DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The present application’s claim to priority under Provisional U.S. Application Nos. 63/643,631 (filing date 05/07/2024), 63/643,608 (filing date 05/07/2024), 63/643,541 (filing date 05/07/2024), 63/643,653 (filing date 05/07/2024), 63/643,788 (filing date 05/07/2024), 63/643,723 (filing date 05/07/2024), 63/643,627 (filing date 05/07/2024), 63/643,617 (filing date 05/07/2024), 63/643,528 (filing date 05/07/2024), and 63/712,647 (filing date 10/28/2024) is hereby acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/22/2025, 04/28/2026, and 05/15/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites “moving, via the actuator coupled to the first sensor, the first sensor from a first position to a second position based at least partly on a second signal from the second sensor indicating a position of the first sensor.” However, antecedent basis already exists in the claim for “wherein the second sensor is configured to monitor a position of the first sensor,” Therefore, it is unclear whether the position of the first sensor indicated by the second signal is the same as the position of the first sensor monitored by the second sensor.
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites “and wherein the state is a first state prior to a second state wherein the product would obstruct a field of view of the sensor.” However, this recitation makes it unclear as to which of the first state or the second state is a state in which the product would obstruct a field of view of the sensor. As structured, the limitation could reasonably be interpreted as (1) the first state being prior to a second state wherein the product would obscure a field of view of the sensor in the first state; or (2) the first state being prior to a second state, wherein the product would obscure a field of view of the sensor in the second state. Further, antecedent basis already exists in claim 7, upon which claim 15 depends, for “a field of view of the sensor”. Therefore, it is unclear whether these recitations refer to the same field of view of the sensor.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites “the controller is further configured to determine the corrective action by selecting a corrective action from a plurality of corrective actions.” However, antecedent basis already exists in claim 16, upon which claim 18 depends, for “a corrective action”. Therefore, it is unclear whether these recitations refer to the same corrective action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoshizaki et al. (US 2020/0238906 A1), hereinafter Yoshizaki.
Regarding claim 1, Yoshizaki discloses an autonomous vehicle system, comprising:
a vehicle;
Yoshizaki discloses ([0028]): "FIGS. 4A-4F illustrate a rear perspective view of a vehicle 402 similar to vehicle 202. The vehicle 402 includes a camera 406 similar to camera 206. The camera 406 is connected to a track 404 and the camera 406 may move along the track 404." At least paragraph [0042] indicates that vehicle 402 may be a semi-autonomous or autonomous vehicle.
a sensor movably coupled with the vehicle;
Yoshizaki discloses ([0028]): "FIGS. 4A-4F illustrate a rear perspective view of a vehicle 402 similar to vehicle 202. The vehicle 402 includes a camera 406 similar to camera 206. The camera 406 is connected to a track 404 and the camera 406 may move along the track 404." Yoshizaki further discloses ([0030]): "FIG. 4B shows the camera 406 moved along the track 404 toward the driver's side of the vehicle 402. The camera 406 moves along the track axis 412 in a direction perpendicular to the lengthwise centerline axis 414 (shown in FIG. 4A). The camera 406 now has a field of view 416 that avoids the object 408."
an actuator configured to move the sensor to reposition the sensor on the vehicle;
Yoshizaki discloses ([0028]): "FIGS. 4A-4F illustrate a rear perspective view of a vehicle 402 similar to vehicle 202. The vehicle 402 includes a camera 406 similar to camera 206. The camera 406 is connected to a track 404 and the camera 406 may move along the track 404." Yoshizaki further discloses ([0030]): "FIG. 4B shows the camera 406 moved along the track 404 toward the driver's side of the vehicle 402. The camera 406 moves along the track axis 412 in a direction perpendicular to the lengthwise centerline axis 414 (shown in FIG. 4A). The camera 406 now has a field of view 416 that avoids the object 408." Yoshizaki even further discloses ([0045]): "The system 600 includes a camera 604 (e.g., camera 206, 406, 506) configured to detect image data of the environment behind the vehicle." Yoshizaki still further discloses ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. " FIG. 4A, included below, depicts the actuator and sensor arrangement.
and a controller configured to detect an obstruction of the sensor and operate the actuator to reposition the sensor.
Yoshizaki discloses ([0035]): "In some embodiments, the camera 406 is automatically moved laterally along the track 404 and/or vertically along the extension 430 until an unobstructed or minimally-obstructed view is achieved. The image data detected by the camera 406 may be automatically analyzed by a control unit (e.g., ECU) of the vehicle 402 to determine an obstruction level at any given camera location. For example, the camera 406 may start at the default position shown in FIG. 4A. The control unit may detect the presence of an object 408 based on an automatic analysis of the image data detected by the camera 406. The control unit may then cause the camera 406 to be moved along the track 404 as shown in FIGS. 4B and 4C. The control unit may also cause the camera 406 to be moved upward along the extension 430 as shown in FIG. 4D and also along the track 404 as shown in FIGS. 4E and 4F. Based on image data detected at each of these positions of the camera 406, the control unit may determine an optimal location for the camera 406 to be located to provide the driver with a least-obstructed view of the environment behind the vehicle 402." Yoshizaki further discloses ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. The actuator 608 is connected to the ECU 602. The ECU 602 may instruct the actuator 608 to move the camera 604 to a particular position in order to provide a least-obstructed or unobstructed view to the driver via the rear-view mirror 610."
Regarding claim 2, Yoshizaki discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Yoshizaki further discloses:
the controller is configured to operate the actuator to reposition the sensor on the vehicle to an unobstructed location.
Yoshizaki discloses ([0028]): "FIGS. 4A-4F illustrate a rear perspective view of a vehicle 402 similar to vehicle 202. The vehicle 402 includes a camera 406 similar to camera 206. The camera 406 is connected to a track 404 and the camera 406 may move along the track 404." Yoshizaki further discloses ([0030]): "FIG. 4B shows the camera 406 moved along the track 404 toward the driver's side of the vehicle 402. The camera 406 moves along the track axis 412 in a direction perpendicular to the lengthwise centerline axis 414 (shown in FIG. 4A). The camera 406 now has a field of view 416 that avoids the object 408." Yoshizaki even further discloses ([0045]): "The system 600 includes a camera 604 (e.g., camera 206, 406, 506) configured to detect image data of the environment behind the vehicle." Yoshizaki still further discloses ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. "
Regarding claim 3, Yoshizaki discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Yoshizaki further discloses:
the sensor is movably coupled with the vehicle by a track, the actuator configured to move the sensor along the track to reposition the sensor.
Yoshizaki discloses ([0028]): "FIGS. 4A-4F illustrate a rear perspective view of a vehicle 402 similar to vehicle 202. The vehicle 402 includes a camera 406 similar to camera 206. The camera 406 is connected to a track 404 and the camera 406 may move along the track 404." Yoshizaki further discloses ([0030]): "FIG. 4B shows the camera 406 moved along the track 404 toward the driver's side of the vehicle 402. The camera 406 moves along the track axis 412 in a direction perpendicular to the lengthwise centerline axis 414 (shown in FIG. 4A). The camera 406 now has a field of view 416 that avoids the object 408." Yoshizaki even further discloses ([0045]): "The system 600 includes a camera 604 (e.g., camera 206, 406, 506) configured to detect image data of the environment behind the vehicle." Yoshizaki still further discloses ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. "
Regarding claim 4, Yoshizaki discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 3. Yoshizaki further discloses:
the track is a first track extending in a first direction and the actuator is a first actuator,
Yoshizaki discloses ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. "
the autonomous vehicle system further comprising a second track extending in a second direction and a second actuator,
Yoshizaki discloses ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. "
wherein the controller is configured to operate the first actuator and the second actuator to reposition the sensor in the first direction and the second direction to an unobstructed location.
Yoshizaki discloses ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. The actuator 608 is connected to the ECU 602. The ECU 602 may instruct the actuator 608 to move the camera 604 to a particular position in order to provide a least-obstructed or unobstructed view to the driver via the rear-view mirror 610."
Regarding claim 5, Yoshizaki discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Yoshizaki further discloses:
the controller is configured to monitor a stage of assembly of a product carried by the vehicle
Yoshizaki discloses ([0049]): "In some embodiments, the sensors 618 are configured to detect a change in the presence of cargo or a change in the positioning of cargo. For example, the sensors 618 may be weight sensors in the cargo bed of a pickup truck that are configured to detect changes in weight. In another example, the sensors 618 may be proximity sensors or presence sensors configured to detect changes in the presence of objects in the cargo bed." Yoshizaki further discloses ([0050]): "When a change in the presence of the cargo or a change in the positioning of the cargo is detected by the sensors 618 or the camera 604, the ECU 602 may determine a new position for the camera 604, as the change in the presence of cargo or a change in the position of cargo may have changed the degree to which the view of the environment behind the vehicle is obscured. For example, a large piece of cargo may be removed..."
and limit repositioning of the sensor or mute an alarm based on a predetermined obstruction to the sensor during the stage of assembly of the product.
Yoshizaki discloses ([0050]): "When a change in the presence of the cargo or a change in the positioning of the cargo is detected by the sensors 618 or the camera 604, the ECU 602 may determine a new position for the camera 604, as the change in the presence of cargo or a change in the position of cargo may have changed the degree to which the view of the environment behind the vehicle is obscured. For example, a large piece of cargo may be removed, and when the sensors 618 detect the change in cargo, the ECU 602 may determine whether the view remains obscured. If the view is no longer obscured, the ECU 602 may return the camera 604 to the initial, default position along the lengthwise centerline axis of the vehicle. If the view from the initial, default position is obscured, the ECU 602 may adjust the position of the camera 604 until the view is least obscured or unobscured. In some embodiments, the ECU 602 has a preference for positioning the camera 604 as close to the original, default position as possible." Here, repositioning of the sensor is limited based on the stage of assembly of the product.
Regarding claim 6, Yoshizaki discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Yoshizaki further discloses:
the sensor is a first sensor and the actuator is a first actuator,
Yoshizaki discloses ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. The actuator 608 is connected to the ECU 602. The ECU 602 may instruct the actuator 608 to move the camera 604 to a particular position in order to provide a least-obstructed or unobstructed view to the driver via the rear-view mirror 610."
the autonomous vehicle system further comprising a second sensor movably coupled with the vehicle and a second actuator configured to move the second sensor to reposition the second sensor on the vehicle,
Yoshizaki discloses ([0045]): " The system 600 includes a camera 604 (e.g., camera 206, 406, 506) configured to detect image data of the environment behind the vehicle. The camera 604 may be one or more cameras." Yoshizaki further discloses ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. The actuator 608 is connected to the ECU 602. The ECU 602 may instruct the actuator 608 to move the camera 604 to a particular position in order to provide a least-obstructed or unobstructed view to the driver via the rear-view mirror 610." Here, the second camera corresponds to a second camera of the one or more cameras.
wherein the controller is configured to: operate the first actuator and the second actuator to reposition the first sensor and the second sensor, respectively, into a first configuration for a first function of the vehicle;
Yoshizaki discloses ([0045]): " The system 600 includes a camera 604 (e.g., camera 206, 406, 506) configured to detect image data of the environment behind the vehicle. The camera 604 may be one or more cameras." Yoshizaki further discloses ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. The actuator 608 is connected to the ECU 602. The ECU 602 may instruct the actuator 608 to move the camera 604 to a particular position in order to provide a least-obstructed or unobstructed view to the driver via the rear-view mirror 610."
and operate the first actuator and the second actuator to reposition the first sensor and the second sensor, respectively, into a second configuration for a second function of the vehicle.
Yoshizaki discloses ([0045]): " The system 600 includes a camera 604 (e.g., camera 206, 406, 506) configured to detect image data of the environment behind the vehicle. The camera 604 may be one or more cameras." Yoshizaki further discloses ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. The actuator 608 is connected to the ECU 602. The ECU 602 may instruct the actuator 608 to move the camera 604 to a particular position in order to provide a least-obstructed or unobstructed view to the driver via the rear-view mirror 610." Yoshizaki even further discloses ([0050]): "When a change in the presence of the cargo or a change in the positioning of the cargo is detected by the sensors 618 or the camera 604, the ECU 602 may determine a new position for the camera 604, as the change in the presence of cargo or a change in the position of cargo may have changed the degree to which the view of the environment behind the vehicle is obscured. For example, a large piece of cargo may be removed, and when the sensors 618 detect the change in cargo, the ECU 602 may determine whether the view remains obscured. If the view is no longer obscured, the ECU 602 may return the camera 604 to the initial, default position along the lengthwise centerline axis of the vehicle. If the view from the initial, default position is obscured, the ECU 602 may adjust the position of the camera 604 until the view is least obscured or unobscured. In some embodiments, the ECU 602 has a preference for positioning the camera 604 as close to the original, default position as possible." Here, the second configuration corresponds to the adjustment to the position of the camera 604 made in response to detecting the change in cargo.
Regarding claim 7, Yoshizaki discloses a vehicle, comprising:
a frame;
Yoshizaki discloses ([0028]): "FIGS. 4A-4F illustrate a rear perspective view of a vehicle 402 similar to vehicle 202. The vehicle 402 includes a camera 406 similar to camera 206. The camera 406 is connected to a track 404 and the camera 406 may move along the track 404. The vehicle 402 has a lengthwise centerline axis 414 and the track 404 runs along a track axis 412 that is perpendicular to the lengthwise centerline axis 414. The track 404 may be positioned on or integrated into a rear body panel above the rear window glass. An object 408 is located within a storage area of the vehicle 402."
an interface assembly configured to support a product;
Yoshizaki discloses ([0023]): "The camera 206 may be located near a centerline axis of the vehicle 202. In some situations, cargo of the vehicle 202 may coincide with the centerline axis of the vehicle 202 and may obstruct the view of the camera 206. For example, the vehicle 202 is shown as being a pickup truck, and a large object (e.g., a couch, a dresser, an appliance, a motorcycle, boxes, etc.) in the truck bed may obstruct the view of the camera 206."
a sensor coupled to the frame and configured to sense an environment around the vehicle;
Yoshizaki discloses ([0028]): "FIGS. 4A-4F illustrate a rear perspective view of a vehicle 402 similar to vehicle 202. The vehicle 402 includes a camera 406 similar to camera 206. The camera 406 is connected to a track 404 and the camera 406 may move along the track 404." Yoshizaki further discloses ([0030]): "FIG. 4B shows the camera 406 moved along the track 404 toward the driver's side of the vehicle 402. The camera 406 moves along the track axis 412 in a direction perpendicular to the lengthwise centerline axis 414 (shown in FIG. 4A). The camera 406 now has a field of view 416 that avoids the object 408."
and a controller communicably coupled to the sensor, wherein the controller is configured to: receive a signal from the sensor;
Yoshizaki discloses ([0031]): "In some embodiments, image processing may be performed on the image data detected by the camera 406 to detect objects that obscure the field of view of the camera 406 and objects that are a part of the environment behind the vehicle 402. For example, an obscuring object (e.g., object 408) may be identified and distinguished from non-obscuring objects, such as another vehicle travelling behind the vehicle 402 or a traffic sign or a pedestrian. Machine learning techniques may be used to detect the various objects in the image data, and to improve upon future detection of objects in the image data detected by the camera 406."
detect an obstruction in a field of view of the sensor based on the signal;
Yoshizaki discloses ([0031]): "In some embodiments, image processing may be performed on the image data detected by the camera 406 to detect objects that obscure the field of view of the camera 406 and objects that are a part of the environment behind the vehicle 402. For example, an obscuring object (e.g., object 408) may be identified and distinguished from non-obscuring objects, such as another vehicle travelling behind the vehicle 402 or a traffic sign or a pedestrian. Machine learning techniques may be used to detect the various objects in the image data, and to improve upon future detection of objects in the image data detected by the camera 406."
determine a corrective action to compensate for the obstruction;
Yoshizaki discloses ([0035]): "In some embodiments, the camera 406 is automatically moved laterally along the track 404 and/or vertically along the extension 430 until an unobstructed or minimally-obstructed view is achieved. The image data detected by the camera 406 may be automatically analyzed by a control unit (e.g., ECU) of the vehicle 402 to determine an obstruction level at any given camera location. For example, the camera 406 may start at the default position shown in FIG. 4A. The control unit may detect the presence of an object 408 based on an automatic analysis of the image data detected by the camera 406. The control unit may then cause the camera 406 to be moved along the track 404 as shown in FIGS. 4B and 4C. The control unit may also cause the camera 406 to be moved upward along the extension 430 as shown in FIG. 4D and also along the track 404 as shown in FIGS. 4E and 4F. Based on image data detected at each of these positions of the camera 406, the control unit may determine an optimal location for the camera 406 to be located to provide the driver with a least-obstructed view of the environment behind the vehicle 402." Yoshizaki further discloses ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. The actuator 608 is connected to the ECU 602. The ECU 602 may instruct the actuator 608 to move the camera 604 to a particular position in order to provide a least-obstructed or unobstructed view to the driver via the rear-view mirror 610."
and control an actuator or adjust operation of the sensor to perform the corrective action.
Yoshizaki discloses ([0035]): "In some embodiments, the camera 406 is automatically moved laterally along the track 404 and/or vertically along the extension 430 until an unobstructed or minimally-obstructed view is achieved. The image data detected by the camera 406 may be automatically analyzed by a control unit (e.g., ECU) of the vehicle 402 to determine an obstruction level at any given camera location. For example, the camera 406 may start at the default position shown in FIG. 4A. The control unit may detect the presence of an object 408 based on an automatic analysis of the image data detected by the camera 406. The control unit may then cause the camera 406 to be moved along the track 404 as shown in FIGS. 4B and 4C. The control unit may also cause the camera 406 to be moved upward along the extension 430 as shown in FIG. 4D and also along the track 404 as shown in FIGS. 4E and 4F. Based on image data detected at each of these positions of the camera 406, the control unit may determine an optimal location for the camera 406 to be located to provide the driver with a least-obstructed view of the environment behind the vehicle 402." Yoshizaki further discloses ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. The actuator 608 is connected to the ECU 602. The ECU 602 may instruct the actuator 608 to move the camera 604 to a particular position in order to provide a least-obstructed or unobstructed view to the driver via the rear-view mirror 610."
Regarding claim 8, Yoshizaki discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 7. Yoshizaki further discloses:
the controller is configured to determine the corrective action by selecting the corrective action from a plurality of corrective actions,
Yoshizaki discloses ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. The actuator 608 is connected to the ECU 602. The ECU 602 may instruct the actuator 608 to move the camera 604 to a particular position in order to provide a least-obstructed or unobstructed view to the driver via the rear-view mirror 610." The Examiner has interpreted providing moving the camera to provide "a least-obstructed or unobstructed view" as selective corrective actions.
the plurality of corrective actions comprising at least one of operating the actuator to reposition the sensor, adjusting a threshold value for the signal, ignoring the signal from the sensor, deactivating the sensor, or activating a second sensor.
Yoshizaki discloses ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. The actuator 608 is connected to the ECU 602. The ECU 602 may instruct the actuator 608 to move the camera 604 to a particular position in order to provide a least-obstructed or unobstructed view to the driver via the rear-view mirror 610."
Regarding claim 9, Yoshizaki discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 7. Yoshizaki further discloses:
the sensor is movably coupled with the vehicle via a track, wherein the actuator is configured to move the sensor along the track.
Yoshizaki discloses ([0028]): "FIGS. 4A-4F illustrate a rear perspective view of a vehicle 402 similar to vehicle 202. The vehicle 402 includes a camera 406 similar to camera 206. The camera 406 is connected to a track 404 and the camera 406 may move along the track 404." Yoshizaki further discloses ([0030]): "FIG. 4B shows the camera 406 moved along the track 404 toward the driver's side of the vehicle 402. The camera 406 moves along the track axis 412 in a direction perpendicular to the lengthwise centerline axis 414 (shown in FIG. 4A). The camera 406 now has a field of view 416 that avoids the object 408." Yoshizaki even further discloses ([0045]): "The system 600 includes a camera 604 (e.g., camera 206, 406, 506) configured to detect image data of the environment behind the vehicle." Yoshizaki still further discloses ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension."
Regarding claim 10, Yoshizaki discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 7. Yoshizaki further discloses:
the actuator coupled to the sensor, the actuator configured to move the sensor between a first position and a second position,
Yoshizaki discloses ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. The actuator 608 is connected to the ECU 602. The ECU 602 may instruct the actuator 608 to move the camera 604 to a particular position in order to provide a least-obstructed or unobstructed view to the driver via the rear-view mirror 610."
wherein the corrective action further comprises moving the sensor from the first position to the second position.
Yoshizaki discloses ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. The actuator 608 is connected to the ECU 602. The ECU 602 may instruct the actuator 608 to move the camera 604 to a particular position in order to provide a least-obstructed or unobstructed view to the driver via the rear-view mirror 610."
Regarding claim 11, Yoshizaki discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 7. Yoshizaki further discloses:
the actuator coupled to the sensor, the actuator configured to move the sensor between a plurality of positions,
Yoshizaki discloses ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. The actuator 608 is connected to the ECU 602. The ECU 602 may instruct the actuator 608 to move the camera 604 to a particular position in order to provide a least-obstructed or unobstructed view to the driver via the rear-view mirror 610."
wherein the corrective action further comprises moving the sensor from a first position in the plurality of positions to a second position in the plurality of positions based on the signal,
Yoshizaki discloses ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. The actuator 608 is connected to the ECU 602. The ECU 602 may instruct the actuator 608 to move the camera 604 to a particular position in order to provide a least-obstructed or unobstructed view to the driver via the rear-view mirror 610."
wherein the second position is a position that is least obstructed according to the signal.
Yoshizaki discloses ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. The actuator 608 is connected to the ECU 602. The ECU 602 may instruct the actuator 608 to move the camera 604 to a particular position in order to provide a least-obstructed or unobstructed view to the driver via the rear-view mirror 610."
Regarding claim 14, Yoshizaki discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 7. Yoshizaki further discloses:
the controller is further configured to: determine a state of assembly of the product;
Yoshizaki discloses ([0049]): "In some embodiments, the sensors 618 are configured to detect a change in the presence of cargo or a change in the positioning of cargo. For example, the sensors 618 may be weight sensors in the cargo bed of a pickup truck that are configured to detect changes in weight. In another example, the sensors 618 may be proximity sensors or presence sensors configured to detect changes in the presence of objects in the cargo bed." Yoshizaki further discloses ([0050]): "When a change in the presence of the cargo or a change in the positioning of the cargo is detected by the sensors 618 or the camera 604, the ECU 602 may determine a new position for the camera 604, as the change in the presence of cargo or a change in the position of cargo may have changed the degree to which the view of the environment behind the vehicle is obscured. For example, a large piece of cargo may be removed..."
and determine the corrective action based on the state of assembly of the product.
Yoshizaki discloses ([0050]): "When a change in the presence of the cargo or a change in the positioning of the cargo is detected by the sensors 618 or the camera 604, the ECU 602 may determine a new position for the camera 604, as the change in the presence of cargo or a change in the position of cargo may have changed the degree to which the view of the environment behind the vehicle is obscured. For example, a large piece of cargo may be removed, and when the sensors 618 detect the change in cargo, the ECU 602 may determine whether the view remains obscured. If the view is no longer obscured, the ECU 602 may return the camera 604 to the initial, default position along the lengthwise centerline axis of the vehicle. If the view from the initial, default position is obscured, the ECU 602 may adjust the position of the camera 604 until the view is least obscured or unobscured. In some embodiments, the ECU 602 has a preference for positioning the camera 604 as close to the original, default position as possible." Here, repositioning of the sensor is limited based on the state of assembly of the product.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshizaki in view of Gummadi et al. (US 2022/0116546 A1), hereinafter Gummadi.
Regarding claim 12, Yoshizaki teaches the aforementioned limitations of claim 7. Yoshizaki further teaches:
the sensor is a first sensor,
Yoshizaki teaches ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. The actuator 608 is connected to the ECU 602. The ECU 602 may instruct the actuator 608 to move the camera 604 to a particular position in order to provide a least-obstructed or unobstructed view to the driver via the rear-view mirror 610."
the vehicle further comprising: a second sensor configured to sense the environment around the vehicle,
Yoshizaki teaches ([0045]): " The system 600 includes a camera 604 (e.g., camera 206, 406, 506) configured to detect image data of the environment behind the vehicle. The camera 604 may be one or more cameras." Here, the second camera corresponds to a second camera of the one or more cameras.
wherein the second sensor has a different field of view than the first sensor,
Yoshizaki teaches ([0037]): "FIGS. 5A-5B illustrate a rear perspective view of a vehicle 502 similar to vehicle 202 and 402. The vehicle 502 includes multiple cameras 506 similar to camera 206 and 406. Instead of having a single camera moving along a track, vehicle 502 has multiple cameras 506 located along a track axis 512 of the vehicle 502. In some embodiments, the multiple cameras 506 span or substantially span the width of a rearmost window of the vehicle 502. The multiple cameras 506 may be positioned along a horizontal line or staggered at different heights. An object 508 is located within a storage area (e.g., a truck bed) of the vehicle 502."
However, Yoshizaki does not outright teach that the corrective action comprises: deactivating the first sensor; and activating the second sensor. Gummadi teaches camera occlusion detection, comprising:
wherein the corrective action comprises: deactivating the first sensor; and activating the second sensor.
Gummadi teaches ([0126]): "In some cases, the mobile device 205 may switch which of the cameras is active and which of the cameras is disabled based on occlusion of the cameras. For instance, if the first camera 220A is active, and the mobile device 205 detects an occlusion similar to one of the occlusions 630A-C occluding light from being received by the first camera 220A, the mobile device 205 may disable the first camera 220A and activate the second camera 220B. Likewise, if the second camera 220B is active, and the mobile device 205 detects an occlusion similar to one of the occlusions 630A-C occluding light from being received by the second camera 220B, the mobile device 205 may disable the second camera 220B and activate the first camera 220A."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yoshizaki to incorporate the teachings of Gummadi to provide that the corrective action comprises: deactivating the first sensor; and activating the second sensor. Yoshizaki and Gummadi are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of sensor obstruction detection. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Gummadi, as doing so beneficially allows for switching between a first sensor and a second sensor based on one of the two sensors being occluded, as recognized by Gummadi (see at least [0126]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshizaki in view of Ramalingam et al. (US 2019/0110125 A1), hereinafter Ramalingam.
Regarding claim 13, Yoshizaki teaches the aforementioned limitations of claim 7. Yoshizaki further teaches:
the sensor is a first sensor,
Yoshizaki teaches ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. The actuator 608 is connected to the ECU 602. The ECU 602 may instruct the actuator 608 to move the camera 604 to a particular position in order to provide a least-obstructed or unobstructed view to the driver via the rear-view mirror 610."
wherein the corrective action comprises moving, via the actuator coupled to the first sensor, the first sensor from a first position to a second position based at least partly on [a position of the first sensor].
Yoshizaki teaches ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. The actuator 608 is connected to the ECU 602. The ECU 602 may instruct the actuator 608 to move the camera 604 to a particular position in order to provide a least-obstructed or unobstructed view to the driver via the rear-view mirror 610."
However, while Yoshizaki does teach a second sensor coupled to the frame (see at least [0028] and [0045]); however, the second sensor is not disclosed as being configured to monitor a position of the first sensor. Ramalingam teaches an image-capture device, comprising:
wherein the second sensor is configured to monitor a position of the first sensor,
Ramalingam teaches ([0023]): "Examples of implementation of each of the plurality of image-capture devices 104 may include, but are not limited to, an image-sensor..." Ramalingam further teaches ([0038]): "The image-capture device may be further configured to sense location of the image-capture device by use of the location sensor (such as the GPS sensor) integrated within the image-capture device. The image-capture device may be configured to communicate information associated with the sensed focal length, the orientation, and the location of the image-capture device to the server 102." Yoshizaki is modified such that the camera(s) of Yoshizaki comprise the location sensor integrated within the image-capture device of Ramalingam.
wherein the second sensor is configured to monitor a position of the first sensor,
Ramalingam teaches ([0023]): "Examples of implementation of each of the plurality of image-capture devices 104 may include, but are not limited to, an image-sensor..." Ramalingam further teaches ([0038]): "The image-capture device may be further configured to sense location of the image-capture device by use of the location sensor (such as the GPS sensor) integrated within the image-capture device. The image-capture device may be configured to communicate information associated with the sensed focal length, the orientation, and the location of the image-capture device to the server 102." Yoshizaki is modified such that the camera(s) of Yoshizaki comprise the location sensor integrated within the image-capture device of Ramalingam.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yoshizaki to incorporate the teachings of Gummadi to provide a second sensor coupled to the frame, wherein the second sensor is configured to monitor a position of the first sensor. Yoshizaki and Gummadi are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of sensor devices. Further, both Yoshizaki and Gummadi are concerned with the locations of the sensor device(s). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to incorporate the teachings of Gummadi, as incorporating the location sensor (e.g., GPS sensor) of Ramalingam within the sensor(s) of Yoshizaki would provide the predictable result of determining the position of the sensor(s) via the location sensor(s). Ramalingam provides the additional benefit of communicating the orientation and location of the image-capture device to a remote server, as recognized by Ramalingam (see at least [0023] and [0038]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshizaki in view of Schmitt et al. (US 2023/0027627 A1), hereinafter Schmitt.
Regarding claim 15, Yoshizaki teaches the aforementioned limitations of claim 14. However, Yoshizaki does not outright teach that the state of assembly of the product is a manufacturing state in an assembly line, and wherein the state is a first state prior to a second state wherein the product would obstruct a field of view of the sensor. Schmitt teaches a neural network for classifying obstructions in an optical sensor, comprising:
the state of assembly of the product is a manufacturing state in an assembly line,
Schmitt teaches ([0068]): "FIG. 7 shows an embodiment in which the control system (40) is used to control a manufacturing machine (11), e.g., a punch cutter, a cutter, a gun drill or a gripper, of a manufacturing system (200), e.g., as part of a production line. The manufacturing machine may comprise a transportation device, e.g., a conveyer belt or an assembly line, which moves a manufactured product (12). The control system (40) controls an actuator (10), which in turn controls the manufacturing machine (11)." Schmitt further teaches ([0069]): "The optical sensor (30) may capture properties of, e.g., a manufactured product (12). The actuator (10) may be controlled depending on a position detected by, e.g., a second neural network."
and wherein the state is a first state prior to a second state wherein the product would obstruct a field of view of the sensor.
Schmitt teaches ([0069]): "The optical sensor (30) may capture properties of, e.g., a manufactured product (12). The actuator (10) may be controlled depending on a position detected by, e.g., a second neural network." Schmitt further teaches ([0070]): "The neural network (60) may be configured to whether the optical sensor (30) is obstructed or not. If the optical sensor (30) is classified as obstructed, the manufacturing machine (11) may be stopped and/or an operator or technician may be alerted to conduct maintenance on the manufacturing machine (11)."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yoshizaki to incorporate the teachings of Schmitt to provide that the state of assembly of the product is a manufacturing state in an assembly line, and wherein the state is a first state prior to a second state wherein the product would obstruct a field of view of the sensor. Yoshizaki and Schmitt are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of sensor obstruction detection. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Schmitt, as doing so beneficially allows for stopping operation or notifying an operator or technician if an obstruction is detected, as recognized by Schmitt ([0069]-[0070]).
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwahori et al. (US 2024/0393212 A1), hereinafter Iwahori, in view of Yoshizaki .
Regarding claim 16, Iwahori teaches a method of manufacturing a vehicle, the method comprising:
providing a frame;
Iwahori teaches ([0038]): "The inspection system 500 is used in, for example, a factory that manufactures vehicles 100 that are moving objects that can be run by unmanned driving. The inspection system 500 includes an inspection device 200 and a server 300 that is a remote control device. The inspection system 500 inspects whether or not the vehicle 100 can be normally run at a predetermined running speed by unmanned driving." Iwahori further teaches ([0051]): "FIG. 2 is a block diagram illustrating an internal functional configuration of the ECU 180. The ECU 180 is mounted on the vehicle 100, and executes various control of the vehicle 100. The ECU 180 includes a Hard Disk Drive (HDD), a Solid State Drive (SSD), a storage device 186 such as an optical recording medium or a semiconductor memory, a CPU 182 that is a central processing unit, and the like..." Iwahori even further teaches ([0055]): "Back to FIG. 1, the server 300 executes driving control of the vehicle 100 by remote control. The server 300 conveys the vehicle 100 in a manufacturing process in the factory by, for example, causing the vehicle 100 to autonomously run. Conveyance of the vehicle 100 that uses autonomous running by remote control is also referred to as “self-running conveyance”. The server 300 can cause the vehicle 100 to move by remote control without using a conveyance device such as a crane or a conveyor." FIG. 1, included below, demonstrates that the ECU 180 among other components is mounted to the vehicle 100; that is, a frame is provided on the vehicle 100 allowing for mounting of component(s).
coupling an interface assembly configured to support a product to the frame;
Iwahori teaches ([0051]): "FIG. 2 is a block diagram illustrating an internal functional configuration of the ECU 180. The ECU 180 is mounted on the vehicle 100, and executes various control of the vehicle 100. The ECU 180 includes a Hard Disk Drive (HDD), a Solid State Drive (SSD), a storage device 186 such as an optical recording medium or a semiconductor memory, a CPU 182 that is a central processing unit, and the like... Computer programs for implementing at least part of functions provided in the present embodiment are stored in the storage device 186. When the CPU 182 executes various computer programs stored in the memory, functions of a driving control unit 184 and the like are implemented."
However, while Iwahori does teach a sensor coupled to the frame (i.e., wheel speed sensor 170 [0051), this sensor is not configured to sense an environment around the vehicle. Yoshizaki teaches a vehicle sensor automatic position adjustment system, comprising:
coupling a sensor to the frame, the sensor configured to sense an environment around the vehicle;
Yoshizaki teaches ([0028]): "FIGS. 4A-4F illustrate a rear perspective view of a vehicle 402 similar to vehicle 202. The vehicle 402 includes a camera 406 similar to camera 206. The camera 406 is connected to a track 404 and the camera 406 may move along the track 404." Yoshizaki further teaches ([0030]): "FIG. 4B shows the camera 406 moved along the track 404 toward the driver's side of the vehicle 402. The camera 406 moves along the track axis 412 in a direction perpendicular to the lengthwise centerline axis 414 (shown in FIG. 4A). The camera 406 now has a field of view 416 that avoids the object 408."
and communicably coupling a controller to the sensor, the controller configured to: receive a signal from the sensor;
Yoshizaki teaches ([0031]): "In some embodiments, image processing may be performed on the image data detected by the camera 406 to detect objects that obscure the field of view of the camera 406 and objects that are a part of the environment behind the vehicle 402. For example, an obscuring object (e.g., object 408) may be identified and distinguished from non-obscuring objects, such as another vehicle travelling behind the vehicle 402 or a traffic sign or a pedestrian. Machine learning techniques may be used to detect the various objects in the image data, and to improve upon future detection of objects in the image data detected by the camera 406."
detect an obstruction in a field of view of the sensor based on the signal;
Yoshizaki teaches ([0031]): "In some embodiments, image processing may be performed on the image data detected by the camera 406 to detect objects that obscure the field of view of the camera 406 and objects that are a part of the environment behind the vehicle 402. For example, an obscuring object (e.g., object 408) may be identified and distinguished from non-obscuring objects, such as another vehicle travelling behind the vehicle 402 or a traffic sign or a pedestrian. Machine learning techniques may be used to detect the various objects in the image data, and to improve upon future detection of objects in the image data detected by the camera 406."
determine a corrective action to compensate for the obstruction;
Yoshizaki teaches ([0035]): "In some embodiments, the camera 406 is automatically moved laterally along the track 404 and/or vertically along the extension 430 until an unobstructed or minimally-obstructed view is achieved. The image data detected by the camera 406 may be automatically analyzed by a control unit (e.g., ECU) of the vehicle 402 to determine an obstruction level at any given camera location. For example, the camera 406 may start at the default position shown in FIG. 4A. The control unit may detect the presence of an object 408 based on an automatic analysis of the image data detected by the camera 406. The control unit may then cause the camera 406 to be moved along the track 404 as shown in FIGS. 4B and 4C. The control unit may also cause the camera 406 to be moved upward along the extension 430 as shown in FIG. 4D and also along the track 404 as shown in FIGS. 4E and 4F. Based on image data detected at each of these positions of the camera 406, the control unit may determine an optimal location for the camera 406 to be located to provide the driver with a least-obstructed view of the environment behind the vehicle 402." Yoshizaki further teaches ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. The actuator 608 is connected to the ECU 602. The ECU 602 may instruct the actuator 608 to move the camera 604 to a particular position in order to provide a least-obstructed or unobstructed view to the driver via the rear-view mirror 610."
and control an actuator or adjust operation of the sensor to perform the corrective action.
Yoshizaki teaches ([0035]): "In some embodiments, the camera 406 is automatically moved laterally along the track 404 and/or vertically along the extension 430 until an unobstructed or minimally-obstructed view is achieved. The image data detected by the camera 406 may be automatically analyzed by a control unit (e.g., ECU) of the vehicle 402 to determine an obstruction level at any given camera location. For example, the camera 406 may start at the default position shown in FIG. 4A. The control unit may detect the presence of an object 408 based on an automatic analysis of the image data detected by the camera 406. The control unit may then cause the camera 406 to be moved along the track 404 as shown in FIGS. 4B and 4C. The control unit may also cause the camera 406 to be moved upward along the extension 430 as shown in FIG. 4D and also along the track 404 as shown in FIGS. 4E and 4F. Based on image data detected at each of these positions of the camera 406, the control unit may determine an optimal location for the camera 406 to be located to provide the driver with a least-obstructed view of the environment behind the vehicle 402." Yoshizaki further teaches ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. The actuator 608 is connected to the ECU 602. The ECU 602 may instruct the actuator 608 to move the camera 604 to a particular position in order to provide a least-obstructed or unobstructed view to the driver via the rear-view mirror 610."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iwahori to incorporate the teachings of Yoshizaki to provide coupling a sensor to the frame, the sensor configured to sense an environment around the vehicle; and communicably coupling a controller to the sensor, the controller configured to: receive a signal from the sensor; detect an obstruction in a field of view of the sensor based on the signal; determine a corrective action to compensate for the obstruction; and control an actuator or adjust operation of the sensor to perform the corrective action. Iwahori and Yoshizaki are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of autonomous vehicle systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Yoshizaki, as implementing the obstruction detection and corrective action of Yoshizaki beneficially allows for relocation of a vehicle sensor to an unobstructed or minimally-obstructed view, as recognized by Yoshizaki (see at least [0035] and [0048]).
Regarding claim 17, Iwahori and Yoshizaki teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 16. However, Iwahori does not outright teach configuring the controller to determine the corrective action to compensate for the obstruction includes configuring the controller to reposition the sensor on the vehicle. Yoshizaki further teaches:
configuring the controller to determine the corrective action to compensate for the obstruction includes configuring the controller to reposition the sensor on the vehicle.
Yoshizaki teaches ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. The actuator 608 is connected to the ECU 602. The ECU 602 may instruct the actuator 608 to move the camera 604 to a particular position in order to provide a least-obstructed or unobstructed view to the driver via the rear-view mirror 610."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iwahori and Yoshizaki to further incorporate the teachings of Yoshizaki to provide configuring the controller to determine the corrective action to compensate for the obstruction includes configuring the controller to reposition the sensor on the vehicle. Iwahori and Yoshizaki are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of autonomous vehicle systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Yoshizaki, as implementing the obstruction detection and corrective action of Yoshizaki beneficially allows for relocation of a vehicle sensor to an unobstructed or minimally-obstructed view, as recognized by Yoshizaki (see at least [0035] and [0048]).
Regarding claim 18, Iwahori and Yoshizaki teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 16. However, Iwahori does not outright teach that the controller is further configured to determine the corrective action by selecting a corrective action from a plurality of corrective actions. Yoshizaki further teaches:
the controller is further configured to determine the corrective action by selecting a corrective action from a plurality of corrective actions.
Yoshizaki teaches ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. The actuator 608 is connected to the ECU 602. The ECU 602 may instruct the actuator 608 to move the camera 604 to a particular position in order to provide a least-obstructed or unobstructed view to the driver via the rear-view mirror 610." The Examiner has interpreted providing moving the camera to provide "a least-obstructed or unobstructed view" as selective corrective actions.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iwahori and Yoshizaki to further incorporate the teachings of Yoshizaki to provide that the controller is further configured to determine the corrective action by selecting a corrective action from a plurality of corrective actions. Iwahori and Yoshizaki are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of autonomous vehicle systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Yoshizaki, as implementing the obstruction detection and corrective action of Yoshizaki beneficially allows for relocation of a vehicle sensor to an unobstructed or minimally-obstructed view, as recognized by Yoshizaki (see at least [0035] and [0048]).
Regarding claim 19, Iwahori and Yoshizaki teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 16. However, Iwahori does not outright teach coupling a sensor actuator to the sensor, the sensor actuator configured to move the sensor between a plurality of positions. Yoshizaki further teaches:
coupling a sensor actuator to the sensor, the sensor actuator configured to move the sensor between a plurality of positions.
Yoshizaki teaches ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. The actuator 608 is connected to the ECU 602. The ECU 602 may instruct the actuator 608 to move the camera 604 to a particular position in order to provide a least-obstructed or unobstructed view to the driver via the rear-view mirror 610."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iwahori and Yoshizaki to further incorporate the teachings of Yoshizaki to provide coupling a sensor actuator to the sensor, the sensor actuator configured to move the sensor between a plurality of positions. Iwahori and Yoshizaki are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of autonomous vehicle systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Yoshizaki, as implementing the obstruction detection and corrective action of Yoshizaki beneficially allows for relocation of a vehicle sensor to an unobstructed or minimally-obstructed view, as recognized by Yoshizaki (see at least [0035] and [0048]).
Regarding claim 20, Iwahori and Yoshizaki teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 19. However, Iwahori does not outright teach that configuring the controller to control the actuator or adjust operation of the sensor to perform the corrective action includes moving the sensor from a first position in the plurality of positions to a second position in the plurality of positions based on the signal, wherein the second position is the position least obstructed according to the signal. Yoshizaki further teaches:
configuring the controller to control the actuator or adjust operation of the sensor to perform the corrective action includes moving the sensor from a first position in the plurality of positions to a second position in the plurality of positions based on the signal,
Yoshizaki teaches ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. The actuator 608 is connected to the ECU 602. The ECU 602 may instruct the actuator 608 to move the camera 604 to a particular position in order to provide a least-obstructed or unobstructed view to the driver via the rear-view mirror 610."
wherein the second position is the position least obstructed according to the signal.
Yoshizaki teaches ([0048]): "The actuator 608 may be one or more actuators. In some embodiments, the actuator 608 causes the camera 604 to move laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and vertically up or down an extension (e.g., extension 430, 540). For example, a first actuator moves the camera 604 laterally (or horizontally) along the track 606 and a second actuator moves the camera 604 vertically along the extension. The actuator 608 is connected to the ECU 602. The ECU 602 may instruct the actuator 608 to move the camera 604 to a particular position in order to provide a least-obstructed or unobstructed view to the driver via the rear-view mirror 610."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iwahori and Yoshizaki to further incorporate the teachings of Yoshizaki to provide that configuring the controller to control the actuator or adjust operation of the sensor to perform the corrective action includes moving the sensor from a first position in the plurality of positions to a second position in the plurality of positions based on the signal, wherein the second position is the position least obstructed according to the signal. Iwahori and Yoshizaki are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of autonomous vehicle systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Yoshizaki, as implementing the obstruction detection and corrective action of Yoshizaki beneficially allows for relocation of a vehicle sensor to an unobstructed or minimally-obstructed view, as recognized by Yoshizaki (see at least [0035] and [0048]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bier (US 2018/0180719 A1) teaches an extendable sensor mount for a vehicle, including determining whether a sensor obstruction exists (see at least [0053]-[0054]) and controlling one or more actuators of a sensor mount associated with the sensor to adjust the position of the sensing device to a desired position (see at least [0055]). Wassall et al. (US 2021/0244479 A1) teaches detecting and correcting camera obstructions by enabling motorized movement of cameras to a new position that is no longer obstructed by an object (see at least [0066]); however, Wassall et al. is directed to a surgical robot rather than a vehicle. Im et al. (US 2007/0100501 A1) teaches an apparatus and method for controlling a camera of a robot cleaner, including position compensation by moving and controlling a camera mounted on the robot cleaner in two axis directions in response to obstacle detection; however, the two axis direction control of the camera of Im et al. is not described as moving along a track or tracks. Dolinar et al. (US 2013/0190981 A1) teaches a vehicle imaging system wherein a GPS position of an imaging sensor of the vehicle is determined using conventional mechanisms (e.g., using vectorial offsets) with respect to the position of a GPS antenna mounted to the vehicle (see at least [0162]-[0164] and [0174]).
/F.T.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/DALE W HILGENDORF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662