DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the heat dissipation portion of the second heat pipe extending the longitudinal length” on last three lines of claim 16 should read -- the heat dissipation portion of the second heat pipe extending along the longitudinal length--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5, 6 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “elastic” in claims 5, 6 and 10-12 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “elastic” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
For examining purposes, “elastic structure” in claim 5, 6 and 10-12 are construed as –structure--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lunsman (US Patent No. 10,750,639).
Regarding claim 1, Lunsman discloses a cooling device (Fig. 2) comprising:
a heat sink (gap pad 216) including:
a longitudinal length (a length of the gap pad 216 in z direction in Fig. 2 or x direction in Fig. 4) having a left end (see annotated figure below), a right end (see annotated figure below), and a first planar orientation (a first orientation parallel to x-z plane of both Fig. 2 and Fig. 4 and also parallel to planar surfaces of PCBs 104-1 and 104-N);
a transverse height (a height of the gap pad 216 in z direction or y direction in both Fig. 2 and Fig. 4) having a top (see annotated figure below), a bottom (see annotated figure below), and a second planar orientation (a second orientation parallel to y-z plane of Fig. 2 or x-y plane of Fig. 4, and the second plane also parallel to long sides of heat pipes 102 and 103) orthogonal to the first planar orientation (the first plane is perpendicular to the second plane); and
an inner side (inner side of the gap pad 216 that contacts DIMM 214) and an outer side (outer side of the gap pad 216 that contacts heat pipes 102 and 103), the outer side including at least one channel having the second planar orientation (a recess of the gap pad 216 on the outer side that receives the heat pipe 102, Fig. 2); and
a first heat pipe (102) including:
a first heat pipe portion (a portion of the heat pipe 102 contacting the gap pad 216) having a left end (see the location of “left end” in the annotated figure below indicating the left end of the portion), a right end (see the location of “right end” in the annotated figure below indicating the right end of the portion), and the second planar orientation (the long side of the heat pipe 102 has the second orientation), the first heat pipe portion seated into the at least one channel (the portion is seated within the recess of the gap pad 216 for the heat pipe 102);
a heat pipe transition portion (annotated figure below) coupled to the left end of the first heat pipe portion (coupled to the portion), the transition portion including a first end having the second planar orientation (an end of the transition portion joining the portion contacting the gap pad 216, see annotated figure below, the end has a face parallel to the second orientation) and a second end having the first planar orientation (an opposite end of the transition portion, see annotated figure below, the opposite end has upper end and lower end parallel to the second orientation); and
a heat dissipation portion (a portion of the heat pipe 102 contacting a cold plate 216) coupled to the second end of the heat pipe transition portion (the portion contacting a cold plate 106 coupled to the opposite end).
Regarding claim 2, Lunsman in claim 1 further discloses a first heat sink block (cold plate 106) coupled to the left end of the heat sink (the cold plate 106 coupled to left end of the gap pad 216 via the heat pipe 102), the first heat sink block having a top side and a bottom side (top and bottom sides of the cold plate 106 shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Lunsman in claim 2 further discloses a structure (spring features of metal spring jacket that may be used in place of the gap pads 216, col. 9, lines 56-60) coupled to the top side of the first heat sink block (the spring features are inherently coupled the top side since they are part of the metal spring jacket).
Regarding claim 6, Lunsman in claim 5 further discloses wherein the structure is at least one of a clip or a spring (the spring features).
Regarding claim 16, Lunsman in claim 1 further discloses further discloses a second heat pipe (heat pipe 103), the second heat pipe including:
a first heat pipe portion (a portion of the heat pipe 103 contacting the gap pad 216) having a left end (see the location of “left end” in the annotated figure above indicating the left end of the portion), a right end (see the location of “right end” in the annotated figure above indicating the right end of the portion), and the second planar orientation (the long side of the heat pipe 103 has the second orientation), the first heat pipe portion seated into a second channel of the heat sink (the portion is seated within a recess of the gap pad 216 for the heat pipe 103);
a heat pipe transition portion (annotated figure below) coupled to the right end of the first heat pipe portion (coupled to the portion), the transition portion including a first end having the second planar orientation (an end of the transition portion joining the portion contacting the gap pad 216, see annotated figure above, the end has a face parallel to the second orientation) and a second end having the first planar orientation (an opposite end of the transition portion, see annotated figure above, the opposite end has upper end and lower end parallel to the first orientation); and
a heat dissipation portion (a portion of the heat pipe 103 contacting a cold plate 216-N) coupled to the second end of the heat pipe transition portion (the portion contacting the cold plate 106-N coupled to the opposite end), the heat dissipation portion of the second heat pipe extending along the longitudinal length opposite to the heat dissipation portion of the first heat pipe (the bottom side of the heat pipe 103 within the gap pad 216 extends along the longitudinal length opposite to the top side of the heat pipe 102 within the gap pad 216).
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fu (WO 2023/155895 A1, see equivalent document US PGPub No. 2024/0410658 for translation).
Regarding claim 17, Fu discloses a heat pipe (10, Figs. 1-3) comprising:
a longitudinal portion (evaporation section 11) including a rectangular cross section (see Fig. 3B), the longitudinal portion having a first length (a horizontal length between section 14 and first bent section 121 in Fig. 2) along a first plane orientation (along a first plane orientation parallel to planar horizontal surfaces of the evaporation section 11), the first length between a first end and a second end of the longitudinal portion (the horizontal length is within the evaporation section 11 and between a left end adjacent to the section 14 and a right end adjacent to the first bent section 121); and
a transition portion (a heat insulation section 12 including a first bent section 121, second bent section 122 and third bent section 123) including:
a first end coupled to the longitudinal portion (a first end of the first bent section 121 coupled to the evaporation section 11) having the first plane orientation (the first end has the horizontal first plane orientation); and
a second end (a second end of the third bent section 123 connecting a condensation section 13) having a second plane orientation orthogonal to the first plane orientation (the second end has a second plane orientation parallel to planar vertical surfaces of the rectangular cross section of the condensation section 13 in Fig. 3D, and the first orientation is perpendicular to the second orientation).
Regarding claim 18, Fu in claim 17 further discloses wherein the second end of the transition portion includes a heat dissipation portion having the second plane orientation (the second end has the condensation section 13 having the vertical second plane orientation).
Regarding claim 19, Fu in claim 18 further discloses wherein the heat dissipation portion includes a second length (a horizontal length between section 15 and second bent section 123) extending parallel to the first length of the first longitudinal portion (both lengths are horizontal).
Regarding claim 20, Fu in claim 19 further discloses wherein the second length includes at least one of a rectangular cross section or a circular cross section (a horizontal length includes a rectangular cross-section of the condensation section 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lunsman (US Patent No. 10,750,639) in view of Campbell (US PGPub No. 2011/0069454).
Regarding claim 3, Lunsman in claim 1 fails to disclose wherein the first heat sink block includes a block receiving groove on the bottom side.
Campbell (Figs. 9 and 10) discloses the first heat sink block (an assembly of liquid-cooled cold rail 900, cap 910 and screws 911) includes a block receiving groove (semicircular profiled recess 901 of the cold rail 900) on the bottom side (liquid cooled rail 900 is a bottom side of the assembly).
Therefore, the heat dissipation portion of the heat pipe 102 may be modified into a cylindrical shape of the heat pipe end 711; and the cold plate 106 may be modified into the assembly of liquid-cooled cold rail 900, cap 910 and screws 911 shown in Fig. 9A of Campbell. The modification provides a fixation and a thermal contact between the modified heat dissipation portion of the heat pipe 102 and the modified cold plate 106.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the first heat sink block includes a block receiving groove on the bottom side in Lunsman as taught by Campbell in order to provide a fixation and a thermal contact between the modified heat pipe 102 and the modified cold plate 106.
Regarding claim 4, Lunsman as modified in claim 3 further discloses wherein the bottom side of the first heat sink block thermally connects to the heat dissipation portion of the first heat pipe (the thermal connection between the heat pipe end 711 and recess 901 in modified Lunsman in view of Campbell).
Regarding claim 13, Lunsman in claim 1 further discloses wherein the heat dissipation portion of the first heat pipe includes a profile (a profile shown in Fig. 4) having a length extending beyond the longitudinal length of the heat sink (the heat dissipation portion is an extension of the heat pipe 102 beyond the gap pad 216).
Lunsman fails to disclose a cylindrical profile.
Campbell discloses a cylindrical heat pipe extension (711) connecting a semicircular profile recess 901 of a liquid cooled cold rail 900 (Figs. 9 and 10).
Therefore, the profile in the heat dissipation portion of the heat pipe 102 of Lunsman may be modified into circular profile as taught by Campbell. Also, the cold plate 106 may be also modified to include the semicircular profiled recess 901 to receive the circular heat pipe profile as modified.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a rectangular profile in Lunsman as taught by Campbell, since a change in form or shape (both the shape the heat pipe 102 and the shape of the cold plate 106 to receive the heat pipe) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Regarding claim 14, Lunsman as modified in claim 13 further discloses wherein the cylindrical profile thermally connects to a semi-circular profile of a cold plate (the modified semicircular shaped recess that receives and thermally connects the modified circular profile in the heat dissipation portion of the heat pipe 102).
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lunsman (US Patent No. 10,750,639) in view of Fu (WO 2023/155895 A1, see equivalent document US PGPub No. 2024/0410658 for translation).
Regarding claim 7, Lunsman in claim 1 further discloses wherein the first heat pipe portion includes a profile (oblong profile, Fig. 2) along the longitudinal length of the heat sink (the profile is provided along the length of the gap pad 216).
Lunsman fails to disclose an orthogonal profile.
Fu discloses a section 12 of heat pipe in Fig. 3c includes an orthogonal profile (a rectangular profile, which has two sides in right angle).
Therefore, the oblong profile of the heat pipe 102 along the longitudinal length of the gap pad 216 of Lunsman may be modified into rectangular profile as taught by Fu.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided an orthogonal profile in Lunsman as taught by Fu, since a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Regarding claim 8, Lunsman in claim 1 further discloses wherein the heat dissipation portion of the first heat pipe includes a profile (a profile shown in Fig. 4) having a length extending beyond the longitudinal length of the heat sink (the heat dissipation portion is an extension of the heat pipe 102 beyond the gap pad 216).
Lunsman fails to disclose a rectangular profile.
Fu discloses a section 11 of heat pipe in Fig. 3b includes a rectangular profile (a rectangular profile, which has two sides in right angle).
Therefore, the profile in the heat dissipation portion of the heat pipe 102 of Lunsman may be modified into rectangular profile as taught by Fu.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a rectangular profile in Lunsman as taught by Fu, since a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Regarding claim 9, Lunsman as modified in claim 8 further discloses wherein the heat dissipation portion of the first heat pipe thermally connects between the heat sink and a cold plate (the heat dissipation portion of the heat pipe 102 thermally connects a cold plate 106, see heat flow direction 309 in Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 10-12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lunsman (US Patent No. 10,750,639) in view of Fu (WO 2023/155895 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Brazel (US PGPub No. 2018/0059744).
Regarding claim 10, Lunsman in claim 9 fails to disclose:
a structure coupled to the heat dissipation portion; and a clamp,
the structure to provide a contact force between the clamp and the cold plate.
Brazel discloses a structure coupled to the heat dissipation portion (an elbow part of a clamp 404 at the location of “404” in Fig. 4); and a clamp (the whole clamp 404 in Fig. 4),
the structure to provide a contact force between the clamp and the cold plate (the elbow part provides a pressing force between the clamp 404 and a liquid cooling block 402).
Therefore, the clamp 404 having the structure set forth above may be provided to clamp the heat dissipation portion of the heat pipe 102 and the cold plate 106. The pressing force of the clamp allows fixing contact between the heat pipe 102 and the cold plate 106.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a structure coupled to the heat dissipation portion; and a clamp, the structure to provide a contact force between the clamp and the cold plate in Lunsman as taught by Brazel in order to ensure contact between the heat pipe 102 and the cold plate 106 to effectively conduct heat away from the heat pipe.
Regarding claim 11, Lunsman as modified in claim 10 further discloses wherein the structure is to provide the contact force when the clamp is in a closed position (the elbow part of the clamp 404 in Brazel provides the pressing force in the closed portion shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, Lunsman as modified in claim 10 further discloses wherein the structure is at least one of a clip or a spring (the elbow part is a portion of a clip).
Regarding claim 15, Lunsman in claim 1 fails to disclose a thermal interface material between the heat sink and a memory board.
Brazel (Fig. 4) further discloses a thermal interface material 410 between a heat pipe 408 and a liquid cooling block 402.
Therefore, the thermal interface material 410 may be provided between the gap pad 216 and DIMM 214 (memory board as claimed) in Lunsman. The thermal interface material is known to reduce thermal resistance by filling microscopic roughness or irregularities on heat exchanging surfaces.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a thermal interface material between the heat sink and a memory board in Lunsman as taught by Brazel in order to reduce thermal resistance between the heat exchanging surfaces.
Conclusion
/F.K.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763