DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-14, 16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al (US 2023/0162670; hereinafter Bang), in view of Hou et al (US 2024/0054950; hereinafter Hou).
• Regarding claims 1, 18, and 20, Bang discloses a display device, and associated method and electronic device, performing a sensing operation (figure 1), comprising:
a display panel comprising a sub-pixel (element 110 in figure 1);
a temperature measurement part configured to measure a temperature of the sub-pixel (element 140 in figure 1 and ¶ 61);
a sensing part configured to sense the sub-pixel to generate sensing data (figures 3 and 4 and ¶s 51 and 52);
a driving controller configured to compensate for input image data based on the temperature of the sub-pixel and the sensing data to generate a data signal (element 120 in figure 1 and ¶s 53 and 57); and
a data driver configured to generate a data voltage based on the data signal to provide the data voltage to the display panel (element 120 in figure 1 and ¶s 53 and 57),
wherein the display panel comprises a first color sub-pixel, a second color sub-pixel, and a third color sub-pixel (¶ 50),
wherein the sensing part is configured to sense the first color sub-pixel to generate first sensing data during a first period, to sense the second color sub-pixel to generate second sensing data during a second period following the first period, and to sense the third color sub-pixel to generate third sensing data during a third period following the second period (¶ 51, in view of ¶ 67), and
wherein the temperature measurement part is configured to measure a temperature of the first color sub-pixel during the first period, to measure a temperature of the second color sub-pixel during the second period, and to measure a temperature of the third color sub-pixel during the third period (¶s 51 and 66-69).
However, Bang fails to disclose where the sensing is separate from/independent of the temperature measurement.
In the same field of endeavor, Hou discloses where:
a sensing part configured to sense the first color sub-pixel to generate first sensing data during a first period, to sense the second color sub-pixel to generate second sensing data during a second period following the first period, and to sense the third color sub-pixel to generate third sensing data during a third period following the second period (figure 3 and ¶s 164-196 ;specifically ¶ 172), and
a [separate/independent] temperature measurement part configured to measure a temperature of the first color sub-pixel during the first period, to measure a temperature of the second color sub-pixel during the second period, and to measure a temperature of the third color sub-pixel during the third period (figure 2 and ¶s 116-163).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the invention of Bang according to the teachings of Hou, for the purpose of achieving a precise display (¶s 3, 86-90, and 172-174).
• Regarding claims 6-14 and 16, Bang, in view of Hou, discloses everything claimed, as applied to claim 1. Additionally, Bang discloses where:
Claim 8: the first temperature map, the second temperature map, and the third temperature map are generated in a unit of a sub-pixel row (¶ 67).
Claim 12: the first color sub-pixel is a red sub-pixel, the second color sub-pixel is a green sub-pixel, and the third color sub-pixel is a blue sub-pixel (at least suggested by ¶s 67 and 69).
Claim 13: the first color sub-pixel is a green sub-pixel, the second color sub-pixel is a red sub-pixel, and the third color sub-pixel is a blue sub-pixel (at least suggested by ¶s 67 and 69).
Claim 14: the first color sub-pixel is a blue sub-pixel, the second color sub-pixel is a red sub-pixel, and the third color sub-pixel is a green sub-pixel (at least suggested by ¶s 67 and 69).
Claim 16: the temperature measurement part is configured to measure the temperature of the sub-pixel based on a driving current according to a gate-source voltage of a driving transistor comprised in the sub-pixel (¶ 51).
However, Bang fails to disclose the additional details of the display device.
In the same field of endeavor, Hou discloses where:
Claim 6: the driving controller is configured to calculate a first temperature map based on the temperature of the first color sub-pixel, to calculate a second temperature map based on the temperature of the second color sub-pixel, and to calculate a third temperature map based on the temperature of the third color sub-pixel (¶s 121 and 126).
Claim 7: the first temperature map, the second temperature map, and the third temperature map are generated in a unit of the sub pixel (¶ 126).
Claim 9: the driving controller is configured to generate a first temperature compensation value based on the first temperature map and a first lookup table, to generate a second temperature compensation value based on the second temperature map and a second lookup table, and to generate a third temperature compensation value based on the third temperature map and a third lookup table (¶ 126).
Claim 10: the driving controller is configured to generate a first sensing compensation value based on the first sensing data, a second sensing compensation value based on the second sensing data, and a third sensing compensation value based on the third sensing data (¶ 172).
Claim 11: the driving controller is configured to add the first temperature compensation value and the first sensing compensation value to generate a compensation value of the first color sub-pixel, to add the second temperature compensation value and the second sensing compensation value to generate a compensation value of the second color sub-pixel, and to add the third temperature compensation value and the third sensing compensation value to generate a compensation value of the third color sub-pixel (¶ 172).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the invention of Bang according to the teachings of Hou, for the purpose of achieving a precise display (¶s 3, 86-90, and 172-174).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang, in view of Hou, and further in view of Moriya et al (US 2022/0215802; hereinafter Moriya).
• Regarding claim 15, Bang, in view of Hou, discloses everything claimed, as applied to claim 1. However, Bang, in view of Hou, fails to disclose the additional details of the display device.
In the same field of endeavor, Moriya discloses where:
Claim 15: the temperature measurement part is configured to measure the temperature of the subpixel using a temperature sensor (element 12 in figures 1 and 4 and ¶s 68 and 80).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the invention of Bang, as modified by Hou, according to the teachings of Moriya, for the purpose of performing accurate external compensation in consideration of a temperature distribution in a display panel while preventing the configuration from being complicated (¶ 11).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang, in view of Hou, and further in view of Lee et al (US 2020/0357338; hereinafter Lee).
• Regarding claim 17, Bang, in view of Hou, discloses everything claimed, as applied to claim 1. However, Bang, in view of Hou, fails to disclose the additional details of the display device.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses where:
Claim 17: the sensing part is comprised in the data driver (elements 100, 110, and 120 in figure 1 and ¶s 35-46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the invention of Bang, as modified by Hou, according to the teachings of LEe, for the purpose of compensating for output deviation(s) between a plurality of sample-and-hold circuits for sampling sensing signals received from a display panel (¶ 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in claims 2 and 19, where “the driving controller is configured to compensate for the input image data based on the temperature of the sub-pixel and the sensing data in response to the sensing operation taking longer than a reference period of time”, in combination with all the limitations in claims 1 and 18, respectively. Claims 3-5 are objected to based on their dependence from claim 2.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. Siotis (US 2013/0249932) discloses a display device in which the interval between updates of a temperature chart may be dynamically adjusted based on a workload of electronic components in a display device (see at least ¶s 74-78), but do not disclose the aforementioned limitations.
Closing Remarks/Comments
/NATHAN DANIELSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622