Claims 1, 4, 7, 8, 11, 14, 15, 18, and 19 have been amended.
Claims 3, 10, and 17 have been canceled.
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11-16, and 18-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 8/31/2026 have been considered.
With respect to arguments regarding 112(b), the arguments are persuasive, and the 112(b) rejection is withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s amendments.
With respect to argument that the cited reference does not teach former claim 3 and amended claim 1, this argument is not persuasive. The suggested fix that is generated by the machine learning engine is a tool used to fix a bug and the generation of the suggested fix based on trained data is still a form of identifying a tool for fixing a given bug. The suggested fix is fed to a fix application system which is a bug fixing tool that executes the fix, See Nikitina, Col 16 lines 41-44 “the suggested fix is provided to a fix application system”, therefore identifying the suggested fix implicitly identifies the bug fixing tool.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8, 11, 15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nikitina (US 10042879 B1, hereinafter referred to as Nikitina) in view of Gilpin (US 10248807 B2, hereinafter referred to as Gilpin) in further view of Dunjic (US 20200382510 A1, hereinafter referred to as Dunjic).
Regarding claim 1, Nikitina discloses: A computer-implemented method comprising: sending a description and comments associated with a bug as input to a permissions Artificial Intelligence (AI) model (Nikitina: Col 16 lines 32-40 states, "machine learning engine 806 is trained with log information for prior anomalous executions of a particular type of operation (e.g. operation type X). In conjunction with the log information of the anomalous executions, the machine learning engine 806 is fed the corresponding fixes 802 of each of the anomalous executions. Once trained, the log information for a newly identified anomalous execution may be fed to machine learning engine 806, and machine learning engine 806 generates a suggested fix."); receiving one or more permissions to at least one of a system and data for use [in fixing the bug] from the permissions Al model (Nikitina: Col 9 lines 50-53 states, "the service can detect who made the call, do authentication authorization, and then inject that user who actually requested this activity in the service." Col 10 lines 19-26 states, "With respect to the User ID, this dynamically changes. It is the ID how the calling entity is authorized against this particular service that was called. If a user calls a first service, and the first service calls a second service, then for the first call the User ID would reflect the user authorized to use the first service, and then for the second call the User ID would reflect how the first service authorized to use the second service."), but fails to explicitly disclose: one or more permissions to at least one of a system and data for use in fixing the bug.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gilpin discloses: one or more permissions to at least one of a system and data for use in fixing the bug (Gilpin: Col 4 lines 1-8 states, "control service 105 receives one or more error reports from applications 120. Such error reports may be transmitted to control service 105 (e.g., by software monitoring tools on the physical and virtual computing systems of the computing environment 100), and permit control service 105 to modify (e.g., temporarily modify) the permissions allocated to the application associated with the error.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Nikitina and include the above limitation with the teaching of Gilpin in order to mitigate the difficulties that "may arise in adequately supporting" multiple "applications when errors or issues arise" (Gilpin: Col 1 lines 49-51).
This motivation applies to the remainder of the claim.
Nikitina further discloses: obtaining approval of the one or more permissions (Nikitina: Col 9 lines 50-53 states, "the service can detect who made the call, do authentication authorization, and then inject that user who actually requested this activity in the service." Col 10 lines 19-26 states, "With respect to the User ID, this dynamically changes. It is the ID how the calling entity is authorized against this particular service that was called. If a user calls a first service, and the first service calls a second service, then for the first call the User ID would reflect the user authorized to use the first service, and then for the second call the User ID would reflect how the first service authorized to use the second service."), but fails to explicitly disclose: creating an access token to associate the one or more permissions with the bug.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dunjic further discloses: creating an access token to associate the one or more permissions [with the bug] (Dunjic: Paragraph [0048] states, "a digital token generated by custodian system 130 and indicative of a particular access permission granted to third-party application engine 112 (e.g., an OAuth token, as described herein).").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Nikitina as modified by Gilpin and include the above limitation with the teaching of Dunjic in order to "dynamically manage consent, permissioning, and trust between computing systems that maintain confidential data and unrelated third-party applications within a computing environment" (Dunjic: Paragraph [0011]).
This motivation applies to the remainder of the claim.
Dunjic fails to explicitly disclose: associate the one or more permissions with the bug.
However, Gilpin further discloses: associate the one or more permissions with the bug (Gilpin: Col 4 lines 1-8 states, "control service 105 receives one or more error reports from applications 120. Such error reports may be transmitted to control service 105 (e.g., by software monitoring tools on the physical and virtual computing systems of the computing environment 100), and permit control service 105 to modify (e.g., temporarily modify) the permissions allocated to the application associated with the error.").
Nikitina further discloses: identifying a bug fixer using a bug fixer selector Al model, wherein the bug fixer comprises one of a bug fixing tool and a developer (Nikitina: Col 16 lines 32-40 states, "machine learning engine 806 is trained with log information for prior anomalous executions of a particular type of operation (e.g. operation type X). In conjunction with the log information of the anomalous executions, the machine learning engine 806 is fed the corresponding fixes 802 of each of the anomalous executions. Once trained, the log information for a newly identified anomalous execution may be fed to machine learning engine 806, and machine learning engine 806 generates a suggested fix."), but fails to explicitly disclose: assigning the one or more permissions of the access token to the bug fixer.
Gilpin further discloses: assigning the one or more permissions [of the access token] to the bug fixer (Gilpin: Col 6 lines 30-42 states, "After allocating the permissions, temporary member group 320 may access the required elements of the application (step (F)) to monitor the error, make changes to remedy the error, or take any other similar action against the error. Existing member group 310 may also utilize permission changes (step (F′). In some implementations, the permission changes that are identified for the application may be limited to a predefined period of time. This period of time, which may comprise an hour, a day, or some other period, may be determined based on the type of error identified, the type of application experiencing the error, the type of action required to remedy the error, and/or for other reasons."), but fails to explicitly disclose: permissions of the access token.
However, Dunjic further discloses: permissions of the access token (Dunjic: Paragraph [0048] states, "a digital token generated by custodian system 130 and indicative of a particular access permission granted to third-party application engine 112 (e.g., an OAuth token, as described herein).").
Nikitina further discloses: invoking the bug fixer to fix the bug (Nikitina: Col 16 lines 17-22 states, "To avoid erroneous fixes, the fix suggestion may simply be presented to a user, rather than applied automatically. After reviewing the fix suggestion and determining that it is correct, the user may simply select a control to cause the fix suggestion to be executed." Examiner's note: since the fix suggestion is presenting the options for fixing the bug, the fix suggestion is interpreted to be the "bug fixer."); receiving an indication that the bug has been fixed (Nikitina: Col 16 lines 44-47 states, "In situations where the suggested fix 808 is presented to a user, the user may accept the fix or make modifications to it prior to instructing fix application system 810 to execute the fix." ), but fails to explicitly disclose: and revoking the one or more permissions from the bug fixer.
However, Gilpin further discloses: and revoking the one or more permissions from the bug fixer (Gilpin: Col 6 lines 30-42 states, "After allocating the permissions, temporary member group 320 may access the required elements of the application (step (F)) to monitor the error, make changes to remedy the error, or take any other similar action against the error. Existing member group 310 may also utilize permission changes (step (F′). In some implementations, the permission changes that are identified for the application may be limited to a predefined period of time. This period of time, which may comprise an hour, a day, or some other period, may be determined based on the type of error identified, the type of application experiencing the error, the type of action required to remedy the error, and/or for other reasons.").
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Nikitina as modified by Gilpin and Dunjic discloses: The computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Gilpin further discloses: wherein the operations further comprise: determining that an additional permission is to be obtained (Gilpin: Col 5 lines 30-39 states, "Once the time period expires, the permissions that had been allocated relative to the application may revert to the pre-existing or permanent permissions, or control service 105 may evaluate whether the error is still present on the application. If the error is still present on the application (204), control service 105 can reevaluate the previously allocated and implemented permission changes (205) and may delegate new permissions to members of the computing environment (203) to develop a solution to or otherwise address the error."); obtaining the additional permission (Gilpin: Col 5 lines 30-39 states, "Once the time period expires, the permissions that had been allocated relative to the application may revert to the pre-existing or permanent permissions, or control service 105 may evaluate whether the error is still present on the application. If the error is still present on the application (204), control service 105 can reevaluate the previously allocated and implemented permission changes (205) and may delegate new permissions to members of the computing environment (203) to develop a solution to or otherwise address the error.").
The same motivation to modify with Gilpin, as in claim 1, applies.
This motivation applies to the remainder of the claim.
Gilpin fails to explicitly disclose: associating the additional permission with the access token.
However, Dunjic further discloses: associating the [additional] permission with the access token (Dunjic: Paragraph [0048] states, "a digital token generated by custodian system 130 and indicative of a particular access permission granted to third-party application engine 112 (e.g., an OAuth token, as described herein).").
The same motivation to modify with Dunjic, as in claim 1, applies.
This motivation applies to the remainder of the claim.
Gilpin further discloses: additional permission; and assigning the additional permission [associated with the access token] to the bug fixer (Col 5 lines 30-39 states, "Once the time period expires, the permissions that had been allocated relative to the application may revert to the pre-existing or permanent permissions, or control service 105 may evaluate whether the error is still present on the application. If the error is still present on the application (204), control service 105 can reevaluate the previously allocated and implemented permission changes (205) and may delegate new permissions to members of the computing environment (203) to develop a solution to or otherwise address the error."), but fails to explicitly disclose: permission associated with the access token.
However, Dunjic further discloses: permission associated with the access token (Dunjic: Paragraph [0048] states, "a digital token generated by custodian system 130 and indicative of a particular access permission granted to third-party application engine 112 (e.g., an OAuth token, as described herein).").
Claim 8 recites features similar to those recited in claim 1, therefore those similar features are rejected in a similar manner.
Nikitina further discloses: one or more computer-readable storage media (Nikitina: Col 19 lines 61-64 states, " Computer system 400 also includes a main memory 406, such as a random access memory (RAM) or other dynamic storage device, coupled to bus 402 for storing information and instructions to be executed by processor 404."); and program instructions stored on the one or more computer-readable storage media executable by a processor to perform one or more operations (Nikitina: Col 19 lines 61-64 states, " Computer system 400 also includes a main memory 406, such as a random access memory (RAM) or other dynamic storage device, coupled to bus 402 for storing information and instructions to be executed by processor 404.").
Claim 11 recites features similar to those recited in claim 4, therefore it is rejected in a similar manner.
Claim 15 recites features similar to those recited in claim 1, therefore those similar features are rejected in a similar manner.
Nikitina further discloses: a processor set (Nikitina: Col 19 lines 37-45 states, "The special-purpose computing devices may be hard-wired to perform the techniques, or may include digital electronic devices such as one or more application-specific integrated circuits (ASICs) or field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs) that are persistently programmed to perform the techniques, or may include one or more general purpose hardware processors programmed to perform the techniques pursuant to program instructions in firmware, memory, other storage, or a combination."); one or more computer-readable storage media (Nikitina: Col 19 lines 61-64 states, "Computer system 400 also includes a main memory 406, such as a random access memory (RAM) or other dynamic storage device, coupled to bus 402 for storing information and instructions to be executed by processor 404."); and program instructions stored on the one or more computer-readable storage media executable by the processor set to perform one or more operations (Nikitina: Col 19 lines 61-64 states, "Computer system 400 also includes a main memory 406, such as a random access memory (RAM) or other dynamic storage device, coupled to bus 402 for storing information and instructions to be executed by processor 404.").
Claim 18 recites features similar to those recited in claim 4, therefore it is rejected in a similar manner.
Claim(s) 2, 9, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nikitina (US 10042879 B1, hereinafter referred to as Nikitina) in view of Gilpin (US 10248807 B2, hereinafter referred to as Gilpin) in further view of Dunjic (US 20200382510 A1, hereinafter referred to as Dunjic) in further view of Barnes (US 20260004001 A1, hereinafter referred to as Barnes).
Regarding claim 2, The combination of Nikitina as modified by Gilpin and Dunjic discloses: The computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Gilpin further discloses: wherein the operations further comprise: identifying one or more approvers to approve the one or more permissions [using an approval Al model] (Gilpin: Col 4 lines 1-8 states, "control service 105 receives one or more error reports from applications 120. Such error reports may be transmitted to control service 105 (e.g., by software monitoring tools on the physical and virtual computing systems of the computing environment 100), and permit control service 105 to modify (e.g., temporarily modify) the permissions allocated to the application associated with the error.").
The same motivation to modify with Gilpin, as in claim 1, applies.
Gilpin fails to explicitly disclose: approve the one or more permissions using an approval Al model.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Barnes further discloses: approve the one or more permissions using an approval Al model (Barnes: Paragraph [0064] states, "Using the previous transfer data, a machine learning model may predict whether a transfer may be approved without requiring direct input from authorizer 120. Then future decisions regarding transfer or permission changes may be performed automatically by entitlements engine 210 or application 412 using the machine learning model.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Nikitina as modified by Gilpin and Dunjic and include the above limitation with the teaching of Barnes in order to integrate and simplify "access and control of the various accounts based on permission levels associated with each user's access to the platform or each account" (Barnes: Paragraph [0004]).
Claims 9 and 16 recites features similar to those recited in claim 2, therefore it is rejected in a similar manner.
Claim(s) 5, 6, 12, 13, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nikitina (US 10042879 B1, hereinafter referred to as Nikitina) in view of Gilpin (US 10248807 B2, hereinafter referred to as Gilpin) in further view of Dunjic (US 20200382510 A1, hereinafter referred to as Dunjic) in further view of Aloraini (US 20240427900 A1, hereinafter referred to as Aloraini).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Nikitina as modified by Gilpin and Dunjic discloses: The computer-implemented method of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the operations further comprise: defining keywords or phrases for each of the one or more permissions based on data from a period of time; and training the permissions Al model using the keywords or phrases for each of the one or more permissions.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Aloraini discloses: wherein the operations further comprise: defining keywords or phrases for each of the one or more permissions based on data from a period of time (Aloraini: Paragraph [0084] states, "keyword evaluator 204 comprises classifier 502. Classifier 502 is configured to classify (e.g., tag) one or more tokens of code changeset 106 into any number of privacy token categories, such as privacy-related keywords relating to individuals and/or entities (e.g., tenant or tenant ID, organization, user or user ID, profile, etc.), private data keywords (e.g., email, chat, etc.), privacy-related code structures and/or access control list (ACL) keywords (e.g., permission, security policy, authentication, authorization, caching, indexing, conditional statements, complex Boolean logic, tokens, singleton, access of a database such as an SQL database, etc.), and/or human behavior related keywords (e.g., descriptive text within the code changeset, such as commit messages and/or comments by the developer)…classifier 502 is trained using information observed from previous privacy incidents, such as tokens contained in pull requests (e.g., bug introducing pull requests) that resulted in past privacy incidents."); and training the permissions Al model using the keywords or phrases for each of the one or more permissions (Aloraini: Paragraph [0084] states, "classifier 502 is trained using information observed from previous privacy incidents, such as tokens contained in pull requests (e.g., bug introducing pull requests) that resulted in past privacy incidents. Examples of such models include, but are not limited to, Word2Vec, designed by Google LLC, BERT (Bidirectional Encoder Representations from Transformers), TF-IDF (Term Frequency Inverse Document Frequency), and other suitable models.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Nikitina as modified by Gilpin and Dunjic and include the above limitation with the teaching of Aloraini in order to prevent "one entity to accidentally or deliberately access another entity's private data due to the presence of a software bug" (Aloraini: Paragraph [0001]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Nikitina as modified by Gilpin, Dunjic, and Aloraini discloses: The computer-implemented method of claim 5.
Gilpin further discloses: wherein the operations further comprise: determining that new permissions have been added (Gilpin: Col 5 lines 30-39 states, "Once the time period expires, the permissions that had been allocated relative to the application may revert to the pre-existing or permanent permissions, or control service 105 may evaluate whether the error is still present on the application. If the error is still present on the application (204), control service 105 can reevaluate the previously allocated and implemented permission changes (205) and may delegate new permissions to members of the computing environment (203) to develop a solution to or otherwise address the error.").
The same motivation to modify with Gilpin, as in claim 1, applies.
Gilpin fails to explicitly disclose: and re-training the permissions Al model using keywords or phrases for the new permissions.
However, Aloraini further discloses: and re-training the permissions Al model using keywords or phrases for the new permissions (Aloraini: Paragraph [0066] states, "the predictors are improved over time based on an analysis of new or future privacy incidents (e.g., incidents occurring after the predictors are initially generated and/or selected), such as by ingesting information associated with privacy incidents that capture new or different trends or behaviors with respect to coding errors." Paragraph [0084] states, "keyword evaluator 204 comprises classifier 502. Classifier 502 is configured to classify (e.g., tag) one or more tokens of code changeset 106 into any number of privacy token categories, such as privacy-related keywords relating to individuals and/or entities (e.g., tenant or tenant ID, organization, user or user ID, profile, etc.), private data keywords (e.g., email, chat, etc.), privacy-related code structures and/or access control list (ACL) keywords (e.g., permission, security policy, authentication, authorization, caching, indexing, conditional statements, complex Boolean logic, tokens, singleton, access of a database such as an SQL database, etc.), and/or human behavior related keywords (e.g., descriptive text within the code changeset, such as commit messages and/or comments by the developer)…classifier 502 is trained using information observed from previous privacy incidents, such as tokens contained in pull requests (e.g., bug introducing pull requests) that resulted in past privacy incidents.").
The same motivation to modify with Aloraini, as in claim 5, applies.
Claims 12 and 19 recite features similar to those recited in claim 5, therefore it is rejected in a similar manner.
Claims 13 and 20 recite features similar to those recited in claim 6, therefore it is rejected in a similar manner.
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nikitina (US 10042879 B1, hereinafter referred to as Nikitina) in view of Gilpin (US 10248807 B2, hereinafter referred to as Gilpin) in further view of Dunjic (US 20200382510 A1, hereinafter referred to as Dunjic) in further view of Shelton (WO 2016192765 A1, hereinafter referred to as Shelton).
Regarding claim 7, The combination of Nikitina as modified by Gilpin and Dunjic discloses: The computer-implemented method of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the operations further comprise: creating one or more tickets corresponding to the one or more permissions, where each of the one or more tickets applies for access to one of a system and data for the corresponding permission of the one or more permissions.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shelton discloses: wherein the operations further comprise: creating one or more tickets corresponding to the one or more permissions, where each of the one or more tickets applies for access to one of a system and data for the corresponding permission of the one or more permissions (Shelton: Paragraph [0022] states, "The ticket can include information about the particular problem, the status of the problem, and other relevant data. The ticket engine 220 can maintain information associated with the ticket 1 18. In some examples, the permissions are included in the ticket 1 18.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Nikitina as modified by Gilpin and Dunjic and include the above limitation with the teaching of Shelton in order to prevent attacks that lead to "loss of data, loss of availability of access to nodes in an environment, etc" (Shelton: Paragraph [0008]).
Claim 14 recites features similar to those recited in claim 7, therefore it is rejected in a similar manner.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHREYAJ RAM BHANDARI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2434
/NOURA ZOUBAIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434