DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 12/10/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a plurality of functional modules” in claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “one or more functional modules” in line 5 and “one or more functional modules” in line 6. Claim 4 recites “one or more functional modules” in line 2. Claim 5 recites “one or more functional modules” in lines 1-2. Claim 7 recites “one or more functional modules” in line 3 and “one or more functional modules” in line 4. Claim 8 recites “one or more functional modules” in line 2. Claim 9 recites “two or more interlocked functional modules” in lines 1-2. It is unclear if each recitation of the functional modules recited in claims 1, 4-5, and 7-9 refer to the “one or more functional modules” in claim 1, line 3, or if each recitation of the functional modules recited in claims 1, 4-5, and 7-9 are intending to claim an additional set of functional modules. For examination purposes, the functional modules recited in claims 1, 4-5, and 7-9 are interpreted to refer to the one or more functional modules recited in claim 1, line 3.
Claim 10 recites “a functional module” in line 8, “a functional module” in line 9, and “at least one functional module” in line 12. Claim 12 recites “a functional module” in line 2. Claim 13 recites “a functional module” in line 2 and “a functional module” in lines 3-4. Claim 16 recites “two or more interlocked functional modules” in lines 1-2. It is unclear if each recitation of the functional modules recited in claims 10, 12-13, and 16 are refer to the “a functional module” recited in claim 10, line 4, or if each recitation of the functional modules recited in claims 10, 12-13, and 16 are intending to claim an additional set of functional modules. For examination purposes, the functional modules recited in claims 10, 12-13, and 16 are interpreted to refer to the functional module recited in claim 10, line 4.
Any remaining dependent claim(s) are indefinite insofar as they depend on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kilgallon (US 11523685).
Regarding claim 1, Kilgallon discloses a modular sink, comprising:
a basin (132);
a sink chassis (112) configured to partially receive one or more functional modules (126, 130, 144, 146, 148); and
a cover plate (136) positioned over the sink chassis, wherein the cover plate is configured to partially seal one or more functional modules (138) within the sink chassis, and wherein the cover plate is configured to enable one or more functional modules to partially extend above the cover plate (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 2, Kilgallon discloses wherein the sink chassis defines a cuboid geometry (see Fig. 1-9).
Regarding claim 3, Kilgallon discloses wherein the sink chassis defines a plurality of openings (114, 142) for partially receiving one or more functional modules (126, 130, 144, 146, 148; see Fig. 1-9).
Regarding claim 4, Kilgallon discloses wherein the sink chassis defines a plurality of separated cavities (114, 142) for partially receiving one or more functional modules (126, 130, 144, 146, 148; see Fig. 1-9).
Regarding claim 6, Kilgallon discloses wherein the cover plate is removably coupled to the sink chassis (col. 9, l. 67 – col. 10, l. 11).
Regarding claim 7, Kilgallon discloses wherein the cover plate defines a first plurality of openings (openings of 136) aligned with a second plurality of openings (114, 142) of the sink chassis (the openings of 136 are aligned with the 114, 142 along the horizontal plane of 112), and wherein the first and second pluralities of openings are configured to receive one or more functional modules (126, 130, 138, 144, 146, 148), such that the cover plate separates one or more functional modules (138) between a sealed portion (P1-P3) within the sink chassis and an external portion (portion above 136) positioned above the cover plate (see Fig. 3-4).
Regarding claim 8, Kilgallon discloses wherein the sink chassis defines at least one support structure (118, 120, 122, 124) configured to removably couple one or more functional modules (126, 130, 144, 146, 148) to the sink chassis (col. 9, ll. 4-59).
Regarding claim 9, Kilgallon discloses wherein the sink chassis is configured to accommodate two or more interlocked functional modules (138; see Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kilgallon (US 11523685) in view of Saied (US 10287757).
Regarding claim 5, Kilgallon discloses substantially all the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 1.
Kilgallon further discloses wherein the sink chassis is configured to receive one or more functional modules (126, 130, 144, 146, 148) through a top chassis surface (top surface of 112).
Kilgallon discloses the faucet (192) can be connected to a water source; however, Kilgallon does not explicitly disclose wherein the sink chassis is configured to receive one or more utility tubes through a bottom chassis surface as claimed.
Saied discloses a quick-change faucet and sink assembly wherein the sink chassis (121) is configured to receive one or more utility tubes (tubes of 161-164) through a bottom chassis surface (bottom surface of 121; see Fig. 1-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the sink chassis of Kilgallon, to be configured to receive one or more utility tubes as claimed, as taught by Saeid, in order to install a discharge pipe and one or more valves of each individual faucet (col. 3, ll. 25-39).
Regarding claim 10, Kilgallon discloses a modular sink, comprising:
a basin (132);
a sink chassis (112) defining a first plurality of openings (114, 142) extending between a top surface (top surface of 112) and a bottom surface (bottom surface of 112), wherein the sink chassis is configured to receive a functional module (126, 130, 144, 146, 148) through the top surface of each of the first plurality of openings (see Fig. 1-9),
at least one support structure (118, 120, 122, 124) positioned within each of the first plurality of openings, wherein the at least one support structure is configured to interface with a functional module (126, 130, 144, 146, 148) when received by the sink chassis, to removably couple a functional module (126, 130, 144, 146, 148) to the sink chassis (col. 9, ll. 4-59); and
a cover plate (136) positioned over the sink chassis, wherein the cover plate defines a second plurality of openings (openings of 136) aligned with the first plurality of openings of the sink chassis (the openings of 136 are aligned with the 114, 142 along the horizontal plane of 112), such that the cover plate is configured to enable at least one functional module (138) to extend partially above the cover plate when received by the sink chassis (see Fig. 3-4).
Kilgallon discloses the faucet (192) can be connected to a water source; however, Kilgallon does not explicitly disclose wherein the sink chassis is configured to receive at least one utility tube through the bottom surface of each of the first plurality of openings as claimed.
Saied discloses a quick-change faucet and sink assembly wherein the sink chassis (121) is configured to receive at least one utility tube (tubes of 161-164) through the bottom surface (bottom surface of 122) of each of the first plurality of openings (122; see Fig. 1-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the sink chassis of Kilgallon, to be configured to receive one or more utility tubes as claimed, as taught by Saeid, in order to install a discharge pipe and one or more valves of each individual faucet (col. 3, ll. 25-39).
Regarding claim 11, the combination above and specifically Kilgallon further discloses wherein the at least one support structure is positioned against a wall (wall of 114) defined between the top surface and the bottom surface of the first plurality of openings (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, the combination above and specifically Kilgallon further discloses wherein the at least one support structure comprises a snap-in feature (tapered features of 118, 120, 122, 124) configured to removably couple a functional module (126, 130, 144, 146, 148) to the sink chassis.
Regarding claim 13, the combination above and specifically Kilgallon further discloses wherein the cover plate is configured to enable a utility connection structure (bottom portion of 138) of a functional module to extend below the cover plate when received by the sink chassis (see Fig. 3-4), and wherein the cover plate is configured to enable an external feature (top portion of 138) of a functional module to extend above the cover plate when received by the sink chassis (see Fig. 3-4).
Regarding claim 14, the combination above and specifically Kilgallon further discloses a faucet (192) positioned along the sink chassis (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 15, the combination above and specifically Kilgallon further discloses wherein the cover plate is removably coupled to the sink chassis (col. 9, l. 67 – col. 10, l. 11).
Regarding claim 16, the combination above and specifically Kilgallon further discloses wherein the sink chassis is configured to accommodate two or more interlocked functional modules (138; see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 17, Kilgallon discloses a modular sink, comprising:
a basin (132);
a plurality of functional modules (138) each configured to perform a unique utilitarian function (col. 7, ll. 48-58; col. 10, l. 60 – col. 11, l. 5);
a sink chassis (112) defining a first plurality of openings (114, 142) extending between a top surface (top surface of 112) and a bottom surface (bottom surface of 112), wherein the plurality of functional modules are received through the top surface of the first plurality of openings (see Fig. 1-9),
at least one support structure (118, 120, 122, 124) positioned within each of the first plurality of openings, wherein the at least one support structure is configured to interface with at least one functional module of the plurality of functional modules, to removably couple the at least one functional module to the sink chassis (col. 9, ll. 4-59); and
a cover plate (136) positioned over the sink chassis, wherein the cover plate defines a second plurality of openings (openings of 136) aligned with the first plurality of openings of the sink chassis (the openings of 136 are aligned with the 114, 142 along the horizontal plane of 112), wherein the cover plate is configured to separate each of the plurality of the functional modules between a sealed portion (P1-P3) within the sink chassis and an external portion (portion above 136) positioned above the cover plate (see Fig. 3-4).
Kilgallon discloses the faucet (192) can be connected to a water source; however, Kilgallon does not explicitly disclose wherein the sink chassis is configured to receive at least one utility tube through the bottom surface of the first plurality of openings as claimed.
Saied discloses a quick-change faucet and sink assembly wherein the sink chassis (121) is configured to receive at least one utility tube (tubes of 161-164) through the bottom surface (bottom surface of 122) of the first plurality of openings (122; see Fig. 1-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the sink chassis of Kilgallon, to be configured to receive one or more utility tubes as claimed, as taught by Saeid, in order to install a discharge pipe and one or more valves of each individual faucet (col. 3, ll. 25-39).
Regarding claim 18, the combination above and specifically Kilgallon further discloses wherein the plurality of functional modules comprises at least one of a glass rinser, a soap dispenser, a side sprayer, an instant hot water module, a filtered water module, a utensil module (col. 10, l. 60 – col. 11, l. 5), an acoustic speaker, a heating or cooling module, a lighting module, an aroma module, and an ultraviolet sanitizer module.
Regarding claim 19, the combination above and specifically Kilgallon further discloses wherein the plurality of functional modules are configured to interlock with each other (via 136; see Fig. 3-4 and 8).
Regarding claim 20, the combination above and specifically Kilgallon further discloses wherein each of the plurality of functional modules comprise a utility connection structure (bottom portion of 138) and an external feature (top portion of 138), and wherein the cover plate is configured to separate each utility connection structure of the plurality of the functional modules from each external feature of the plurality of functional modules (see Fig. 3-4), such that each utility connection structure is sealed within the sink chassis and each external feature extends above the cover plate (see Fig. 3-4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record in the PTO-892 form and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Moresco (DE 102008044898; machine translation attached) is directed to the state of the art as disclosing a leisure mobile kitchen unit including functional area (2), functional module (6), kitchen block (1), worktop (7), and a sink functional module (3).
/WILLIAM R KLOTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754