DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the IDS have been considered by examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: DISPLAY DEVICE AND ELECTRONIC DEVICE HAVING A PLURALITY OF DISPLAY MODES.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeong et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0301478).
Regarding claim 17, Jeong discloses a display device (10), (fig. 1, [0047]), comprising:
a first data line (DL1);
a second data line (DL3);
a plurality of wide pixels (i.e. wide viewing angle pixels PWVA); and
a plurality of narrow pixels (i.e. narrow viewing angle pixels PNVA), (fig. 3b, [0064]),
wherein a first group (G1) and a second group (G2) comprises a first wide pixel (WP1), a second wide pixel (WP2), a first narrow pixel (NP1), and a second narrow pixel (NP2),
wherein the first wide pixel (G1-WP1) and the second wide pixel (G1-WP2) of the first group (G1) are connected to the first data line (DL1),
wherein the first narrow pixel (G1-NP1) and the second narrow pixel (G1-NP2) of the first group (G1) are connected to the second data line (DL3),
wherein the first wide pixel (G2-WP1) and the first narrow pixel (G2-NP1) of the second group (G2) are connected to a first one of the first data line (DL1) and the second data line (DL3), and
wherein the second wide pixel (G2-WP2) and the second narrow pixel (G2-NP2) of the second group (G2) are connected to a second one of the first data line (DL1) and the second data line (DL3), (see fig. 3a reproduced below for details, [0071-0078]).
Regarding claim 18, Jeong discloses wherein the first data line (DL1) and the second data line (DL3) extend in a first direction (D2), (fig. 1, [0049]), and
wherein the first group (G1) and the second group (G2) are alternately arranged in the first direction (D2), (fig. 3a reproduced above).
Regarding claim 19, Jeong discloses wherein the first wide pixel (G1-WP1) of the first group (G1) and the first wide pixel (G2-WP1) of the second group (G2) comprises:
a (1-1)th pixel circuit (i.e. it is implied that there are pixel circuits for driving the pixels of G1-WP1 and G2-WP1) connected to the first data line (DL1); and
a (1-1)th light-emitting element (pixels G1-WP1 and G2-WP1 emit light) connected to the (1-1)th pixel circuit (i.e. it is implied that G1-WP1 and G2-WP1 have pixel circuits for driving the pixels to emit light), and
wherein the second narrow pixel (G1-NP2) of the first group (G1) and the second narrow pixel (G2-NP2) of the second group (G2) comprises:
a (2-2)th pixel circuit (i.e. it is implied that there are pixel circuits for driving the pixels of G1-NP2 and G2-NP2) connected to the second data line (DL3); and
a (1-4)th light-emitting element (pixels G1-NP2 and G2-NP2 emit light) connected to the (2-2)th pixel circuit (i.e. it is implied that G1-NP2 and G2-NP2 have pixel circuits for driving the pixels to emit light), (fig. 3a reproduced above, [0064 and 0071-0073]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2024/0087504) in view of Kato (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0133405).
Regarding claim 1, Gu discloses a display device (DD), (fig. 1, [0047]), comprising:
a first data line (DL4);
a second data line (DL6);
a (1-1)th pixel circuit (PC14) connected to the first data line (DL4), (fig. 2, [0067]);
a (2-1)th pixel circuit (PC26) connected to the second data line (DL6), (fig. 2, [0067]);
a (1-1)th light-emitting element (WE14) connected to the (1-1)th pixel circuit (PC14), (fig. 2, [0068]);
a (1-2)th light-emitting element (GE24) connected to the (2-1)th pixel circuit (PC26), (fig. 2, [0071]); and
a first bridge line (CL24) crossing the first data line (DL4), and connecting the (2-1)th pixel circuit (PC26) and the (1-2)th light-emitting element (GE24), (fig. 2, [0079]).
However, Gu does not mention the (1-1)th light-emitting element having a first state in a first mode, and having a second state in a second mode.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kato teaches
a (1-1)th light-emitting element (G4) having a first state in a first mode (i.e. G4 outputs an image data in normal driving mode), and having a second state in a second mode (i.e. G4 outputs a black data voltage in a low power driving mode), (figs. 8-9, [0075 and 0084]);
a (1-2)th light-emitting element (G2) having the first state in the first mode and in the second mode (i.e. G2 outputs an image data in the normal driving mode and the low power driving mode), (figs. 8-9, [0084-0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gu, by specifically providing the different driving modes, as taught by Kato, for the purpose of reducing image quality degradation, [0005].
Regarding claim 2, Kato discloses wherein the first data line (i.e. data line connected to subpixel G4) is configured to receive a first valid data signal in the first mode (i.e. G4 receives image data in normal driving mode), and is configured to receive an invalid data signal in the second mode (i.e. G4 receives a black data voltage in the low power driving mode), and
wherein the second data line (i.e. data line connected to subpixel G2) is configured to receive a second valid data signal in the first mode and in the second mode (i.e. G2 receives image data in the normal driving mode and the low power driving mode), (figs. 1, 8 and 9, [0063, 0075 and 0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gu, by specifically providing the different driving modes, as taught by Kato, for the purpose of reducing image quality degradation, [0005].
Regarding claim 3, Kato discloses wherein the invalid data signal has a voltage level corresponding to a black grayscale (black data voltage), (fig. 9, [0075]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gu, by specifically providing the black data voltage, as taught by Kato, for the purpose of reducing image quality degradation, [0005].
Regarding claim 4, Kato discloses wherein the first state is a state in which the (1-1)th light-emitting element (G4) and the (1-2)th light-emitting element (G2) are turned on (i.e. when G4 and G2 outputs image data in the normal driving mode), and wherein the second state is a state in which the (1-1)th light-emitting element (G4) is turned off (i.e. when G4 outputs black data voltage which is turned off in the low power driving mode), (figs. 8-9, [0075 and 0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gu, by specifically providing the low power driving mode, as taught by Kato, for the purpose of reducing image quality degradation, [0005].
Regarding claim 5, Gu discloses wherein the first data line (DL4) and the second data line (DL6) extend in a first direction (DR2), (fig. 2, [0064]), and
wherein the (1-1)th light-emitting element (WE14) and the (1-2)th light-emitting element (GE24) are adjacent to each other in the first direction, (fig. 2, [0067-0068 and 0071]).
Regarding claim 6, Gu discloses wherein the first data line (DL4) and the second data line (DL6) extend in a first direction (DR2), (fig. 2, [0064]), and
wherein "i" (1-1)th light-emitting elements (WE14) and "j" (1-2)th light-emitting elements (GE24) are alternately and repeatedly arranged in the first direction (DR2), "i" and "j" being a respective integer of 2 or more, (fig. 2, [0067-0068 and 0071]).
Regarding claim 7, Gu discloses further comprising:
a (1-2)th pixel circuit (PC24) connected to the first data line (DL4);
a (2-2)th pixel circuit (PC16) connected to the second data line (DL6);
a (1-3)th light-emitting element (WE26) connected to the (1-2)th pixel circuit (PC24);
a (1-4)th light-emitting element (GE16) connected to the (2-2)th pixel circuit (PC16); and
a second bridge line (CL26) crossing the first data line (DL4), and connecting the (1-2)th pixel circuit (PC24) and the (1-3)th light-emitting element (WE26), (fig. 2, [0067-0068, 0071 and 0079]).
However, Gu does not mention a (1-3)th light-emitting element connected to the (1-2)th pixel circuit, having the first state in the first mode, and having the second state in the second mode;
In a similar field of endeavor, Kato teaches
a (1-3)th light-emitting element (G3) having the first state in the first mode (i.e. G3 outputs an image data in normal driving mode), and having the second state in the second mode (i.e. G3 outputs a black data voltage in a low power driving mode), (figs. 8-9, [0075 and 0084]);
a (1-4)th light-emitting element (G1) having the first state in the first mode and in the second mode (i.e. G1 outputs an image data in the normal driving mode and the low power driving mode), (figs. 8-9, [0084-0085]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gu, by specifically providing the different driving modes, as taught by Kato, for the purpose of reducing image quality degradation, [0005].
Regarding claim 8, Gu discloses wherein the first data line (D4) and the second data line (D6) extend in a first direction (DR2),
wherein the (1-1)th light-emitting element (WE14) and the (1-2)th light-emitting element (GE24) are adjacent to each other in the first direction (DR2),
wherein the (1-3)th light-emitting element (WE26) and the (1-4)th light-emitting element (GE16) are adjacent to each other in the first direction (DR2),
wherein the (1-1)th light-emitting element (WE14) and the (1-3)th light-emitting element (WE26) are adjacent to each other in a second direction (DR1) crossing the first direction, and
wherein the (1-2)th light-emitting element (GE24) and the (1-4)th light-emitting element (GE16) are adjacent to each other in the second direction (DR1), (fig. 2, [0064, 0067-0068 and 0071]).
Regarding claim 9, Gu discloses further comprising:
a third data line (DL1);
a fourth data line (DL3;
a (3-1)th pixel circuit (PC11) and a (3-2)th pixel circuit (PC21) connected to the third data line (DL1);
a (4-1)th pixel circuit (PC13) and a (4-2)th pixel circuit (PC23) connected to the fourth data line (DL3);
a (2-1)th light-emitting element (RE13);
a (2-2)th light-emitting element (BE23);
a (3-1)th light-emitting element (RE21); and
a (3-2)th light-emitting element (BE11), (fig. 2, [0066-0068 and 0071]).
However, Gu does not mention a (2-1)th light-emitting element having the first state in the first mode, and having the second state in the second mode.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kato teaches
a (2-1)th light-emitting element (R1) having the first state in the first mode (i.e. R1 outputs an image data in normal driving mode), and having the second state in the second mode (i.e. R1 outputs a black data voltage in a low power driving mode), (figs. 8-9, [0075 and 0084]);
a (2-2)th light-emitting element (B1) having the first state in the first mode and in the second mode (i.e. B1 outputs an image data in the normal driving mode and the low power driving mode), (figs. 8-9, [0084-0085]);
a (3-1)th light-emitting element (B2) having the first state in the first mode (i.e. B2 outputs an image data in the normal driving mode), and having the second state in the second mode (i.e. B2 outputs a black data voltage in the low power driving mode), (figs. 8-9, [0075 and 0084]); and
a (3-2)th light-emitting element (R2) having the first state in the first mode and in the second mode (i.e. R2 outputs an image data in the normal driving mode and the low power driving mode), (figs. 8-9, [0084-0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gu, by specifically providing the different driving modes, as taught by Kato, for the purpose of reducing image quality degradation, [0005].
Regarding claim 10, Gu discloses wherein the (2-1)th light-emitting element (RE13) is connected to the (3-1)th pixel circuit (PC11),
wherein the (2-2)th light-emitting element (BE23) is connected to the (4-2)th pixel circuit (PC23),
wherein the (3-1)th light-emitting element (RE21) is connected to the (3-2)th pixel circuit (PC21), and
wherein the (3-2)th light-emitting element (BE11) is connected to the (4-1)th pixel circuit (PC13), (fig. 2, [0066-0068 and 0071]).
Regarding claim 11, Gu discloses wherein the (2-1)th light-emitting element (RE13) is connected to the (3-1)th pixel circuit (PC11),
wherein the (2-2)th light-emitting element (BE23) is connected to the (3-2)th pixel circuit (PC21) through PC23 and data driving circuit 200,
wherein the (3-1)th light-emitting element (RE21) is connected to the (4-2)th pixel circuit (PC23) through PC21 and data driving circuit 200,and
wherein the (3-2)th light-emitting element (BE11) is connected to the (4-1)th pixel circuit (PC13), (fig. 2, [0066-0068 and 0071]).
Regarding claim 13, Kato discloses wherein the third data line (i.e. data line connected to subpixel R1) is configured to receive a third valid data signal in the first mode (i.e. R1 receives image data in normal driving mode), and is configured to receive an invalid data signal in the second mode (i.e. R1 receives a black data voltage in the low power driving mode), and
wherein the fourth data line (i.e. data line connected to subpixel B1) is configured to receive a fourth valid data signal in the first mode and in the second mode (i.e. B1 receives image data in the normal driving mode and the low power driving mode), (figs. 1, 8 and 9, [0063, 0075 and 0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gu, by specifically providing the different driving modes, as taught by Kato, for the purpose of reducing image quality degradation, [0005].
Regarding claim 14, Gu discloses wherein the third data line (DL1) and the fourth data line (DL3) extend in a first direction (DR2), (fig. 2, [0064]),
wherein the (2-1 )th light-emitting element (RE13) and the (3-1)th light-emitting element (RE21) are adjacent to each other in the first direction (DR2),
wherein the (2-2)th light-emitting element (BE23) and the (3-2)th light-emitting element (BE11) are adjacent to each other in the first direction (DR2),
wherein the (2-1)th light-emitting element (RE13) and the (3-2)th light-emitting element (BE11) are adjacent to each other in a second direction (DR1) crossing the first direction (DR2), and
wherein the (3-1)th light-emitting element (RE21) and the (2-2)th light-emitting element (BE23) are adjacent to each other in the second direction (DR1), (fig. 2, [0067-0068 and 0071]).
Regarding claim 15, Gu discloses wherein the third data line (DL1) and the fourth data line (DL3) extend in a first direction (DR2),
wherein the (2-1)th light-emitting element (RE13) and the (3-1)th light-emitting element (RE21) are adjacent to each other in the first direction,
wherein "k" of the (2-1)th light-emitting elements (RE13) and "I" of the (3-2)th light-emitting elements (BE11) are alternately and repeatedly arranged in a second direction (DR1) crossing the first direction, "k" and "I" being a respective integer of 2 or more, and
wherein "k" of the (3-1)th light-emitting elements (RE21) and "I" of the (2-2)th light-emitting elements (BE23) are alternately and repeatedly arranged in the second direction (DR1), (fig. 2, [0067-0068 and 0071]).
Regarding claim 20, Gu discloses an electronic device (display device DD is electronic) comprising:
a display device (DD) for provide an image (RGB), (fig. 1, [0047-0048]), and comprising:
a first data line (DL4);
a second data line (DL6);
a (1-1)th pixel circuit (PC14) connected to the first data line (DL4), (fig. 2, [0067]);
a (2-1)th pixel circuit (PC26) connected to the second data line (DL6), (fig. 2, [0067]);
a (1-1)th light-emitting element (WE14) connected to the (1-1)th pixel circuit (PC14), (fig. 2, [0068]);
a (1-2)th light-emitting element (GE24) connected to the (2-1)th pixel circuit (PC26), (fig. 2, [0071]); and
a first bridge line (CL24) crossing the first data line (DL4), and connecting the (2-1)th pixel circuit (PC26) and the (1-2)th light-emitting element (GE24), (fig. 2, [0079]).
However, Gu does not mention the (1-1)th light-emitting element having a first state in a first mode, and having a second state in a second mode.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kato teaches
a (1-1)th light-emitting element (G4) having a first state in a first mode (i.e. G4 outputs an image data in normal driving mode), and having a second state in a second mode (i.e. G4 outputs a black data voltage in a low power driving mode), (figs. 8-9, [0075 and 0084]);
a (1-2)th light-emitting element (G2) having the first state in the first mode and in the second mode (i.e. G2 outputs an image data in the normal driving mode and the low power driving mode), (figs. 8-9, [0084-0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gu, by specifically providing the different driving modes, as taught by Kato, for the purpose of reducing image quality degradation, [0005].
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu in view of Kato and in view of Wu et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0230521).
Regarding claim 16, Gu in view of Kato discloses everything as specified above in claim 1. However, Gu in view of Kato does not mention a light-shielding pattern.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wu teaches further comprising a light-shielding pattern (161BM and 162BM) above the (1-1)th light-emitting element (elements 160_3 to 160_5 of pixel structure 201) and the (1-2)th light-emitting element (elements 160_3 to 160_5 of pixel structure 202), (fig. 2b and 3a, [0085-0086]), and defining:
a first opening (161W1) corresponding to the (1-1)th light-emitting element (elements 160_3 to 160_5 of pixel structure 201), (fig. 3a, [0082 and 0085]); and
a second opening (162W1) having a size that is smaller than a size of the first opening (161W1), and corresponding to the (1-2)th light-emitting element (elements 160_3 to 160_5 of pixel structure 202), (fig. 3a, [0086]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gu in view of Kato, by specifically providing the light-shielding pattern, as taught by Wu, for the purpose of adjusting viewing angle, [0006].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
Claim 12, none of the prior art of record teaches alone or in combination the limitation “a third bridge line crossing the first data line, and connecting the (3-2)th pixel circuit and the (2-2)th light-emitting element; and a fourth bridge line crossing the first data line, and connecting the (4-2)th pixel circuit and the (3-1)th light-emitting element.”
Inquiries
/LONG D PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623