DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The 112(b) rejections of claims 22, 23, and 25 have been withdrawn following the removal of the indefinite term “about” in each claim.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-7, filed December 2, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 20 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Puidokas et al. US 11077512 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luick et al. US 11,890,807 B1 in view of Puidokas et al. US 11077512 B2.
Regarding claim 20, Luick discloses a method for additive manufacturing (Col. 1, Lines 14-16) of an in situ model of a part from a working material having a plurality of powder particles (Col. 1, Lines 14-16), the method (Col. 1, Lines 14-16) comprising the steps of: producing an irradiation profile with an illumination system; directing the irradiation profile towards the working material (Col. 3, Lines 15-18); and moving the irradiation profile along a working path (Fig. 3, Ref. 141) at the working material to fuse adjacent particles of the working material along the working path together (Col. 4, Lines 24-28), the irradiation profile including (a) a first portion that heats the working material to a first peak temperature lower than a melting point of the working material (Col. 6, Lines 29-35),(c) a third portion that heats the working material to a third peak temperature being higher than the melting point of the working material (Col. 6, Lines 35-38 “the second energy beam”), and(d) a fourth portion that heats the working material to a fourth peak temperature being less than the third peak temperature (Col. 6, Lines 37-40, “the third energy beam”), wherein as the irradiation profile is moved along the working path a portion of the working material along the working path sequentially encounters the first portion, the second portion, the third portion, and the fourth portion (Col. 4, Lines 22-26).
While Luick describes a fourth beam that provides additional functionality, it does not specifically disclose a second portion that heats the working material to a second peak temperature being higher than the first peak temperature and lower than the melting point of the working material.
However is the same field of endeavor, Puidokas teaches a second portion that heats the working material to a second peak temperature being higher than the first peak temperature and lower than the melting point of the working material (Fig. 3, T2; Col. 7, Lines 19-27).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time, to modify Luick with Puidokas to heat the material to a ductile state, but below the melting point, to reduce stress in the material. A person of ordinary skill would apply this temperature to the fourth beam of additional functionality of Luick to create a homogenous temperature throughout the material.
Regarding claim 21, Luick discloses wherein a first gap is provided between the first portion and the second portion, the working material heated by the first portion cools during the first gap, a second gap is provided between the second portion and the third portion, the working material heated by the second portion cools during the second gap, and a third gap is provided between the third portion and the fourth portion, the working material heated by the third portion cools during the third gap (Col. 22, Lines 11-18 wherein the beams wait at designated positions).
Regarding claim 22, Luick discloses wherein the first peak temperature is in the range of about 40% to about 80% of the melting point of the working material, the second peak temperature is in the range of about 70% to about 95% of the melting point of the working material, and the fourth peak temperature is in the range of about 50% to about 98% of the melting point of the working material (Col. 7, Lines 11-24 wherein the temperature is controlled as needed for the use case).
Regarding claim 23, Luick discloses wherein the first peak temperature is at least about 50% of the melting point of the working material, the second peak temperature is at least about 90% the melting point of the working material, and the fourth peak temperature is at least about 90% the melting point of the working material (Col. 7, Lines 11-24 wherein the temperature is controlled as needed for the use case).
Regarding claim 24, Luick discloses wherein as the irradiation profile is moved along the working path the first portion has a first time duration irradiating a first portion of the working material, the second portion has a second time duration irradiating the first portion of the working material, the third portion has a third time duration irradiating the first portion of the working material, the fourth portion has a fourth time duration irradiating the first portion of the working material, each of the first time duration, the second time duration, and the fourth time duration being longer than the third time duration (Col. 18, Lines 41-49 wherein the time of the laser applied is altered to meet the needs of the application).
Regarding claim 25, Luick discloses wherein the third time duration is up to about 50% of the first time duration, the third time duration is up to about 50% of the second time duration, and the third time duration is up to about 25% of the fourth time duration (Col. 18, Lines 41-49 wherein the time of the laser applied is altered to meet the needs of the application).
Regarding claim 26, Luick discloses wherein at least two of the first peak temperature, the second peak temperature, the third peak temperature, and the fourth peak temperature are independently adjustable (Col. 7, Lines 11-12 wherein the energy density of each beam is controlled).
Regarding claim 27, Luick discloses wherein at least two of the first time duration, the second time duration, the third time duration, and the fourth time duration are independently adjustable (Col. 18, Lines 41-49 wherein the time of the laser applied is altered to meet the needs of the application).
Regarding claim 28, Luick discloses the step of providing the irradiation profile with a plurality of laser assemblies (Fig. 2B; Col 5 Line 62 through Col. 6 Line 14 wherein the laser assemblies are described).
Regarding claim 29, Luick discloses wherein the first portion of the of the irradiation profile is provided with a first laser assembly of the plurality of laser assemblies, the second portion of the of the irradiation profile is provided with a second laser assembly of the plurality of laser assemblies, the third portion of the of the irradiation profile is provided with a third laser assembly of the plurality of laser assemblies, and the fourth portion of the of the irradiation profile is provided with a fourth laser assembly of the plurality of laser assemblies (Col 5 Line 62 through Col. 6 Line 14 wherein the laser assemblies are described).
Regarding claim 30, Luick discloses wherein the first portion of the irradiation profile has a first power profile mode, the second portion of the irradiation profile has a second power profile mode, the third portion of the irradiation profile has a third power profile mode, and the fourth portion of the irradiation profile has a fourth power profile mode, at least one of the first power profile mode, the second power profile mode, and the fourth power profile mode is different than the third power profile mode (Col. 7, Lines 11-12 wherein the energy density of each beam is controlled).
Conclusion
/K.B.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761