DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 24 March 2025, 26 March 2025, 22 May 2025, 23 September 2025, 06 November 2025, 05 December 2025, 27 May 2026, and 25 June 2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0017812 to Ramesh et al. (“Ramesh”) in view of US 6,503,331 to Yudovsky et al. (“Yudovsky”).
With regard to Claims 1 and 3, Ramesh teaches a processing tool for depositing photoresist on a substrate within a chamber comprising a pedestal 3680 and an opposing showerhead 3700, the showerhead comprising isolated first and second fluidic paths (3712, 3714) arranged along upstream and sidewall surfaces of the showerhead, respectively (see Abstract; FIGs. 6-7; ¶¶ [0055], [0067], [0078]). Ramesh does not expressly teach a shadow ring as claimed. Yudovsky is similarly directed to apparatus for film deposition on pedestal-supported substrates, and teaches a shadow ring (101) around the perimeter of the pedestal which covers the periphery of the substrate to mask the edges and backside thereof from deposition (see Abstract; FIGs. 1A, 1B, 2A, 3; Col. 3, Lns. 44-51). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated a shadow ring in the apparatus of Ramesh, as taught by Yudovsky, in order to mask the substrate edge and backside from deposition.
With regard to Claim 2, Ramesh teaches channels for inert purge gas (see ¶¶ [0017], [0066]); however the reference does not expressly teach an edge purge flow channel as claimed. Yudovsky teaches an edge purge flow channel 120 for introducing inert gas into the deposition chamber between the shadow ring 101 and substrate pedestal 117 (see FIGs. 1A, 1B; Col. 5, Lns. 13-20; Claim 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated purge gas channels in the apparatus of Ramesh, as taught by Yudovsky, in order to introduce purge gas in the deposition chamber with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712