DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to application number 19/087,298 filed on 03/21/2025, in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The determination of whether a claim recites patent ineligible subject matter is a two-step inquiry.
STEP 1: the claim does not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter), See MPEP 2106.03, or
STEP 2: the claim recites a judicial exception, e.g. an abstract idea, without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as determined using the following analysis: See MPEP 2106.04
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? See MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(1)
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? See MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(2)
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? See MPEP 2106.05
Claims 1-5 & 9-20 are rejected under 35 USC §101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. See MPEP 2106 (III)
Claim 9 does not fall under 35 U.S.C. §101 despite being a statutory category and reciting a judicial exception (abstract idea). The claim recites additional elements of performing a second automated control action based on the implement not being in the implement position associated with the target configuration, the second automated control action comprising adjusting the position of the implement. This limitation overcomes the requirements of Step 2A, Prong 2 by explicitly demonstrating control functionality within the claim, thus pull the claim from being a mental process via practical application.
Claim 1: A system for monitoring a vehicle, the system comprising: a first sensor configured to detect at least one parameter of a vehicle; and
at least one controller communicably coupled to the first sensor, wherein the controller comprises a processor and a memory storing code, the code including instructions that when executed by the processor cause the processor to:
receive, from the first sensor, a signal indicating the at least one parameter;
determine a state associated with the vehicle based on the at least one parameter;
determine, based on the state and a target state, if the vehicle is in a target configuration; and
perform, based on the vehicle being in the target configuration, an automated control action, wherein the automated control action comprises providing a first alert indicating that the vehicle is in the target configuration.
Claim Analysis - 35 USC § 101
Step 1: Statutory category – Yes
The claim recites a system comprising a device (an apparatus) comprising a sensor and a controller. The claim falls within one of the four statutory categories. See MPEP 2106.03
Step 2A, Prong 1: Judicial Exception – Yes – Mental processes
In Step 2A, Prong one of the 2019 Patent Eligibility Guidance (PEG), a claim is to be analyzed to determine whether it recites subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) mental processes, and/or c) certain methods of organizing human activity.
The Office submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitutes judicial exceptions in terms of “mental processes” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitations can be “performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper”. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)
The claim recites the limitation of determine a state associated with the vehicle based on the at least one parameter and determine, based on the state and a target state, if the vehicle is in a target configuration. This limitation, as drafted, are simple processes that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of “a memory, an input device and a controller”. That is, other than reciting “a memory, an input device and a controller” nothing in the claim elements precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “a memory, an input device and a controller” language, the claim encompasses a person looking at data collected and forming a simple judgement. The mere nominal recitation by a controller does not take the claim limitations out of the mental process grouping.
Thus, the claim recites a mental process.
Step 2A, Prong 2: Practical Application - No
In Step 2A, Prong two of the 2019 PEG, a claim is to be evaluated whether, as a whole, it integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application. As noted in MPEP 2106.04(d), it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements such as: merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
The Office submits that the foregoing underlined limitation(s) recite additional elements that do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application.
The claim recites additional elements or steps of a first sensor configured to detect at least one parameter of a vehicle; and at least one controller communicably coupled to the first sensor, wherein the controller comprises a processor and a memory storing code, the code including instructions that when executed by the processor cause the processor to: receive, from the first sensor, a signal indicating the at least one parameter; perform, based on the vehicle being in the target configuration, an automated control action, wherein the automated control action comprises providing a first alert indicating that the vehicle is in the target configuration. The received parameter data step by the sensor device is recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of gathering parameter data for use in the predicting step by the said controller), and amount to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The memory, processor, and controller merely automates the inputting and the predicting steps, therefore acting as a generic computer to perform the abstract idea and/ or “apply” the otherwise mental judgements using a generic or general-purpose processor, i.e. a controller. The said automated action and/or alert is also recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to post solution activity via the controller or field of use without telling you how it is accomplished.
Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B: Inventive concept - No
In Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, a claim is to be evaluated as to whether the claim, as a whole, amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. See MPEP 2106.05.
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception on a generic computer cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra- solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. Here, the sensor data inputting step, the automated action, and the memory/ processor device & controller elements were considered to be insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus they are re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field.
The specification recites that “processor and memory” as “The controller 7050 of the shipping readiness system 7000 includes a processing circuit 7100 including a processor 7120 and a memory 7140. The processor 7120 may be coupled to the memory 7140. The processor 7120 may be a general purpose or specific purpose processor, an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), one or more field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), a group of processing components, or other suitable processing components. The processor 7120 is configured to execute computer code or instructions stored in the memory 7140or received from other computer readable media (e.g., CDROM, network storage, a remote server, etc.). The memory 7140 may include one or more devices (e.g., memory units, memory devices, storage devices, etc.) for storing data and/or computer code for completing and/or facilitating the various processes described in the present disclosure. The memory 7140 may include random access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM), hard drive storage, temporary storage, non-volatile memory, flash memory, optical memory, or any other suitable memory for storing software objects and/or computer instructions. The memory 7140 may include database components, object code components, script components, or any other type of information structure for supporting the various activities and information structures described in the present disclosure. The memory 7140 may be communicably connected to the processor 7120 via the processing circuit 7100 and may include computer code for executing (e.g., by the processor 7120) one or more of the processes described herein” (See ¶105-106), and the specification does not provide any indication that the prediction model is anything other than a conventional model. The specification Further does not provide any indication that the controller elements are anything other than a conventional computer element(s) (See ¶¶105-106). MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)
The specification also states “automated control action” as “Based on the determined state and a target state, the processor 7120 determines if the vehicle to be shipped is in a target configuration such as the shipping configuration 7510. If the telehandler 7010 is in the shipping configuration 7510, the processor 7120 may perform one or more automated control actions. The automated control actions may include providing an alert such as an approval signal indicating that the telehandler 7010 is approved for shipping. The signal may be sent to a user device, such as the user device 102. The signal may include auditory/and or visual indicators to indicate shipping readiness” which is a automated post solution activity of the controller with no definitive control step or practical application.
Lastly, the specification states “the sensors” as “As shown in FIG. 3, the vehicle 6002 includes one or more sensors (e.g., sensors 60) shown as cameras 6006” which is a generic sensor unit.
Accordingly, a conclusion that using a automated action and/or controller elements are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer.
Thus, the claim is ineligible.
Claim 13: Independent method claim 13 recites similar limitations performed by the system of claim 1. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected under the same rationales used in the rejections of claim 1 as outlined above.
Claim 17: Independent system claim 17 recites similar limitations performed by the system of claim 1. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected under the same rationales used in the rejections of claim 1 as outlined above.
Claims 2-5, 10, 12, 14-16, & 19-20: Dependents do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims further narrow the abstract idea and can be performed in the human mind. Therefore, dependent claims 2-5, 10, 12, 14-16, & 19-20 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of independent claims 1, 13, & 17.
Claims 11, & 18: Dependents do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
Examiner Note: although there is control language in the dependents, none are narrow enough (except claim 9) to be considered anything other than post-solution activity. An alert and broad controlling of a parameter or component do not constitute a practical application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 10-11, 13, & 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tagalpallewar et al. US 20250026271 A1 (hereinafter Tagalpallewar).
Claim 1: Tagalpallewar discloses a system for monitoring a vehicle, the system comprising: a first sensor configured to detect at least one parameter of a vehicle; and at least one controller communicably coupled to the first sensor, wherein the controller comprises a processor and a memory storing code, the code including instructions that when executed by the processor cause the processor to: receive, from the first sensor, a signal indicating the at least one parameter; determine a state associated with the vehicle based on the at least one parameter [[0069]; The vision system 120 together with the logic executed by the processor effectively provides for directly or indirectly monitoring the position of the bucket relative to the body of the tractor in lieu of the need for physical implement position sensors such as linear transducers or the like to monitor the stroke position of cylinders. The vision system 120 provides the boom stroke position and other data related to the inclination of the implement on the boom in an essentially continual manner]; determine, based on the state and a target state, if the vehicle is in a target configuration [[0033]; The method includes imaging by an vision system of a position assist apparatus a set of one or more target devices carried on the loader, generating target device data by the vision system representative of the image of the set of one or more target devices, storing positioning assist logic in a non-transient memory device of a loader position control apparatus operatively coupled with the vision system, the loader position control apparatus comprising a processor device, a non-transient memory device operatively coupled with the processor device, and the memory device, executing the positioning assist logic by the processor device to determine based on the target device data a current height of the loader, and generate, based on the determined current height of the loader, current loader height data representative of the determined current height of the loader, and displaying based on the generated current loader height data a loader current height image by a display unit operatively coupled with the loader position control apparatus and comprising a screen that is viewable by an operator of the associated tractor, wherein the loader current height image is viewable by the operator of the associated tractor for assisting the operator move the loader to the desired position which is marked on display device with the help of processing device]; and perform, based on the vehicle being in the target configuration, an automated control action, wherein the automated control action comprises providing a first alert indicating that the vehicle is in the target configuration [[0096] & [0119]; The subject positioning assist apparatus 100 may also generate signals that may be used for automatically positioning the boom to desired positions, heights, and/or levels for automated loader tasks and/or for automatically positioning the tool carrier 22 and implement 24 to desired positions, heights, and/or levels. (...) If it is determined at 524 that the error at 522 between the current loader boom height and/or tool carrier angle and/or implement surface and/or geometric feature and the desired loader boom height and/or tool carrier angle is minimal, the user is notified at 516 that the loader boom and/or the tool carrier are at their respective desired positions to realize the level between the implement and the ground].
Claim 5: Tagalpallewar teaches the system of claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated.
Tagalpallewar discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one parameter includes at least one of a tire position, an implement position, a lighting state, or secure attachment to a shipping structure [Abstract; A positioning assist apparatus includes a vision system that generates target device data representative of an obtained image of a set of target devices carried on the boom or tool carrier of the loader or on both, and positioning assist logic executable by a processor to determine a current position and/or pose of the loader based on the target device data, and to generate current loader position data representative of the determined current position of the loader].
Claim 10: Tagalpallewar teaches the system of claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated.
Tagalpallewar discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first sensor is configured to be integrated onto the vehicle or separate from the vehicle [[0055]; In some examples, the vision sensor device 121 can be mounted on the cab facing forwards toward the bucket, attachment, or other work tool. For example, the camera can be mounted on the front surface of the cab 5 or the top surface (e.g., roof) of the cab 5. However, it is to be appreciated that the vision sensor device 121 can be mounted anywhere on the tractor 2 as may be convenient or desired and, in particular, can be mounted anywhere on tractors without cabs structures or the like].
Claim 11: Tagalpallewar teaches the system of claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated.
Tagalpallewar discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the automated control action further comprises controlling the vehicle to adjust the at least one parameter until the state matches the target state [[0025]; In any of the embodiments herein, the memory device of the positioning assist apparatus stores desired loader position data representative of the desired position of the loader, and the processor device is operable to execute automated operation logic to generate a control signal controlling one or more cylinders of the loader based on the current loader height data and the desired loader position data to move the loader from the determined current height to the desired position in response to a return to position (RTP) command received by the positioning assist apparatus].
Claim(s) 13: The claim(s) is directed towards a method of the recited limitations performed by the system of claim(s) 1, respectively. The cited portions of Tagalpallewar used in the rejection of claim(s) 1 teach the same steps to perform the method of claim(s) 13, respectively. Therefore, claim(s) 13 is rejected under the same rationales used in the rejection of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Claim 17: Tagalpallewar discloses A system comprising: a vehicle having one or more components; one or more sensors at least one of the one or more sensors coupled to or separate from the vehicle and configured to detect current parameters of the one or more components of the vehicle [[0053] & [0055]; The positioning assist apparatus 100 of the example embodiment shown may physically and/or electronically adjust one or more operational characteristics of the one or more imaging and/or perception devices or sensors such as the vision system 120 including for example the vision sensor device 121, or other optical and/or imaging or perception device(s) in response to movement of various different types of work implements without limitation.(...) The vision system 120 is operable in general to image a set of one or more target devices 310 (FIG. 3) carried on the loader 10 to generate target device data representative of the image of the set of one or more target devices. The generated target device data is used to determine a current pose of the loader including for example a current position, height, and/or lever of the loader for providing to the operator for informational uses, and to automatically position the loader for automated load handling. (...) In some examples, the vision sensor device 121 can be mounted on the cab facing forwards toward the bucket, attachment, or other work tool. For example, the camera can be mounted on the front surface of the cab 5 or the top surface (e.g., roof) of the cab 5. However, it is to be appreciated that the vision sensor device 121 can be mounted anywhere on the tractor 2 as may be convenient or desired and, in particular, can be mounted anywhere on tractors without cabs structures or the like.]; and a controller communicably coupled to the one or more sensors wherein the controller comprises a processor and a memory storing code, the code including instructions that when executed by the processor cause the processor to: receive a set of parameters associated with a target state for the vehicle, the set of parameters being associated with the one or more components of the vehicle [[0052] & [0069]; The positioning assist apparatus 100 of the example embodiments herein may execute or otherwise perform loader position indication functions including providing loader height and/or level indication, and also including providing loader height and/or level indication for assisting an operator move and position the boom and/or tool carrier of the loader to one or more desired position(s). (...) The vision system 120 together with the logic executed by the processor effectively provides for directly or indirectly monitoring the position of the bucket relative to the body of the tractor in lieu of the need for physical implement position sensors such as linear transducers or the like to monitor the stroke position of cylinders. The vision system 120 provides the boom stroke position and other data related to the inclination of the implement on the boom in an essentially continual manner]; receive, from the one or more sensors, data indicative of the current parameters of the one or more components of the vehicle [[0019]; An embodiment herein is directed to systems and methods that use a vision system such as an imaging system to provide a loader height and/or level indication for automated loader positioning to automatically move the loader from determined current loader heights to desired loader heights in sequence, wherein the sequence performs a desired operation with the loader]; compare the current parameters of the one or more components of the vehicle to the set of parameters associated with the target state for the vehicle [[0033]; The method includes imaging by an vision system of a position assist apparatus a set of one or more target devices carried on the loader, generating target device data by the vision system representative of the image of the set of one or more target devices, storing positioning assist logic in a non-transient memory device of a loader position control apparatus operatively coupled with the vision system, the loader position control apparatus comprising a processor device, a non-transient memory device operatively coupled with the processor device, and the memory device, executing the positioning assist logic by the processor device to determine based on the target device data a current height of the loader, and generate, based on the determined current height of the loader, current loader height data representative of the determined current height of the loader, and displaying based on the generated current loader height data a loader current height image by a display unit operatively coupled with the loader position control apparatus and comprising a screen that is viewable by an operator of the associated tractor, wherein the loader current height image is viewable by the operator of the associated tractor for assisting the operator move the loader to the desired position which is marked on display device with the help of processing device]; and operate at least one of the one or more components of the vehicle until the current parameters of the one or more components of the vehicle match the set of parameters for the one or more components of the vehicle [[0096]; The subject positioning assist apparatus 100 may also generate signals that may be used for automatically positioning the boom to desired positions, heights, and/or levels for automated loader tasks and/or for automatically positioning the tool carrier 22 and implement 24 to desired positions, heights, and/or levels].
Claim 18: Tagalpallewar teaches the system of claim 17, accordingly, the rejection of claim 17 above is incorporated.
Tagalpallewar discloses the system of claim 17, wherein the set of parameters associated with the target state for the vehicle comprise a target position for a first component of the one or more components of the vehicle, and wherein the code includes instructions that when executed by the processor cause the processor to adjust a position of the component until the position of the first component matches the target position for the first component [[0025]; In any of the embodiments herein, the memory device of the positioning assist apparatus stores desired loader position data representative of the desired position of the loader, and the processor device is operable to execute automated operation logic to generate a control signal controlling one or more cylinders of the loader based on the current loader height data and the desired loader position data to move the loader from the determined current height to the desired position in response to a return to position (RTP) command received by the positioning assist apparatus].
Claim 19: Tagalpallewar teaches the system of claim 17, accordingly, the rejection of claim 17 above is incorporated.
Tagalpallewar discloses the system of claim 17, wherein the code further includes instructions that when executed by the processor cause the processor to generate an approval signal indicating that the vehicle is in the target state in response to the current parameters of the one or more components of the vehicle matching the set of parameters for the one or more components of the vehicle [[0119]; If it is determined at 524 that the error at 522 between the current loader boom height and/or tool carrier angle and/or implement surface and/or geometric feature and the desired loader boom height and/or tool carrier angle is minimal, the user is notified at 516 that the loader boom and/or the tool carrier are at their respective desired positions to realize the level between the implement and the ground].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 9, 12, 14-16, & 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
Bafile et al. (US 20200317491 A1) discloses a lift device includes a base, a retractable lift mechanism, a work platform, and a lift controller. The retractable lift mechanism is moveable between an extended position and a retracted position. The work platform is configured to support a load and is coupled to and supported by the retractable lift mechanism. The linear actuator is configured to selectively move the retractable lift mechanism between the extended position and the retracted position. The linear actuator has an electric motor and an electromagnetic brake. The lift controller is in communication with the linear actuator and is configured to determine the load supported by the work platform based on the actuator force applied to the work platform and the height of the work platform.
Tressler et al. (US 20230264931 A1) discloses a lift vehicle includes a chassis, an implement, a lift arm coupling the implement to the chassis, a load sensor, a tilt sensor, and a controller. The lift arm includes an actuator configured to selectively extend the lift arm and a length sensor configured to provide data relating to a length of the lift arm. The load sensor can provide data relating to a load at the implement. The tilt sensor can provide data relating to an angular orientation of the chassis relative to a reference plane. The controller can receive data from the length sensor, the load sensor, and the tilt sensor. The controller can determine, based on the data from the load sensor and the tilt sensor, an operating envelope for the lift arm. The operating envelope can include a maximum extension of the lift arm. The controller can selectively limit an operation of the lift arm such that the lift arm operates within the operating envelope.
Mourlam et al. (US 20240033928 A1) discloses systems and methods for controlling motion of remotely operated equipment such that a motion path is automatically determined for a plurality of joints of the remotely operated equipment based on an updated target position input received from an operator, a current position of the remotely operated equipment, and predetermined parameters indicative of the geometry of the plurality of joints. An optimized motion path may be provided that avoids detected obstacles and joint singularities of the remotely operated equipment.
Tagalpallewar et al. (US 20250029430 A1) discloses apparatus and methods are provided for monitoring usage operation of equipment carried on a vehicle. A vision system generates target device data representative of an obtained image of a set of target devices carried on a loader. Loader monitoring logic is executed by a processor to determine a current loader movement of the loader from first to second loader poses based on the target device data. Maintenance alert data is generated based on a sum of a first time duration of the current loader movement and an aggregated time duration of previously determined loader movements of the loader exceeding a predetermined loader maintenance time threshold. A maintenance alert image is generated based on the maintenance alert data and is displayed on a screen viewable by an operator. The maintenance alert image includes maintenance notification information to alert the operator of required loader maintenance.
Sperlich et al. (US 20200299117 A1) discloses a low-lift industrial truck (2) and a method for operating the same. The industrial truck includes a load fork (4) for picking up a load. Fork tines (6a, 6b) of the load fork (4) each include at least one load roller (8) in a region of fork tine tips (28). The industrial truck also includes a load lifting assistance system having a distance sensor (16) and a processing unit (14). The distance sensor is configured to measure a distance between the load and a front wall (12) of the industrial truck facing the load fork. At least one distance between the load and the front wall is saved in the processing unit and corresponds to a predetermined stop position. The processing unit is configured to process measured values of the distance sensor and to generate a stop signal when a distance corresponding to the stop position (20a, 20b) is determined.
/ANTHONY GABRIEL MORA/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664