Response to Election
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on August 10, 2026 is acknowledged.
Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-3, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication (2023/035699) to So et al. in view of U.S. Patent Publication (2020/253445) to So et al.
Regarding independent claim 1, a main body (600) (See FIG. 6 of So et al. (‘699));
Except, So et al. (‘699) is silent regarding a driving wheel disposed on a bottom of the main body and configured to move the main body. However, So et al. (‘445)
But, So et al. (‘699) teaches a mopping device (631) disposed on the bottom of the main body (see semi-circular body in FIG. 6); and a rotation device comprising: a bridge (637) connected to the mopping device (631), and a first motor (See paragraph [0106]) configured to rotate the bridge (637) for the mopping device (631) such that the mopping device (637) is moved to one from among a first position (See FIG. 6) and a second position (out from under the cleaning apparatus (600) in FIG. 6) with the mopping device (631) is disposed on the bottom of the main body (see semi-circular body in FIG. 6 of So et al. ‘699) based on the mopping device being in the first position (under the cleaning apparatus (600) in FIG. 6), and the mopping device (631) protrudes outward from the main body (see semi-circular body in FIG. 6) based on the mopping device being in the second position (outside of the main body; See paragraph [0136] of So et al. ‘699).
As mentioned above, So et al. (‘699) is silent regarding a driving wheel disposed on a bottom of the main body and configured to move the main body. However, So et al. (‘445) teaches a robot cleaner (100) having a main body (101) with a bumper (102) (See paragraph [0053]). So et al. (‘445) teaches that the cleaner (100) includes a drive wheel (150) located on the bottom of the robot cleaner (100) (See paragraph [0060]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify So et al. (‘699) with So et al. (‘445) to include a driving wheel (150) on the bottom of the cleaning apparatus (600) of So et al. (‘699) in order to provide linear movement for the cleaning apparatus in motorized fashion.
Regarding claim 2, So et al. (‘699) as modified with So et al. (‘445) teaches claim 2. So et al. (‘699) teaches that the mopping device (631): a mopping pad (See paragraph [0135]) of So et al. (‘699)); a second motor (linear motor; See paragraph [0137] of So et al. (‘699)) configured to rotate the mopping pad (631); and at least one sensor (lidar sensor; See paragraph [0067), and wherein the robot cleaner (600) further includes one or more processors (19); and memory storing instructions (17), that when executed by the one or more processors (19), cause the robot cleaner (600) to control the first motor ((See paragraph [0106]) to move the mopping device (631) to one from among the first position (under the cleaning apparatus (600)) and the second position (See FIG. 6 of So et al. (‘699)) based on a sensing value of the at least one sensor (833).
Regarding claim 3, So et al. (‘699) as modified with So et al. (‘445) teaches that the main body has a circular shape (see semi-circular body in FIG. 6 of So et al. ‘699), with the mopping pad (631) is disposed inside an outer diameter of the main body (see semi-circular body in FIG. 6 of So et al. ‘699) based on the mopping device (631) being in the first position (See FIG. 6), and wherein the mopping pad (631) protrudes from the outer diameter of the main body (see semi-circular body in FIG. 6 of So et al. ‘699) to the outside of the main body (see semi-circular body in FIG. 6 of So et al. ‘699) within a predetermined range based on the mopping device (600) being in the second position (outside of the main body; See paragraph [0136] of So et al. ‘699).
Regarding claim 6, So et al. (‘699) as modified with So et al. (‘445) teaches that the at least one sensor (lidar sensor; See paragraph [0067] of So et al. (‘669)) comprises a distance detection sensor configured to recognize a surrounding object (See paragraph [0067]).
Regarding claim 7, So et al. (‘699) wherein the one or more processors (19) are configured to execute the instructions to cause the robot cleaner (600) to activate the distance detection sensor (lidar sensor) based on the mopping device (631) being moved to the second position (outward position).
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 4, 5 and 8-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
MICHAEL DEANGILO. JENNINGS
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MICHAEL D JENNINGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723