DETAIL ACTION
Notice on Prior Art Rejections
Status of Claims
3. This Office Action is in response to the Applicant's application filed March 21, 2025. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Drawings
4. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the primary mover and lift interface must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
7. Independent claims 1, 10 and 19 recite “a lift interface operably coupled with an implement actuator,” It is unclear how a lift interface is operably coupled with an implement actuator. The specification dated 03/21/2025 does not define how these features are coupled and the drawing fail to display a lift interface. As a result of this ambiguity, the precise boundary of the claim cannot be determined. Therefore, the claims are rejected as indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claims 2-9 depend from claim 1 and therefore include the same limitation as claim 1 so they are rejected for the same reason.
Claim 10 and 19 contain similar limitations as claim 1 so they are rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 11-18, 20 depend from claims 10 and 19 respectively, and therefore include the same limitations as claims 10 and 19, so they are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Colasse et al, US 2023/0303174, in view of De Caen et al. US 2023/0182574, hereinafter referred to as Colasse and De Caen, respectively.
Regarding Claim 1, Colasse discloses an autonomous mobile robot, comprising:
a chassis; a plurality of tractive elements coupled with the chassis (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 5, 6, 7, 12, 13, 14, 17, 2, “a lifting mechanism that allows it to be raised from a lowered position on the chassis of the aerial work platform to the desired working position at height”);
a primary mover configured to drive the plurality of tractive elements to transport the autonomous mobile robot (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 3, “aerial work platforms with four wheels, i.e. two front wheels and two rear wheels, which allow the aerial work platform to be moved on the ground and whose lateral spacing”); and
an implement assembly coupled with the chassis, the implement assembly comprising: a deck configured to define a work area configured to support a material, equipment, and tools for transport to a worksite (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 80, 86, 140, 141, 142, 79, “a working platform 30 provided to receive on board personnel and equipment in order to perform work at height. The platform 10 typically comprises a floor 32 and a guardrail 34. A control console 40 is arranged on the working platform 30”); and
a lift interface operably coupled with an implement actuator, the lift interface configured to be driven by the implement actuator to removably couple with the material, equipment, or tool, and lift the material onto the deck for transport to the worksite (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 79, 86, 113, 117, 142, 80, “The turret 22 is pivotally mounted about a vertical axis on the chassis 10, which allows to change the orientation of the lifting structure 20 and thus the orientation of the working platform 30 with respect to the chassis 10. To allow the working platform 30 to be moved locally without acting on the boom 24, the lifting structure 20 also includes a pendulum arm 26 hingedly mounted at one end to the upper end of the telescopic boom 24 while the other end of the pendulum arm 26 hingedly supports the working platform 30”).
Colasse fails to explicitly disclose an implement actuator.
However, De Caen teaches an implement actuator (See at least fig 1-15, ¶ 25, 26, 27, 30, 31, 39, 54, 55, 143, 52, “the one or more hydraulic actuators comprise a lifting actuator configured to raise the vertical height of the boom arrangement and/or an extending actuator configured to alter the length of the boom arrangement”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Colasse and include an implement actuator as taught by De Caen because it would allow a lifting actuator configured to raise the vertical height of the boom arrangement and/or an extending actuator configured to alter the length of the boom arrangement (De Caen, Claim 13).
Regarding Claim 2, Colasse discloses the autonomous mobile robot of claim 1, wherein the lift interface comprises a pair of pallet forks configured to selectively engage a support structure of the material, equipment, or tool, to removably couple with the material, equipment, or tool, such that the material, equipment, or tool, and the support structure can be lifted onto the deck for transport to the worksite (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 5, 6, 7, 12, 13, 14, 17, 2, “The working platform is equipped with a control console fitted with control elements allowing an operator to operate the lifting mechanism and, if necessary, the movement of the aerial work platform on the ground”).
Regarding Claim 3, Colasse discloses the autonomous mobile robot of claim 1, wherein the lift interface is coupled to the work area proximate a lateral end of the deck such that the lift interface is positioned to removably couple with the material and lift the material onto the deck (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 5, 6, 7, 12, 13, 14, 17, 2, 79, “The aerial work platform 1 comprises a chassis 10 and a lifting structure 20 supporting a working platform 30 provided to receive on board personnel and equipment in order to perform work at height. The platform 10 typically
comprises a floor 32 and a guardrail 34. A control console 40 is arranged on the working platform 30.”).
Regarding Claim 4, Colasse discloses the autonomous mobile robot of claim 1, wherein the implement assembly further comprises a tool coupled to the deck, the tool configured to be manually operated by a user, wherein the tool and the work area provide a mobile work table for the user (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 5, 6, 7, 12, 13, 14, 17, 2, 79, 142, “FIG. 17 illustrates the control console 200 of the aerial work platform 1 that is mounted on board the working
platform 30. It conventionally comprises control members allowing an operator to cause the working platform 30 to be lifted to height, as well as the movement of the aerial work platform 1 on the ground”).
Regarding Claim 5, Colasse discloses the autonomous mobile robot of claim 1, wherein the implement assembly further comprises a ramp disposed at an end of the deck, the ramp configured to provide a sloped surface to facilitate movement of tools, equipment, or material onto the deck (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 80, 86, 140, 141, 142, 79, “a working platform 30 provided to receive on board personnel and equipment in order to perform work at height. The platform 10 typically comprises a floor 32 and a guardrail 34. A control console 40 is arranged on the working platform 30”).
Regarding Claim 6, Colasse discloses the autonomous mobile robot of claim 5, wherein the ramp is pivotally coupled with the deck at an end of the deck, the ramp rotatable between a deployed position to provide the sloped surface and a stored position (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 5, 6, 7, 12, 13, 14, 17, 2, 79, 142, “FIG. 17 illustrates the control console 200 of the aerial work platform 1 that is mounted on board the working platform 30. It conventionally comprises control members allowing an operator to cause the working platform 30 to be lifted to height, as well as the movement of the aerial work platform 1 on the ground”).
Regarding Claim 7, Colasse discloses the autonomous mobile robot of claim 6, wherein the implement assembly further comprises another implement actuator configured to drive the ramp to pivot between the deployed position and the stored position (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 79, 86, 113, 117, 142, 80, “The turret 22 is pivotally mounted about a vertical axis on the chassis 10, which allows to change the orientation of the lifting structure 20 and thus the orientation of the working platform 30 with respect to the chassis 10. To allow the working platform 30 to be moved locally without acting on the boom 24, the lifting structure 20 also includes a pendulum arm 26 hingedly mounted at one end to the upper end of the telescopic boom 24 while the other end of the pendulum arm 26 hingedly supports the working platform 30”).
Colasse fails to explicitly disclose an implement actuator.
However, De Caen teaches an implement actuator (See at least fig 1-15, ¶ 25, 26, 27, 30, 31, 39, 54, 55, 143, 52, “the one or more hydraulic actuators comprise a lifting actuator configured to raise the vertical height of the boom arrangement and/or an extending actuator configured to alter the length of the boom arrangement”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Colasse and include an implement actuator as taught by De Caen because it would allow a lifting actuator configured to raise the vertical height of the boom arrangement and/or an extending actuator configured to alter the length of the boom arrangement (De Caen, Claim 13).
Regarding Claim 8, Colasse discloses the autonomous mobile robot of claim 1, wherein the implement assembly further comprises a trailer coupled with the chassis, the trailer configured to provide an additional deck configured to store at least one tool, equipment, or material (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 5, 6, 7, 12, 13, 14, 17, 2, “a lifting mechanism that allows it to be raised from a lowered position on the chassis of the aerial work platform to the desired working position at height”).
Regarding Claim 9, Colasse discloses the autonomous mobile robot of claim 1, further comprising a controller configured to operate the primary mover to transport the autonomous mobile robot along a path to the worksite to deliver at least one of the material, the equipment, or the tools (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 3, 46, “wherein for each of the wheels it is provided that the wheel is driven, the motorized rotation drive of the wheel being controllable by the on-board electronics, and/or that the associated arm can be actuated to pivot by an actuating device of the aerial work platform”).
Regarding Claim 10, Colasse discloses an implement assembly for an autonomous mobile robot, the implement assembly comprising:
a deck configured to define a work area configured to support a material, equipment, and tools for transport to a worksite (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 80, 86, 140, 141, 142, 79, “a working platform 30 provided to receive on board personnel and equipment in order to perform work at height. The platform 10 typically comprises a floor 32 and a guardrail 34. A control console 40 is arranged on the working platform 30”); and
a lift interface operably coupled with an implement actuator, the lift interface configured to be driven by the implement actuator to removably couple with a material, equipment, or tool, and lift the material, equipment, or tool onto the deck for transport to a worksite (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 79, 86, 113, 117, 142, 80, “The turret 22 is pivotally mounted about a vertical axis on the chassis 10, which allows to change the orientation of the lifting structure 20 and thus the orientation of the working platform 30 with respect to the chassis 10. To allow the working platform 30 to be moved locally without acting on the boom 24, the lifting structure 20 also includes a pendulum arm 26 hingedly mounted at one end to the upper end of the telescopic boom 24 while the other end of the pendulum arm 26 hingedly supports the working platform 30”).
Colasse fails to explicitly disclose an implement actuator.
However, De Caen teaches an implement actuator (See at least fig 1-15, ¶ 25, 26, 27, 30, 31, 39, 54, 55, 143, 52, “the one or more hydraulic actuators comprise a lifting actuator configured to raise the vertical height of the boom arrangement and/or an extending actuator configured to alter the length of the boom arrangement”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Colasse and include an implement actuator as taught by De Caen because it would allow a lifting actuator configured to raise the vertical height of the boom arrangement and/or an extending actuator configured to alter the length of the boom arrangement (De Caen, Claim 13).
Regarding Claim 11, Colasse discloses the implement assembly of claim 10, wherein the lift interface comprises a pair of pallet forks configured to selectively engage a support structure of the material, equipment, or tool, to removably couple with the material, equipment, or tool, such that the material, equipment, or tool, and the support structure can be lifted onto the deck for transport to the worksite (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 5, 6, 7, 12, 13, 14, 17, 2, “The working platform is equipped with a control console fitted with control elements allowing an operator to operate the lifting mechanism and, if necessary, the movement of the aerial work platform on the ground”).
Regarding Claim 12, Colasse discloses the implement assembly of claim 10, wherein the lift interface is coupled to the work area proximate a lateral end of the deck such that the lift interface is positioned to removably couple with the material, equipment, or tool, and lift the material, equipment, or tool onto the deck (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 5, 6, 7, 12, 13, 14, 17, 2, 79, “The aerial work platform 1 comprises a chassis 10 and a lifting structure 20 supporting a working platform 30 provided to receive on board personnel and equipment in order to perform work at height. The platform 10 typically comprises a floor 32 and a guardrail 34. A control console 40 is arranged on the working platform 30.”).
Regarding Claim 13, Colasse discloses the implement assembly of claim 10, further comprising a tool coupled to the deck, the tool configured to be manually operated by a user, wherein the tool and the work area provide a mobile work table for the user (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 5, 6, 7, 12, 13, 14, 17, 2, 79, 142, “FIG. 17 illustrates the control console 200 of the aerial work platform 1 that is mounted on board the working platform 30. It conventionally comprises control members allowing an operator to cause the working platform 30 to be lifted to height, as well as the movement of the aerial work platform 1 on the ground”).
Regarding Claim 14, Colasse discloses the implement assembly of claim 10, further comprising a ramp disposed at an end of the deck, the ramp configured to provide a sloped surface to facilitate movement of tools, equipment, or material onto the deck (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 80, 86, 140, 141, 142, 79, “a working platform 30 provided to receive on board personnel and equipment in order to perform work at height. The platform 10 typically comprises a floor 32 and a guardrail 34. A control console 40 is arranged on the working platform 30”).
Regarding Claim 15, Colasse discloses the implement assembly of claim 14, wherein the ramp is pivotally coupled with the deck at an end of the deck, the ramp rotatable between a deployed position to provide the sloped surface and a stored position (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 5, 6, 7, 12, 13, 14, 17, 2, 79, 142, “FIG. 17 illustrates the control console 200 of the aerial work platform 1 that is mounted on board the working platform 30. It conventionally comprises control members allowing an operator to cause the working platform 30 to be lifted to height, as well as the movement of the aerial work platform 1 on the ground”).
Regarding Claim 16, Colasse discloses the implement assembly of claim 15, further comprising another implement actuator configured to drive the ramp to pivot between the deployed position and the stored position (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 79, 86, 113, 117, 142, 80, “The turret 22 is pivotally mounted about a vertical axis on the chassis 10, which allows to change the orientation of the lifting structure 20 and thus the orientation of the working platform 30 with respect to the chassis 10. To allow the working platform 30 to be moved locally without acting on the boom 24, the lifting structure 20 also includes a pendulum arm 26 hingedly mounted at one end to the upper end of the telescopic boom 24 while the other end of the pendulum arm 26 hingedly supports the working platform 30”).
Colasse fails to explicitly disclose an implement actuator.
However, De Caen teaches an implement actuator (See at least fig 1-15, ¶ 25, 26, 27, 30, 31, 39, 54, 55, 143, 52, “the one or more hydraulic actuators comprise a lifting actuator configured to raise the vertical height of the boom arrangement and/or an extending actuator configured to alter the length of the boom arrangement”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Colasse and include an implement actuator as taught by De Caen because it would allow a lifting actuator configured to raise the vertical height of the boom arrangement and/or an extending actuator configured to alter the length of the boom arrangement (De Caen, Claim 13).
Regarding Claim 17, Colasse discloses the implement assembly of claim 10, further comprising a trailer coupled with the deck, the trailer configured to provide an additional deck configured to store at least one tool, equipment, or material (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 5, 6, 7, 12, 13, 14, 17, 2, “a lifting mechanism that allows it to be raised from a lowered position on the chassis of the aerial work platform to the desired working position at height”).
Regarding Claim 18, Colasse discloses the implement assembly of claim 10, further comprising a controller configured to operate the implement actuator to move the lift interface to removably couple with a material, equipment, or tool, and lift the material, equipment, or tool onto the deck for transport to a worksite (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 3, 46, “wherein for each of the wheels it is provided that the wheel is driven, the motorized rotation drive of the wheel being controllable by the on-board electronics, and/or that the associated arm can be actuated to pivot by an actuating device of the aerial work platform”).
Regarding Claim 19, Colasse discloses a method of supporting a worksite, the method comprising:
transporting an autonomous mobile robot to a location at which one or more materials, equipment, or tools are stored (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 5, 6, 7, 12, 13, 14, 17, 2, “Aerial work platforms may be movable on the ground, in which case they are equipped with wheels or tracks for this purpose. They are often self-propelled, i.e. motorized to allow their autonomous movement on the ground”); and
operate an implement assembly of the autonomous mobile robot to facilitate loading of the one or more materials, equipment, or tools onto a deck of the implement assembly (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 80, 86, 140, 141, 142, 79, “a working platform 30 provided to receive on board personnel and equipment in order to perform work at height. The platform 10 typically comprises a floor 32 and a guardrail 34. A control console 40 is arranged on the working platform 30”), wherein operating the implement assembly comprises at least one of (i) operating an actuator to drive a lift interface to removably couple with a support structure of at least one of the one or more materials, equipment, or tools, and lifting the at least one of the one or more materials, equipment, or tools onto the deck, or (ii) operating an actuator to drive a ramp to transition out of a stored position and into a deployed position to provide a sloped surface to facilitate movement of at least one of the one or more materials, equipment, or tools onto the deck (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 79, 86, 113, 117, 142, 80, “The turret 22 is pivotally mounted about a vertical axis on the chassis 10, which allows to change the orientation of the lifting structure 20 and thus the orientation of the working platform 30 with respect to the chassis 10. To allow the working platform 30 to be moved locally without acting on the boom 24, the lifting structure 20 also includes a pendulum arm 26 hingedly mounted at one end to the upper end of the telescopic boom 24 while the other end of the pendulum arm 26 hingedly supports the working platform 30”).
Colasse fails to explicitly disclose an implement actuator.
However, De Caen teaches an implement actuator (See at least fig 1-15, ¶ 25, 26, 27, 30, 31, 39, 54, 55, 143, 52, “the one or more hydraulic actuators comprise a lifting actuator configured to raise the vertical height of the boom arrangement and/or an extending actuator configured to alter the length of the boom arrangement”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Colasse and include an implement actuator as taught by De Caen because it would allow a lifting actuator configured to raise the vertical height of the boom arrangement and/or an extending actuator configured to alter the length of the boom arrangement (De Caen, Claim 13).
Regarding Claim 20, Colasse discloses the method of claim 19, further comprising: in response to loading the one or more materials, equipment, or tools onto the deck, operating the autonomous mobile robot to transport along a path from the location to the worksite such that the one or more materials, equipment, or tools are delivered to the worksite (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 5, 6, 7, 12, 13, 14, 17, 2, “Aerial work platforms may be movable on the ground, in which case they are equipped with wheels or tracks for this purpose. They are often self-propelled, i.e. motorized to allow their autonomous movement on the ground”).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LUIS A MARTINEZ BORRERO whose email is luis.martinezborrero@uspto.gov and telephone number is (571)272-4577. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8:00-5:00. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, HUNTER LONSBERRY can be reached on (571)272-7298. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LUIS A MARTINEZ BORRERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665