DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on March 19th, 2025, and March 15th, 2026, have been considered and the listed references were noted.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Paragraph [0026], “...design image 201 is larger the SEM image 200…" should read "...design image 201 is larger than the SEM image 200…"
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because it is improperly dependent on Claim 1 when it should be dependent on Claim 7, which contains the electron beam workpiece inspection tool. If the claim were dependent on Claim 1, then the claim would raise a 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue for lack of antecedent basis because there is no “workpiece inspection tool” present in Claim 1. For analyses of claims under 35 U.S.C. 103, the examiner has considered Claim 10 as being dependent on Claim 7 instead of Claim 1 for compact prosecution purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US 2024/0127425, w/ an EFD of June 10th, 2024) in view of Qiao et al. (DeepSEM-Net: Enhancing SEM defect analysis in semiconductor manufacturing with a dual-branch CNN-Transformer architecture).
Regarding Claim 1, Hwang discloses “A method comprising: receiving an image of a workpiece at a processor, wherein the image is a scanning electron beam image” (Hwang, Paragraph [0024], discloses “In some embodiments, the inspection device 20 may include a scanning electron microscope (SEM) for acquiring an image of the wafer 201. The inspection device 20 may acquire an image of a region (e.g., one die) in which the detected defect is positioned through an electron microscope”; It is important to note that the image acquired by using SEM (or an SEM image) is synonymous to the scanning electron beam image); (Hwang, Paragraph [0026], discloses “In some embodiments, the inspection device 20 may generate the inspection image SEM_IMG by imaging a region including the defects DEF in the wafer 201. The inspection device 20 may generate an inspection image SEM_IMG by imaging a region adjacent to the region including the defects DEF in the wafer 201.”). Hwang does not explicitly disclose “determining a binary segmented image from the image using a supervised deep learning image segmentation model, wherein the binary segmented image is rendered to be binary and is segmented to include only some features of the image; matching, using the processor, the binary segmented image to a region of a design image, wherein the design image is rendered from a design of structures on the workpiece”. However, in an analogous endeavor, Qiao discloses the following in pg. 5 (Section 4.1) and Figure 5 (see below):
As shown, the image segmentation model is semi-supervised and uses deep learning. This is shown through using a curated dataset with manual classification and segmentation labels to train initial models to in turn predict results for new, unlabeled raw SEM images that then generate predicted segmentation labels. Qiao further discloses the following in pg. 9 and Figure 12 (see below):
In Figure 12 and pg. 9, we clearly see that the binary segmentation image is seen in the form of binary segmentation masks, where the feature of the defect is seen in white, and everything other than the defect is in black. As seen in Figure 12, some features are included within the binary segmentation image (such as the pattern deform) to only focus on those key defects that can lead to failures or poor performance in the devices that utilize these wafers. Additionally, we can also see that the matching done between the binary segmentation image and the original input image, as the design of the structures around the wafer are clearly seen in the original input image while the binary segmentation image shows the defect clearly on the input image that may not be clearly seen due to a variety of factors related to how the image is preprocessed. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the image obtaining and defect detection methods seen in Hwang with the Qiao technique of determining a binary segmented image and matching the binary segmented image to the design image in order to achieve a complete image alignment method. By combining the Hwang methods with the Qiao techniques of determining and matching the binary segmented image, one of ordinary skill in the art can allow users to effectively pinpoint defects on the image that would have otherwise been difficult to locate and determine how to resolve the wafer defect. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the Hwang and Qiao references to achieve the same method described in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Hwang and Qiao discloses “The method of claim 1, further comprising imaging the workpiece with an electron beam workpiece inspection tool” (Hwang, Paragraph [0026], discloses “In some embodiments, the inspection device 20 may generate the inspection image SEM_IMG by imaging a region including the defects DEF in the wafer 201. The inspection device 20 may generate an inspection image SEM_IMG by imaging a region adjacent to the region including the defects DEF in the wafer 201.”).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Hwang and Qiao discloses “The method of claim 1, further comprising training the supervised deep learning image segmentation model using a plurality of pairs of training images and corresponding training binary segmented images” (Hwang, pg. 6 (Section 5.1) discloses the following:
pg. 9 (section 5.4) also discloses the following:
Recall from the analysis of Claim 1 that the binary segmentation masks (i.e. binary segmented images) seen in Figure 12 are generated by the supervised deep learning image segmentation model. In this regard, Section 5.1 explains the training aspect of the claim, as the training images are being used to train the model to be accurate in segmenting particular defects within the image. We then see in Section 5.4 that the training images that have been recently used for the binary segmentation image to find the puddle defects are being used to further train the model to be even more accurate and precise at finding defects).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Hwang and Qiao discloses “The method of claim 1, wherein the workpiece is a semiconductor wafer” (Hwang, Paragraph [0026], discloses “In some embodiments, the inspection device 20 may include a scanning electron microscope (SEM) for acquiring an image of the wafer 201. The inspection device 20 may acquire an image of a region (e.g., one die) in which the detected defect is positioned through an electron microscope”).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Hwang and Qiao discloses “The method of claim 5, wherein the image includes at least one logic structure” (Hwang, Paragraph [0079] and Figure 5 (see below) discloses: “The inspection image 6000 may include a first gate line 6001, a second gate line 6003, and a third gate line 6005 extending in an X-axis direction, a fourth gate line 6007 extending in an Y-axis direction, and a defect DEF”
; As shown, we can see the logic structures that exist throughout the inspection image (via the first, second, and third gate lines)).
Claim 12 recites a computer-readable storage medium storing a program with instructions corresponding to the steps recited in Claim 1. Therefore, the recited programming instructions of this claim are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in its corresponding method claim. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine the Hwang and Qiao references, presented in rejection of Claim 1, apply to this claim. Finally, the combination of Hwang and Qiao references discloses a computer readable storage medium (for example, see Hwang, Paragraph [0027], where it discloses “The defect detection device 30 may include a controller 310, a data preprocessor 320, and a memory 330. Functions of embodiments disclosed herein may be performed, for example, by a processor such as a CPU and a memory containing instructions for execution by the processor or by a dedicated hardware circuit”; Here, because the defect detection uses memory coupled with a CPU (or processor), we can consider the memory a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium).
Claim 14 recites a computer-readable storage medium storing a program with instructions corresponding to the steps recited in Claim 4. Therefore, the recited programming instructions of this claim are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in its corresponding method claim. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine the Hwang and Qiao references, presented in rejection of Claim 4, apply to this claim.
Claim 15 recites a computer-readable storage medium storing a program with instructions corresponding to the steps recited in Claim 5. Therefore, the recited programming instructions of this claim are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in its corresponding method claim. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine the Hwang and Qiao references, presented in rejection of Claim 5, apply to this claim.
Claim 16 recites a computer-readable storage medium storing a program with instructions corresponding to the steps recited in Claim 6. Therefore, the recited programming instructions of this claim are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in its corresponding method claim. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine the Hwang and Qiao references, presented in rejection of Claim 6, apply to this claim.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Qiao, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2015/0098643).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Hwang and Qiao discloses “The method of claim 2, further comprising:” (Please refer to the above-described analysis regarding Claim 2); (Lee, Paragraph [0065]). Lee further discloses “…a method of measuring a critical dimension of a pattern according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention.... The program may be stored in a processor” (Lee, Paragraph [0064]). It is important to mention that both the electron beam and detector are implied in Paragraph [0065], as the primary electron is being irradiated onto the semiconductor substrate, and by measuring the second electron discharge, the detector within the optical test device can detect a pattern on the substrate. This is then used to generate an image from those signals that were transmitted for further processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method seen in the combination of Hwang and Qiao with the Lee technique of generating and directing an electron beam to be used on a semiconductor wafer to allow a detector to generate an image to achieve a complete image alignment method. By combining the method seen in the combination of Hwang and Qiao with the Lee technique of using an electron beam on a semiconductor wafer to generate an image from a detector, one of ordinary skill in the art can permit the resulting SEM image to be adequately detailed to appropriately analyze them for defects. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the Hwang, Qiao, and Lee references to achieve the same method described in Claim 3.
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Qiao, and further in view of Koopman et al (US 2022/0327686) and Lee.
Regarding Claim 7, Hwang discloses “An electron beam workpiece inspection tool comprising: an electron beam source configured to generate an electron beam” (Hwang, Paragraph [0024], discloses “In some embodiments, the inspection device 20 may include a scanning electron microscope (SEM) for acquiring an image of the wafer 201. The inspection device 20 may acquire an image of a region (e.g., one die) in which the detected defect is positioned through an electron microscope”; It is important to note that the electron beam source is strongly implied by the scanning electron microscope used to acquire the image, due to an electron beam being required to acquire an image of the semiconductor wafer pattern); (Hwang, Paragraph [0024], discloses “In some embodiments, the inspection device 20 may include a scanning electron microscope (SEM) for acquiring an image of the wafer 201. The inspection device 20 may acquire an image of a region (e.g., one die) in which the detected defect is positioned through an electron microscope”; It is important to note that the image acquired by using SEM (or an SEM image) is synonymous to the scanning electron beam image); (Hwang, Paragraph [0026], discloses “In some embodiments, the inspection device 20 may generate the inspection image SEM_IMG by imaging a region including the defects DEF in the wafer 201. The inspection device 20 may generate an inspection image SEM_IMG by imaging a region adjacent to the region including the defects DEF in the wafer 201”). Hwang does not explicitly disclose “a stage configured to hold a workpiece in a path of the electron beam; a detector configured to measure electrons returned from the workpiece; and a processor in electronic communication with the detector, wherein the processor is configured to:” or “determine a binary segmented image from the image using a supervised deep learning image segmentation model, wherein the binary segmented image is rendered to be binary and is segmented to include only some features of the image; match the binary segmented image to a region of a design image, wherein the design image is rendered from a design of structures on the workpiece”. However, in an analogous endeavor, Qiao discloses the following in pg. 5 (Section 4.1) and Figure 5 (see below):
As shown, the image segmentation model is semi-supervised and uses deep learning. This is shown through using a curated dataset with manual classification and segmentation labels to train initial models to in turn predict results for new, unlabeled raw SEM images that then generate predicted segmentation labels. Qiao further discloses the following in pg. 9 and Figure 12 (see below):
In Figure 12 and pg. 9, we clearly see that the binary segmentation image is seen in the form of binary segmentation masks, where the feature of the defect is seen in white, and everything other than the defect is in black. As seen in Figure 12, some features are included within the binary segmentation image (such as the pattern deform) to only focus on those key defects that can lead to failures or poor performance in the devices that utilize these wafers. Additionally, we can also see that the matching done between the binary segmentation image and the original input image, as the design of the structures around the wafer are clearly seen in the original input image while the binary segmentation image shows the defect clearly on the input image that may not be clearly seen due to a variety of factors related to how the image is preprocessed. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inspection tool seen in Hwang with the Qiao technique of determining a binary segmented image and matching the binary segmented image to the design image to achieve an improved electron beam workpiece inspection tool. By combining the Hwang inspection tool with the Qiao techniques of determining and matching the binary segmented image, one of ordinary skill in the art can allow users to effectively pinpoint defects on the image that would have otherwise been difficult to locate and determine how to resolve the wafer defect. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the Hwang and Qiao references to achieve the above-described limitations described in Claim 7.
The combination of Hwang and Qiao does not explicitly disclose “a stage configured to hold a workpiece in a path of the electron beam; a detector configured to measure electrons returned from the workpiece; and a processor in electronic communication with the detector, wherein the processor is configured to:”. However, in an analogous field of endeavor, Koopman discloses “a substrate table (e.g. a wafer table) WT (e.g., WTa, WTb or both) constructed to hold a substrate (e.g. a resist-coated wafer) W and connected to a second positioner PW configured to accurately position the substrate in accordance with certain parameters” (Koopman, Paragraph [0061] and Figure 1 (see below))
It is important to note that the substrate table is synonymous with the stage, as it holds the wafer in place even if the beam here may or may not be an electron beam. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method seen in the combination of Hwang and Qiao with the stage holding the wafer seen in Koopman to effectively position the silicon wafer for SEM imaging and to achieve the above-described limitation seen in Claim 7.
The combination of Hwang, Qiao, and Koopman does not explicitly disclose “a detector configured to measure electrons returned from the workpiece; and a processor in electronic communication with the detector, wherein the processor is configured to:”. However, in an analogous field of endeavor, Lee discloses “Referring to FIGS. 2 to 6, the image data is received from the optical test device (S110). For example, a primary electron is irradiated onto a semiconductor substrate such as a wafer or a reticle and scanning is performed by using the scanning electron microscope. The image data of the pattern is then acquired by detecting a secondary electron discharged from the pattern on the substrate. The image data acquired by the scanning electron microscope is transferred to the ROI setting unit 110” (Lee, Paragraph [0065]). Lee further discloses “…a method of measuring a critical dimension of a pattern according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention.... The program may be stored in a processor” (Lee, Paragraph [0064]). It is important to mention that both the electron beam and detector are implied in Paragraph [0065], as the primary electron is being irradiated onto the semiconductor substrate, and by measuring the second electron discharge, the detector within the optical test device can detect a pattern on the substrate. This is then used to generate an image from those signals that were transmitted for further processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inspection tool seen in the combination of Hwang and Qiao with the Lee technique of allowing a detector to measure the electron discharge from the semiconductor wafer to achieve a complete workpiece inspection tool. By combining the workpiece inspection tool seen in Hwang and Qiao with the Lee technique of using a detector to measure electrons returned from a semiconductor wafer, one of ordinary skill in the art can permit the resulting SEM image to be adequately detailed to appropriately analyze them for defects. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the Hwang, Qiao, Koopman and Lee references to achieve the same inspection tool described in Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Hwang, Qiao, Koopman, and Lee discloses “The electron beam workpiece inspection tool of claim 7, wherein the processor is further configured to generate the image using the signals from the detector” (Lee, Paragraph [0065], discloses “Referring to FIGS. 2 to 6, the image data is received from the optical test device (S110). For example, a primary electron is irradiated onto a semiconductor substrate such as a wafer or a reticle and scanning is performed by using the scanning electron microscope. The image data of the pattern is then acquired by detecting a secondary electron discharged from the pattern on the substrate. The image data acquired by the scanning electron microscope is transferred to the ROI setting unit 110”; As mentioned previously in the analysis of Claim 3 and 7, the detector is implied in Paragraph [0065], as the primary electron is being irradiated onto the semiconductor substrate, and by measuring the second electron discharge, the detector within the optical test device is able to detect a pattern on the substrate. This is then used to generate an image from those signals that were transmitted for further processing).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Hwang, Qiao, Koopman, and Lee discloses “The electron beam workpiece inspection tool of claim 7, wherein the supervised deep learning image segmentation model is trained using a plurality of pairs of training images and corresponding training binary segmented images” (Hwang, pg. 6 (Section 5.1) discloses the following:
pg. 9 (section 5.4) also discloses the following:
Recall from the analysis of Claim 1 and 7 that the binary segmentation masks (i.e. binary segmented images) seen in Figure 12 are generated by the supervised deep learning image segmentation model. In this regard, Section 5.1 explains the training aspect of the claim, as the training images are being used to train the model to be accurate in segmenting particular defects within the image. We then see in Section 5.4 that the training images that have been recently used for the binary segmentation image to find the puddle defects are being used to further train the model to be even more accurate and precise at finding defects).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Hwang, Qiao, Koopman, and Lee discloses “The electron beam workpiece inspection tool of claim 7, wherein the workpiece is a semiconductor wafer” (Hwang, Paragraph [0026], discloses “In some embodiments, the inspection device 20 may include a scanning electron microscope (SEM) for acquiring an image of the wafer 201. The inspection device 20 may acquire an image of a region (e.g., one die) in which the detected defect is positioned through an electron microscope”).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Hwang, Qiao, Koopman, and Lee discloses “The electron beam workpiece inspection tool of claim 10, wherein the image includes at least one logic structure” Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Hwang and Qiao discloses “The method of claim 5, wherein the image includes at least one logic structure” (Hwang, Paragraph [0079] and Figure 5 (see below) discloses: “The inspection image 6000 may include a first gate line 6001, a second gate line 6003, and a third gate line 6005 extending in an X-axis direction, a fourth gate line 6007 extending in an Y-axis direction, and a defect DEF”
As shown, we can see the logic structures that exist throughout the inspection image (via the first, second, and third gate lines)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Alumot et al. (US 11,022,566) teaches a system and method of examination of a semiconductor specimen using an examination recipe.
Batool et al. (A Systematic Review of Deep Learning for Silicon Wafer Defect Recognition) teaches a review of the deep learning methods employed for wafer map defect recognition.
Bhattacharya et al. (US 2022/0059316) teaches a method whereas a scanning electron microscope receives a results file for a wafer from an optical inspection system to generate a defect review image, and a design clip is aligned to the defect review image at an anchor point to generate an aligned defect review image to be used for defect detection.
Bhaskar et al. (US 2019/0303717) teaches methods and systems for training a neural network for defect detection in low resolution images.
Brauer et al. (US 2017/0345142) teaches defect detection being performed by comparing a test image and a reference image with a rendered design image, which may be generated from a design file.
Gao et al. (US 2015/0221076) teaches systems and methods for classifying defects detected on a wafer.
Kim et al. (US 2023/0359805) teaches a layout method for a semiconductor chip.
Lu et al. (US 2019/0287230) teaches autoencoder-based, semi-supervised approaches used for anomaly detection.
Wei et al. (Wafer Map Defect Patterns Semi-Supervised Classification Using Latent Vector Representation) teaches a method that initially employs a pre-trained VAE model to obtain the fault distribution information of a wafer map.
Wallingford et al. (US 2022/0044391) teaches methods and systems for detecting defects on a specimen
/SORIE I KOROMA JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/Siamak Harandi/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2662