DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) submitted by applicant on 01/05/2026, 06/04/2025, and 03/18/2025 has/have been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Form PTO-1449 signed and attached hereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable medium (also called machine readable medium and other such variations) typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media, particularly when the specification is silent. See MPEP 2111.01 When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers a signal perse, the claim must be rejected under U.S.C. 101 as covering non- statutory subject matter. See n re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 1356-56 (Fed Cir. 2007)(transitory embodiments are not directed to statutory subject matter)
The USPTO suggests the following approach to overcome this 101 rejection. A claim drawn to such a computer readable medium that covers both transitory and non- transitory may be amended to marrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 by adding the limitation "non-transitory" to the claim. Likewise, claims 11-14 are dependent claims that depend on claim 1, fails to resolve the above problems, therefore, claims 11-14 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Any amendment to the claim should be commensurate with its corresponding disclosure.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 15-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US Patent No. 12,289,411. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is substantially similar in nature and anticipated by US Patent No. 12,289,411. See the table below:
Instant Application
US Patent No. 12,289,411.
15. A processing computer comprising: a processor; and
a computer readable medium comprising code, executable by the processor, to perform operations comprising:
receiving, from a provisioning software development kit (SDK), an encrypted credential and a storage application identifier,
wherein the processing computer decrypts the encrypted credential using a first application cryptographic key to obtain the credential, identifies a second application cryptographic key using the storage application identifier, and encrypts the credential with the second application cryptographic key, wherein the second application cryptographic key is one of a second application key pair; and
transmitting, to the provisioning SDK, the credential encrypted by the second application cryptographic key, wherein the provisioning SDK provides the credential encrypted with the second application cryptographic key to a second application, and the second application provides the credential encrypted with the second application cryptographic key to a storage application server, wherein the storage application server decrypts the credential encrypted with another second application cryptographic key of the second application key pair, and then (i) stores the credential or a token associated with the credential and/or (ii) transmits the credential or the token associated with the credential to the second application.
16. The processing computer of claim 15, wherein the first application cryptographic key is a symmetric key.
17. The processing computer of claim 15, wherein the first application cryptographic key is stored at the processing computer and a corresponding first application cryptographic key is stored an authorizing entity computer that issued the credential.
18. The processing computer of claim 15, wherein the processing computer comprises a token processing module.
19. The processing computer of claim 15, wherein the second application cryptographic key is a symmetric key, the second application cryptographic key being different from the first application cryptographic key.
20. The processing computer of claim 15, wherein the encrypted credential is an encrypted account number.
1.A method performed by a mobile device comprising a processor, and memory coupled to the processor, the memory storing a provisioning software development kit (SDK), a first application, and a second application, the method comprising:
receiving, by the provisioning SDK from the first application on the mobile device an encrypted credential and a storage application identifier;
transmitting, by the provisioning SDK, the encrypted credential and the storage application identifier to a processing computer, wherein the processing computer decrypts the encrypted credential using a first application cryptographic key to obtain the credential, identifies a second application cryptographic key using the storage application identifier, and encrypts the credential with the second application cryptographic key, wherein the second application cryptographic key is one of a second application key pair; receiving, by the provisioning SDK, the credential encrypted by the second application cryptographic key; providing, by the provisioning SDK, the credential encrypted with the second application cryptographic key to the second application; and providing, by the second application to a storage application server, the credential encrypted with the second application cryptographic key, wherein the storage application server decrypts the credential encrypted with another second application cryptographic key of the second application key pair, and then (i) stores the credential or a token associated with the credential and/or transmits the credential or the token associated with the credential to the second application.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the first application is an authorizing entity application and the second application is a storage application.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the second application comprises a storage application and a storage application SDK.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the second application comprises a storage application SDK.
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the second application on the mobile device, the credential or the token from the storage application server; and storing the credential or the token on the mobile device in association with the second application.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the token is received from the storage application server and is stored on the mobile device.
7. The method of claim 5, wherein the token is a reference identifier for a substitute for the credential, or is the substitute for the credential.
8. The method of claim 5, further comprising: providing, by the mobile device, the token or the credential to an access device to obtain access to a location.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the storage application server transmits the credential to the processing computer, and receives the token in exchange for the credential.
10. The method of claim 1, wherein the second application comprises a storage application and a storage application SDK, and wherein the mobile device comprises a plurality of different storage application SDKs and associated storage applications, and wherein prior to receiving the encrypted credential and the storage application identifier, receiving by the provisioning SDK from the first application, a request to identify supported storage applications, the request comprising the encrypted credential; decrypting the encrypted credential using another first application cryptographic key; verifying, by the provisioning SDK with the plurality of different storage application SDKs if the credential is compatible with each of the plurality of different storage application SDKs; and providing by the provisioning SDK a list of supported storage applications to the first application.
11. The method of claim 10, wherein the first application is an authorizing entity application.
12. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the second application on the mobile device, the token from the storage application server; and storing the credential or the token on the mobile device in association with the second application.
13. The method of claim 12, further comprising: providing, by the second application to the provisioning SDK, the token; and providing, by the provisioning SDK to the processing computer, the token, wherein the processing computer stores the token along with the credential.
14. The method of claim 1, wherein the first application cryptographic key is a symmetric key and the second application cryptographic key is also a symmetric key.
This is a nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osborn et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210201324 ) (hereinafter Osborn) in view of Desai et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20190197537) (hereinafter Desai).
As per claim 1, Osborn discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by an authorizing entity computer from an authorizing entity application on a mobile device, a request for encrypted user device details, the request including a user device identifier for a selected user device and a signed nonce, which is a nonce signed by a processing computer (para 41, The contactless card 101 may then transmit the encrypted data (e.g., the encrypted customer ID 109) to the account application 113 of the mobile device 110 (e.g., via an NFC connection, Bluetooth connection, etc.). The account application 113 of the mobile device 110 may then transmit the encrypted data to the server 120 via the network 130; para 43, a random nonce, generated);
verifying, by the authorizing entity computer, the signed nonce (para 45, authorization response cryptogram (ARPC). Generally, upon receipt of the message indicating the user is verified and/or authenticated based on verification);
retrieving, by the authorizing entity computer, user device information associated with the user device identifier (para 42, allows the management application 123 to verify the data transmitted by the contactless card 101 via the mobile device);
encrypting, by the authorizing entity computer, the user device information (para 41, contactless card encrypts data and encrypted customer id); and
transmitting, by the authorizing entity computer to the authorizing entity application on the mobile device, the encrypted user device information (para 41, transmit the encrypted data to the server 120 via the network).
Osborn does not explicitly disclose signed nonce. However, Desai discloses signed nonce (para 45, he SDK works to exchange the authentication code for a device token. Accordingly, in step 322, the SDK submits a requests for the secure element to generate a signature for a verifier (i.e., a nonce and a timestamp). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention of identification and verification for provisioning mobile applications taught in Osborn and Desai to include a means to utilize a signed nonce for transaction/processing. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification because the use of personal devices (i.e. mobile phones) to make online purchases has increasingly more common there is a need to improve the user experience.
The Examiner notes that this motivation applies to all dependent and/or otherwise subsequently addressed claims.
As per claim 2, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivations as claim 1, above. In addition, Osborn discloses wherein after transmitting, the authorizing entity application on the mobile device transmits the encrypted user device information to the processing computer, which decrypts the encrypted user device information and provides the decrypted user device information to a provisioning Accordingly, in step 322, the SDK submits a requests for the secure element to generate a signature for a verifier).
As per claim 3, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivations as claim 1, above. In addition, Osborn discloses wherein the decrypted user device information is used by the provisioning on the mobile device (para 41-42, comparing the decrypted customer ID , account-linked identifier data). Desai discloses SDK to provide a token to a storage application SDK on the mobile device (software development kit) (software development kit) (para 45, the SDK works to exchange the authentication code for a device token. Accordingly, in step 322, the SDK submits a requests for the secure element to generate a signature for a verifier).
As per claim 4, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivations as claim 1, above. In addition, Osborn discloses comprising: signing, by the authorizing entity computer, the encrypted user device information, wherein the encrypted user device information is signed encrypted user device information (para 41, mac generation over encrypted data, MAC cryptogram).
As per claim 5, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivations as claim 1, above. In addition, Osborn discloses wherein the user device information is encrypted using a secret that is shared between the authorizing entity computer and the processing computer (para 41-44, shared cryptographic keys, encryption uses secret shared between authorizing entity computer and processing computer).
As per claim 6, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivations as claim 1, above. In addition, Osborn discloses wherein the mobile device is a mobile phone (fig 2, para 41).
As per claim 7, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivations as claim 1, above. In addition, Desai discloses wherein the user device information comprises a primary account number and a verification value (para 41-42, verify the data transmitted by the contactless card 101 via the mobile device 110, e.g., by comparing the decrypted customer ID 107 to a customer ID in the account data 124a for the account. And counter value).
As per claim 8, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivations as claim 1, above. In addition, Desai discloses wherein the signed nonce is verified with a public key of a public-private key pair, and a private key of the public-private key pair was used by the processing computer to sign the nonce (para 45, “ the SDK submits a requests for the secure element to generate a signature for a verifier (i.e., a nonce and a timestamp). The signature is returned from the secure element to the SDK in step 324. In step 326, the SDK sends the authentication code, the signature and the verifier to the third-party payment service server for validation. The third-party payment service server performs the validation in step 328 using the public key that was passed to the server during the consent step. Furthermore, the third-party payment service server associates a device token with the public key and the user account” ).
As per claim 9, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivations as claim 1, above. In addition, Desai discloses wherein the user device identifier corresponds to a user device that was selected by a user of the mobile device.
As per claim 10, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivations as claim 1, above.
As per claim 11, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivations as claim 4, above.
As per claim 12, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivations as claim 5, above.
As per claim 13, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivations as claim 7, above.
As per claim 14, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivations as claim 8, above.
Conclusion
Please see the attached PTO-892 for the prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MOHAMMAD A SIDDIQI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493