DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1: “an energization heating section that energizes and heats the metal material”
Claim 1: “a processing section that processes the heated metal material”
Claim 3: “fluid supply unit that supplies a high-pressure fluid”
Claim 7: “forming apparatus that forms”
Claim 8: “a high-temperature heating section that heats the metal material”
Claim 9: “a transfer section that transfers the metal material”
Claim 10: “extrusion portion…extrudes the metal material”
Claim 12: “positioning portion for restricting movement”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites: “wherein rollers of the roller transport section are disposed from the energization heating section to an inside of the processing section.” Wherein statements are used to further define previously set forth elements. In this case, a wherein statement is used to further define an element that was not previously, positively set forth, which makes it unclear if the recited element is required by the claimed apparatus.
Claim 5 recites: “wherein the roller transport section includes a plurality of rollers” – it is unclear if these rollers are meant to refer to the rollers set forth in claim 1 or if additional rollers are required.
Claim 11 recites: “wherein a center line of the metal material when being transported by the roller transport section is parallel to and coincides with a reference axis of the metal material when the metal material is installed in the processing section, and a reference axis of the extrusion portion of the transfer section coincides with a reference axis of the energization heating section. Wherein statements are used to further define previously set forth elements. In this case, a wherein statement is used to further define an element (the metal material is not a positively recited element of the system) that was not previously, positively set forth, which makes it unclear if the recited element is required by the claimed apparatus.
Claim 12 recites: “comprising: a positioning portion for restricting movement of a metal pipe material in a width direction when the metal pipe material reaches predetermined positions of dies.” The “dies” are not positively recited, it is unclear the mechanical relationship between the die and the other positively claims elements.
Claim limitations (claim 9) “a transfer section that transfers”; (claim 10) “extrusion portion…extrudes the metal material” and (claim 12) “positioning portion for restricting movement” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claims. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uenishi et al. (hereafter “Uenishi”)(US 2023/0158560).
With regards to claim 1, Uenishi discloses a forming system that forms a metal material, the forming system comprising:
an energization heating section (30) that energizes and heats the metal material;
a processing section (10) that processes the heated metal material; and
a roller transport section (31, 26, 41) that transports the heated metal material between the energization heating section and the processing section,
wherein rollers of the roller transport section are disposed from the energization heating section to an inside of the processing section [paragraph 0067 and 0068].
With regards to claim 2, Uenishi discloses wherein the roller transport section transports the heated metal material while maintaining a posture of the metal material when the processing is performed in the processing section, as seen in at least Figure 1.
With regards to claim 6, Uenishi discloses wherein in a case where a reference axis of the metal material when the metal material is installed in the processing section is set, the roller transport section transports the metal material in parallel with the reference axis at a position deviated from the reference axis, as seen in at least Figure 1.
With regards to claim 7, Uenishi discloses wherein the processing section is a forming apparatus that forms the metal material by pressing [paragraph 0069].
With regards to claim 9, Uenishi discloses further comprising: a transfer section (41) that transfers the metal material heated in the energization heating section to the roller transport section.
With regards to claim 12, Uenishi discloses further comprising: a positioning portion (1Ac, 1Bc) for restricting movement of a metal pipe material in a width direction when the metal pipe material reaches predetermined positions of dies (1A, 1B). A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 939, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
The limitation of claim 13 is also considered a recitation of intended use limitation and Uenishi discloses a system capable of performing as such i.e. wherein, after the movement of the metal pipe material is restricted by the positioning portion, the rollers of the roller transport section retreat from the dies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uenishi.
Uenishi discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the processing section includes a fluid supply unit that supplies a high- pressure fluid to the metal material in a high-temperature state to expand the metal material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Uenishi’s processing section with a fluid supply unit because simple substitution of one known forming element for another yield predictable results require only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uenishi.
Uenishi discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the energization heating section includes electrodes disposed to be separated from each other in an axial direction. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Uenishi’s heating section with electrodes because simple substitution of one known forming element for another yield predictable results require only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uenishi.
Uenishi discloses a control unit (5) that controls at least the heating device and the press device, as described in paragraphs 0074. Uenishi discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the processing section is a high-temperature heating section that heats the metal material to a temperature higher than a heating temperature in the energization heating section. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the claimed temperatures, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uenishi.
Uenishi discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the transfer section includes a main body and an extrusion portion that is supported by the main body to be movable back and forth in an axial direction and extrudes the metal material disposed in the energization heating section to the roller transport section. It is considered to be well-known that transfer section can be rollers, conveyors, forklift, main body/extrusion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a main body and extrusion portion since it would have been obvious to try this technique when choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions for transporting workpiece through forming systems, with a reasonable expectation of success. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
With regards to claim 11, Uenishi discloses wherein a center line of the metal material when being transported by the roller transport section is parallel to and coincides with a reference axis of the metal material when the metal material is installed in the processing section, and a reference axis of the extrusion portion of the transfer section coincides with a reference axis of the energization heating section, as seen in at least Figure 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and further show the state of the art: US 2019/0264296 and 2010/0192659.
/TERESA M EKIERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725