DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (US 2021/0225272).
Regarding claim 13
Yeang et al. shows, driving method of an electronic device comprising:
sensing sensing currents of optical sensors (photosensitive device, see para. 0074) on a display panel (EL) using a sensing circuit (see Fig. 5);
generating input sensing data (sensing value) based on a result of sensing the sensing currents of the optical sensors using the sensing circuit (see step S200 and para. 0072-0073);
receiving the input sensing data (sensing value) and generating sensing correction data (taken to be compensation value, see step S300 and para. 0075) corresponding to each of the optical sensors (taken to be the photosensitive device for each of the sub-pixels, see Fig. 5 and para. 0074) based on the received input sensing data (sensing value, see para. 0073-0074) using a compensating circuit (105, see Figs. 5, 6 and 8); and
generating output sensing data (see Figs. 2 and 8, data output circuit 106, step S400 and para. 0090-0094), based on the sensing correction data (compensation value) and the input sensing data (sensing value) using a processor (see para. 0038).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-12 are allowed.
Claims 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 1-8
The prior art of record, including Yang et al. (US 2021/0225272), taken to be the closest prior art noted above, taken alone or in combination does not teach, suggest or render obvious the display device having the combination of elements, along with having the further limitations which include,
a compensating circuit configured to store sensing correction data corresponding to a size of the light receiving element of each of the optical sensors, based on a result of sensing the optical sensors, as recited in claims 1-8.
Further, even though Yang et al. shows the invention substantially as claimed, as discussed in the above rejection, it does not specifically show or render obvious the limitations of claims 1-8, noted above.
Also, none of the prior art of record teaches a compensating circuit configured to store sensing correction data corresponding to a size of the light receiving element of each of the optical sensors, based on a result of sensing the optical sensors, as recited in claims 1-8.
Therefore, it is believed that one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed, would not consider it obvious to modify Yang et al., with any of the prior art of record, to include the limitations as recited in claims 1-8.
Regarding claims 9-12
The prior art of record, including Yang et al. (US 2021/0225272), taken to be the closest prior art noted above, taken alone or in combination does not teach, suggest or render obvious the display device having the combination of elements, along with having the further limitations which include,
a processor configured to receive the sensing correction data from the compensating circuit and to provide image data generated based on the sensing correction data to the display device, wherein each of the optical sensors includes a light receiving element, and the sensing correction data corresponds to a size of the light receiving element, as recited in claims 9-12.
Further, even though Yang et al. shows the invention substantially as claimed, as discussed in the above rejection, it does not specifically show or render obvious the limitations of claims 9-12, noted above.
Also, none of the prior art of record teaches wherein each of the optical sensors includes a light receiving element, and the sensing correction data corresponds to a size of the light receiving element, as recited in claims 9-12.
Therefore, it is believed that one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed, would not consider it obvious to modify Yang et al., with any of the prior art of record, to include the limitations as recited in claims 9-12.
Regarding claims 14-17
The prior art of record, Yang et al. (US 2021/02255272), taken to be the closest prior art noted above, taken alone or in combination does not teach, suggest or render obvious the driving method, as recited in claim 13, having the further limitations which include
wherein the optical sensors include a first optical sensor and a second optical sensor different from the first optical sensor, and the input sensing data is proportional to an intensity of the sensing current flowing through the first optical sensor and the second optical sensor, as set forth in claims 14-17.
Further, even though Yang et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as discussed in the above rejection, it does not specifically show or render obvious the limitations, as recited in claims 14-17, noted above.
Therefore, it is believed that one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed, would not consider it obvious to modify Yang et al., with any of the prior art of record, to include the limitations as recited in claims 14-17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chang et al. (US 2022/0366846), shows an electronic device comprising: a display device including a display panel (110) including optical sensors (120) and a sensing circuit configured to sense the optical sensors (see Fig. 5); a compensating circuit (see Fig. 5) configured to generate compensation based on a result of sensing the optical sensors (see the abstract, Figs. 1A-5, and para. 0064-0085).
Takahashi (US 2016/0165700), shows an electronic device comprising: a display device including a display panel (100) including optical sensors (Ps) and a sensing circuit (see Fig. 2) configured to sense the optical sensors (see Figs. 2 and 5); a compensating circuit configured to generate compensation based on a result of sensing the optical sensors (see the abstract, Figs. 1-5, and para. 0039-0112).
Chen et al. (US 2024/0046878), shows an electronic device comprising: a display device including a display panel including optical sensors and a sensing circuit configured to sense the optical sensors; a compensating circuit configured to generate compensation based on a result of sensing the optical sensors (see the abstract, Figs. 1 and 8, and para. 0066-0088).
/MUHAMMAD N. EDUN/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2629
/MUHAMMAD N EDUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629