DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-19 are indefinite and incomplete.
The claims recite performing of cleaning based on a thickness of a film, but fails to recite any step of forming/depositing the referenced film.
Further, the claims recite performing of cleaning based on a thickness of a film, but fails to recite any step of determining the referenced thickness.
Claim 2 is further indefinite and/or incomplete because it recites “an amount of the film that is etched”, but fails to recite any etching of the film.
Claims 5-8 and 13-16 are further indefinite and could not be properly understood because it appears that claim 5 contradicts to the parent claim 1.
Claim 5 requires performing (a) after performing (b), but claim 1 requires performing (b) based on the thickness of the film formed in (a).
Claim 19 is further incomplete because it is not clear what the controller is configured to control to perform the recited process.
The claim is further indefinite because it is not clear how an apparatus comprising only a container and a controller can perform the recited process.
It appears that the claim is incomplete.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 12 and 17-19 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goto et al (US 2014/0187053).
As to claims 1-4, 12, 17:
Goto et al teach a method comprising:
Processing the substrate W in a process container 2 (at least [0031-32], Figure 6 and the related description); and
Cleaning inside the processing container 2 (at least [0033], Figure 6 and the related description).
The cleaning condition is disclosed as based on the thickness of the film formed (at least Figure 6 and the related description and the description at [0050], [0056], [0066-68], [0075], [0079-91]).
As to claim 2:
The claimed “condition” is readable on the “cleaning process A” of Goto et al.
As to claim 3:
The estimation as claimed is readable on what is disclosed by Goto et al at least at [0065].
As to claim 4:
The calculation as claimed is readable on what is disclosed by Goto et al at least at [0066-68], [0089].
As to claim 12:
Goto et al teach cleaning of the container 2 including the product region.
As to claim 17: Goto et al teach processing semiconductor wafers, and thus teach a method of manufacturing of a semiconductor device.
As to claim 18:
The computer readable medium as claimed is disclosed at least at [0094-95].
AS to claim 19:
The apparatus as claimed is disclosed by Goto et al at least at Figure 1, which shows container 2 and controller 100. See also parts of the teaching of Goto et al cited above with respect to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Goto et al (US 2014/0187053).
The claims are indefinite and could not be properly understood because of the reasons provided above.
However, since Goto et al teach conducting cleaning based on thickness of the film, the number of times the substrate is processed, number of cleanings, etc. and since Goto et al teach the use of gasses as claimed (at least [0079-81], [0086], [0091]. It is reasonably believed that what is claimed is either anticipated by or is obvious over the teaching of Goto et al.
Claim(s) 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto et al (US 2014/0187053) in view of Endo et al (US 2013/0109196).
Goto et al, as applied above teach the method as claimed except for the specific recitation of the forming a precoating film.
However, forming of precoating films on the inside of processing container was known in the art as evidenced by Endo et al. See at least [0007], [0027-49], [0056-62].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to provide a pre-coating in the method of Goto et al in order to obtain benefits disclosed by Endo et al and in order to use a conventional process for its known purpose.
As to claim 7:
Endo et al teaches that even a tolerant pre-coating is partially etched (see at least [0037-38].
As to claims 8-9:
Endo et al teaches forming a pre-coating prior to processing (at least [0027-49]).
As to claim 10:
Endo et al teaches forming a pre-coating film, which is different from a film that is formed on the substrate (at least [0041]).
As to claim 11:
The etching and not etching as claimed would be obviously present in the modified method of Goto et al at least at the beginning of the cleaning until the film formed in the processing step is removed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The documents listed on the attached PTO 892 are cited to show the state of the art with respect to processing methods and apparatuses.
/ALEXANDER MARKOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711