameter influencing the load or influencing a load capacity of a steering system associated with a vehicle, wherein the second data is indicative of at least one of an ambient temperature around the vehicle, a ground angle of a ground on which the vehicle is located, a ground friction of the ground, a vehicle specification, and a vehicle condition, wherein the vehicle condition comprises at least one of a vehicle speed, a vehicle pitch, a steering wheel angle, and a steering wheel torque [0017-0018, the controller obtains second data indicative of ambient temperature around the vehicle];
obtaining third data indicative of a load threshold, wherein the load threshold is based on the second data [0033, data indicative of a lateral acceleration threshold as the third data is obtained based on the parameter used as the second data]; and
comparing the first data and the third data, and providing a load mitigation measure based on the comparison, wherein the method is configured to control the steering system of the vehicle [0033, where both the first data and the third data indicate a slippery condition, a load mitigation measure is provided; 0034, the load mitigation measure can include reducing a gain on steering response, meaning limiting a range of motion of a vehicle wheel for a given steering wheel input].
Regarding claim 7, Bhat further discloses wherein the load mitigation measure is based on one or more of a vehicle speed and a road wheel angle [as shown in steps 504-508 of Figure 5, the expected lateral acceleration of the vehicle used to determine the slippery condition is based on at least the vehicle speed].
Regarding claims 8-9, Bhat further discloses wherein the third data is indicative of a load warning threshold and wherein the load warning threshold is based on at least one of a steering wheel angle, a steering wheel speed, a steering wheel acceleration, a steering wheel torque, and a vehicle speed [0033, as shown in steps 504-508 of Figure 5, the expected lateral acceleration of the vehicle used to determine the slippery condition is based on at least the vehicle speed and when the expected lateral acceleration exceeds the measured lateral acceleration by the threshold the slippery condition is determined].
Regarding claims 11-12, Bhat further discloses the method further comprising comparing the first data and the third data to determine at least one of the load equals the load threshold and the load exceeding the load threshold [0033]; and
providing the load mitigation measure based on the comparison [0034].
the method further comprising comparing the first data and the third data to determine at least one of the load equals the load warning threshold and the load exceeding the load warning threshold [0033], and
providing a load mitigation transition measure based on the comparison [0034].
Regarding claim 13, Bhat discloses a data processing apparatus comprising:
a data storage unit (116) storing program instructions; and
a data processing unit (116) operatively coupled to the data storage unit and executing the program instructions stored in the data storage unit wherein the program instructions, when executed by the data processing unit, cause the data processing unit to:
obtain first data indicative of a load [0015, 0019, the controller 110 can obtain data on the steering wheel input which indicates an expected lateral acceleration of the vehicle, the lateral acceleration being a parameter indicative of vehicle load, i.e. the forces applied to the vehicle];
obtain second data indicative of at least one parameter influencing the load or influencing a load capacity of a steering system associated with a vehicle [0017-0018, the controller obtains second data indicative of ambient temperature around the vehicle];
obtain third data indicative of a load threshold, wherein the load threshold is based on the second data [0033, data indicative of a lateral acceleration threshold as the third data is obtained based on the parameter used as the second data]; and
compare the first data and the third data, and provide a load mitigation measure for the steering system based on the comparison [0033, where both the first data and the third data indicate a slippery condition, a load mitigation measure is provided; 0034, the load mitigation measure can include reducing a gain on steering response, meaning limiting a range of motion of a vehicle wheel for a given steering wheel input].
Regarding claim 14, Bhat further discloses wherein the data processing apparatus is communicatively coupled with at least one of a steering wheel and brakes of the vehicle [0015].
Regarding claim 15, Bhat discloses a vehicle comprising:
a steering system (122); and
a data processing apparatus (110) operatively connected to the steering system [0014];
wherein the data processing apparatus is configured to:
obtain first data indicative of a load [0015, 0019, the controller 110 can obtain data on the steering wheel input which indicates an expected lateral acceleration of the vehicle, the lateral acceleration being a parameter indicative of vehicle load, i.e. the forces applied to the vehicle];
obtain second data indicative of at least one parameter influencing the load or influencing a load capacity of a steering system associated with a vehicle [0017-0018, the controller obtains second data indicative of ambient temperature around the vehicle];
obtain third data indicative of a load threshold, wherein the load threshold is based on the second data [0033, data indicative of a lateral acceleration threshold as the third data is obtained based on the parameter used as the second data]; and
compare the first data and the third data, and provide a load mitigation measure for the steering system based on the comparison [0033, where both the first data and the third data indicate a slippery condition, a load mitigation measure is provided; 0034, the load mitigation measure can include reducing a gain on steering response, meaning limiting a range of motion of a vehicle wheel for a given steering wheel input].
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lidgard (GB 2598586 A).
Regarding claims 1-4, Lidgard discloses a method comprising:
obtaining first data indicative of a load, wherein the first data is indicative of a road wheel angle [page 3, lines 15-23; page 4, lines 11-29, as shown in Figures 2-3: the controller is configured to obtain the requested steering angle or amount of steering lock which is indicative of the road wheel angle inside the maximum limits];
obtaining second data indicative of at least one parameter influencing the load or influencing a load capacity of a steering system associated with a vehicle, wherein the second data is indicative of at least one of an ambient temperature around the vehicle, a ground angle of a ground on which the vehicle is located, a ground friction of the ground, a vehicle specification, and a vehicle condition, wherein the vehicle condition comprises at least one of a vehicle speed, a vehicle pitch, a steering wheel angle, and a steering wheel torque [page 4, lines 11-29; page 5, lines 19-27; page 11, lines 4-12; the controller obtains second data on topography or terrain, i.e., data indicative of the ground angle of a ground on which the vehicle is located, vehicle speed, vehicle pitch, steering wheel torque and other vehicle conditions, as well as ambient temperature around the vehicle];
obtaining third data indicative of a load threshold, wherein the load threshold is based on the second data [page 9, lines 23-26; page 12, lines 15-16]; and
comparing the first data and the third data, and providing a load mitigation measure based on the comparison, wherein the method is configured to control the steering system of the vehicle [page 5, lines 9-14; page 10, lines 10-25; a load mitigation measure in the form of haptic feedback to the driver may be provided or an adjustment of the maximum available steering lock imposed based on comparison of the first data and the third data].
Regarding claim 5, Lidgard further discloses wherein the load mitigation measure comprises at least one of:
releasing a brake associated with at least one road wheel of the vehicle,
limiting a range of motion of a steering system component [page 10, lines 10-25], and
reducing an assistance measure of the steering system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lidgard (GB 2598586 A) in view of Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2006/0175120).
Regarding claim 6, Lidgard discloses the method of claim 5 as discussed above wherein the load mitigation measure limits the steering range as discussed above but does not explicitly disclose wherein limiting the range of motion of the steering system component comprises limiting a range of motion of a steering rack.
Ryu discloses limiting a steering range by limiting a range of motion of a steering rack [0008, 0025].
Ryu teaches that it has been known in the art to restrict the maximum displacement of the road wheels of a vehicle by providing a variable steering rack whose range is limited by a stopper, particularly in the case when chains are mounted to the vehicle tires and the ambient temperature around the vehicle is low [0005-0006].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to limit the steering range in the method disclosed by Lidgard by limiting the range of motion of a steering rack as disclosed by Ryu because it has been known to effectively limit the steering range when chains are connected to the vehicle tires as low air temperatures, such as winter conditions, where vehicle stability is prioritized.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhat (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0297697) in view of Jones (US Patent Number 4,164,360).
Regarding claim 10, Bhat discloses the method of claim 9 wherein the load mitigation measure is provided based on slippery conditions determined from a comparison of the first data and the third data as discussed above but does not explicitly disclose the method further comprising the causing the vehicle to stand still.
Jones discloses a control circuit that engages vehicle brakes to stop a vehicle in response determination of an imminent skid condition (Col. 1, lines 7-14).
Jones teaches that automatically stopping the vehicle under adverse driving conditions when a skid is imminent prevents the vehicle from undergoing an uncontrolled skid which could prevent the driver from stopping the vehicle within a safe distance (Col. 1, lines 19-39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to bring the vehicle disclosed by Bhat to a stand still when the slippery conditions are detected as disclosed by Jones to effectively stop the vehicle within a safe distance under adverse driving conditions.
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhat (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0297697) in view of Eskritt (US Patent Application Publication 2005/0225275).
Regarding claims 16-20, Bhat discloses the vehicle of claim 15 as discussed above but does not disclose the steering system comprises a steering wheel communicatively connected to a steering gear electric motor via a wire and therefore does not disclose the subject matter of claims 16-20.
Eskritt discloses a steering system comprising a steering wheel (2) communicatively connected to a steering gear electric motor (27) via a wire [0101-0105, as shown in Figure 7];
wherein the steering gear electric motor is drivingly coupled to a steering rack (5);
wherein a first end of the steering rack is drivingly coupled to a front left road wheel (FL) via a first steering tie rod (both tie rods labeled 6), a first steering knuckle pin (both knuckle pins labeled 8), and a steering knuckle (both steering knuckles labeled 7),
wherein a second end of the steering rack is drivingly coupled to a front right road wheel (FR) via a second steering tie rod, a second steering knuckle pin, and a steering knuckle [as shown in Figure 7];
wherein the steering system is operable to: receive one or more steering instructions for the vehicle via the steering wheel and transfer the received instructions to the steering gear electric motor [0101-0105].
Eskritt teaches that the steering system of Figure 7 shows the basic concepts of a vehicle with power steering [0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the basic and well-known vehicle components for a vehicle employing power steering disclosed by Eskritt to the vehicle disclosed by Bhat to predictably control the front road wheels.
Conclusion
should be directed to JOSHUA CAMPBELL whose telephone number is (571) 272-8215. The examiner
can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM.
Lindsay M. Low can be reached on (571) 272-1196. The fax phone number for the organization where
this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-
direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR
CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSHUA CAMPBELL/
Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LOGAN M KRAFT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747