DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
The instant application having Application Number 19/089,631 filed on March 25, 2025 has a total of 1-18 claims pending in the application; there are 3 independent claims and 15 dependent claims, all of which are presented for examination by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, supports are shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 9 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9 and 13 of US Patent No. 11,954,064 and 12,282,452. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the table below:
Patent No. 11,954,064
Patent No. 12,282,452
Instant Application 19/089,631
1. A cloud migration system implemented via a back-end application computer server, comprising:
(a) an enterprise application data store that contains electronic records associated with a set of enterprise applications, each electronic record including an electronic record identifier and at least one enterprise application parameter;
(b) a data repository storing a catalogue of cloud computing patterns including integration patterns or templates, deployment patterns, and development, security, and operations patterns, wherein the patterns further include Single Page Applications (“SPA”), Multi-Page Applications (“MPA”), Event Driven Architectures (“EDA”), and microservices;
(c) the back-end application computer server, coupled to the enterprise application data store and the data repository, including:
a computer processor, and a computer memory, coupled to the computer processor, storing instructions that, when executed by the computer processor, cause the back-end application computer server to:
(i) retrieve information from the enterprise application data store,
(ii) based on enterprise application parameters, automatically create a move group representing a subset of the enterprise applications in the enterprise application data store, and
(iii) for each enterprise application in the move group:
identify whether an appropriate cloud computing pattern exists in the catalogue of cloud computing patterns,
if an appropriate cloud computing pattern is identified, use the identified cloud computing pattern to automatically create a reference implementation of the enterprise application in a cloud computing environment, and
if no appropriate cloud computing pattern is identified, initiate a pattern on-boarding process to add a new cloud computing pattern to the catalogue stored in the data repository; and
(d) a communication port coupled to the back-end application computer server to facilitate a transmission of data with a remote administrator device to support an interactive graphical administrator interface display via a distributed communication network.
1. A cloud migration system implemented via a back-end application computer server, comprising:
(a) an enterprise application data store that contains electronic records associated with a set of enterprise applications, each electronic record including an electronic record identifier and at least one enterprise application parameter;
(b) a data repository storing a catalogue of cloud computing patterns including integration patterns or templates and development, security, and operations patterns, wherein the patterns further include Multi-Page Applications (“MPA”), Event Driven Architectures (“EDA”), and microservices;
(c) the back-end application computer server, coupled to the enterprise application data store and the data repository, including:
a computer processor, and a computer memory, coupled to the computer processor, storing instructions that, when executed by the computer processor, cause the back-end application computer server to:
(i) retrieve information from the enterprise application data store,
(ii) based on enterprise application parameters, automatically create a move group representing a subset of the enterprise applications in the enterprise application data store, and
(iii) for each enterprise application in the move group:
identify whether an appropriate cloud computing pattern exists in the catalogue of cloud computing patterns,
if an appropriate cloud computing pattern is identified, use the identified cloud computing pattern to automatically create a reference implementation of the enterprise application in a cloud computing environment, and
if no appropriate cloud computing pattern is identified, initiate a pattern on-boarding process to add a new cloud computing pattern to the catalogue stored in the data repository; and
(d) a communication port coupled to the back-end application computer server to facilitate a transmission of data with a remote administrator device to support an interactive graphical administrator interface display via a distributed communication network.
1. A cloud migration system implemented via a back-end application computer server, comprising:
(a) an enterprise application data store that contains electronic records associated with a set of enterprise applications, each electronic record including an electronic record identifier and at least one enterprise application parameter;
(b) a data repository storing a catalogue of cloud computing patterns including integration patterns or templates, deployment patterns, and development, security, and operations patterns, wherein the patterns further include at least one Multi-Page Application ("MPA"), at least one Event Driven Architecture ("EDA"), and at least one microservice;
(c) the back-end application computer server, coupled to the enterprise application data store and the data repository, including: a computer processor, and a computer memory, coupled to the computer processor, storing instructions that, when executed by the computer processor, cause the back-end application computer server to:
(i) retrieve information from the enterprise application data store,
(ii) based on at least one enterprise application parameter, automatically create a move group representing a subset of the enterprise applications in the enterprise application data store, and
(iii) for each enterprise application in the move group:
identify whether an appropriate cloud computing pattern exists in the catalogue of cloud computing patterns,
if an appropriate cloud computing pattern is identified, use the identified cloud computing pattern to automatically create a reference implementation of the enterprise application in a cloud computing environment, and
if no appropriate cloud computing pattern is identified, initiate a pattern on-boarding process to add a new cloud computing pattern to the catalogue stored in the data repository; and
(d) a communication port coupled to the back-end application computer server to support an interactive graphical administrator interface display via a distributed communication network.
9. A computerized cloud migration method implemented via a back-end application computer server, comprising:
retrieving, by a computer processor of the back-end application computer server, information from an enterprise application data store that contains electronic records associated with a set of enterprise applications, each electronic record including an electronic record identifier and at least one enterprise application parameter;
based on enterprise application parameters, automatically creating a move group representing a subset of the enterprise applications in the enterprise application data store; and
for each enterprise application in the move group:
identifying whether an appropriate cloud computing pattern exists in a catalogue of cloud computing patterns stored at a data repository, wherein the catalogue includes integration patterns or templates, deployment patterns, and development, security, and operations patterns, and further wherein the patterns include Single Page Applications (“SPA”), Multi-Page Applications (“MPA”), Event Driven Architectures (“EDA”), and microservices,
if an appropriate cloud computing pattern is identified, using the identified cloud computing pattern to automatically create a reference implementation of the enterprise application in a cloud computing environment, and
if no appropriate cloud computing pattern is identified, initiating a pattern on-boarding process to add a new cloud computing pattern to the catalogue stored in the data repository.
9. A computerized cloud migration method implemented via a back-end application computer server, comprising:
retrieving, by a computer processor of the back-end application computer server, information from an enterprise application data store that contains electronic records associated with a set of enterprise applications, each electronic record including an electronic record identifier and at least one enterprise application parameter;
based on enterprise application parameters, automatically creating a move group representing a subset of the enterprise applications in the enterprise application data store; and
for each enterprise application in the move group:
identifying whether an appropriate cloud computing pattern exists in a catalogue of cloud computing patterns stored at a data repository, wherein the catalogue includes integration patterns or templates and development, security, and operations patterns, and further wherein the patterns include Multi-Page Applications (“MPA”), Event Driven Architectures (“EDA”), and microservices,
if an appropriate cloud computing pattern is identified, using the identified cloud computing pattern to automatically create a reference implementation of the enterprise application in a cloud computing environment, and
if no appropriate cloud computing pattern is identified, initiating a pattern on-boarding process to add a new cloud computing pattern to the catalogue stored in the data repository.
9. A computerized cloud migration method implemented via a back-end application computer server, comprising:
retrieving, by a computer processor of the back-end application computer server, information from an enterprise application data store that contains electronic records associated with a set of enterprise applications, each electronic record including an electronic record identifier and at least one enterprise application parameter;
based on at least one enterprise application parameter, automatically creating a move group representing a subset of the enterprise applications in the enterprise application data store; and
for each enterprise application in the move group:
identifying whether an appropriate cloud computing pattern exists in a catalogue of cloud computing patterns stored at a data repository, wherein the catalogue includes integration patterns or templates, deployment patterns, and development, security, and operations patterns, and further wherein the patterns further include at least one Multi-Page Application ("MPA"), at least one Event Driven Architecture ("EDA"), and at least one microservice,
if an appropriate cloud computing pattern is identified, using the identified cloud computing pattern to automatically create a reference implementation of the enterprise application in a cloud computing environment, and
if no appropriate cloud computing pattern is identified, initiating a pattern on-boarding process to add a new cloud computing pattern to the catalogue stored in the data repository.
Table 1
As exemplarily illustrated in Table 1 above, both are directed to framework for migrating applications to cloud computing environment; see claim language of all for detail. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify or to omit the additional elements of claims 1-18 of patent 11,954,064 and 12,282,452 to arrive at the claims 1-18 of the instant application 19/089,631 because the person would have realized that the remaining element would perform the same functions as before. It has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same function as before involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Karlson (CCPA), 136 USPQ 184, decide Jan 16, 1963, Appl. No. 6857, U. S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals. Please also see MPEP § 804.
Independent claim 13 is substantially encompass the method recited in claim 9 and are also being rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of US Patent No. 11,954,064 and 12,282,452.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colenbrander (US Patent Publication No. 2023/0179498 A1) in view of Zolotow et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2021/0004738 A1, ‘Zolotow’, hereafter) in view of Oltyan et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2022/0405771 A1, ‘Oltyan’, hereafter).and further in view of Ratnapuri (US Patent Publication No. 2021/0174280 A1).
Regarding claim 1. Colenbrander teaches a cloud migration system implemented via a back-end application computer server (The ability to transfer the instant utilization setting enables for efficient migration of game play from data center to data center in case the user connects to play games from different geo locations … a game cloud system as implemented through one or more data centers (i.e., cloud migration system), Colenbrander [0025-0026]. Game cloud system includes a game allocator (i.e., back-end application computer server) that is configured to allocate and/or distribute video games of a gaming catalogue throughout data centers of the game cloud system to support current and predicted demand for video games and the computing resources required to execute gaming sessions of those video games, Colenbrander [0030]), comprising:
(a) an enterprise application data store that contains electronic records associated with a set of enterprise applications, each electronic record including an electronic record identifier and at least one enterprise application parameter (Relevant features from the captured data (e.g., data from the game cloud system) as identified by the feature extractor are provided as input to the deep learning/machine learning engine. The feature extractor is configured to parse through the captured data and identify and/or extract features from the data, wherein the features are relevant for use in the allocation of video games to network storage of a game cloud system (i.e., an enterprise application data store that contains electronic records associated with a set of enterprise applications). For example, features may include parameters, time, video game, game state, …, the feature extractor is configured to parse through the captured data and identify and/or extract features from the data (i.e., electronic record including an electronic record identifier and at least one enterprise application parameter). That is, the feature extractor also has the capability to learn features that can be useful for the allocation of video games to network storage of a game cloud system, Colenbrander [0061]. … each feature may be linked with one or more features at other layers, wherein one or more relationship parameters (e.g., weights) define interconnections between features at other layers of the AI model, [0064]);
(c) the back-end application computer server, coupled to the enterprise application data store and the data repository (Colenbrander [0021], [0024-0026], [0030], [0061], [0064]), including:
a computer processor, and a computer memory, coupled to the computer processor, storing instructions that, when executed by the computer processor, (A graphics subsystem is further connected with data bus and the components of the device. The graphics subsystem includes at least one graphics processing unit (GPU) and graphics memory … The data and/or instructions defining the desired output images can be stored in memory and/or graphics memory. …. The GPU can further include one or more programmable execution units capable of executing shader programs. … the graphics subsystem includes multiple GPU devices, which are combined to perform graphics processing for a single application that is executing on a corresponding CPU, Colenbrander [0093-0095]), cause the back- end application computer server to:
(i) retrieve information from the enterprise application data store (The feature extractor is configured to parse through the captured data and identify and/or extract features from the data, wherein the features are relevant for use in the allocation of video games to network storage of a game cloud system (i.e., retrieve information from the enterprise application data store), Colenbrander [0061], [0064], [0066]), and
(iii) for each enterprise application in the move group: identify whether an appropriate cloud computing pattern exists in the catalogue of cloud computing patterns (the output (e.g., trend classifier) from the AI model may be used by the analyzer to determine a course of action to be taken for the given set of input (e.g., extracted features). For example, the action may include a distribution pattern for allocating video games in a gaming catalogue to network storage of rack assemblies for one or more data centers of a game cloud system (i.e., an appropriate cloud computing pattern exists in the catalogue of cloud computing patterns), Colenbrander [0066]),
if an appropriate cloud computing pattern is identified, use the identified cloud computing pattern to automatically create a reference implementation of the enterprise application in a cloud computing environment (the analyzer is configured to perform trend analysis. The analysis may be performed to identify relevant information related to corresponding video games, such as when the video game was released, the game title, …, etc. This information may be useful in determining an allocation of video games in a game cloud system to meet demand for the video game currently and in the near future, Colenbrander [0066-0067]), and
if no appropriate cloud computing pattern is identified, initiate a pattern on-boarding process to add a new cloud computing pattern to the catalogue stored in the data repository (Distributed storage is scalable such that servers may be added or removed depending on demand, and wherein the storage is able to redistribute and/or reconfigure itself, Colenbrander [0043], [0066-0067]); and
(d) a communication port coupled to the back-end application computer server to facilitate a transmission of data with a remote administrator device to support an interactive graphical administrator interface display via a distributed communication network (System 100 provides gaming via a game cloud system, wherein the game is being executed remote from client device of a corresponding user that is playing the game. System 100 may provide gaming control to one or more users playing one or more games through the cloud game network or game cloud system via network in either single-player or multi-player modes (i.e., transmission of data between remote devices through network), Colenbrander [0033], [0043]).
Colenbrander teaches (b) a data repository storing a catalogue of cloud computing patterns (the output (e.g., trend classifier) from the AI model may be used by the analyzer to determine a course of action to be taken for the given set of input (e.g., extracted features). For example, the action may include a distribution pattern for allocating video games in a gaming catalogue to network storage of rack assemblies for one or more data centers of a game cloud system (i.e., an appropriate cloud computing pattern exists in the catalogue of cloud computing patterns), Colenbrander [0066]) but does not explicitly teach
(b) patterns including integration patterns or templates and development, security, and operations patterns,
However, Zolotow teaches
(b) patterns including integration patterns or templates and development, security, and operations patterns (The common set of patterns may be used to identify what deployments, configurations, and/or other attribute vectors the application instances will be in after they are migrated from an enterprise environment to a hosted environment (i.e., patterns are integration pattern). These may be applied to a service catalog . . ., the common set of patterns are applied to one of cloud service catalog, cloud machine images, cloud workflows, and cloud design implementations, Zolotow [0005]. allows for more standards or varying installation patterns, thereby making the service catalog more useful (i.e., development pattern), … utilizes consumption data to ensure that patterns are being used via a data lake (i.e., patterns are security, and operations), Zolotow [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made having the teachings of Colenbrander, and Zolotow before him/her, to modify Colenbrander with the teaching of Zolotow’s use of service pattern identifier in augmentation of service catalog. One would have been motivated to do so for the benefit of providing a service catalog system where patterns in a service catalog (respectively corresponding to various available services) are modified based on consumption data (that is, how other users have used the services in the past). Also, a service catalog system where a pattern is added to a service catalog based on consumption data (Zolotow, Abstract).
Colenbrander and Zolotow do not teach,
(b) wherein the patterns further include Multi-Page Application ("MPA"), Event Driven Architecture ("EDA"), and microservices.
However, Oltyan teaches
(b) wherein the patterns further include Multi-Page Application ("MPA"), Event Driven Architecture ("EDA"), and microservices (The SPA or Multi-Page Application (MPA) may for example be a client portal that allows the end user to work with the different features of the compliance management system (i.e., pattern) … A number of layers, modules, or microservices 235 may underlie the SPA or MPA, including the authentication microservice (i.e., patterns further include Multi-Page Application ("MPA") and microservices), Oltyan [0052-0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made having the teachings of Colenbrander, Zolotow and Oltyan before him/her, to further modify Colenbrander with the teaching of Oltyan’s cloud based platform for managing licenses. One would have been motivated to do so for the benefit of collecting applicant data required for license applications and populating that data into license application forms for generating and maintaining license application forms for the gambling industry (Oltyan, Abstract, [0002]).
Colenbrander, Zolotow and Oltyan do not teach
(ii) based on enterprise application parameters, automatically create a move group representing a subset of the enterprise applications in the enterprise application data store,
However, Ratnapuri teaches
(ii) based on enterprise application parameters, automatically create a move group representing a subset of the enterprise applications in the enterprise application data store (another migration technique employed by embodiments of the invention may include an organizational technique known as grouping (i.e., move group). After inputting instance settings, the grouping of servers, applications, and other assets together can facilitate the migration effort (i.e., application parameters, automatically create a move group representing a subset of the enterprise applications) and reduce the risk of problems throughout the process … grouping may occur in an iterative fashion … or may be simulated in advance of committing to a particular grouping scheme, Ratnapuri [0103]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made having the teachings of Colenbrander, Zolotow, Oltyan and Ratnapuri before him/her, to further modify Colenbrander with the teaching of Ratnapuri’s system and method for efficient cloud migration. One would have been motivated to do so for the benefit of successful and efficient and transparent migration of local computing systems and/or environments to the cloud (Ratnapuri, Abstract, [0005]).
Regarding claim 2. Colenbrander as modified teaches, wherein the back-end application computer server, after migration of the move group is initiated, further begins to migrate a subsequent move group, and at least one appropriate cloud computing pattern for an enterprise application in the subsequent move group was added via a prior on-boarding process (Colenbrander [0066-0067]).
Regarding claim 3. Colenbrander as modified teaches, wherein the automatically created move group is further based on: (i) technology stacks, (ii) enterprise lines of business, and (iii) application dependencies (Colenbrander [0032]).
Regarding claim 4. Colenbrander as modified teaches, wherein the set of enterprise applications in the enterprise application data store are associated with at least one of: (i) on-premises applications, and (ii) legacy applications (Ratnapuri [0124-0126]).
Regarding claim 5. Colenbrander as modified teaches, wherein patterns are associated with at least one of: (i) composite patterns, and (ii) reference implementations (Colenbrander [0066-0067]).
Regarding claim 6. Colenbrander as modified teaches, wherein patterns are associated with at least one of: (i) an integration type, (ii) an inbound flow direction, and (iii) an outbound flow direction (Colenbrander [0070-0071]).
Regarding claim 7. Colenbrander as modified teaches, wherein patterns are associated with at least one of: (i) foundational patterns, (ii) primitive patterns, and (ii) guardrail patterns (Zolotow [0006-0008], [0042-0045]).
Regarding claim 8. Colenbrander as modified teaches, wherein the data repository includes version control (Zolotow [0006], [0041]).
Regarding claim 9. Although claim 9 is directed to a method, it is similar in scope to claim 1. The system steps of claim 1 substantially encompass the method recited in claim 9. Therefore; claim 9 is rejected for at least the same reason as claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 10-12, the system steps of claims 2-4 substantially encompass the method recited in claims 10-12. Therefore, claims 10-12 are rejected for at least the same reason as claims 2-4 above.
Regarding claim 13. Colenbrander discloses a non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing instructions, that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform a cloud migration (Colenbrander disclose a method for game allocation in a game cloud system. … The non-transitory computer-readable medium including program instructions for storing the one or more video games from the plurality of video games across the plurality of rack assemblies based on the distribution of the one or more video game that is determined, [0008-0009]) method implemented via a back-end application computer server,
although claim 13 directed to a medium, it is similar in scope to claim 1. The system steps of claim 1 substantially encompass the medium recited in claim 13. Therefore; claim 13 is rejected for at least the same reason as claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 14-18, the system steps of claims 2 and 5-8 substantially encompass the medium recited in claims 14-18. Therefore, claims 14-18 are rejected for at least the same reason as claims 2 and 5-8 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record not relied upon, if any, is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Prior art Ray et al. (US Patent No. 11,418,621 B2) discloses techniques for establishing a network connection with a client device and responding to composite requests from the client device. For a composite request identifying a first action associated with a first data plugin component and a second action associated with a different second data plugin component, the first action is performed by executing a first portion of the data plugin component and transmitting corresponding response data in a first transmission to the client device via the network connection, and the second action is performed by executing a second portion of the data plugin component and transmitting corresponding response data in a second transmission separate from the first transmission to the client device via the network connection.
Prior art Ratnapuri et al. (US Patent Application No. 2021/0174280 A1) discloses an efficient and effective method of migration for on-premises computing applications to a cloud computing environment. In one embodiment, the method involves automated or semi-automated discovery and planning of the scope of work by assessing which software applications and associated data are/should be under consideration for migration to the cloud. The software applications under consideration may then be assessed for suitability of migration to the cloud in view of various factors, including but not limited to, business goals, desired outcome, and cloud environment compatibility.
Prior art Wolf et al. (US Patent Application No. 2020/0134750 A1) discloses a system includes a host service configured to distribute a configuration file to one or more instances of a client application configured to communicably couple to the host service. The configuration file informs the behavior of each instance of each client application and the host service so that the system can facilitate secure and private information exchange between parties to a transaction.
Prior art Deng et al. (US Patent Application No. 2017/0193021 A1) discloses a mechanism is provided for identifying patterns of a set of software applications instances from their documents. The computer-implemented method begins with constructing different attribute vector types using a knowledge ontology. The knowledge ontology captures semantics based on keywords associated with resource attributes derived from one or more documents related to at least a portion of these software application instances. A knowledge base is built from the attribute vector types and the documents of these application instances. These are merged into the knowledge base with the knowledge base previously built from previous software application instances. Analytics are performed on the knowledge base to identify at least one of common patterns of deployments, configurations, or other attribute vector types, or a combination thereof.
Prior art Bagchi et al. (US Patent No. 8,107,397 B1) discloses a protocol for optimizing the energy for code upload to sensors in a wireless sensor network and speeding up the dissemination if multiple sources of code are available. Energy optimization is achieved by equipping each node with limited non-local topology information, which it uses to determine the time when it can go to sleep since code is not being distributed in its vicinity. Another aspect of the invention is a protocol that facilitates secure upload of code in the wireless sensor network. The secure communication protocol divides the sensor field into control groups each with a control node, and manages data exchange between nodes within a control group through the mediation of a control head which provides the common key. The keys are refreshed periodically and the control nodes are changed periodically to enhance security. The protocol facilitates secure communication between sensor nodes despite the compromise of any number of other nodes in the network.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Rones can be reached at 571-272-4085. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HASANUL MOBIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2168