DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09 July 2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Fig. 1 contains two views: 1) a perspective view of a silt fence post and 2) an exploded view of a fastener. Each figure should only illustrate a single view and should be assigned a unique figure ID. Examiner suggests renumbering the two views of Fig. 1 as Figs. 1A and 1B, or something similar. The specification should be amended accordingly.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 - 7 and 9 - 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 1 of claim 2, “Claim” should be changed to “claim”. Similar changes should be made in claims 3 - 7 and 9 - 14.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyhamn (US 2015/0322636) in view of Billings (US 2017/0370120) and Trill (US 2002/0005512).
Regarding claim 1, Lyhamn discloses a silt fence post, comprising: a body (6) having a first end and an opposing ground end (pointed tip of post 6), and a connection assembly (lathes 8; screws 10), the body having a plurality of apertures (holes, not shown, in the post 6 into which the screws 10 are inserted) formed therethrough for receiving the connection assembly, and the connection assembly being configured to attach silt fencing (sheeting 2) to the body (6) (Fig. 3; abstract; paragraphs 0023 and 0029). Lyhamn fails to disclose a cap attached to the body proximate the first end, and the ground end being removable from the body. Billings teaches a cap (5) attached to the body (shaft 3 of post 1) proximate the first end (Figs. 1 - 4; paragraphs 0005 and 0017) to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the post as disclosed above with the cap as taught by Billings to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post. Billings fails to teach the ground end being removable from the body. Trill teaches the ground end (tip 30 or tip 32) being removable from the body (Figs. 4A and 4B; paragraphs 0032 and 0037). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the post as disclosed above with the removable ground end as taught by Trill to allow the shape of the ground end to be modified based upon the properties of the soil strata into which the post is inserted.
Regarding claim 2, Lyhamn fails to disclose the cap is unitarily formed with the body, the cap being configured to prevent impalement and to provide protection when the post is being inserted into ground. Billings teaches the cap (5) is unitarily formed with the body (3), the cap being configured to prevent impalement and to provide protection when the post is being inserted into ground (Figs. 1 - 4; paragraphs 0005 and 0017) to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the post as disclosed above with the cap as taught by Billings to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post.
Regarding claim 3, Lyhamn further discloses the body (6) and the ground end (pointed tip of post 6) are made of metal (paragraph 0029). Lyhamn fails to disclose the cap is made of metal. Billings teaches a cap (5) and the body (3) are made of metal (paragraph 0017). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the metal post comprising a body and a ground end as disclosed above with the cap as taught by Billings to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post.
Regarding claim 4, Lyhamn in view of Billings and Trill discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the body is square in cross section. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have substituted a square cross sectional shape for the circular cross section as disclosed above, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d. 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 5, Lyhamn further discloses the connection assembly includes a plurality of apertures (apertures, not shown, in lathe 8 through which screws are inserted into post 6) formed therethrough for attaching the silt fence (2) (Fig. 3; paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 6, Lyhamn further discloses the connection assembly includes a plurality of connectors (screws 10) configured for insertion through the connection assembly, through the silt fencing, and into the post (6) (Fig. 3; paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 7, Lyhamn further discloses the ground end (pointed tip of post 6) is selected to accommodate different ground conditions (Fig. 3). Assuming arguendo that claim 7 requires the ground end is selected from a plurality of shapes and/or sizes, Trill teaches the ground end (tip 30 or tip 32) being removable from the body, wherein the ground end can have different shapes and/or sizes (Figs. 4A and 4B; paragraphs 0032 and 0037). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the post as disclosed above with the removable ground end as taught by Trill to allow the shape of the ground end to be modified based upon the properties of the soil strata into which the post is inserted.
Claims 1 - 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright, III (US 4,756,511) in view of Billings and Trill.
Regarding claim 1, Wright discloses a silt fence post, comprising: a body (main body portion 14) having a first end and an opposing ground end (pointed end 16), and a connection assembly (mounting strip 20, fasteners 22 comprising staples, nails, screws, or tacks), the body having a plurality of apertures (holes, not shown, in the body 14 into which the fasteners 22 are inserted) formed therethrough for receiving the connection assembly, and the connection assembly being configured to attach silt fencing (web 18) to the body (14) (Figs. 1, 2, and 4; col. 1, line 51 - col. 2, line 37). Wright fails to disclose a cap attached to the body proximate the first end, and the ground end being removable from the body. Billings teaches a cap (5) attached to the body (shaft 3 of post 1) proximate the first end (Figs. 1 - 4; paragraphs 0005 and 0017) to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the post as disclosed above with the cap as taught by Billings to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post. Billings fails to teach the ground end being removable from the body. Trill teaches the ground end (tip 30 or tip 32) being removable from the body (Figs. 4A and 4B; paragraphs 0032 and 0037). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the post as disclosed above with the removable ground end as taught by Trill to allow the shape of the ground end to be modified based upon the properties of the soil strata into which the post is inserted.
Regarding claim 2, Wright fails to disclose the cap is unitarily formed with the body, the cap being configured to prevent impalement and to provide protection when the post is being inserted into ground. Billings teaches the cap (5) is unitarily formed with the body (3), the cap being configured to prevent impalement and to provide protection when the post is being inserted into ground (Figs. 1 - 4; paragraphs 0005 and 0017) to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the post as disclosed above with the cap as taught by Billings to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post.
Regarding claim 3, Wright further discloses the body (14) and the ground end (16) can be made of any suitable material (col. 1, line 57). Wright fails to disclose the cap, the body, and the ground end are made of metal. Billings teaches a cap (5), the body (3), and the ground end (bottom end of body 3) are made of metal (paragraph 0017). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the post as disclosed above with the cap as taught by Billings to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the material of which the cap, body, and ground end as disclosed above with the metal material as taught by Billings as a design consideration within the skill of the art, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 4, Wright further discloses the body of stake 12 may be of any suitable shape (col. 1, line 57). Wright in view of Billings and Trill discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the body is square in cross section. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have substituted a square cross sectional shape for the circular cross section as disclosed above, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d. 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 5, Wright further discloses the connection assembly includes a plurality of apertures (apertures, not shown, in strip 20 through which fasteners 22 are inserted into post 12) formed therethrough for attaching the silt fence (18) (Figs. 2 - 4).
Regarding claim 6, Wright further discloses the connection assembly includes a plurality of connectors (fasteners 22) configured for insertion through the connection assembly (20), through the silt fencing (18), and into the post (12) (Figs. 2 - 4; col. 2, lines 29 - 34).
Regarding claim 7, Wright further discloses the ground end (16) is selected to accommodate different ground conditions (Figs. 2 and 4). Assuming arguendo that claim 7 requires the ground end is selected from a plurality of shapes and/or sizes, Trill teaches the ground end (tip 30 or tip 32) being removable from the body, wherein the ground end can have different shapes and/or sizes (Figs. 4A and 4B; paragraphs 0032 and 0037). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the post as disclosed above with the removable ground end as taught by Trill to allow the shape of the ground end to be modified based upon the properties of the soil strata into which the post is inserted.
Claims 8 - 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyhamn in view of Billings, Trill, and Smith (US 9,003,722).
Regarding claim 8, Lyhamn discloses a silt fence post, comprising: a body (6) having a first end and an opposing ground end (pointed tip of post 6), and a connection assembly (lathes 8; screws 10), the body having a plurality of apertures (holes, not shown, in the post 6 into which the screws 10 are inserted) formed therethrough for receiving the connection assembly, and the connection assembly being configured to attach silt fencing (sheeting 2) to the body (6) (Fig. 3; abstract; paragraphs 0023 and 0029). Lyhamn fails to disclose a cap attached to the first end, the ground end being removable from the body, and a kick plate attachable to the body, the kick plate being configured to strengthen the body to external forces. Billings teaches a cap (5) attached to the first end of body (shaft 3 of post 1) (Figs. 1 - 4; paragraphs 0005 and 0017) to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the post as disclosed above with the cap as taught by Billings to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post. Billings fails to teach the ground end being removable from the body, and a kick plate attachable to the body, the kick plate being configured to strengthen the body to external forces. Trill teaches the ground end (tip 30 or tip 32) being removable from the body (Figs. 4A and 4B; paragraphs 0032 and 0037). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the post as disclosed above with the removable ground end as taught by Trill to allow the shape of the ground end to be modified based upon the properties of the soil strata into which the post is inserted. Trill fails to teach a kick plate attachable to the body, the kick plate being configured to strengthen the body to external forces. Smith teaches a kick plate (stabilizing element 4) attachable to the body (1), the kick plate being configured to strengthen the body to external forces (Figs. 1, 4, 5, and 19; col. 13, line 66 - col. 14, line 26) to improve the stability of the post when installed into the ground. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the apparatus as disclosed above with the kick plate as taught by Smith to improve the stability of the post when installed into the ground.
Regarding claim 9, Lyhamn fails to disclose the cap is unitarily formed with the body, the cap being configured to prevent impalement and to provide protection when the post is being inserted into ground. Billings teaches the cap (5) is unitarily formed with the body (3), the cap being configured to prevent impalement and to provide protection when the post is being inserted into ground (Figs. 1 - 4; paragraphs 0005 and 0017) to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the post as disclosed above with the cap as taught by Billings to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post.
Regarding claim 10, Lyhamn further discloses the body (6) and the ground end (pointed tip of post 6) are made of metal (paragraph 0029). Lyhamn fails to disclose the cap is made of metal. Billings teaches a cap (5) and the body (3) are made of metal (paragraph 0017). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the metal post comprising a body and a ground end as disclosed above with the cap as taught by Billings to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post.
Regarding claim 11, Lyhamn in view of Billings, Trill, and Smith discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the body is square in cross section. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have substituted a square cross sectional shape for the circular cross section as disclosed above, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d. 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 12, Lyhamn further discloses the connection assembly includes a plurality of apertures (apertures, not shown, in lathe 8 through which screws are inserted into post 6) formed therethrough for attaching the silt fence (2) (Fig. 3; paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 13, Lyhamn further discloses the connection assembly includes a plurality of connectors (screws 10) configured for insertion through the connection assembly, through the silt fencing, and into the post (6) (Fig. 3; paragraph 0029).
Claims 8 - 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright, III (US 4,756,511) in view of Billings, Trill, and Smith.
Regarding claim 8, Wright discloses a silt fence post, comprising: a body (main body portion 14) having a first end and an opposing ground end (pointed end 16), and a connection assembly (mounting strip 20, fasteners 22 comprising staples, nails, screws, or tacks), the body having a plurality of apertures (holes, not shown, in the body 14 into which the fasteners 22 are inserted) formed therethrough for receiving the connection assembly, and the connection assembly being configured to attach silt fencing (web 18) to the body (14) (Figs. 1, 2, and 4; col. 1, line 51 - col. 2, line 37). Wright fails to disclose a cap attached to the first end, the ground end being removable from the body, and a kick plate attachable to the body, the kick plate being configured to strengthen the body to external forces. Billings teaches a cap (5) attached to the first end of the body (shaft 3 of post 1) (Figs. 1 - 4; paragraphs 0005 and 0017) to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the post as disclosed above with the cap as taught by Billings to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post. Billings fails to teach the ground end being removable from the body, and a kick plate attachable to the body, the kick plate being configured to strengthen the body to external forces. Trill teaches the ground end (tip 30 or tip 32) being removable from the body (Figs. 4A and 4B; paragraphs 0032 and 0037). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the post as disclosed above with the removable ground end as taught by Trill to allow the shape of the ground end to be modified based upon the properties of the soil strata into which the post is inserted. Trill fails to teach a kick plate attachable to the body, the kick plate being configured to strengthen the body to external forces. Smith teaches a kick plate (stabilizing element 4) attachable to the body (1), the kick plate being configured to strengthen the body to external forces (Figs. 1, 4, 5, and 19; col. 13, line 66 - col. 14, line 26) to improve the stability of the post when installed into the ground. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the apparatus as disclosed above with the kick plate as taught by Smith to improve the stability of the post when installed into the ground.
Regarding claim 9, Wright fails to disclose the cap is unitarily formed with the body, the cap being configured to prevent impalement and to provide protection when the post is being inserted into ground. Billings teaches the cap (5) is unitarily formed with the body (3), the cap being configured to prevent impalement and to provide protection when the post is being inserted into ground (Figs. 1 - 4; paragraphs 0005 and 0017) to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the post as disclosed above with the cap as taught by Billings to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post.
Regarding claim 10, Wright further discloses the body (14) and the ground end (16) can be made of any suitable material (col. 1, line 57). Wright fails to disclose the cap, the body, and the ground end are made of metal. Billings teaches a cap (5), the body (3), and the ground end (bottom end of body 3) are made of metal (paragraph 0017). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the post as disclosed above with the cap as taught by Billings to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the material of which the cap, body, and ground end as disclosed above with the metal material as taught by Billings as a design consideration within the skill of the art, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 11, Wright further discloses the body of stake 12 may be of any suitable shape (col. 1, line 57). Wright in view of Billings, Trill, and Smith discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the body is square in cross section. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have substituted a square cross sectional shape for the circular cross section as disclosed above, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d. 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 12, Wright further discloses the connection assembly includes a plurality of apertures (apertures, not shown, in strip 20 through which fasteners 22 are inserted into post 12) formed therethrough for attaching the silt fence (18) (Figs. 2 - 4).
Regarding claim 13, Wright further discloses the connection assembly includes a plurality of connectors (fasteners 22) configured for insertion through the connection assembly (20), through the silt fencing (18), and into the post (12) (Figs. 2 - 4; col. 2, lines 29 - 34).
Claims 8 - 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyhamn in view of Billings, Trill, and Zock (US 2019/0176059).
Regarding claim 8, Lyhamn discloses a silt fence post, comprising: a body (6) having a first end and an opposing ground end (pointed tip of post 6), and a connection assembly (lathes 8; screws 10), the body having a plurality of apertures (holes, not shown, in the post 6 into which the screws 10 are inserted) formed therethrough for receiving the connection assembly, and the connection assembly being configured to attach silt fencing (sheeting 2) to the body (6) (Fig. 3; abstract; paragraphs 0023 and 0029). Lyhamn fails to disclose a cap attached to the first end, the ground end being removable from the body, and a kick plate attachable to the body, the kick plate being configured to strengthen the body to external forces. Billings teaches a cap (5) attached to the first end of body (shaft 3 of post 1) (Figs. 1 - 4; paragraphs 0005 and 0017) to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the post as disclosed above with the cap as taught by Billings to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post. Billings fails to teach the ground end being removable from the body, and a kick plate attachable to the body, the kick plate being configured to strengthen the body to external forces. Trill teaches the ground end (tip 30 or tip 32) being removable from the body (Figs. 4A and 4B; paragraphs 0032 and 0037). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the post as disclosed above with the removable ground end as taught by Trill to allow the shape of the ground end to be modified based upon the properties of the soil strata into which the post is inserted. Trill fails to teach a kick plate attachable to the body, the kick plate being configured to strengthen the body to external forces. Zock teaches a kick plate (fin 50) attachable to the body (stake 20), the kick plate being configured to strengthen the body to external forces (Figs. 8 - 10; paragraphs 0047 and 0048) to improve the stability of the post when installed into the ground. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the apparatus as disclosed above with the kick plate as taught by Zock to improve the stability of the post when installed into the ground.
Regarding claim 9, Lyhamn fails to disclose the cap is unitarily formed with the body, the cap being configured to prevent impalement and to provide protection when the post is being inserted into ground. Billings teaches the cap (5) is unitarily formed with the body (3), the cap being configured to prevent impalement and to provide protection when the post is being inserted into ground (Figs. 1 - 4; paragraphs 0005 and 0017) to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the post as disclosed above with the cap as taught by Billings to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post.
Regarding claim 10, Lyhamn further discloses the body (6) and the ground end (pointed tip of post 6) are made of metal (paragraph 0029). Lyhamn fails to disclose the cap is made of metal. Billings teaches a cap (5) and the body (3) are made of metal (paragraph 0017). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the metal post comprising a body and a ground end as disclosed above with the cap as taught by Billings to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post.
Regarding claim 11, Lyhamn in view of Billings, Trill, and Zock discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the body is square in cross section. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have substituted a square cross sectional shape for the circular cross section as disclosed above, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d. 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 12, Lyhamn further discloses the connection assembly includes a plurality of apertures (apertures, not shown, in lathe 8 through which screws are inserted into post 6) formed therethrough for attaching the silt fence (2) (Fig. 3; paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 13, Lyhamn further discloses the connection assembly includes a plurality of connectors (screws 10) configured for insertion through the connection assembly, through the silt fencing, and into the post (6) (Fig. 3; paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 14, Lyhamn fails to disclose a plurality of kick plate connectors configured for insertion through the kick plate and into the post. Zock teaches a plurality of kick plate connectors (nails 62) configured for insertion through the kick plate (50) and into the post (20) (Figs. 8 - 10; paragraphs 0047 and 0048) to improve the stability of the post when installed into the ground. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the apparatus as disclosed above with the kick plate and associated connectors as taught by Zock to improve the stability of the post when installed into the ground.
Claims 8 - 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright, III (US 4,756,511) in view of Billings, Trill, and Zock.
Regarding claim 8, Wright discloses a silt fence post, comprising: a body (main body portion 14) having a first end and an opposing ground end (pointed end 16), and a connection assembly (mounting strip 20, fasteners 22 comprising staples, nails, screws, or tacks), the body having a plurality of apertures (holes, not shown, in the body 14 into which the fasteners 22 are inserted) formed therethrough for receiving the connection assembly, and the connection assembly being configured to attach silt fencing (web 18) to the body (14) (Figs. 1, 2, and 4; col. 1, line 51 - col. 2, line 37). Wright fails to disclose a cap attached to the first end, the ground end being removable from the body, and a kick plate attachable to the body, the kick plate being configured to strengthen the body to external forces. Billings teaches a cap (5) attached to the first end of the body (shaft 3 of post 1) (Figs. 1 - 4; paragraphs 0005 and 0017) to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the post as disclosed above with the cap as taught by Billings to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post. Billings fails to teach the ground end being removable from the body, and a kick plate attachable to the body, the kick plate being configured to strengthen the body to external forces. Trill teaches the ground end (tip 30 or tip 32) being removable from the body (Figs. 4A and 4B; paragraphs 0032 and 0037). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the post as disclosed above with the removable ground end as taught by Trill to allow the shape of the ground end to be modified based upon the properties of the soil strata into which the post is inserted. Trill fails to teach a kick plate attachable to the body, the kick plate being configured to strengthen the body to external forces. Zock teaches a kick plate (fin 50) attachable to the body (stake 20), the kick plate being configured to strengthen the body to external forces (Figs. 8 - 10; paragraphs 0047 and 0048) to improve the stability of the post when installed into the ground. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the apparatus as disclosed above with the kick plate as taught by Zock to improve the stability of the post when installed into the ground.
Regarding claim 9, Wright fails to disclose the cap is unitarily formed with the body, the cap being configured to prevent impalement and to provide protection when the post is being inserted into ground. Billings teaches the cap (5) is unitarily formed with the body (3), the cap being configured to prevent impalement and to provide protection when the post is being inserted into ground (Figs. 1 - 4; paragraphs 0005 and 0017) to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the post as disclosed above with the cap as taught by Billings to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post.
Regarding claim 10, Wright further discloses the body (14) and the ground end (16) can be made of any suitable material (col. 1, line 57). Wright fails to disclose the cap, the body, and the ground end are made of metal. Billings teaches a cap (5), the body (3), and the ground end (bottom end of body 3) are made of metal (paragraph 0017). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the post as disclosed above with the cap as taught by Billings to receive an impact force for driving the post into the ground, thus preventing deformation of the end of the post. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the material of which the cap, body, and ground end as disclosed above with the metal material as taught by Billings as a design consideration within the skill of the art, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 11, Wright further discloses the body of stake 12 may be of any suitable shape (col. 1, line 57). Wright in view of Billings, Trill, and Zock discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the body is square in cross section. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have substituted a square cross sectional shape for the circular cross section as disclosed above, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d. 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 12, Wright further discloses the connection assembly includes a plurality of apertures (apertures, not shown, in strip 20 through which fasteners 22 are inserted into post 12) formed therethrough for attaching the silt fence (18) (Figs. 2 - 4).
Regarding claim 13, Wright further discloses the connection assembly includes a plurality of connectors (fasteners 22) configured for insertion through the connection assembly (20), through the silt fencing (18), and into the post (12) (Figs. 2 - 4; col. 2, lines 29 - 34).
Regarding claim 14, Wright fails to disclose a plurality of kick plate connectors configured for insertion through the kick plate and into the post. Zock teaches a plurality of kick plate connectors (nails 62) configured for insertion through the kick plate (50) and into the post (20) (Figs. 8 - 10; paragraphs 0047 and 0048) to improve the stability of the post when installed into the ground. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the apparatus as disclosed above with the kick plate and associated connectors as taught by Zock to improve the stability of the post when installed into the ground.
Conclusion
/SEAN D ANDRISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
SA
6/4/2026