DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on April 24, 2025, and May 28, 2025, were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 recites “the wireless device determines to trigger a positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request” and “determine to trigger the positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request.” Appropriate correction or clarification is required. This rejection is provided to the extent that these elements require multiple steps/determinations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2025/0185000 (hereinafter “Shreevastav”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2025/0008471 (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 1, Shreevastav teaches: A wireless device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: receive one or more radio resource configuration (RRC) messages ([0040] RRC message is used to configure measurement gap) comprising one or more configuration parameters ([0037] A measurement gap pattern is characterized or defined by several parameters) comprising: a first configuration parameter, wherein in response to the first configuration parameter being enabled ([0039] Hence the term “pre-configured” measurement gaps), the wireless device determines to trigger a positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request ([0081] In some embodiments, triggering the scheduling request includes: triggering a scheduling request for Positioning Measurement Gap Activation/Deactivation Request MAC CE.); and first measurement configuration parameters indicating one or more positioning measurement gaps (Table 1, GapConfig ::= SEQUENCE { gapOffset INTEGER (0..159), mgl ENUMERATED {ms1dot5, ms3, ms3dot5, ms4, ms5dot5, ms6}, mgrp ENUMERATED {ms20, ms40, ms80, ms160}, mgta ENUMERATED {ms0, ms0dot25, ms0dot5}); based on the one or more RRC messages comprising the first configuration parameter, determine to trigger the positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request using an uplink medium access control(MAC) control element (CE) ([0046] Support the following option (from the agreement made in RAN1 #106-e) for a new MG activation procedure to be performed by the gNB for the purpose of positioning. [0047] Option 2: DL MAC CE [0048] FFS: Deactivation process); and transmit the uplink MAC CE for activating or deactivating a positioning measurement gap of the one or more positioning measurement gaps ([0045] The information in the UL MAC CE for MG activation request by the UE can be one ID associated with the preconfiguration of the MG).
Shreevastav does not explicitly teach an additional “determine to trigger the positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request” that is “based on the one or more RRC messages comprising the first configuration parameter.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches: “determine to trigger the positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request” ([0045] According to the embodiment, the operations may include deactivating the at least one first positioning MG based on that the activation/deactivation command instructs deactivation of the at least one first positioning MG) that is “based on the one or more RRC messages comprising the first configuration parameter.” ([0204] The MG configuration may be provided by the BS to the UE through RRC signaling. Such RRC signaling/messages may include information on the setup/release for the MG. [0258], [0262]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shreevastav to include the feature of triggering the positioning of the measurement gap activation or deactivation request and a combination of Shreevastav with Lee renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., triggering the positioning of the measurement gap activation or deactivation request).
Regarding claim 2, Shreevastav teaches: trigger to initiate the positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request using the uplink MAC CE, based on the first measurement configuration parameters indicating the one or more positioning measurement gaps ([0049] Further below is RAN1 agreement for measurement gap configuration where instead of RRC message UE sends the gap request using UL MAC CE).
Regarding claim 3, Shreevastav teaches: determine whether the first configuration parameter is enabled for the determining to trigger the positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request ([0120] In some cases the UE may determine that it will have a grant available).
Regarding claim 4, Shreevastav teaches: trigger to initiate the positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request using the uplink MAC CE, based on the first configuration parameter being enabled ([0080] In some embodiments, determining if the UE is permitted to send a MAC CE comprises: determining if scheduling request for Positioning Measurement Gap Activation/Deactivation Request is configured. [0113]); and wherein the uplink MAC CE comprises: a first field indicating a positioning measurement gap identifier of the positioning measurement gap ([0136] IDENTIFIER: This fields indicates the ID of a preconfigured measurement gap to be activated/deactivated.); and a second field indicating an activation or deactivation of the positioning measurement gap ([0134] A/D: This field indicates if the MAC CE request is for activation or deactivation. If a first value (e.g., 1) is set, then the MAC CE is for activation; and if a second value is set (e.g., 0), then the MAC CE is for deactivation. The A/D field is for activating/deactivating a preconfigured measurement gap or a PRS processing window depending on what is indicated in the G/P field.).
Regarding claim 5, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the triggering to initiate the positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request using the uplink MAC CE comprises the determining to trigger the positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request using the uplink MAC CE ([0133]).
Regarding claim 6, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the triggering to initiate the positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request using the uplink MAC CE comprises triggering a positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request MAC CE ([0139]).
Regarding claim 7, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to determine to start performing a location measurement based on at least one positioning measurement gap; and wherein the triggering to initiate the positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request using the uplink MAC CE is in response to starting performing the location measurement ([0139]).
Regarding claim 8, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to cancel the triggered positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request MAC CE ([0084] In some embodiments, the MAC CE includes a prohibit timer that indicates the UE (900) should not send again the MAC CE again until the prohibit timer has expired.).
Regarding claim 9, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the one or more RRC messages comprise at least one second configuration parameter indicating a scheduling request (SR) configuration for the positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request ([0121] In some cases, gNB controls the UE transmitting MAC CE by configuring whether the UE is allowed to trigger Scheduling Request. Such control can be indicated, for example, by RRC or DL MAC CE by a flag bit.).
Regarding claim 10, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to: in response to the triggering the positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request MAC CE, trigger an SR, associated with the SR configuration, for the positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request MAC CE ([0121] whether that triggering is performed by triggering a scheduling request).
Regarding claim 13, Shreevastav teaches: in response to triggering the positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request MAC CE, trigger the SR, associated with an SR configuration, for the positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request MAC CE ([0114] In some cases, a gNB controls the UE transmitting MAC CE by configuring whether the UE is allowed to trigger Scheduling Request. In some cases, the gNB controls the UE triggering acquisition of an uplink grant for purposes of requesting a gap status change, whether that triggering is performed by triggering a scheduling request,).
Regarding claim 14, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the one or more RRC messages comprise at least one second configuration parameter indicating the SR configuration for the positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request ([0114] In some cases, a gNB controls the UE transmitting MAC CE by configuring whether the UE is allowed to trigger Scheduling Request.).
Regarding claim 15, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to cancel the triggered positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request MAC CE ([0084] In some embodiments, the MAC CE includes a prohibit timer that indicates the UE (900) should not send again the MAC CE again until the prohibit timer has expired.).
Regarding claim 16, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to determine to start performing a location measurement based on at least one positioning measurement gap ([0035] The message indicates that the UE is going to start location measurements); and wherein the triggering to initiate the positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request using the uplink MAC CE is in response to starting performing the location measurement ([0113] There currently exist certain challenges. As described above, an UL MAC CE will be defined which the UE can use to indicate to the network that it wants to activate or deactivate measurement gaps. It may be so that the UE will determine that a measurement gap needs to be activated and hence send the MAC CE to the network to indicate this. However, the UE will, according to current state of the art not be able to transmit such a MAC CE until the UE gets an uplink grant. The UE will not necessarily have an uplink grant shortly after the UE has decided to send the MAC CE. This means that the UE may need to wait until a later time (potentially much later time) to get an uplink grant which the UE can use to send the MAC CE. Waiting to send the MAC CE will hence introduce delays in activating or deactivating the measurement gaps. If the gaps are not activated early, the UE may not be able to perform certain procedures (e.g., positioning procedures). [0035] When the gNB has configured the required measurement gaps the UE performs the location measurements or timing acquisition procedures.).
Regarding claim 17, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the triggering to initiate the positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request using the uplink MAC CE comprises triggering a positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request MAC CE ([0042] The information in the UL MAC CE for MG activation request by the UE can be one ID associated with the preconfiguration of the MG [0113] As described above, an UL MAC CE will be defined which the UE can use to indicate to the network that it wants to activate or deactivate measurement gaps.).
Regarding claim 18, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the triggering to initiate the positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request using the uplink MAC CE comprises the determining to trigger the positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request using the uplink MAC CE ([0042] The information in the UL MAC CE for MG activation request by the UE can be one ID associated with the preconfiguration of the MG [0113] As described above, an UL MAC CE will be defined which the UE can use to indicate to the network that it wants to activate or deactivate measurement gaps.).
Regarding claim 19, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to: trigger to initiate the positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request using the uplink MAC CE, based on the first configuration parameter being enabled ([0133] preconfigured measurement gap); and wherein the uplink MAC CE comprises: a first field indicating a positioning measurement gap identifier of the positioning measurement gap ([0133] IDENTIFIER: This fields indicates the ID of a preconfigured measurement gap to be activated/deactivated.); and a second field indicating an activation or deactivation of the positioning measurement gap ([0133] The fields in the MAC CE of this example are described below: A/D: This field indicates if the MAC CE request is for activation or deactivation. If a first value (e.g., 1) is set, then the MAC CE is for activation; and if a second value is set (e.g., 0), then the MAC CE is for deactivation. The A/D field is for activating/deactivating a preconfigured measurement gap or a PRS processing window depending on what is indicated in the G/P field.).
Regarding claim 20, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to: determine whether the first configuration parameter is enabled for the determining to trigger the positioning measurement gap activation or deactivation request ([0042] The information in the UL MAC CE for MG activation request by the UE can be one ID associated with the preconfiguration of the MG); [0083] In some embodiments, the MAC CE includes a bitmap with each bit of the bitmap corresponding to a respective gap index. Fig. 8).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shreevastav in view of Lee and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2023/0403694 (hereinafter “Kim”)
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Shreevastav and Lee teach: a prohibit timer (Shreevastav [0084]). However, the combination of Shreevastav and Lee does not explicitly teach: wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to stop an SR prohibit timer corresponding to the triggered SR in response to the transmitting the uplink MAC CE.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches: wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to stop an SR prohibit timer corresponding to the triggered SR in response to the transmitting the uplink MAC CE ([0474] If the SR is triggered by Type7Gap L2 request and a MAC PDU is transmitted and the MAC PDU includes a Type2Gap L2 request, UE cancel the pending SR and stop the sr-ProhibitTimer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Shreevastav and Lee to include the feature of stopping the SR prohibit timer and a combination of Shreevastav and Lee with Kim renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., stopping the prohibit timer).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Shreevastav and Lee teach: a prohibit timer (Shreevastav [0084]). However, the combination of Shreevastav and Lee does not explicitly teach: wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to stop an SR prohibit timer corresponding to the triggered SR in response to the transmitting the uplink MAC CE.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches: wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to stop an SR prohibit timer corresponding to the triggered SR in response to the transmitting the uplink MAC CE ([0474] If the SR is triggered by Type7Gap L2 request and a MAC PDU is transmitted and the MAC PDU includes a Type2Gap L2 request, UE cancel the pending SR and stop the sr-ProhibitTimer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Shreevastav and Lee to include the feature of stopping the SR prohibit timer and a combination of Shreevastav and Lee with Kim renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., stopping the prohibit timer).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 2025/0227574 (Abraham) related to a method and apparatus for handling preconfigured measurement gaps during handover
U.S. Publication No. 2023/0403550 (Kim) related to a method and apparatus for transmitting scheduling request for gap activation transmission in wireless communication system
/JAB/ Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643