DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-56 are pending. Claims 17-56 are withdrawn. Claims 1-16 are presented for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 9/1/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-56 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/1/2026.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it should include the steps of the process. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claims 1-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “low-water” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low-water” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification provides examples of water content that is considered “low-water” but does not describe the specific meaning of low-water or the exact range of water percentage that would be considered “low-water”. Therefore, claim 1 is indefinite. Claims 2-16 depend from claim 1 and are indefinite for the same reasons. For examination purposes, any mixture of hydrogen peroxide and water will be interpreted as “low-water” until clarified.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "(a1)". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no initial recitation of a step (a1) in claim 15 or parent claims 1 and 14. It is unclear what step is being referenced with (a1). Thus, claim 15 is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burton et al. (“SiO2 Atomic Layer Deposition Using Tris(dimethylamino)silane and Hydrogen Peroxide Studied by in Situ Transmission FTIR Spectroscopy”).
Regarding claims 1, 4-6, 12 and 13, Burton teaches a method for depositing silica (abstract) comprising: introducing zirconia particles as a substrate into a reaction zone of a deposition chamber (Experimental Section, page 8250); heating the reaction zone to 150 ºC (page 8251, SiO2 ALD with TDMAS section); performing thermal ALD on the substrate by alternately exposing the substrate to tris(dimethylamino)silane and “low-water” content hydrogen peroxide to yield a desired film thickness of silica (page 8250, Experimental Section and page 8251, SiO2 ALD with TDMAS section). Burton teaches that the deposition rate at 150 ºC is 0.8 Å/cycle (abstract). Burton teaches all the critical limitations of claims 1, 4-6, 12 and 13; therefore, Burton anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burton.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Burton teaches all the limitations of claim 1 (see above), including a step of performing a chemical modification of the substrate by depositing a seed layer at 177 ºC to improve adhesion of the silica layer (Section 2, page 8250). Burton does not disclose whether this step is conducted ex-situ before the substrate is introduced into the chamber or in-situ after introduction into the chamber. However, either order of steps inside the chamber or before introduction into the chamber would yield the same substrate with a seed layer for improved adhesion before the thermal ALD process of depositing silica. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Burton’s process by performing the chemical modification either ex-situ or in-situ. Note that the selection of any order of steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of a new or unexpected results. See Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.).
3. Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burton in view of Press Release (“RASIRC Water Free Anhydrous Hydrogen Peroxide Demonstrates Five-Fold Increase in Hydroxyl Density”).
Regarding claims 9-11, Burton teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but fails to teach that the hydrogen peroxide has less than 10 weight percent water. However, Press Release teaches BRUTE Peroxide which is anhydrous (free from water) hydrogen peroxide for use in ALD processes (1st paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Burton’s process by using anhydrous hydrogen peroxide in place of Burton’s hydrogen peroxide. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Press Release teaches that anhydrous hydrogen peroxide yields several advantages, such as an improvement in hydroxyl density (1st paragraph) and removes the interference of water at the surface thereby reducing the number of cycles needed to begin ALD growth (see Spiegelman quote”).
4. Claim(s) 1, 4-8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dussarrat et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2009/0232985).
Regarding claims 1, 4-8 and 16, Dussarrat teaches a process of forming a silicon oxide film (abstract) comprising: introducing a substrate into a reaction zone of a deposition chamber (abstract) where the substrate is a semiconductor device (0042); performing a thermal ALD process at temperatures in the range of 50-400 ºC (which overlaps with the claimed ranges of about 0-150 ºC, below about 100 ºC, and below about 50 ºC, and note that overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness) by alternately exposing the substrate to a silicon-containing precursor and an oxidant until a desired thickness is reached. Dussarrat teaches that the silicon-containing precursor can be selected from a group including tris(dimethylamino)silane (0028) and the oxidant can be “low-water” content hydrogen peroxide (0039). Dussarrat fails to explicitly teach an example where the specific silane is used with hydrogen peroxide at the temperature range as claimed.
However, Dussarrat specifically teaches that each of the reactants can be used and the thermal ALD process can be conducted in the temperature range as claimed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dussarrat’s process by selecting the specific reactants and temperature. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Dussarrat makes clear that these reactants are acceptable for use in generating a silica film at the claimed temperature.
5. Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burton in view of Girard et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 9777025).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Burton teaches all the limitations of claim 1, including repeating the steps until a desired film thickness is reached (see above), but fails to teach an additional annealing step in the temperature range as claimed. However, Girard teaches a similar thermal ALD process for depositing a silica film (column 7, lines 1-6) potentially using a silane precursor (columns 7-8) and an oxidant, such as hydrogen peroxide (column 14, lines 19-22). Girard additionally teaches a step of annealing in the claimed temperature range after the ALD process (column 22, lines 5-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Burton’s process by incorporating an additional annealing step as disclosed by Girard. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Girard teaches that the annealing step provides films with fewer impurities and improved performance characteristics (column 22, lines 15-20).
Conclusion
Claims 1-56 are pending.
Claims 17-56 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-16 are rejected.
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
September 28, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717