DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 23-32, and 47-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Policicchio et al., US 10,694,915 in view of Yamada, WO 2006/070502 A1 (see also English translation), in view of Cameron et al., US 2015/0266633, in view of Broad et al., US 9,849,638, and in view of Ogale, US 2011/0041274.
Regarding claim 21, Policicchio et al. disclose a product comprising a container (packaging, column 14 lines 52-55) and a plurality of cleaning wipes contained in the container (10), the cleaning wipes having a longitudinal axis (LA, see Figure 3A) extending between opposing transverse edges that cross the longitudinal axis and longitudinal edges spaced apart from the longitudinal axis and extend between the transverse edges (see Figures 1 and 3A), wherein the cleaning wipes each comprise: a first nonwoven extending along the longitudinal axis (one of 27, see also Figures 2A-2B, column 4 lines 5-7) and comprising a plurality of first nonwoven strips extending from each nonwoven fixed ends (17), wherein said first nonwoven fixed ends are oriented towards the longitudinal axis (Figures 1 and 3A); and a second nonwoven extending along the longitudinal axis (another one of 27, see also Figures 2A-2B, column 4 lines 5-7), wherein said second nonwoven is joined to said first nonwoven along a central bonded portion (at 38, Figure 3A) and comprises a plurality of second nonwoven strips extending from second nonwoven fixed ends to second nonwoven free ends (17), wherein said second nonwoven fixed ends are oriented towards the longitudinal axis (Figures 1 and 3A), wherein along said central bonded portion said second nonwoven is below said first nonwoven (see Figures 2A-2B, bonding at 38); wherein second nonwoven strips are fluffed with said first nonwoven strips (when fluffed out of XY plane, deformed during use, column 8 lines 30-33; also see column 9 lines 55-67, column 13 lines 43-54); and wherein some of the structure of the wipes has first and second colors, wherein the first color differs from the second color in order to show contrast (column 13 lines 34-42). Regarding claims 23 and 26, the first nonwoven fixed ends are registered with the second nonwoven fixed ends (registered, in that they are bonded at 38 together, see Figures 1, 2A, 3A). Regarding claim 24, the first nonwoven strips are longer than said second nonwoven strips (in the embodiment of Figure 2B). Regarding claim 27, the cleaning wipes further comprise a backsheet forming at least part of a back surface of said cleaning wipes opposite said first nonwoven (12A, Figures 2A-2B), wherein the backsheet extends further away from the longitudinal axis than the central bonded portion (in the arrangement shown in Figure 2B). Regarding claim 28, the wiper further comprises an absorbent core (12B) positioned between a fluid acquisition layer (12C) and said backsheet (12A; Figures 2A-2B), wherein said fluid acquisition layer is between the absorbent core and said first nonwoven (Figures 2A-2B) and wherein each of the fluid acquisition layer, the absorbent core, and the backsheet extend along at least part of the longitudinal axis (Figure 1). Regarding claim 29, wherein said cleaning wipe further comprises: a third nonwoven extending along said longitudinal axis (another one of 27, Figures 1-2B), wherein said third nonwoven is joined directly or indirectly to said second nonwoven along said central bonded portion (Figures 2A-2B, at bonds 38) and comprises a plurality of third nonwoven strips extending from third nonwoven fixed ends (17, see Figures), wherein said third nonwoven fixed ends are oriented towards said longitudinal axis (Figures 1 and 3), and wherein along said central bonded portion said second nonwoven is between said first nonwoven and said third nonwoven (Figures 2A-2B). Regarding claim 30, the third nonwoven strips extend further away from the longitudinal axis than said second nonwoven strips (in the arrangement where the third nonwoven strips 17 are on the third nonwoven that is centrally placed sheet 27 shown in Figure 2B). Regarding claim 31, more than about 10% by number of said second nonwoven strips are above portions of said first nonwoven strips (Figures 1-2B). Regarding claim 32, at least some of the first nonwoven strips are twisted (in embodiment described in column 10 lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 47, Policicchio et al. disclose a product comprising a container (packaging, column 14 lines 52-55) and a plurality of cleaning wipes contained in the container (10), the cleaning wipes having a longitudinal axis (LA, see Figure 3A) extending between opposing transverse edges that cross the longitudinal axis and longitudinal edges spaced apart from the longitudinal axis and extend between the transverse edges (see Figures 1 and 3A), wherein the cleaning wipes each comprise: a first nonwoven extending along the longitudinal axis (one of 27, see also Figures 2A-2B, column 4 lines 5-7) and comprising a plurality of first nonwoven strips extending from each nonwoven fixed ends (17), wherein said first nonwoven fixed ends are oriented towards the longitudinal axis (Figures 1 and 3A); and a second nonwoven extending along the longitudinal axis (another one of 27, see also Figures 2A-2B, column 4 lines 5-7), wherein said second nonwoven is joined to said first nonwoven along a central bonded portion (at 38, Figure 3A) and comprises a plurality of second nonwoven strips extending from second nonwoven fixed ends to second nonwoven free ends (17), wherein said second nonwoven fixed ends are oriented towards the longitudinal axis (Figures 1 and 3A), wherein along said central bonded portion said second nonwoven is below said first nonwoven (see Figures 2A-2B, bonding at 38); wherein at least some of the first nonwoven strips are back bent so that the first nonwoven free ends are oriented back towards the longitudinal axis (in that the nonwoven strips are formed in folds, with free ends oriented back towards the longitudinal axis as a result of the fold, see Figures 2A-2B); and wherein second nonwoven strips are fluffed with said first nonwoven strips (when fluffed out of XY plane, deformed during use, column 8 lines 30-33). Regarding claim 48, wherein said cleaning wipe further comprises: a third nonwoven extending along said longitudinal axis (another one of 27, Figures 1-2B), wherein said third nonwoven is joined directly or indirectly to said second nonwoven along said central bonded portion (Figures 2A-2B, at bonds 38) and comprises a plurality of third nonwoven strips extending from third nonwoven fixed ends (17, see Figures), wherein said third nonwoven fixed ends are oriented towards said longitudinal axis (Figures 1 and 3), and wherein along said central bonded portion said second nonwoven is between said first nonwoven and said third nonwoven (Figures 2A-2B). Regarding claim 49, the third nonwoven strips extend further away from the longitudinal axis than said second nonwoven strips (in the arrangement where the third nonwoven strips 17 are on the third nonwoven that is centrally placed sheet 27 shown in Figure 2B).
Regarding claim 50, Policicchio et al. disclose a product comprising a container (packaging, column 14 lines 52-55) and a plurality of cleaning wipes (10) contained in said container, wherein the cleaning wipes having a longitudinal axis (LA, see Figure 3A) extending between opposing transverse edges that cross the longitudinal axis and longitudinal edges spaced apart from the longitudinal axis and extend between the transverse edges (see Figures 1 and 3A), wherein said cleaning wipes each comprise: a first nonwoven extending along said longitudinal axis (one of 27, see also Figures 2A-2B, column 4 lines 5-7) and comprising a plurality of first nonwoven strips extending from first nonwoven fixed ends (17), wherein said first nonwoven fixed ends are oriented towards said longitudinal axis (Figures 1A and 3), and wherein at least some of said first nonwoven strips are back bent so that said first nonwoven free ends are oriented back towards said longitudinal axis (in that the nonwoven strips are formed in folds, with free ends oriented back towards the longitudinal axis as a result of the fold, see Figures 2A-2B; are also capable of being bent back during use); a second nonwoven extending along said longitudinal axis (another one of 27, see Figures 2A-2B, column 4 lines 5-7), wherein said second nonwoven is joined to said first nonwoven along a central bonded portion (38, Figures 1-3) and comprises a plurality of second nonwoven strips extending from second nonwoven fixed ends to second nonwoven free ends (17), wherein said second nonwoven fixed ends are oriented towards said longitudinal axis (Figures 1A and 3), wherein along said central bonded portion said second nonwoven is below said first nonwoven (Figures 2A-2B), and wherein at least some of said second nonwoven strips are back bent so that said second nonwoven free ends are oriented back towards said longitudinal axis (in that the nonwoven strips are formed in folds, with free ends oriented back towards the longitudinal axis as a result of the fold, see Figures 2A-2B); and a third nonwoven extending along said longitudinal axis (another one of 27, Figures 1-3), wherein said third nonwoven is joined directly or indirectly to said second nonwoven along said central bonded portion (via 38, see Figures) and comprises a plurality of third nonwoven strips extending from third nonwoven fixed ends (also 17, see Figures), wherein said third nonwoven fixed ends are oriented towards said longitudinal axis (Figures 1A and 3), wherein along said central bonded portion said second nonwoven is between said first nonwoven and said third nonwoven (Figures 2A-2B), and wherein said third nonwoven strips extend further away from said longitudinal axis than said second nonwoven strips (Figures 2A-2B).
Policicchio et al. does not disclose that the container is closed, or that wherein within the container at least some of the strips are bent back so that the first nonwoven strips are interlaced with the second nonwoven strips, wherein more than about 10% by number of the second nonwoven strips are bent so that said second nonwoven free ends are out of plane relative to said second nonwoven fixed ends, or specifically that the first nonwoven strips have a first color and that the second nonwoven strips have a second color, wherein the first color differs from the second color. Again, it is noted that some of the structure of the wipes has first and second colors, wherein the first color differs from the second color in order to show contrast (column 13 lines 34-42).
Yamada teaches similar cleaning wipes, the wipe comprising first and second nonwoven layers (6, see English translation), the first and second nonwoven layers having strips with free and fixed ends (10, Figure 1), each of the layers can be of different (first and second) colors to improve the design of the wipe (English translation paragraph 0024, 0034).
Cameron et al. teach a product that comprises a closed container (11) that contains a plurality of cleaning wipes (Figures 1-2; wipes can be household dusters and wipes, paragraph 0036), and teaches that it is desirable for the container to be a closed container with a lid is beneficial to allow a consumer to open the package easily and in a non-destructive manner, to withdraw the wipe, and reclose the package (paragraph 0006).
Broad et al. relates to process and apparatus for fluffing a cleaning implement (Title) and teach a product comprising a container (package, see column 2 lines 16-21, column 5 lines 41-42, column 7 line 63 to column 8 line 7) and a plurality of cleaning wipes (10), the cleaning wipes comprise nonwoven layers with strips (layers 12 and 14, strips 17; see Figures 4A-4B; column 3 lines 47-57), and prior to the cleaning wipes being placed into a container the cleaning wipes are fluffed (at station 55 where air displaces the layers so that they become deformed or separated, see column 6 lines 55-64) and the strips are deformed due to fluffing (column 3 line 65 to column 4 line 7). Broad et al. recognize that when the wipes are placed in the container that it is after the fluffing step (column 7 line 63), and that the wipes may be compressed within the container and take up a relatively larger apparent volume when removed from the container, but the volume of the cleaning article will be greater than if fluffing had not occurred (column 7 line 64 to column 8 line 7). The fluffing of layers is done during manufacture so that the user removing the wipe from packaging will receive a wipe that is pre-fluffed in order to achieve an optimum cleaning performance (column 2 lines 16-47, particularly lines 40-47).
Ogale teaches a cleaning wipe (1) of nonwoven layers having first and second nonwoven strips (nonwoven layers 20, strips referred to as ribbons, see paragraph [0014]) with free ends (at 24) and fixed ends (at 26, Figure 3), the strips are bent and interlaced (see Figures 1-4 where the strips cross over each other or are in a twisted relationship with other strips, “interlace” is defined by www.dictionary.com as “to cross one another, typically passing alternately over and under, as it woven together; intertwine”; see also paragraph [0007] that states where the strips or ribbons fan out and partially overlap) and are separated during manufacture (paragraph [0040]). Regarding claims 1, 25, and 50, more than 10% and 30% by number of the second nonwoven strips are bent so that the second nonwoven free ends are out of plane relative to nonwoven fixed ends and are above first nonwoven free ends (Figures 2-4 show far more than 10%, and more than 30%, of second strips that are bent in such a way that they are out of a plane and positioned above first nonwoven ends, see also paragraph [0023]). Further regarding claim 50, the free ends are bent back so they are oriented back towards the longitudinal axis (see Figures 2 and 4). This is done so that there is continuous contact between the strips and the surface being cleaned and increases the article’s cleaning capacity and also improves the shape of the cleaning wipe when compressed (paragraphs [0023]-[0024]). Also, the strips are bent so that major surfaces of the strips can fan out and rest on a contoured surface of an article to be cleaned without substantial tangling of strips (paragraph [0022]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the colors of the first and second nonwoven strips of Policicchio et al. so that they are of different colors, as taught by Yamada, to improve the visual design of the wipe and also it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the packaging of Policicchio et al. for one that is a closed container, such as the one taught by Cameron et al., so that a the container can be opened and reclosed in a non-destructive manner. Further it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the strips of the cleaning wipe of Policicchio et al. so that during manufacture they are fluffed into a voluminous shape where some first nonwoven strips are bent back when stored within the container, as taught by Broad et al., so that the finished product is fluffed before being placed in the container and is already fluffed when the user receives it to achieve the best cleaning performance with the cleaning wipe, and even further it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second nonwoven strips of Policicchio and Broad et al. so that the second nonwoven strips are interlaced with the first nonwoven strips and more than about 10% or 30% by number of the second nonwoven strips are bent and/or twisted so that the second nonwoven free ends are out of a plane relative to the second nonwoven fixed ends and above the first nonwoven free ends, as taught by Ogale, so that the strips of the cleaning wipe have an increased cleaning capacity and retain a voluminous shape when compressed.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Policicchio et al., US 10,694,915, Yamada, WO 2006/070502 A1 (see also English translation), Cameron et al., US 2015/0266633, Broad et al., US 9,849,638, and Ogale, US 2011/0041274 as applied to claim 21 in view of Gummow et al., US 9,021,647.
Policicchio et al., Yamada, Cameron et al., Broad et al., and Ogale disclose all elements previously discussed above, however fail to disclose that when the first and second color are measured by a Hunter Reflectance Meter test, that according to the colors L*, a*, and b*, wherein said first color and said second color have a difference in color calculated using L*, a*, and b* values by the formula AE= [(L*x - L*y)2 + (a*x - a*y)2 + (b*x - b*y)2'2, wherein X represents said first nonwoven strips and Y represents said second nonwoven strips, wherein the ΔE between the first nonwoven strips and the second nonwoven strips is greater than 10.
Gummow et al. teach a cleaning wipe where there are two color regions (300, 310; or 330, 340) to visually indicate to a user a function or characteristic of the wipe, the contrast being visually clear to a user (column 9 lines 42-58). Gummow et al. uses first and second color choices measured by a Hunter Reflectance Meter test such that the ΔE between the first and the second colors is greater than 10 (column 10 lines 56-67, column 11 lines 19-67).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second colors used in the strips of Policicchio et al., Yamada, Cameron et al., Broad et al., and Ogale so when measured by a Hunter Reflectance Meter test resulting in a ΔE between the first and the second colors is greater than 10, as taught by Gummow et al., in order to provide a desirable contrast between the first and second colors and to serve as a visual indicator.
Claim(s) 33-34 and 37-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Policicchio et al., US 10,694,915, in view of Cameron et al., US 2015/0266633 and in view of Broad et al., US 9,849,638 further in view of Ogale, US 2011/0041274.
Regarding claim 33, Policicchio et al. disclose a product comprising a container (packaging, column 14 lines 52-55) and a plurality of cleaning wipes contained in the container (10), the cleaning wipes having a longitudinal axis (LA, see Figure 3A) extending between opposing transverse edges that cross the longitudinal axis and longitudinal edges spaced apart from the longitudinal axis and extend between the transverse edges (see Figures 1 and 3A), wherein the cleaning wipes each comprise: a first nonwoven extending along the longitudinal axis (one of 27, see also Figures 2A-2B, column 4 lines 5-7) and comprising a plurality of first nonwoven strips extending from each nonwoven fixed ends to nonwoven free ends (17, see Figures), wherein said first nonwoven fixed ends are oriented towards the longitudinal axis (Figures 1 and 3A); and a second nonwoven extending along the longitudinal axis (another one of 27, see also Figures 2A-2B, column 4 lines 5-7), wherein said second nonwoven is joined to said first nonwoven along a central bonded portion (at 38, Figure 3A) and comprises a plurality of second nonwoven strips extending from second nonwoven fixed ends to second nonwoven free ends (17), wherein the second nonwoven fixed ends are oriented towards the longitudinal axis (Figures 1 and 3A), wherein along the central bonded portion said second nonwoven is below the first nonwoven (Figures 2A-2B); wherein at least some of the first nonwoven strips are back bent so that the first nonwoven free ends are oriented back towards the longitudinal axis (in that the nonwoven strips are formed in folds, with free ends oriented back towards the longitudinal axis as a result of the fold, see Figures 2A-2B). Regarding claim 34, wherein at least some of the second nonwoven strips are back bent so that the second nonwoven free ends are oriented back towards the longitudinal axis (in that the nonwoven strips are formed in folds, with free ends oriented back towards the longitudinal axis as a result of the fold, see Figures 2A-2B). Regarding claim 38, at least some of the first nonwoven strips are twisted (in embodiment described in column 10 lines 1-10). Regarding claim 39, the first nonwoven fixed ends are registered with the second nonwoven fixed ends (registered, in that they are bonded at 38 together, see Figures 1, 2A, 3A). Regarding claim 40, the first nonwoven strips are longer than said second nonwoven strips (in the embodiment of Figure 2B). Regarding claim 42, the cleaning wipes further comprise a backsheet forming at least part of a back surface of said cleaning wipes opposite said first nonwoven (12A, Figures 2A-2B), wherein the backsheet extends further away from the longitudinal axis than the central bonded portion (in the arrangement shown in Figure 2B). Regarding claim 43, the wiper further comprises an absorbent core (12B) positioned between a fluid acquisition layer (12C) and said backsheet (12A; Figures 2A-2B), wherein said fluid acquisition layer is between the absorbent core and said first nonwoven (Figures 2A-2B) and wherein each of the fluid acquisition layer, the absorbent core, and the backsheet extend along at least part of the longitudinal axis (Figure 1). Regarding claim 44, wherein said cleaning wipe further comprises: a third nonwoven extending along said longitudinal axis (another one of 27, Figures 1-2B), wherein said third nonwoven is joined directly or indirectly to said second nonwoven along said central bonded portion (Figures 2A-2B, at bonds 38) and comprises a plurality of third nonwoven strips extending from third nonwoven fixed ends (17, see Figures), wherein said third nonwoven fixed ends are oriented towards said longitudinal axis (Figures 1 and 3), and wherein along said central bonded portion said second nonwoven is between said first nonwoven and said third nonwoven (Figures 2A-2B). ). Regarding claim 45, the third nonwoven strips extend further away from the longitudinal axis than said second nonwoven strips (in the arrangement where the third nonwoven strips 17 are on the third nonwoven that is centrally placed sheet 27 shown in Figure 2B). Regarding claim 46, more than about 10% by number of said second nonwoven strips are above portions of said first nonwoven strips (Figures 1-2B).
Policicchio et al. does not disclose that the container is closed or that wherein within the container at least some of the first nonwoven strips are bent back so that the first nonwoven strips are oriented back towards the longitudinal axis. Regarding claim 41, there is not a % disclose by how many of the second nonwoven strips are bent.
Cameron et al. teach a product that comprises a closed container (11) that contains a plurality of cleaning wipes (Figures 1-2; wipes can be household dusters and wipes, paragraph 0036), and teaches that it is desirable for the container to be a closed container with a lid is beneficial to allow a consumer to open the package easily and in a non-destructive manner, to withdraw the wipe, and reclose the package (paragraph 0006). Regarding claim 37, the container comprises an intact frangible opening feature and it is a sealed container (paragraph 0021-0023, frangible at perforations 30, also sealing features 25).
Broad et al. relates to process and apparatus for fluffing a cleaning implement (Title) and teach a product comprising a container (package, see column 2 lines 16-21, column 5 lines 41-42, column 7 line 63 to column 8 line 7) and a plurality of cleaning wipes (10), the cleaning wipes comprise nonwoven layers with strips (layers 12 and 14, strips 17; see Figures 4A-4B; column 3 lines 47-57), and prior to the cleaning wipes being placed into a container the cleaning wipes are fluffed (at station 55 where air displaces the layers so that they become fluffed, see column 6 lines 55-64) so that as a result the strips are fluffed (column 3 line 65 to column 4 line 7). Broad et al. recognize that when the wipes are placed in the container that it is after the fluffing step (column 7 line 63), and that the wipes may be compressed within the container and take up a relatively larger apparent volume when removed from the container, but the volume of the cleaning article will be greater than if fluffing had not occurred (column 7 line 64 to column 8 line 7). The fluffing of layers is done during manufacture so that the user removing the wipe from packaging will receive a wipe that is pre-fluffed in order to achieve an optimum cleaning performance (column 2 lines 16-47, particularly lines 40-47).
Ogale teaches a cleaning wipe (1) of nonwoven layers having first and second nonwoven strips (nonwoven layers 20, strips referred to as ribbons, see paragraph [0014]) with free ends (at 24) and fixed ends (at 26, Figure 3), the strips are bent and interlaced(see Figures 1-4 where the strips cross over each other or are in a twisted relationship with other strips, “interlace” is defined by www.dictionary.com as “to cross one another, typically passing alternately over and under, as it woven together; intertwine”; see also paragraph [0007] that states where the strips or ribbons fan out and partially overlap) and are separated during manufacture (paragraph [0040]). Further regarding claim 33, at least some of the first nonwoven strips are bent back so that the first nonwoven free ends are oriented back towards the longitudinal axis (Figures 2 and 4). Regarding claim 41, more than 10% and 30% by number of the second nonwoven strips are bent so that the second nonwoven free ends are out of plane relative to nonwoven fixed ends and are above first nonwoven free ends (Figures 2-4 show far more than 10% of second strips that are bent in such a way that they are out of a plane and positioned above first nonwoven ends, see also paragraph [0023]). This is done so that there is continuous contact between the strips and the surface being cleaned and increases the article’s cleaning capacity and also improves the shape of the cleaning wipe when compressed (paragraphs [0023]-[0024]). Also, the strips are bent so that major surfaces of the strips can fan out and rest on a contoured surface of an article to be cleaned without substantial tangling of strips (paragraph [0022]). Further regarding claim 41, the fixed ends are located at bonds (38) and the free ends of the strips of the nonwoven layers (17) may be deformed out of an XY plane due to fluffing or deformations in use (column 8 lines 30-36).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the packaging of Policicchio et al. for one that is a closed container, such as the one taught by Cameron et al., so that a the container can be opened and reclosed in a non-destructive manner. Further it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the strips of the cleaning wipe of Policicchio et al. so that during manufacture they are fluffed where some first nonwoven strips are bent back when stored within the container, as taught by Broad et al., so that fluffing takes place during manufacture and the finished product is fluffed before being placed in the container so that it is fluffed when the user receives it to achieve the best cleaning performance with the cleaning wipe, and even further it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second nonwoven strips of Policicchio and Broad et al. so that the second nonwoven strips are interlaced and at least some of the first nonwoven strips are bent back so that the first nonwoven free ends are oriented back towards the longitudinal axis, as taught by Ogale, so that the strips of the cleaning wipe have an increased cleaning capacity and retain a voluminous shape when compressed. Regarding claim 41, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second nonwoven strips of Policiccio et al. as modified by Cameron et al. and Broad et al. so that more than about 10% by number of the second nonwoven strips are bent so that the second nonwoven free ends are out of plane relative to the second nonwoven fixed ends, as taught by Ogale, to provide a configuration of strips that can fan out and fluff so as to clean an article without the strips tangling.
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Policicchio et al., US 10,694,915, Cameron et al., US 2015/0266633, Broad et al., US 9,849,638, and Ogale, US 2011/0041274 as applied to claim 33, in view of Yamada, WO 2006/070502 A1 (see also English translation).
Policicchio et al., Cameron et al., Broad et al., and Ogale disclose all elements previously discussed above, however fail to disclose that the first nonwoven strips have a first color and said second nonwoven strips have a second color, wherein the first color differs from the second color. In Policicchio et al. some of the structure of the wipes has first and second colors, wherein the first color differs from the second color in order to show contrast (column 13 lines 34-42).
Yamada teaches similar cleaning wipes, the wipe comprising first and second nonwoven layers (6, see English translation), the first and second nonwoven layers having strips with free and fixed ends (10, Figure 1), each of the layers can be of different (first and second) colors to improve the design of the wipe (English translation paragraph 0024, 0034).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the colors of the first and second nonwoven strips of Policicchio et al., Cameron et al., Broad et al., and Ogale so that they are of different colors, as taught by Yamada, to improve the design of the wipe.
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Policicchio et al., US 10,694,915, Cameron et al., US 2015/0266633, Broad et al., US 9,849,638, and Ogale, US 2011/0041274 as applied to claim 33 in view of Yamada, WO 2006/070502 A1 (see also English translation) and in further view of Gummow et al., US 9,021,647.
Policicchio et al., Cameron et al., Broad et al., and Ogale disclose all elements previously discussed above, however fail to disclose that the first nonwoven strips have a first color and said second nonwoven strips have a second color, wherein the first color differs from the second color and that when the first and second color are measured by a Hunter Reflectance Meter test, that according to the colors L*, a*, and b*, wherein said first color and said second color have a difference in color calculated using L*, a*, and b* values by the formula AE= [(L*x - L*y)2 + (a*x - a*y)2 + (b*x - b*y)2'2, wherein X represents said first nonwoven strips and Y represents said second nonwoven strips, wherein the ΔE between the first nonwoven strips and the second nonwoven strips is greater than 10. Policicchio et al. some of the structure of the wipes has first and second colors, wherein the first color differs from the second color in order to show contrast (column 13 lines 34-42).
Yamada teaches similar cleaning wipes, the wipe comprising first and second nonwoven layers (6, see English translation), the first and second nonwoven layers having strips with free and fixed ends (10, Figure 1), each of the layers can be of different (first and second) colors to improve the design of the wipe (English translation paragraph 0024, 0034).
Gummow et al. teach a cleaning wipe where there are two color regions (300, 310; or 330, 340) to visually indicate to a user a function or characteristic of the wipe, the contrast being visually clear to a user (column 9 lines 42-58). Gummow et al. uses first and second color choices measured by a Hunter Reflectance Meter test such that the ΔE between the first and the second colors is greater than 10 (column 10 lines 56-67, column 11 lines 19-67).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the colors of the first and second nonwoven strips of Policicchio et al., Cameron et al., Broad et al., and Ogale so that they are of different colors, as taught by Yamada, to improve the design of the wipe and further it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second colors used in the strips of Policicchio et al., Cameron et al., Broad et al., Ogale, and Yamada so when measured by a Hunter Reflectance Meter test resulting in a ΔE between the first and the second colors is greater than 10, as taught by Gummow et al., in order to provide a desirable contrast between the first and second colors and to serve as a visual indicator.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 25 November 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 21-50 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, these rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in further view of Ogale, US 2011/0041274, now additionally applied to the previous rejections under 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
/LAURA C GUIDOTTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723
lcg