DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The present application is a continuation of Application Serial No. 17/302,828, filed 13 May 2021 and issued as US Patent 12287882 on 29 April 2025.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specification does not include a brief summary of the invention as per 37 CFR 1.73. If a summary was intentionally omitted, Applicant is requested to make a statement confirming this on the record.
Appropriate correction is required. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any other errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1, line 4; Claim 8, line 6; and Claim 15, line 5, it is recommended to insert “that” before “has a tree structure” to make more explicit that this phrase is also referring to the attack tree.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1, 4, 9, 11, 14, and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12287882. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending claims are broader than the issued claims and are therefore anticipated by the issued claims. Anticipation is the epitome of obviousness.
More specifically, pending Claim 1 recites steps of accessing a request that corresponds to and is broader than the step of receiving in issued Claim 1. The step of performing attacks in pending Claim 1 also corresponds to and is broader than the step of performing attacks in issued Claim 1, and the step of determining that the penetration test penetrated the device based on a result of the final attack in pending Claim 1 corresponds to and is broader than the step of determining that the penetration test is successful based on successfully executing the final attack in issued Claim 1. The performance of the steps by processors in pending Claim 1 is broader than the performance by a penetration manager in issued Claim 1. Therefore, pending Claim 1 is anticipated by issued Claim 1. Pending Claim 3 recites receiving the request as in issued Claim 1, and pending Claim 4 recites an outcome of a first attack being a basis upon which to perform a second attack which corresponds to passing the results of a first attack to a next-level attack as in issued Claim 1. Pending Claim 2 is an obvious variation based on the disclosures of the issued patent (see column 2, lines 49-53, where the request includes a configuration file). Pending Claim 6 corresponds to issued Claim 9, and pending Claim 7 corresponds to portions of issued Claim 4. Similarly, pending Claims 8-11 are anticipated by and obvious based on issued Claim 11, and pending Claims 15-18 are anticipated by an obvious based on issued Claim 16. Pending Claim 13 corresponds to issued Claim 9, and pending Claim 14 corresponds to portions of issued Claim 14. Pending Claim 20 corresponds to issued Claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hebert et al, US Patent Application Publication 2017/0019421.
In reference to Claim 1, Hebert discloses a method comprising: accessing, by one or more processors, a request that a penetration test be performed against a device based on an attack tree that is defined by the request and has a tree structure with nodes that each represent a corresponding attack (paragraph 0019, penetration test with attack tree); performing, by the one or more processors, one or more attacks against the device based on at least a portion of the attack tree defined by the request, the one or more attacks including a final attack represented by a final node of the attack tree (see paragraphs 0020-0040 for examples of performing attacks along trees); and determining, by the one or more processors, that the penetration test penetrated the device based on a result of the final attack that corresponds to the final node of the attack tree defined by the request (see paragraph 0041, describing a successful penetration test).
In reference to Claim 2, Hebert further discloses that the request that the penetration test be performed against the device includes a configuration file that defines the nodes of the attack tree for performing the penetration test against the device (paragraph 0019, attacks and targets defined).
In reference to Claim 3, Hebert further discloses that the accessing of the request that defines the attack tree on which basis the penetration test is to be performed includes receiving the request that defines the attack tree on which basis the penetration test is to be performed (paragraph 0019, receiving provided attack tree).
In reference to Claim 4, Hebert further discloses that the performing of the one or more attacks includes performing a first attack that corresponds to a first node of the attack tree defined by the request, an outcome of the first attack being a basis upon which to perform a second attack that corresponds to a second node of the attack tree defined by the request (see paragraphs 0020-0041 for examples of performing attacks along trees).
In reference to Claim 5, Hebert further discloses that the second attack that corresponds to the second node of the attack tree defined by the request is the final attack that corresponds to the final node of the attack tree defined by the request (see paragraphs 0020-0041 for examples of performing attacks along trees).
In reference to Claim 6, Hebert further discloses that the first attack that corresponds to the first node of the attack tree defined by the request includes scanning ports of the device to find a vulnerability of the device (see paragraph 0085, network mapping and paragraph 0094, ports; see also paragraphs 0020-0041).
In reference to Claim 7, Hebert further discloses that the device is a target device and the method further comprises: providing an application programming interface (API) that enables a requestor device to generate the request that the penetration test be performed (paragraph 0086, interface).
Claims 8-14 are directed to systems having functionality corresponding to the methods of Claims 1-7, and are rejected by a similar rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Claims 15-20 are directed to software implementations of the methods of Claims 1-6, and are rejected by a similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See the parent application for description of the cited prior art references.
/Zachary A. Davis/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492