DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. US Patent Application Publication 2017/0264016 and Qin et al. CN Publication CN 117855813A (cited by applicant, see machine attached translation for cited references).
Regarding Claim 1, Huang et al. teaches an antenna system (Figs. 1-5), comprising:
a substrate (112 Figs. 1-3 Par. 0039);
a metallic heat sink (102 Figs. 1-3 Par. 0039) disposed above the substrate and comprising a body (Fig. 1); the body has a recess portion (H1 Figs. 1-2 Par. 0040), wherein the recess portion is recessed inwards from a peripheral edge of the body (Fig. 1); and
an antenna assembly (104 Figs. 1-3 Par. 0039) comprising a microstrip (208 Figs. 2-3 Par. 0042) and a radiating section (206, 202 Figs. 2-3 Par. 0041, 0042), wherein the microstrip is disposed on a surface of the substrate and is coupled to a signal source (Figs. 1-3 Par. 0040, 0042); the radiating section is connected to the body (Par. 0040) and is disposed in the recess portion (Figs. 1-3, 5); an end of the radiating section is disposed in a location adjacent to the microstrip (Figs. 1-3); the radiating section is excited by the microstrip using a coupling mechanism (coupling Par. 0040, 0041).
Huang et al. is silent on a heat dissipation structure, wherein the heat dissipation structure is disposed on the body.
However, Qin et al. teaches a heat dissipation structure (fins / metal structures of 120 Fig. 1 P. 4), wherein the heat dissipation structure is disposed on the body (body of 120 Fig. 1 P. 7).
In this particular case, providing the heat sink with a heat dissipation structure such as fins is common and well known in the art as evident by Qin et al. in order to dissipate / dispel heat generated by the system (P. 4, 7).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the metallic heat sink of Huang et al. with a heat dissipation structure disposed on the body based on the teachings of Qin et al. as a result effect in order to dissipate / dispel heat generated by the system.
Regarding Claim 2, Huang et al. as modified teaches wherein the recess portion has a U-shaped notch (U-shaped notch H1 Fig. 1); the U-shaped notch is formed through a first lateral side, a second lateral side, and a third lateral side subsequently connected to one another (3 lateral sides of H1 forming U-shape Fig. 1); an end of the radiating section is connected to the first lateral side or the third lateral side (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Huang et al. as modified teaches wherein the recess portion is a L-shaped notch (L-shaped notch corresponding to 120 better seen in H4 Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 4, Huang et al. as modified teaches wherein the body is integrated with the radiating section (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 5, Huang et al. as modified teaches wherein the body has a slot (slot for 120 Fig. 1) disposed in a location adjacent to the recess portion (Fig. 1); an end of the radiating section connected to the body has an engaging member matching with the slot (120 matching with slot Fig. 1 Par. 0039); the radiating section is able to be engaged with the slot through the engaging member to be connected to the body (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 6, Huang et al. as modified teaches wherein the metallic heat sink and the radiating section are made of the identical material which is aluminum or stainless steel (“aluminium, copper, stainless steel, etc.” Par. 0039 / Qin et al. aluminum P. 7).
Regarding Claim 7, Huang et al. as modified teaches wherein a gap is formed between the end of the radiating section adjacent to the microstrip and the microstrip (Figs. 1-3).
Regarding Claim 8, Huang et al. as modified teaches wherein the heat dissipation structure has a plurality of fins (Qin et al. fins / metal structures of 120 Fig. 1 P. 4 as modified in claim 1 above).
Regarding Claim 9, Huang et al. as modified teaches further comprising another antenna assembly (108 Fig. 1 Par. 0040 / “106, 108 and 110 are all the same with that of the first radiator 104-1 and the second radiator 104-2 of the dual band antenna 104” Par. 0040), wherein the another antenna assembly comprises another microstrip (206, 202 for 108 Figs. 2-3 Par. 0041, 0042) and another radiating section (208 for 108 Figs. 2-3 Par. 0042); the another microstrip is disposed on the surface of the substrate (Fig. 1) and is coupled to another signal source (Figs. 1-3 Par. 0040, 0042); the body has another recess portion (H3 Fig. 1 Par. 0040), wherein the another recess portion is recessed inwards from the peripheral edge of the body (Fig. 1); the another radiating section is connected to the body and is disposed in the another recess portion (Figs. 1-3); an end of the another radiating section is disposed in a location adjacent to the another microstrip (Figs. 1-3); the another radiating section is excited by the another microstrip using a coupling mechanism (coupling Par. 0040, 0041).
Regarding Claim 10, Huang et al. as modified teaches wherein the body has a first side and a second side different from the first side (Fig. 1); the recess portion is located on the first side (Fig. 1); the another recess portion is located on the second side (Fig. 1).
Conclusion
The cited art in PTO-892 was found during the examiner's search, but was not relied upon for this office action. However it is still considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure.
/MICHAEL M BOUIZZA/Examiner, Art Unit 2845