DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 25 August 2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Interpretation
Attention is directed to MPEP 904.01 [R-08.2012].
The breadth of the claims in the application should always be carefully noted; that is, the examiner should be fully aware of what the claims do not call for, as well as what they do require. During patent examination, the claims are given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification. See In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 44 USPQ2d 1023 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2111 - § 2116.01 for case law pertinent to claim analysis.
It is noted with particularity that narrowing limitations found in the specification cannot be inferred in the claims where the elements not set forth in the claims are linchpin of patentability. In re Philips Industries v. State Stove & Mfg. Co, Inc., 186 USPQ 458 (CA6 1975). While the claims are to be interpreted in light of the specification, it does not follow that limitations from the specification may be read into the claims. On the contrary, claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow. See Ex parte Oetiker, 23 USPQ2d 1641 (BPAI, 1992). In added support of this position, attention is directed to MPEP 2111 [R-11.2013], where, citing In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-51 (CCPA 1969), is stated:
The court explained that “reading a claim in light of the specification, to thereby interpret limitations explicitly recited in the claim, is a quite different thing from ‘reading limitations of the specification into a claim,’ to thereby narrow the scope of the claim by implicitly adding disclosed limitations which have no express basis in the claim.” The court found that applicant was advocating the latter, i.e., the impermissible importation of subject matter from the specification into the claim.
Additionally, attention is directed to MPEP 2111.01 [R-01.2024], wherein is stated:
II. IT IS IMPROPER TO IMPORT CLAIM LIMITATIONS FROM THE SPECIFICATION
“Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment.” Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Attention is also directed to MPEP 2111.02 II [R-07.2022]. As stated herein:
II. PREAMBLE STATEMENTS RECITING PURPOSE OR INTENDED USE
The claim preamble must be read in the context of the entire claim. The determination of whether preamble recitations are structural limitations or mere statements of purpose or use "can be resolved only on review of the entirety of the [record] to gain an understanding of what the inventors actually invented and intended to encompass by the claim" as drafted without importing "'extraneous' limitations from the specification." Corning Glass Works, 868 F.2d at 1257, 9 USPQ2d at 1966. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (The court found that the preamble in one patent’s claim is limiting but is not in a related patent); Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation")… (Emphasis added)
Attention is directed to MPEP 2111 [R-10.2019]. As stated therein:
During patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." The Federal Circuit’s en banc decision in Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005) expressly recognized that the USPTO employs the "broadest reasonable interpretation" standard:
The Patent and Trademark Office ("PTO") determines the scope of claims in patent applications not solely on the basis of the claim language, but upon giving claims their broadest reasonable construction "in light of the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art." In re Am. Acad. of Sci. Tech. Ctr., 367 F.3d 1359, 1364[, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1830] (Fed. Cir. 2004). Indeed, the rules of the PTO require that application claims must "conform to the invention as set forth in the remainder of the specification and the terms and phrases used in the claims must find clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description." 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1). (Emphasis added).
Attention is directed to MPEP 2173.04 [R-10.2019]. As stated therein:
Breadth of a claim is not to be equated with indefiniteness. In re Miller, 441 F.2d 689, 169 USPQ 597 (CCPA 1971); In re Gardner, 427 F.2d 786, 788, 166 USPQ 138, 140 (CCPA 1970) ("Breadth is not indefiniteness."). A broad claim is not indefinite merely because it encompasses a wide scope of subject matter provided the scope is clearly defined. But a claim is indefinite when the boundaries of the protected subject matter are not clearly delineated and the scope is unclear. For example, a genus claim that covers multiple species is broad, but is not indefinite because of its breadth, which is otherwise clear. But a genus claim that could be interpreted in such a way that it is not clear which species are covered would be indefinite (e.g., because there is more than one reasonable interpretation of what species are included in the claim). (Emphasis added)
Double Patenting
Claims 106, 108, 109, 112, 117, 118, and 123 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 11-13, 18, 20, 22, and 30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,959,130 B2 (Galonska et al.) in view of US 2008/0050780 A1 (Lee et al.).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are to “a method of determining presence of a genetic variant in a nucleic acid at a spatial location in a biological sample”. As seen in claim 1 of the Galonska et al., one uses first and second probes.
Galonska et al., in claims 11-13 teaches using a ligase so to produce a ligation product.
Galonska et al., in claim 18, identifies polymerases that can be used.
As can be seen in dependent claim 20 of Galonska et al., “the biological sample is a tissue section”. In claim 21, the different types of “tissue section” are listed.
Galonska et al., in claims 22 and 23 teach of the nucleic acid being DNA or RNA.
Galonska et al., have not been found to teach incorporating “a single reversible terminator nucleotide” into the first probe.
Lee et al., in their abstract, teach:
Disclosed herein a reversible terminator nucleotides and methods of use. (Emphasis added)
In view of the above showing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated a reversible blocking group to a first probe as such would allow the artisan to determine when the two probes can be ligated, which in turn would go to increase the accuracy of the assay, and the capability of detecting SNPs.
In view of the above showing and in the absence of convincing evidence to the contrary, claims 106, 108, 109, 112, 117, 118, and 123 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 11-13, 18, 20, 22, and 30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,959,130 B2 (Galonska et al.) in view of US 2008/0050780 A1 (Lee et al.).
Claim 106 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,608,520 (Galonska et al.) in view of Lee et al., (US 2008/0050780, Pub. Date 02/28/2008).
Notes: Application 17/552, 980 by Galonska et al. was published as US 2022/016632 A1, and became U.S. Patent No. 11,608,520 (Date of Patent: 03/21/2023).
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,608,520 is copied below.
Galonska et al., have not been found to teach incorporating “a single reversible terminator nucleotide” into the first probe.
Lee et al., in their abstract, teach:
Disclosed herein a reversible terminator nucleotides and methods of use. (Emphasis added)
In view of the above showing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated a reversible blocking group to a first probe as such would allow the artisan to determine when the two probes can be ligated, which in turn would go to increase the accuracy of the assay, and the capability of detecting SNPs.
In view of the above presentation and in the absence of convincing evidence to the contrary, claim 106 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,608,520 (Galonska et al.) in view of Lee et al., (US 2008/0050780, Pub. Date 02/28/2008).
It is noted that essentially the same claim languages have been allowed in (i) U.S. Patent No. 11,608,520, which is Application 17/552, 980 by Galonska et al. US 2022/016632 A1, Pub Date: 04/07/2022, Applicant’s own prior art (10X Genomics) published more than one year before the effective filing date 08/24/2023 of instant application 19/087,021; and (ii) U.S. Patent No. 11,959,130, which is Application 18/179,795 by Galonska et al. was published as US 2023/0220455 A1, Pub. Date 07/13/2023, also Applicant’s own prior art published before the effective filing date 08/24/2023 of instant application 19/087,021.
Response to argument
Applicant’s representative, at pages 7-10 of the response of 24 April 2026, hereinafter the response, traverses the rejection of claims on the ground of 1) “Claim 106 is patentably distinct from the reference claim ‘130 and ‘528 patents” and No motivation to combine. These arguments have been considered and have not been found persuasive. As an initial point, the claimed methods are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are to “a method of determining presence of a genetic variant in a nucleic acid at a spatial location in a biological sample”.
While the claims of the two patents may not recite a given limitation, such has been shown to have been obvious in view of the teachings of Lee. Lee is noted for providing motivation to combine. In support of this position attention is directed to paragraphs [0002] and [0105]. As disclosed therein:
[0002] Methods of polynucleotide sequencing that employ reversible terminator nucleotides typically involve multiple steps to identify a single base and to regenerate a 3' terminus of the sequencing primer which is required permit identification of each succeeding base of the polynucleotide. These steps typically include incorporation of a reversible terminator at the 3' terminus of the primer, washing away the unincorporated reversible terminators and other sequencing reagents, detection of the label attached to the incorporated reversible terminator, removal of the label from the incorporated terminator, and removal of blocking group from the reversible terminator. Therefore, current methods of polynucleotide sequencing using reversible terminators are time-consuming, labor intensive, and have a high-cost associated with the identification of each base. Therefore, there is a need in the art for reversible terminator nucleotides and methods of use that reduce the number of steps required for the identification of each base of a polynucleotide. (Emphasis added)
[0105] The reversible terminator nucleotides can be employed in virtually any method of analyzing or detecting a polynucleotide. In various non-limiting examples, suitable polynucleotide may be single or double-stranded, or a combination thereof, linear or circular, a chromosome or a gene or a portion or fragment thereof, a regulatory polynucleotide, a restriction fragment from, for example, a plasmid or chromosomal DNA, genomic DNA, mitochondrial DNA, DNA from a construct or library of constructs (e.g., from a YAC, BAC or PAC library), RNA (e.g., mRNA, rRNA or vRNA) or a cDNA or a cDNA library. (Emphasis added)
With the prior art recognizing a need and providing an answer to that need, it would have not only been obvious to employ such methods, but the ordinary artisan would have been well motivated. Given such, and in the absence of convincing evidence to the contrary, the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 106, 108, 109, 112, 117, 118, and 123 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galonska et al. (US 2022/0106632 A1, Pub. Date 04/07/2022, filed on 12/15/2021; application 17/551,980) in view of Lee et al. (US 2008/0050780, Pub. Date 02/28/2028) .
Galonska et al., in claims 109, 126, and 128 teach:
109. A method for determining the presence or absence of a genetic variant in an analyte at a spatial location in a biological sample on a substrate, the method comprising:
(a) contacting the biological sample with a first probe and a second probe, wherein the first probe and the second probe each comprise a sequence that is substantially complementary to sequences of the analyte, wherein the first probe and the second probe are capable of forming an invasive cleavage structure in the presence of the genetic variant, and wherein:
(i) the first probe further comprises at least one nucleotide that is complementary to a wild-type sequence of the genetic variant; and
(ii) the second probe further comprises:
a sequence of non-complementary nucleotides;
a nucleotide complementary to the genetic variant; and
a capture probe binding domain;
(b) hybridizing the first probe and the second probe to the analyte;
(c) cleaving the sequence of non-complementary nucleotides when the genetic variant is present;
(d) ligating the first probe and the second probe, thereby creating a ligated probe; (e) releasing the ligated probe from the analyte;
(f) contacting the ligated probe with a substrate comprising a plurality of capture probes, wherein a capture probe of the plurality comprises a spatial barcode and the capture domain;
(g) hybridizing the ligated probe to the capture domain; and
(h) determining (i) all or a part of the sequence of the ligated probe specifically bound to the capture domain, or a complement thereof, and (ii) all or a part of the sequence of the spatial barcode, or a complement thereof, and using the determined sequence of (i) and (ii) to determine the presence or absence of a genetic variant in an analyte in a spatial location in the biological sample on the substrate. (Emphasis added)
126. The method of claim 109, wherein the biological sample is a tissue section.
128. The method of claim 109, wherein the analyte is RNA or DNA.
As evidenced above, Galonska et al., teach and claim a method of determining if a genetic variant is present or not in a biological sample, which, as seen in claim 126 is a tissue section. As set forth in claim 128, the analyte is RNA.
Galonska et al., teach:
[0034) Also disclosed herein are kits. In some instances, the disclosure provides a kit comprising: (a) an array comprising a plurality of capture probes; (b) a plurality of probes comprising a first probe oligonucleotide and a second probe oligonucleotide, wherein the first probe oligonucleotide and the second probe oligonucleotide each comprise a sequence that is substantially complementary to adjacent sequences of the analyte, wherein the first probe oligonucleotide and the second probe oligonucleotide are capable of forming an invasive cleavage structure in the presence of the analyte, wherein the second probe oligonucleotide comprises a capture probe binding domain; and (c) instructions for performing any of the methods disclosed herein.
[0035) In some instances, the disclosure provides a kit comprising: (a) an array comprising a plurality of capture probes; (b) a plurality of probes comprising a first probe oligonucleotide and a second probe oligonucleotide, wherein the first probe oligonucleotide and the second probe oligonucleotide each comprise a sequence that is substantially complementary to sequences of the analyte where there is a gap between the sequences of the analyte, wherein the first probe oligonucleotide and the second probe oligonucleotide are capable of forming an invasive cleavage structure in the presence of the analyte, wherein the second probe oligonucleotide comprises a capture probe binding domain; and (c) instructions for performing any of the methods disclosed herein.
[0027] In some instances, the method further comprises providing a capture probe binding domain blocking moiety that interacts with the capture probe binding domain. In some instances, the method further comprises releasing the capture probe binding domain blocking moiety from the capture probe binding domain prior to contacting the biological sample with the substrate.
Galonska et al. (US 2022/0106632) does not explicitly teach the limitation “a single reversible terminator Nucleotide” recited in step (c) and the limitation “removing the blocking group from the reversible terminator nucleotide” recited in step (f) of claim 106 of instant application 19/087,021.
Lee et al. (US 2008/0050780) teaches a reversible terminator nucleotides and
methods of use (See Abstract, Title, and Figure 1).
[0002] Methods of polynucleotide sequencing that employ reversible terminator nucleotides typically involve multiple steps to identify a single base and to regenerate a 3' terminus of the sequencing primer which is required permit identification of each succeeding base of the polynucleotide. These steps typically include incorporation of a reversible terminator at the 3' terminus of the primer, washing away the unincorporated reversible terminators and other sequencing reagents, detection of the label attached to the incorporated reversible terminator, removal of the label from the incorporated terminator, and removal of blocking group from the reversible terminator. Therefore, current methods of polynucleotide sequencing using reversible terminators are time-consuming, labor intensive, and have a high-cost associated with the identification of each base. Therefore, there is a need in the art for reversible terminator nucleotides and methods of use that reduce the number of steps required for the identification of each base of a polynucleotide.
[0007] Disclosed herein are compositions and methods for sequencing polynucleotides, including single-molecule sequencing. The compositions disclosed herein include reversible terminator nucleotides that can be incorporated at the 3' terminus of a polynucleotide by a polymerase in a template dependent/directed manner. In some embodiments, the reversible terminator nucleotides generally include a hydroxyl group at the 3'-position of a sugar moiety, a blocking group at the 2'-position of the sugar moiety, and a label attached to the base. Upon incorporation of a reversible terminator nucleotide, the blocking group renders the polynucleotide non-extendible by the polymerase. In some embodiments, the incorporated reversible terminators also are generally resistant to 3'-5' exonucleases or "proofreading activities" of polymerases.
In view of the above presentation, it would have been quite obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have incorporated reversible terminator nucleotides into the probe/primer for to do so would enhance the artisan to determine the nucleotide sequence beyond that of just where the probe anneals/hybridizes to the genetic sequence in the tissue sample.
In view of the well-developed state of the art said ordinary artisan would have been amply motivated and would have had a most reasonable expectation of success in being able to determine the presence of a genetic in a tissue sample.
In view of the above presentation and in the absence of convincing argument to the contrary, claims 106, 108, 109, 112, 117, 118, and 123 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galonska et al. (US 2022/0106632 A1, Pub. Date 04/07/2022, filed on 12/15/2021; application 17/551,980) in view of Lee et al. (US 2008/0050780, Pub. Date 02/28/2028) .
Response to traversal
At pages 5-7 of the response applicant’s representative traverses the rejection of claims under 35 USC 103(a). At page 6, bridging to page 7 of the response, said representative asserts:
Claim 106 is not a sequencing claim. It does not seek to determine nucleotide sequence beyond the hybridization site.
The assertion of claim 106 being “not a sequencing claim” has not been found persuasive. As stated in the preamble, the method is “for determining presence of a genetic variant in a tissue section”, and in the last step, step(g), one is to perform the following:
(g) obtaining sequence information for the ligation product, thereby determining the presence of the genetic variant in the tissue section. (Emphasis added)
With the claim being directed to “determining presence of a genetic variant”, and culminating with “obtaining sequence information” the claim is clearly directed to a method of sequencing “a target nucleic acid”.
At page 7 of the response said representative asserts:
Prior to Applicant's disclosure, there was no suggestion in the art that reversible terminator chemistry should be introduced into a probe-ligation spatial assay.
The above cited argument has been considered and has not been found persuasive. Lee is noted for providing motivation to combine. In support of this position attention is directed to paragraphs [0002] and [0105]. As disclosed therein:
[0002] Methods of polynucleotide sequencing that employ reversible terminator nucleotides typically involve multiple steps to identify a single base and to regenerate a 3' terminus of the sequencing primer which is required permit identification of each succeeding base of the polynucleotide. These steps typically include incorporation of a reversible terminator at the 3' terminus of the primer, washing away the unincorporated reversible terminators and other sequencing reagents, detection of the label attached to the incorporated reversible terminator, removal of the label from the incorporated terminator, and removal of blocking group from the reversible terminator. Therefore, current methods of polynucleotide sequencing using reversible terminators are time-consuming, labor intensive, and have a high-cost associated with the identification of each base. Therefore, there is a need in the art for reversible terminator nucleotides and methods of use that reduce the number of steps required for the identification of each base of a polynucleotide. (Emphasis added)
[0105] The reversible terminator nucleotides can be employed in virtually any method of analyzing or detecting a polynucleotide. In various non-limiting examples, suitable polynucleotide may be single or double-stranded, or a combination thereof, linear or circular, a chromosome or a gene or a portion or fragment thereof, a regulatory polynucleotide, a restriction fragment from, for example, a plasmid or chromosomal DNA, genomic DNA, mitochondrial DNA, DNA from a construct or library of constructs (e.g., from a YAC, BAC or PAC library), RNA (e.g., mRNA, rRNA or vRNA) or a cDNA or a cDNA library. (Emphasis added)
Given the teaching that “[t]he reversible terminator nucleotides can be employed in virtually any method of analyzing or detecting a polynucleotide”, one would have been amply motivated to have applied such technology to a method of sequencing that comprises ligating to probes and then extending the free 3’ end for to do so would enable one to not only identify when and where the target sequences are that of the ligated probes, but would also enable one to determine the next nucleotide in the sequence, and whether that nucleotide is a variant.
In view of the well-developed state of the art said ordinary artisan would have been amply motivated and would have had a most reasonable expectation of success in determining whether a variant was present in a tissue section.
In view of the above analysis and in the absence of convincing evidence to the contrary, the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
Objections and/or rejections which appeared in the prior Office action and which have not been repeated hereinabove have been withdrawn.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Bradley L. Sisson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682