DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 10-13, 16-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agostini et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0054074, “Agostini”) in view of Wang (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0191949).
Regarding claim 1, Agostini discloses an oscillating heat pipe (fig 1), comprising:
an evaporator section (at 3);
a condenser section (at 4); and
a plurality of fluid channels (5) extending between the evaporator section and the condenser section, the plurality of fluid channels at least partially filled with a heat transfer fluid (¶0021);
However, Agostini does not explicitly disclose wherein an interior surface of a fluid channel of the plurality of fluid channels has a greater wettability at the condenser section than at the evaporator section. Wang, however, discloses a heat pipe (figs 11-13) wherein an interior surface of a fluid channel of the plurality of fluid channels has a greater wettability at the condenser section (at least at the portion shown below in annotated fig 13 below) than at the evaporator section (see annotated fig 12 below). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Agostini to provide the wicks of Wang in order to provide optimal circulation of the fluid through the heat pipe.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Agostini and Wang discloses all previous claim limitations. Agostini, as modified, further discloses wherein at the condenser section, a contact angle of a liquid phase of the heat transfer fluid to the interior surface that is less than 90 degrees (see annotated fig 13 below, Wang).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Agostini and Wang discloses all previous claim limitations. Agostini, as modified, further discloses wherein at the evaporator section, a contact angle (due to 400c, Wang) of a liquid phase of the heat transfer fluid to the interior surface that is greater than 90 degrees (see annotated fig 12 above, Wang).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Agostini and Wang discloses all previous claim limitations. Agostini, as modified, further discloses wherein the wettability of the interior surface increases via one or more step-wise increases (at the transition of 400c and 700c, Wang).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Agostini and Wang discloses all previous claim limitations. Agostini, as modified, further discloses one or more treatments (400c, 700c, Wang) applied to the interior surface to define the wettability of the interior surface.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Agostini and Wang discloses all previous claim limitations. Agostini, as modified, further discloses wherein the one or more treatments (400c, 700c, Wang) are one or more coatings.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Agostini and Wang discloses all previous claim limitations. Agostini, as modified, further discloses wherein the interior surface is treated (with 400c and 700c, Wang) at the condenser section and at the evaporator section, and wherein the interior surface at an intermediate section connecting the evaporator section to the condenser section is untreated (at least at the location shown below in annotated fig 13).
Regarding claim 11, Agostini discloses a thermal energy dissipation system, comprising:
a component (3); and
an oscillating heat pipe (fig 1) disposed at the component configured to remove thermal energy from the component, the oscillating heat pipe including:
an evaporator section (at 3);
a condenser section (at 4); and
a plurality of fluid channels (5) extending between the evaporator section and the condenser section, the plurality of fluid channels at least partially filled with a heat transfer fluid (¶0021);
However, Agostini does not explicitly disclose wherein an interior surface of a fluid channel of the plurality of fluid channels has a greater wettability at the condenser section than at the evaporator section. Wang, however, discloses a heat pipe (figs 11-13) wherein an interior surface of a fluid channel of the plurality of fluid channels has a greater wettability at the condenser section (at least at the portion shown below in annotated fig 13 below) than at the evaporator section (see annotated fig 12 below). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Agostini to provide the wicks of Wang in order to provide optimal circulation of the fluid through the heat pipe.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Agostini and Wang discloses all previous claim limitations. Agostini, as modified, further discloses wherein at the condenser section, a contact angle of a liquid phase of the heat transfer fluid to the interior surface that is less than 90 degrees (see annotated fig 13 below, Wang).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Agostini and Wang discloses all previous claim limitations. Agostini, as modified, further discloses wherein at the evaporator section, a contact angle (due to 400c, Wang) of a liquid phase of the heat transfer fluid to the interior surface that is greater than 90 degrees (see annotated fig 12 above, Wang).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Agostini and Wang discloses all previous claim limitations. Agostini, as modified, further discloses wherein the wettability of the interior surface increases via one or more step-wise increases (at the transition of 400c and 700c, Wang).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Agostini and Wang discloses all previous claim limitations. Agostini, as modified, further discloses one or more treatments (400c, 700c, Wang) applied to the interior surface to define the wettability of the interior surface.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Agostini and Wang discloses all previous claim limitations. Agostini, as modified, further discloses wherein the one or more treatments (400c, 700c, Wang) are one or more coatings.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Agostini and Wang discloses all previous claim limitations. Agostini, as modified, further discloses wherein the interior surface is treated (with 400c and 700c, Wang) at the condenser section and at the evaporator section, and wherein the interior surface at an intermediate section connecting the evaporator section to the condenser section is untreated (at least at the location shown below in annotated fig 13).
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 11, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agostini et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0054074, “Agostini”) in view of Hou et al. (U.S. Patent Publication NO. 2007/0246194, “Hou”).
Regarding claim 1, Agostini discloses an oscillating heat pipe (fig 1), comprising:
an evaporator section (at 3);
a condenser section (at 4); and
a plurality of fluid channels (5) extending between the evaporator section and the condenser section, the plurality of fluid channels at least partially filled with a heat transfer fluid (¶0021);
However, Agostini does not explicitly disclose wherein an interior surface of a fluid channel of the plurality of fluid channels has a greater wettability at the condenser section than at the evaporator section. Hou, however, discloses a heat pipe (fig 5) wherein an interior surface of a fluid channel of the plurality of fluid channels has a greater wettability at the condenser section (due to the larger pores of 230) than at the evaporator section (due to the smaller portions of 230, ¶0019). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Agostini to provide the wicks of Hou in order to provide optimal circulation of the fluid through the heat pipe.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Agostini and Wang discloses all previous claim limitations. Agostini, as modified, further discloses wherein the wettability of the interior surface increases continuously from the evaporator section to the condenser section (fig 5).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Agostini and Wang discloses all previous claim limitations. Agostini, as modified, further discloses wherein the wettability increases continuously linearly (Fig 5).
Regarding claim 11, Agostini discloses a thermal energy dissipation system, comprising:
a component (3); and
an oscillating heat pipe (fig 1) disposed at the component configured to remove thermal energy from the component, the oscillating heat pipe including:
an evaporator section (at 3);
a condenser section (at 4); and
a plurality of fluid channels (5) extending between the evaporator section and the condenser section, the plurality of fluid channels at least partially filled with a heat transfer fluid (¶0021);
However, Agostini does not explicitly disclose wherein an interior surface of a fluid channel of the plurality of fluid channels has a greater wettability at the condenser section than at the evaporator section. Hou, however, discloses a heat pipe (fig 5) wherein an interior surface of a fluid channel of the plurality of fluid channels has a greater wettability at the condenser section (due to the larger pores of 230) than at the evaporator section (due to the smaller portions of 230, ¶0019). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Agostini to provide the wicks of Hou in order to provide optimal circulation of the fluid through the heat pipe.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Agostini and Wang discloses all previous claim limitations. Agostini, as modified, further discloses wherein the wettability of the interior surface increases continuously from the evaporator section to the condenser section (fig 5).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Agostini and Wang discloses all previous claim limitations. Agostini, as modified, further disclose wherein the wettability increases continuously linearly (Fig 5).
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agostini and Wang as applied to claims 8 and 18 above, and further in view of Kempers et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0083653, “Kempers”).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Agostini and Wang discloses all previous claim limitations. However, they do not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more coatings are one or more of a polymer material, a silica material, or a metal oxide material. Kempers, however, discloses a heat pipe wherein a coating is a polymer material. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Agostini, as modified, to provide the polymer material of Kempers in order to optimize the flow of the fluid through the heat pipe.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Agostini and Wang discloses all previous claim limitations. However, they do not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more coatings are one or more of a polymer material, a silica material, or a metal oxide material. Kempers, however, discloses a heat pipe wherein a coating is a polymer material. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Agostini, as modified, to provide the polymer material of Kempers in order to optimize the flow of the fluid through the heat pipe.
Conclusion
/HARRY E ARANT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763