DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/19/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2022-157994, filed on 09/30/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 10-13 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bailey III et al [US 6,341,574 A1].
In regards to claim 1. Bailey III discloses plasma processing apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising:
a plasma process chamber (Fig. 1, 106);
a substrate support (Fig. 1, 124) disposed within the plasma process chamber (Fig. 1, 106);
an antenna (Fig. 1, 102) disposed above the plasma process chamber (Fig. 1, 106);
a source RF signal generator (Fig. 1, 112) electrically connected to the antenna (Fig. 1, 102) and configured to generate a source RF signal (Column 6, in lines 52-67);
a bias signal generator (Fig. 1, 128) electrically connected to the substrate support (Fig. 1, 124) and configured to generate a bias signal (Column 7, in lines 4-25);
an upper electromagnet unit (Fig. 1, 104) disposed above the antenna (Fig. 1, 102) and including a plurality of upper annular electromagnets (Fig. 1, 104) arranged concentrically;
a controller (Fig. 1, 114 & Abstract) configured to adjust the current supplied to at least one of the plurality of upper annular electromagnets or the plurality of sidewall annular electromagnets (Fig. 1, 132) to control a plasma electron density distribution (Column 8, in lines 34-67) in the plasma process chamber (Fig. 1, 100).
Bailey III does not specify a sidewall electromagnet unit disposed to surround a sidewall of the plasma process chamber and including a plurality of sidewall annular electromagnets arranged along a vertical direction; an electromagnet excitation circuit configured to supply a current to at least one of the plurality of upper annular electromagnets or the plurality of sidewall annular electromagnets; and
Bailey III discloses a sidewall electromagnet unit (Fig. 6b, 132) disposed to surround a sidewall of the plasma process chamber and including a plurality of sidewall annular electromagnets (Fig. 6b, 132) arranged along a vertical direction (Column 15, in lines 1-45);
an electromagnet excitation circuit (Column 14, in lines 4-67 & Column 15, in lines 1-45) configured to supply (Column 15, in lines 19-67) a current to at least one of the plurality of upper annular electromagnets or the plurality of sidewall annular electromagnets (Fig. 6, 132);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to using teachings of Fig. 1 of Bailey III with Fig. 6 to discloses a sidewall electromagnet unit disposed to surround a sidewall of the plasma process chamber and including a plurality of sidewall annular electromagnets arranged along a vertical direction; an electromagnet excitation circuit configured to supply a current to at least one of the plurality of upper annular electromagnets or the plurality of sidewall annular electromagnets for purpose of uniform process may be achieved even if the chuck arrangement and a portion of or the entire substrate is positioned in one chamber and the substrate surface to be processed is exposed to the plasma ignited and sustained for processing in the other chamber as disclosed by Bailey III (Column 14, in 40-55)
In regards to claim 2. Bailey III discloses the plasma processing apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the plurality of upper annular electromagnets (Fig. 4a to e, 104a to 104b) includes: a first upper annular electromagnet (Fig. 4a to e, 104a to 104b); a second upper annular electromagnet (Fig. 4a to e, 104a to 104b) disposed to surround the first upper annular electromagnet (Fig. 4a to e, 104a to 104b); a third upper annular electromagnet (Fig. 4a to e, 104a to 104b) disposed to surround the second upper annular electromagnet (Fig. 4a to e, 104a to 104b); and a fourth upper annular electromagnet (Fig. 4a to e, 104a to 104b) disposed to surround the third upper annular electromagnet (Fig. 4a to e, 104a to 104b).
In regards to claim 3. Bailey III discloses the plasma processing apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the plurality of sidewall annular electromagnets includes: a first sidewall annular electromagnet; a second sidewall annular electromagnet disposed below the first sidewall annular electromagnet; and a third sidewall annular electromagnet disposed below the second sidewall annular electromagnet (Fig. 6b, & Column 14, in lines 4-67 & Column 15, in lines 1-45).
In regards to claim 7. Bailey III discloses the plasma processing apparatus of Claim 3, wherein the controller (Fig. 1, 114 & Abstract) is configured to adjust the current supplied to at least one of the plurality of upper annular electromagnets (Fig. 4a to e, 104a to 104b) or the plurality of sidewall annular electromagnets in a plasma ignition sequence (Fig. 1, 114).
In regards to claim 10. Bailey III discloses the plasma processing apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the controller (Fig. 1, 114 & Abstract) is configured to adjust the current supplied to at least one of the plurality of upper annular electromagnets (Fig. 4a to e, 104a to 104b) or the plurality of sidewall annular electromagnets in a plasma ignition sequence (Fig. 1, 114).
In regards to claim 11. Bailey III discloses a plasma processing apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising:
a plasma process chamber (Fig. 1, 106);
a substrate support (Fig. 1, 124) disposed within the plasma process chamber (Fig. 1, 106);
an antenna (Fig. 1, 102) disposed above the plasma process chamber (Fig. 1, 106);
a source RF signal generator (Fig. 1, 112) electrically connected to the antenna (Fig. 1, 102) and configured to generate a source RF signal (Column 6, in lines 52-67);
a bias signal generator (Fig. 1, 128) electrically connected to the substrate support (Fig. 1, 124) and configured to generate a bias signal (Column 7, in lines 4-25);
an upper electromagnet unit (Fig. 1, 104) disposed above the antenna (Fig. 1, 102) and including a plurality of upper annular electromagnets (Fig. 1, 104) arranged concentrically; and
Bailey III does not specify an electromagnet excitation circuit configured to supply a current to at least one of the plurality of upper annular electromagnets.
Bailey III discloses an electromagnet excitation circuit (Column 14, in lines 4-67 & Column 15, in lines 1-45) configured to supply a current (Column 15, in lines 19-67) to at least one of the plurality of upper annular electromagnets (Fig. 6b, 104a-b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to using teachings of Fig. 1 of Bailey III with Fig. 6 to discloses an electromagnet excitation circuit configured to supply a current to at least one of the plurality of upper annular electromagnets for purpose of uniform process may be achieved even if the chuck arrangement and a portion of or the entire substrate is positioned in one chamber and the substrate surface to be processed is exposed to the plasma ignited and sustained for processing in the other chamber as disclosed by Bailey III (Column 14, in 40-55)
In regards to claim 12. Bailey III discloses the plasma processing apparatus of Claim 11, wherein the plurality of upper annular electromagnets (Fig. 6a to c, 104a to 104b) includes: a first upper annular electromagnet (Fig. 6a to c, 104a to 104b); and a second upper annular electromagnet (Fig. 6a to c, 104a to 104b) disposed to surround the first upper annular electromagnet (Fig. 6a to c, 104a to 104b).
In regards to claim 13. Bailey III discloses the plasma processing apparatus of Claim 12, wherein the plurality of upper annular electromagnets (Fig. 6a to c, 104a to 104b) further includes: a third upper annular electromagnet (Fig. 6a to c, 104a to 104b) disposed to surround the second upper annular electromagnet (Fig. 6a to c, 104a to 104b); and a fourth upper annular electromagnet (Fig. 6a to c, 104a to 104b) disposed to surround the third upper annular electromagnet (Fig. 6a to c, 104a to 104b).
In regards to claim 16. Bailey III discloses a plasma processing apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising:
a plasma process chamber (Fig. 1, 106);
a substrate support (Fig. 1, 124) disposed within the plasma process chamber (Fig. 1, 106);
an antenna (Fig. 1, 102) disposed above the plasma process chamber (Fig. 1, 106);
a source RF signal generator (Fig. 1, 112) electrically connected to the antenna (Fig. 1, 102) and configured to generate a source RF signal (Column 6, in lines 52-67);
a bias signal generator (Fig. 1, 128) electrically connected to the substrate support (Fig. 1, 124) and configured to generate a bias signal (Column 7, in lines 4-25);
Bailey III does not specify a sidewall electromagnet unit disposed to surround a sidewall of the plasma process chamber and including a plurality of sidewall annular electromagnets arranged along a vertical direction; and an electromagnet excitation circuit configured to supply a current to at least one of the plurality of sidewall annular electromagnets.
Bailey III discloses a sidewall electromagnet unit (Fig. 6b, 132) disposed to surround a sidewall of the plasma process chamber (Fig. 6b) and including a plurality of sidewall annular electromagnets (Fig. 6b, 132) arranged along a vertical direction; and an electromagnet excitation circuit (Column 14, in lines 4-67 & Column 15, in lines 1-45) configured to supply (Column 15, in lines 19-67) a current to at least one of the plurality of sidewall annular electromagnets (Fig. 6b, 132).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to using teachings of Fig. 1 of Bailey III with Fig. 6 to discloses a sidewall electromagnet unit disposed to surround a sidewall of the plasma process chamber and including a plurality of sidewall annular electromagnets arranged along a vertical direction; and an electromagnet excitation circuit configured to supply a current to at least one of the plurality of sidewall annular electromagnets for purpose of uniform process may be achieved even if the chuck arrangement and a portion of or the entire substrate is positioned in one chamber and the substrate surface to be processed is exposed to the plasma ignited and sustained for processing in the other chamber as disclosed by Bailey III (Column 14, in 40-55)
In regards to claim 17. Bailey III discloses the plasma processing apparatus of Claim 16, wherein the plurality of sidewall annular electromagnets (Fig. 6a to c, 132) includes: a first sidewall annular electromagnet (Fig. 6a to c, 132); and a second sidewall annular electromagnet (Fig. 6a to c, 132) disposed below the first sidewall annular electromagnet (Fig. 6a to c, 132).
In regards to claim 18. Bailey III discloses the plasma processing apparatus of Claim 17, wherein the plurality of sidewall annular electromagnets (Fig. 6a to c, 132) further includes: a third sidewall annular electromagnet (Fig. 6a to c, 132) disposed below the second sidewall annular electromagnet (Fig. 6a to c, 132).
Claims 5-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bailey III et al [US 6,341,574 A1] in view of Son et al [US 2023/0317428 A1]
In regards to claim 5. Bailey III discloses the plasma processing apparatus of Claim 3,
Bailey III does not specify a first power level in a first interval in each cycle and a second power level in a second interval in each cycle, the second power level being smaller the first power level, and wherein the current includes a first current level in the first interval in each cycle and a second current level in the second interval in each cycle, the second current level being smaller than the first current level.
Son discloses wherein the source RF signal includes a first power level in a first interval in each cycle and a second power level in a second interval in each cycle, the second power level being smaller the first power level, and wherein the current includes a first current level in the first interval in each cycle and a second current level in the second interval in each cycle, the second current level being smaller than the first current level (Son: Fig. 5a, T1 and T2 & Paragraph [0074-78]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to using teachings of Bailey III with Song to discloses or teach wherein the source RF signal includes a first power level in a first interval in each cycle and a second power level in a second interval in each cycle, the second power level being smaller the first power level, and wherein the current includes a first current level in the first interval in each cycle and a second current level in the second interval in each cycle, the second current level being smaller than the first current level for purpose of improve etching uniformity or deposition uniformity in an entire wafer region as disclosed by Son (Paragraph [0004]).
In regards to claim 6. Bailey III in view of Song discloses the plasma processing apparatus of Claim 5, wherein the first power level is a zero power level, and the first current level is a zero current level (Son: Fig. 5a, T1 and T2 & Paragraph [0074-78]).
In regards to claim 9. Bailey III discloses the plasma processing apparatus of Claim 1,
Bailey III does not specify a first power level in a first interval in each cycle and a second power level in a second interval in each cycle, the second power level being smaller the first power level, and wherein the current includes a first current level in the first interval in each cycle and a second current level in the second interval in each cycle, the second current level being smaller than the first current level.
Son discloses a first power level in a first interval in each cycle and a second power level in a second interval in each cycle, the second power level being smaller the first power level, and wherein the current includes a first current level in the first interval in each cycle and a second current level in the second interval in each cycle, the second current level being smaller than the first current level. (Son: Fig. 5a, T1 and T2 & Paragraph [0074-78]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to using teachings of Bailey III with Song to discloses or teach wherein the source RF signal includes a first power level in a first interval in each cycle and a second power level in a second interval in each cycle, the second power level being smaller the first power level, and wherein the current includes a first current level in the first interval in each cycle and a second current level in the second interval in each cycle, the second current level being smaller than the first current level for purpose of improve etching uniformity or deposition uniformity in an entire wafer region as disclosed by Son (Paragraph [0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8, 14-15 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
“ wherein the substrate support includes a plurality of heaters, andwherein the controller is further configured to:acquire a power value supplied to each of the plurality of heaters; andadjust the current supplied to at least one of the plurality of upper annular electromagnets or the plurality of sidewall annular electromagnets based on the acquired power value.” as shown in claim 4
“wherein the substrate support includes a plurality of heaters, and wherein the controller is further configured to: acquire a power value supplied to each of the plurality of heaters; and adjust the current supplied to at least one of the plurality of upper annular electromagnets or the plurality of sidewall annular electromagnets based on the acquired power value.” As shown in claim 8.
“ wherein the substrate support includes a plurality of heaters, the plasma processing apparatus further comprising: a controller configured to acquire a power value supplied to each of the plurality of heaters and adjust the current supplied to at least one of the plurality of upper annular electromagnets based on the acquired power value. “ as shown in claim 14.
“wherein the substrate support includes a plurality of heaters, the plasma processing apparatus further comprising: a controller configured to acquire a power value supplied to each of the plurality of heaters and adjust the current supplied to at least one of the plurality of upper annular electromagnets based on the acquired power value.” as shown in claim 15.
“ wherein the substrate support includes a plurality of heaters, the plasma processing apparatus further comprising: a controller configured to acquire a power value supplied to each of the plurality of heaters and adjust the current supplied to at least one of the plurality of sidewall annular electromagnets based on the acquired power value.” as shown in claim 19.
“ wherein the substrate support includes a plurality of heaters, the plasma processing apparatus further comprising: a controller configured to acquire a power value supplied to each of the plurality of heaters and adjust the current supplied to at least one of the plurality of sidewall annular electromagnets based on the acquired power value.” as shown in claim 20.
Conclusion
WEI (VICTOR) CHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844
/WEI (VICTOR) Y CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845