DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the plurality of spacing retaining members being provided to project from an inner surface”, and the partition plate being attached to the inner surface at a side of some of the plurality of spacing retaining member. This limitation renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear as to what “inner surface” is being referred to (e.g. one provided via the reinforcing steel plates, the existing columnar structure, some other feature, etc.).
Claim 2 recites the limitation “a projection length of the partition plate from the inner surface is set to be shorter than a projection length of the spacing retaining member”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear as to where the “length” is being measured from with respect to the partition plate and the other features (e.g. between the reinforcing steel plate, the columnar structure, the retaining member, some other feature, etc.).
Claims 3 and 4 are similarly rejected for being dependent upon an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Kanda et al. (JP 2009167735 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kanda discloses a reinforcing steel plate [80] to be installed around an existing columnar concrete structure [1] for repair or reinforcement, comprising: a plurality of spacing retaining members [44] for maintaining spacing with the existing columnar concrete structure, the plurality of spacing retaining members being provided to project from an inner surface; and a partition plate [45] configured to divide a gap between the reinforcing steel plate and the existing columnar concrete structure into a certain range, the partition plate being attached to the inner surface at a side of some of the plurality of spacing retaining members [configured to do so at a desired gap distance; Figure 3a].
Regarding claim 2, Kanda further discloses a projection length of the partition plate from the inner surface is set to be shorter than a projection length of the spacing retaining member [distance from partition plate to reinforcing steel plate is shorter than the entire projection distance/length of spacing retaining member; Figure 3a].
Regarding claim 3, Kanda further discloses a jet guide [20, 21; Figure 7a] configured to feed compressed air of an air lift or a water jet used for earth removal to a vicinity of a ground by pressure
Regarding method claim 4,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanda et al. (JP 2009167735 A) alone.
Regarding claim 3, Kanda further discloses it is known in the prior art to utilized a jet guide [20, 21; Figure 7a] configured to feed compressed air of an air lift or a water jet used for earth removal to a vicinity of a ground by pressure.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Kanda by adding the jetting device as known in the prior art to provide an additional means of loosening up the soil for the saw mechanism to cut through, thereby increasing the versatility and applicability of the device, and reducing wear and tear on the saw mechanism, to subsequently increase profits and reduce cost.
Specifically regarding method claim 4, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the columnar reinforcing system of the Kanda combination in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method as claimed by the Applicant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Miyazaki et al. (US 2025/0250752) discloses a press-in steel plate reinforcing device and method similar to that of the claimed invention, however it is not available as prior art. Langenhan (DE 102020117497 A) discloses a press-in steel plate reinforcing device having spacing retaining members and a partition plate similar to that of the claimed invention.
KYLE ARMSTRONG, P.E.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3678
/KYLE ARMSTRONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619