DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-9, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 6495874 in view of CN 112783148.
Regarding claim 1, JP 6495874 discloses a method of guiding an autonomous guided vehicle (AGV) (At least automatic guided vehicle, 10), comprising: determining, by one or more processors of the AGV (At least AGV; 10/control unit, 11; power supply unit 12; drive unit 13; detection unit 14; reading unit, 15; communication unit, 16; storage unit, 17), that a first work operation performed at a first assembly station on a work-in-progress (WIP) piece coupled to the AGV has been completed (At least when automated guided vehicle, 10 transports from work place 40, to work place, 41 after an assembly/machining process are performed); responsive to determining that the first work operation has been completed, switching, by the one or more processors, the AGV into an autonomy mode; navigating, by the one or more processors, the AGV to a second assembly station (At least when the automated guided vehicle, 10 performs a predetermined operation in the waiting area, W according to a route file, F and then subsequently transfers the work place to work place 41 via the automated guided vehicle); determining, by the one or more processors, that the AGV has arrived at the second assembly station; adjusting, by the one or more processors, the WIP piece to facilitate a second work operation to be performed at the second assembly station; and switching, by the one or more processors, the AGV from the autonomy mode into a standby mode while the second work operation is performed on the WIP piece (At least where automatic guided vehicle, 10 moves to and wait in work place 41 and performs a predetermined, prescribed operation, movement at the entrance of the work place).
JP 6495874 does not expressly use the term “adjusting” of the WIP; however, JP 6495874 does disclose that the automatic guided vehicle is maneuvered into a particular position so that the work can be completed at both work places 40/41. Based on the breadth of the claim, a PHOSITA would have readily recognized at the time of effective filing that JP 6495874 necessarily meets the limitation of adjusting the WIP via the movement between the work places in the movement and positioning of the work piece in different work places.
Nevertheless, CN 112783148 is relied upon to teach adjusting a work piece (At least where the automatic guiding vehicle performs a lifting operation with a lifter to facilitate work on a component).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of effective filing to have modified the automatic guided vehicle of JP 6495874 to have a lifter, as taught by CN 112783148, in order to provide the ability of moving/adjusting a piece to be worked on so that the piece can be moved to different heights to accommodate a wider range of operations for greater usability of the AGV.
Regarding claim 2, the previous combination of JP 6495874/CN 112783148 disclose the claimed invention except for the obstacle detection recitations.
Nevertheless, CN 112783148 teaches an AGV which performs detecting, by the one or more processors, an obstacle in a path of the AGV; plotting, by the one or more processors, a route for the autonomous guided vehicle around the obstacle; and autonomously navigating, by the one or more processors, the AGV along the route (At least where the AGV is disclosed as having an embedded controller coupled to a path generation module, route traveling module, and a sensor module cooperating to sense an obstacle on a path; and the precise driving module is used for calculating the shortest distance on the path according to the sensed obstacles and selecting to stop or change the direction to change the path).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of effective filing to have modified the automatic guided vehicle of JP 6495874/ CN 112783148 to have a means for detecting an obstacle and routing the vehicle around the obstacle, as taught by CN 112783148, in order to provide the ability of the AGV to accommodate for externalities along the path without preventing the vehicle from reaching its destination for improved workflow management capability.
Regarding claim 6, the primary reference, JP 6495874 discloses aligning, by the one or more processors, the AGV with the second assembly station prior to switching the AGV from the autonomy mode into the standby mode (At least when the AGV moves into an entrance of the second work area entrance location before performing a waiting function).
JP 6495874 does not expressly use the term “aligning” of the WIP; however, JP 6495874 does disclose that the automatic guided vehicle is maneuvered into a particular position so that the work can be completed at both work places 40/41. Based on the breadth of the claim, a PHOSITA would have readily recognized at the time of effective filing that JP 6495874 necessarily meets the limitation of adjusting the WIP via the movement between the work places in the movement and positioning of the work piece in different work places.
Nevertheless, CN 112783148 teaches adjusting a work piece (At least where the automatic guiding vehicle performs a lifting operation with a lifter to facilitate work on a component).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of effective filing to have modified the automatic guided vehicle of JP 6495874 to have a lifter, as taught by CN 112783148, in order to provide the ability of moving/adjusting a piece to be worked on so that the piece can be moved to different heights to accommodate a wider range of operations for greater usability of the AGV.
Regarding claim 7, the primary reference, JP 6495874 discloses aligning, by the one or more processors, the WIP piece to be at least one of received by or worked on at the second assembly station (At least where automatic guided vehicle, 10 moves to and wait in work place 41 and performs a predetermined, prescribed operation, movement at the entrance of the work place).
JP 6495874 does not expressly use the term “aligning” of the WIP; however, JP 6495874 does disclose that the automatic guided vehicle is maneuvered into a particular position so that the work can be completed at both work places 40/41. Based on the breadth of the claim, a PHOSITA would have readily recognized at the time of effective filing that JP 6495874 necessarily meets the limitation of adjusting the WIP via the movement between the work places in the movement and positioning of the work piece in different work places.
Nevertheless, CN 112783148 teaches adjusting a work piece (At least where the automatic guiding vehicle performs a lifting operation with a lifter to facilitate work on a component).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of effective filing to have modified the automatic guided vehicle of JP 6495874 to have a lifter, as taught by CN 112783148, in order to provide the ability of moving/adjusting a piece to be worked on so that the piece can be moved to different heights to accommodate a wider range of operations for greater usability of the AGV.
Regarding claim 8, the primary reference, JP 6495874 discloses the claimed method, but does not disclose the specifics regarding the lifting.
Nevertheless, CN 112783148 teaches determining, by the one or more processors, that vertical motion of the WIP piece is required; responsive to determining that the vertical motion is required, switching, by the one or more processors, the autonomous guided vehicle into a guided mode; and commanding, by the one or more processors, the AGV to perform a lift function until a target height is attained (At least via the lifting process provided by the lifter to position the work product for a work operation).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of effective filing to have modified the automatic guided vehicle of JP 6495874 to have a lifter, as taught by CN 112783148, in order to provide the ability of moving/adjusting a piece to be worked on so that the piece can be moved to different heights to accommodate a wider range of operations for greater usability of the AGV.
Regarding claim 9, the primary reference, JP 6495874 discloses autonomously navigating the AGV to the second assembly station comprises: driving, by the one or more processors, the AGV along a route between sequential waypoints; and upon arrival of the AGV at each waypoint, transmitting, by the one or more processors, a notification of arrival at the corresponding waypoint (At least via the route plan whereby the AGV moves from entrances and exits associated with the various work places and storage location along the route plan).
Regarding claim 16, JP 6495874 discloses an autonomous guided vehicle (AGV) (At least automatic guided vehicle, 10) comprising: a mobile platform configured to carry a work-in-progress (WIP) piece (10); and a processing circuit having one or more processors coupled to one or more memories having instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors (At least AGV; 10/control unit, 11; power supply unit 12; drive unit 13; detection unit 14; reading unit, 15; communication unit, 16; storage unit, 17; route file, F) to: navigate the AGV in an autonomy mode along a path toward an assembly station (At least movement of the AGV to a work place); determine that the AGV has arrived at the assembly station; and switch the AGV from the autonomy mode into a standby mode while a work operation is performed on the WIP piece (At least via the entrance recognition and subsequent placement into a waiting mode during work operations).
However, JP 6495874 does not expressly discuss obstacle detection and a response action.
Nevertheless, CN 112783148 discloses an AGV that detects an obstacle in the path; perform a response action for responding to the obstacle; subsequent to performing the response action, continue navigation of the AGV toward the assembly station (At least where the AGV is disclosed as having an embedded controller coupled to a path generation module, route traveling module, and a sensor module cooperating to sense an obstacle on a path; and the precise driving module is used for calculating the shortest distance on the path according to the sensed obstacles and selecting to stop or change the direction to change the path).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of effective filing to have modified the automatic guided vehicle of JP 6495874/ CN 112783148 to have a means for detecting an obstacle and routing the vehicle around the obstacle, as taught by CN 112783148, in order to provide the ability of the AGV to accommodate for externalities along the path without preventing the vehicle from reaching its destination for improved workflow.
Regarding claim 17, the primary reference, JP 6495874 discloses movement of an AGV into a position at a work place where work can be completed.
JP 6495874 does not expressly use the term “adjusting” of the WIP; however, JP 6495874 does disclose that the automatic guided vehicle is maneuvered into a particular position so that the work can be completed at both work places 40/41. Based on the breadth of the claim, a PHOSITA would have readily recognized at the time of effective filing that JP 6495874 necessarily meets the limitation of adjusting the WIP via the movement between the work places in the movement and positioning of the work piece in different work places.
Nevertheless, CN 112783148 teaches adjusting a work piece (At least where the automatic guiding vehicle performs a lifting operation with a lifter to facilitate work on a component).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of effective filing to have modified the automatic guided vehicle of JP 6495874 to have a lifter, as taught by CN 112783148, in order to provide the ability of moving/adjusting a piece to be worked on so that the piece can be moved to different heights to accommodate a wider range of operations for greater usability of the AGV.
Claims 3-5, 10-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 6495874 in view of CN 112783148 and in further view of JP 2020181434.
Regarding claim 3, JP 6495874/ CN 112783148 discloses the claimed invention except for the waiting of obstacle removal and subsequent resuming of travel.
Nevertheless, JP 2020181434 teaches detecting, by the one or more processors, an obstacle in a path of the AGV; pausing, by the one or more processors, navigation of the AGV; determining, by the one or more processors, that the obstacle has been removed from the path of the AGV; and responsive to determining that the obstacle has been removed from the path of the AGV, resuming, by the one or more processors, navigation of the autonomous guided vehicle (At least where the second confirmation is executed and a person is no longer recognized and the standby state is released so that the vehicle can continue movement).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of effective filing to have modified the automatic guided vehicle of JP 6495874/ CN 112783148 to have a means for detecting an obstacle and putting the AGV in standby until the obstacle is removed, as taught by JP 2020181434, in order to provide the ability of the AGV to accommodate for obstacle removal based on obstacle type to avoid unnecessary route re-mapping to reduce the amount of resources spent on route planning and unnecessary travel which could impact other vehicles and the self-vehicle’s wear and tear.
Regarding claim 4, JP 6495874/ CN 112783148 discloses the claimed invention except for entry into standby mode when an obstacle is not removed from the AGV’s path.
Nevertheless, JP 2020181434 teaches detecting, by the one or more processors, an obstacle in a path of the AGV; pausing, by the one or more processors, navigation of the AGV; determining, by the one or more processors, that a configurable time period associated with the obstacle has elapsed without the obstacle being removed from the path of the AGV; and responsive to determining that the configurable time period has elapsed without the obstacle being removed from the path of the AGV, switching, by the one or more processors, the AGV into the standby mode (At least where the vehicle performs an information confirmation operation after detection of a person in the path, executes a second information confirmation operation, and stops functionality and enters a standby state after a period of time for image confirmation and to generate a voice prompt).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of effective filing to have modified the automatic guided vehicle of JP 6495874/ CN 112783148 to have a means for detecting an obstacle and putting the AGV in standby when an obstacle is not removed, as taught by JP 2020181434, in order to provide a means for improving safety of the vehicle via a forced standby mode where an obstacle is not removed.
Regarding claim 5, JP 6495874/ CN 112783148 discloses the claimed invention except for resuming of navigation when an obstacle is removed.
Nevertheless, JP 2020181434 teaches subsequent to switching the AGV into the standby mode responsive to determining that the configurable time period has elapsed without the obstacle being removed from the path of the AGV, determining that the obstacle has been removed from the path of the AGV; switching, by the one or more processors, the AGV into the autonomy mode; and resuming, by the one or more processors, the navigation of the AGV (At least where the second confirmation is executed and a person is no longer recognized and the standby state is released so that the vehicle can continue movement).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of effective filing to have modified the automatic guided vehicle of JP 6495874/ CN 112783148 to have a means for detecting an obstacle and putting the AGV in standby until the obstacle is removed, as taught by JP 2020181434, in order to provide the ability of the AGV to accommodate for obstacle removal based on obstacle type to avoid unnecessary route re-mapping to reduce the amount of resources spent on route planning and unnecessary travel which could impact other vehicles and the self-vehicle’s wear and tear.
Regarding claim 10, JP 6495874 discloses a method of guiding an autonomous guided vehicle (AGV) (At least automatic guided vehicle, 10), comprising: navigating, by one or more processors of the AGV, the AGV in an autonomy mode along a path toward a destination (At least AGV; 10/control unit, 11; power supply unit 12; drive unit 13; detection unit 14; reading unit, 15; communication unit, 16; storage unit, 17; route file, F), but does not disclose the obstacle detection and navigation limitations.
Nevertheless, CN 112783148 teaches detecting, by the one or more processors, an obstacle in the path; determining, by the one or more processors, a characteristic of the obstacle; performing, by the one or more processors, a response action for responding to the obstacle based at least in part on the characteristic of the obstacle; and subsequent to performing the response action, continuing, by the one or more processors, navigation of the AGV to the destination (At least where the AGV is disclosed as having an embedded controller coupled to a path generation module, route traveling module, and a sensor module cooperating to sense an obstacle on a path; and the precise driving module is used for calculating the shortest distance on the path according to the sensed obstacles and selecting to stop or change the direction to change the path).
Even though CN 112783148 does not expressly disclose the term “characteristic” of the obstacle, a PHOSITA would have readily recognized at the time of effective filing that CN 112783148 necessarily covers this limitation since CN 112783148 offers the solution of navigating around the obstacle to continue on the AGV’s course. As such, it would be necessary for the AGV to observe at least the obstacle’s size to perform an alternative routing operation so that the AGV does not collide with the obstacle and an appropriate response is achieved.
Nevertheless, JP 2020181434 is relied upon as teaching that the vehicle recognizes a characteristic of the obstacle (At least via the ability to identify a type of obstacle).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of effective filing to have modified the AGV of JP 6495874 to have included obstacle detection where a characteristic of an obstacle is to perform a responsive action, as taught by JP 2020181434, in order to ensure that the appropriate action is taken based on the obstacle-type so that safety can be improved while minimizing impact on the AGV travel.
Regarding claim 11, the previous combination of JP 6495874 / CN 112783148 / JP 2020181434 discloses the claimed invention except for the specifics regarding the obstacle characteristics.
JP 2020181434 teaches that the characteristic of the obstacle comprises at least one of a size of the obstacle, a shape of the obstacle, a movement state of the obstacle, or whether the obstacle is a person (At least where a person is identified).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of effective filing to have modified the AGV of JP 6495874 / CN 112783148 / JP 2020181434 to have included obstacle detection of a person, as taught by JP 2020181434, in order to increase the safety of the AGV by halting operations when a person is identified as the obstacle.
Regarding claim 12, the previous combination of JP 6495874 / CN 112783148 / JP 2020181434 discloses the claimed invention except for the specifics regarding the navigational specifics.
Nevertheless, CN 112783148 teaches the response action comprises: plotting, by the one or more processors, a route for the AGV around the obstacle; and navigating, by the one or more processors, the AGV along the route (At least where the AGV is disclosed as having an embedded controller coupled to a path generation module, route traveling module, and a sensor module cooperating to sense an obstacle on a path; and the precise driving module is used for calculating the shortest distance on the path according to the sensed obstacles and selecting to stop or change the direction to change the path).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of effective filing to have modified the automatic guided vehicle of JP 6495874 / CN 112783148 / JP 2020181434 to have a means for detecting an obstacle and routing the vehicle around the obstacle, as taught by CN 112783148, in order to provide the ability of the AGV to accommodate for externalities along the path without preventing the vehicle from reaching its destination for improved workflow.
Regarding claim 13, the previous combination of JP 6495874 / CN 112783148 / JP 2020181434 discloses the claimed invention except for the specifics regarding the navigational specifics.
Nevertheless, JP 2020181434 teaches that the response action comprises: pausing, by the one or more processors, navigation of the AGV; determining, by the one or more processors, that the obstacle has been removed from the path of the AGV; and responsive to determining that the obstacle has been removed from the path of the AGV, resuming, by the one or more processors, navigation of the autonomous guided vehicle (At least where the second confirmation is executed and a person is no longer recognized and the standby state is released so that the vehicle can continue movement).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of effective filing to have modified the automatic guided vehicle of JP 6495874 / CN 112783148 / JP 2020181434 to have a means for detecting an obstacle and putting the AGV in standby until the obstacle is removed, as taught by JP 2020181434, in order to provide the ability of the AGV to accommodate for obstacle removal based on obstacle type to avoid unnecessary route re-mapping to reduce the amount of resources spent on route planning and unnecessary travel which could impact other vehicles and the self-vehicle’s wear and tear.
Regarding claim 14, the previous combination of JP 6495874 / CN 112783148 / JP 2020181434 discloses the claimed invention except for the specifics regarding the navigational specifics.
Nevertheless, JP 2020181434 teaches that the response action comprises: pausing, by the one or more processors, navigation of the AGV; determining, by the one or more processors, that a configurable time period associated with the obstacle has elapsed without the obstacle being removed from the path of the AGV; and responsive to determining that the configurable time period has elapsed without the obstacle being removed from the path of the AGV, switching, by the one or more processors, the AGV into a standby mode (At least where the vehicle performs an information confirmation operation after detection of a person in the path, executes a second information confirmation operation, and stops functionality and enters a standby state after a period of time for image confirmation and to generate a voice prompt).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of effective filing to have modified the automatic guided vehicle of JP 6495874 / CN 112783148 / JP 2020181434 to have a means for detecting an obstacle and putting the AGV in standby when an obstacle is not removed, as taught by JP 2020181434, in order to provide a means for improving safety of the vehicle via a forced standby mode where an obstacle is not removed.
Regarding claim 15, the previous combination of JP 6495874 / CN 112783148 / JP 2020181434 discloses the claimed invention except for the specifics regarding the obstacle characteristics.
JP 2020181434 teaches that the configurable time period is based on the characteristic of the obstacle (At least where a person is identified and subsequent confirmation steps are taken over a period of time).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of effective filing to have modified the AGV of JP 6495874 / CN 112783148 / JP 2020181434 to have included obstacle detection of a person, as taught by JP 2020181434, in order to increase the safety of the AGV by halting operations when a person is identified as the obstacle.
Regarding claim 18, the previous combination of JP 6495874 / CN 112783148 discloses the claimed invention except for the specifics regarding the obstacle characteristics.
JP 2020181434 teaches that the instructions further cause the one or more processors to determine a characteristic of the obstacle, and wherein the response action is performed based at least in part on the characteristic of the obstacle (At least where a person is identified and a subsequent confirmation procedure is utilized to generate an appropriate response).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of effective filing to have modified the AGV of JP 6495874 / CN 112783148 / JP 2020181434 to have included obstacle detection of a person, as taught by JP 2020181434, in order to increase the safety of the AGV by halting operations when a person is identified as the obstacle.
Regarding claim 19, the previous combination of JP 6495874 / CN 112783148 / JP 2020181434 discloses the claimed invention except for the specifics regarding the obstacle characteristics.
JP 2020181434 teaches that the characteristic of the obstacle comprises at least one of a size of the obstacle, a shape of the obstacle, a movement state of the obstacle, or whether the obstacle is a person (At least where a person is identified and a subsequent confirmation procedure is utilized to generate an appropriate response).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of effective filing to have modified the AGV of JP 6495874 / CN 112783148 / JP 2020181434 to have included obstacle detection of a person, as taught by JP 2020181434, in order to increase the safety of the AGV by halting operations when a person is identified as the obstacle.
Regarding claim 20, the previous combination of JP 6495874 / CN 112783148 / JP 2020181434 discloses the claimed invention except for the specifics regarding the navigational specifics.
Nevertheless, JP 2020181434 teaches that the response action comprises: pausing navigation of the AGV; determining that a configurable time period corresponding to the characteristic of the obstacle has elapsed without the obstacle being removed from the path of the AGV; and responsive to determining that the configurable time period has elapsed without the obstacle being removed from the path of the AGV, switching the AGV into the standby mode (At least where the vehicle performs an information confirmation operation after detection of a person in the path, executes a second information confirmation operation, and stops functionality and enters a standby state after a period of time for image confirmation and to generate a voice prompt).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of effective filing to have modified the automatic guided vehicle of JP 6495874 / CN 112783148 / JP 2020181434 to have a means for detecting an obstacle and putting the AGV in standby when an obstacle is not removed, as taught by JP 2020181434, in order to provide a means for improving safety of the vehicle via a forced standby mode where an obstacle is not removed.
Conclusion
/BRODIE J FOLLMAN/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669