DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the claims filed on 26 March 2025.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claims 6-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6, line 6 recites “content,.” This appears to be a typographical error of “content.”
Claim 7 inherits the deficiencies of claim 6.
Claim 7, line 2 recites “to suspends”. This appears to be a typographical error of “suspend”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 19 is/are drawn to a system (i.e., a machine), claims 1-18 is/are drawn to a method (i.e., a process), and claims 20 is/are drawn to a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium (i.e., a manufacture). As such, claims 1-20 is/are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A - Prong One: In prong one of step 2A, the claim(s) is/are analyzed to evaluate whether it/they recite(s) a judicial exception.
Representative Claim 1:
monitoring registration of review content on a review page;
analyzing content included in the review content upon a result of the monitoring indicating that the review content has been registered on the review page;
classifying the review content into a rating of multiple ratings based on a result of the analyzing, each of the multiple ratings being associated with multiple different review management processes; and
performing one of the multiple different review management processes associated with the rating of the review content to handle the review content.
As noted by the claim limitations above, the independent claimed invention discusses providing a review management service. This is considered to be an abstract idea because it is a business activity of managing reviews for a business, which falls under “certain methods of organizing human activity.”
See MPEP 2106.
As such, the Examiner concludes that claim 1 recites an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong One: YES).
Step 2A - Prong Two: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 1 includes the following additional element(s): a pre-trained artificial intelligence model. This/these additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the exception into a practical application because they do no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e., machine learning) (see MPEP 2106.05(h)). Accordingly, these additional element(s) do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea.
The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claim(s) is/are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong two: NO).
Step 2B: Claim 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) do no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e., machine learning) (see MPEP 2106.05(h)), which does not render a claim as being significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 1 is ineligible.
The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements is/are sufficient to ensure the claim(s) amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above (Step 2B: NO).
Therefore, claim 1 is not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Dependent claim(s) 2-4, 7, 11 merely further limit the abstract idea and do not recite any additional elements beyond those already recited in claim 1, 6 and 10. Therefore claim(s) 2-4, 7, 11 are ineligible.
Dependent claim(s) 5-6, 9, 12, 14 and 15 further include(s) the additional element(s): a business operator terminal (claim 5-6, 9, 12, 14 and 15), . This/these additional element(s) alone or in ordered combination does no more than merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)), which does not integrate the claim(s) into a practical application nor does it render a claim as being significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, claim(s) 5-6, 9, 12, 14 and 15 is/are ineligible.
Dependent claim(s) 8, 10 and 13 further include(s) the additional element(s): a generative artificial intelligence model (claim 8, 10 and 13), the business operator terminal (claim 13). This/these additional element(s) alone or in ordered combination do no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e., machine learning) (see MPEP 2106.05(h)), which does not integrate the claim(s) into a practical application nor does it render a claim as being significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, claim(s) 8, 10, and 13 is/are ineligible.
Claim 19 is parallel in nature to claim 1. Claim 19 recites an abstract idea similar in nature to claim 1. Furthermore, claim 19 recites the following additional elements: a memory configured to store computer-readable instructions, at least one processor configured to execute the computer-readable instructions such that the processor is configured to cause the review management system to perform operations, and a pre-trained artificial intelligence model. These additional elements do no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e., machine learning) (see MPEP 2106.05(h)), which does not integrate the claim into a practical application nor does it render a claim as being significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 20 is parallel in nature to claim 1. Claim 20 recites an abstract idea similar in nature to claim 1. Furthermore, claim 20 recites the following additional elements: a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program thereon, which when executed by one or more processors in an electronic device, causes the electronic device to implement a method, and a pre-trained artificial intelligence model. These additional elements do no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e., machine learning) (see MPEP 2106.05(h)), which does not integrate the claim into a practical application nor does it render a claim as being significantly more than the abstract idea.
Step 2A - Prong One: In prong one of step 2A, the claim(s) is/are analyzed to evaluate whether it/they recite(s) a judicial exception.
Representative Claim 16:
monitoring registration of review content on a review page;
extracting specific information included in the review content based on conditions, upon a results of the monitoring indicating that the review content has been registered;
creating an input prompt using the extracted specific information;
obtaining a draft reply for the review content that has received the input prompt as an input; and
providing the draft reply to a management page managing the review page.
As noted by the claim limitations above, the independent claimed invention discusses providing a review management service. This is considered to be an abstract idea because it is a business activity of managing reviews for a business, which falls under “certain methods of organizing human activity.”
See MPEP 2106.
As such, the Examiner concludes that claim 16 recites an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong One: YES).
Step 2A - Prong Two: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 16 includes the following additional element(s): a generative artificial intelligence model. This/these additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the exception into a practical application because they do no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e., machine learning) (see MPEP 2106.05(h)). Accordingly, these additional element(s) do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Claim 16 is directed to an abstract idea.
The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claim(s) is/are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong two: NO).
Step 2B: Claim 16 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) do no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e., machine learning) (see MPEP 2106.05(h)), which does not render a claim as being significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 16 is ineligible.
The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements is/are sufficient to ensure the claim(s) amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above (Step 2B: NO).
Therefore, claim 16 is not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Dependent claim(s) 17 further include(s) the additional element(s): a business operator terminal. This/these additional element(s) alone or in ordered combination does no more than merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)), which does not integrate the claim(s) into a practical application nor does it render a claim as being significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, claim(s) 17 is/are ineligible.
Dependent claim(s) 18 further include(s) the additional element(s): a pre-trained artificial intelligence model. This/these additional element(s) alone or in ordered combination do no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e., machine learning) (see MPEP 2106.05(h)), which does not integrate the claim(s) into a practical application nor does it render a claim as being significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, claim(s) 18 is/are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mala (US 20240338736 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mala teaches a method of providing a review management service, comprising:
monitoring registration of review content on a review page; (Paragraph [0041] “The autopilot feature ensures that the above-mentioned process is fully automated. As soon as a review comes through, it will trigger the internal process algorithm to execute the AI automated response.”)
analyzing content included in the review content through a pre-trained artificial intelligence model upon a result of the monitoring indicating that the review content has been registered on the review page; (Paragraph [0041] “The autopilot uses an in-house trained AI, which then automatically trains the system integrated Open AI service. […] The autopilot feature ensures that the above-mentioned process is fully automated. As soon as a review comes through, it will trigger the internal process algorithm to execute the AI automated response.”)
classifying the review content into a rating of multiple ratings based on a result of the analyzing, each of the multiple ratings being associated with multiple different review management processes; (Paragraph [0040] “These settings include the settings of the AI where the client may determine how the AI should respond for each rating star (e.g., 1-5 stars) of each individual business location. […] the client […] selects 118 whether the AI autopilot is on or off for that location, and then for each rating start (one star 120, two stars 122, three stars 124, four stars 126 and five stars 128) the client selects what automation settings to include 130”; Fig. 6) and
performing one of the multiple different review management processes associated with the rating of the review content to handle the review content. (Paragraph [0040] “for each rating start (one star 120, two stars 122, three stars 124, four stars 126 and five stars 128) the client selects what automation settings to include 130A”; Paragraph [0041] “The system then passes the customer review, together with system suggestions including the trained specifications, to the Open AI (or any other AI source) to receive the final response of that particular review. The response is then displayed to the user on the system as well as automatically posted online. Such automatic posting can be switched to approved posting within the settings of the AI response.”; Fig. 6)
Regarding claim 16, Mala teaches a method of providing a review management service, comprising:
monitoring registration of review content on a review page; (Paragraph [0041] “The autopilot feature ensures that the above-mentioned process is fully automated. As soon as a review comes through, it will trigger the internal process algorithm to execute the AI automated response.”)
extracting specific information included in the review content based on conditions, upon a results of the monitoring indicating that the review content has been registered; (Paragraph [0040] “These settings include the settings of the AI where the client may determine how the AI should respond for each rating star (e.g., 1-5 stars) of each individual business location. Specific signatures can be added, and the AI is capable of running in multiple languages. More particularly, the client selects the business location(s) via dropdown box 116, selects 118 whether the AI autopilot is on or off for that location, and then for each rating start (one star 120, two stars 122, three stars 124, four stars 126 and five stars 128) the client selects what automation settings to include 130”; Fig. 6; Examiner notes the number of starts, etc. is extracted based on how the client wants the system to respond)
creating an input prompt for a generative artificial intelligence model using the extracted specific information; (Paragraph [0041] “The system then passes the customer review, together with system suggestions including the trained specifications, to the Open AI (or any other AI source)”)
obtaining a draft reply for the review content from the generative artificial intelligence model that has received the input prompt as an input; (Paragraph [0041] “The system then passes the customer review, together with system suggestions including the trained specifications, to the Open AI (or any other AI source) to receive the final response of that particular review […] Such automatic posting can be switched to approved posting within the settings of the AI response.”) and
providing the draft reply to a management page managing the review page.(Paragraph [0041] “The system then passes the customer review, together with system suggestions including the trained specifications, to the Open AI (or any other AI source) to receive the final response of that particular review. The response is then displayed to the user on the system […] Such automatic posting can be switched to approved posting within the settings of the AI response.”; Examiner notes the user of the system is a business.)
Regarding claim 17, Mala teaches the method of claim 16. Mala further teaches:
registering the draft reply as a reply to the review content on the review page, based on a registration request received from a business operator terminal with a business operator account logged in on a review management page. (Paragraph [0041] “The system then passes the customer review, together with system suggestions including the trained specifications, to the Open AI (or any other AI source) to receive the final response of that particular review. The response is then displayed to the user on the system as well as automatically posted online. Such automatic posting can be switched to approved posting within the settings of the AI response.”; Examiner notes the client that approves the posting is the business.)
Regarding claim 18, Mala teaches the method of claim 16. Mala further teaches:
analyzing the review content using a pre-trained artificial intelligence model; (Paragraph [0041] “The autopilot uses an in-house trained AI, which then automatically trains the system integrated Open AI service. […] The autopilot feature ensures that the above-mentioned process is fully automated. As soon as a review comes through, it will trigger the internal process algorithm to execute the AI automated response.”) and
classifying the review content into one of multiple ratings based on a result of the analyzing,
wherein the obtaining the draft reply includes generating the draft reply only when the review content is classified into a rating that corresponds to a condition among the multiple ratings. (Paragraph [0040] “These settings include the settings of the AI where the client may determine how the AI should respond for each rating star (e.g., 1-5 stars) of each individual business location. […] the client […] selects 118 whether the AI autopilot is on or off for that location, and then for each rating start (one star 120, two stars 122, three stars 124, four stars 126 and five stars 128) the client selects what automation settings to include 130”; Fig. 6) Fig. 6; Examiner notes, Fig. 6 shows autoreplies can be turned off for ratings of a certain number of stars. )
Claim 19:
Claim(s) 19 is/are directed to a system. Claim(s) 19 recite limitations parallel in nature as those addressed above for claim(s) 1, which are directed towards method. Claim(s) 19 is/are therefore rejected for the same reasons as set above for claim(s) 1. Claim 19 further recites a memory configured to store computer-readable instructions and at least one processor configured to execute the computer-readable instructions such that the processor is configured to cause the review management system to perform operations (see Paragraph [0032] and Fig. 1 of Mala).
Claim 20:
Claim(s) 20 is/are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium. Claim(s) 20 recite limitations parallel in nature as those addressed above for claim(s) 1, which are directed towards a method. Claim(s) 20 is/are therefore rejected for the same reasons as set above for claim(s) 1. Claim 20 further recites a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program thereon, which when executed by one or more processors in an electronic device, causes the electronic device to implement a method (see Paragraph [0032] and Fig. 1 of Mala).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mala (US 20240338736 A1) in view of Deluca (US 20180060338 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Mala teaches the method of claim 1. Mala further teaches wherein the analyzing includes:
classifying the review content into one of the multiple ratings based on whether the review content is a positive review or a negative review through an analysis of content included in the review content; (Paragraph [0040] “These settings include the settings of the AI where the client may determine how the AI should respond for each rating star (e.g., 1-5 stars) of each individual business location. […] the client […] selects 118 whether the AI autopilot is on or off for that location, and then for each rating start (one star 120, two stars 122, three stars 124, four stars 126 and five stars 128) the client selects what automation settings to include 130”; Fig. 6).
Mala does not teach:
determining whether the review content is exposed on the review page based on which degree of negative review the review content corresponds to among a plurality of negative reviews.
However, Deluca teaches:
determining whether the review content is exposed on the review page based on which degree of negative review the review content corresponds to among a plurality of negative reviews. (Paragraph [0047] “sentiment filter program 110 can include parameters for displaying the words that exceed a negative sentiment threshold that obfuscates the identified words that meet the negative sentiment threshold.”; step 206 and 208 of Fig. 3 of Deluca)
This step of Deluca is applicable to the method of Mala as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to performing sentiment analysis on comments posted on the internet. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Mala to incorporate determining whether a comment should be exposed on a webpage as taught by Deluca. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Mala in order to review and filter comments that are inappropriate in a timely manner (see paragraph [0009] of Deluca).
Regarding claim 3, Mala in view of Deluca teaches the method of claim 2. Mala does not teach:
wherein, when the review content is classified as the negative review of a highest rating among the multiple ratings, in response to the result of the monitoring, the determining determines that the review content is processed not to be exposed on the review page so that the review content is not exposed to users accessing the review page.
However, Deluca teaches:
wherein, when the review content is classified as the negative review of a highest rating among the multiple ratings, in response to the result of the monitoring, the determining determines that the review content is processed not to be exposed on the review page so that the review content is not exposed to users accessing the review page. (Paragraph [0047] “sentiment filter program 110 can include parameters for displaying the words that exceed a negative sentiment threshold that obfuscates the identified words that meet the negative sentiment threshold.”; step 206 and 208 of Fig. 3 of Deluca)
The motivation for making this modification to the teachings of Mala is the same as that set forth above, in the rejection of claim 2.
Additionally, in regard to claim 3, the Examiner further notes the recited “when” on line 1 does not move to distinguish the claimed invention from the cited art. This phrase is a conditional/contingent limitation with the noted determining step(s) not necessarily performed. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. Language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation. [See Ex parte Schulhauser, Appeal 2013-007847 (PTAB April 28, 2016) for an analysis of contingent claim limitations in the context of both method claims and system claims.; MPEP §2111.04 II].
Regarding claim 4, Mala in view of Deluca teaches the method of claim 3. Mala teaches:
a business operator account. (Paragraph [0034] “This is their first step in starting an online presence. The user is then prompted to enter all other business information”)
Mala does not teach:
wherein, when the review content is classified as the negative review of the highest rating, a business operator account of the review page is limited in provision of notification information indicating that the review content has been registered on the review page.
However Deluca teaches:
wherein, when the review content is classified as the negative review of the highest rating, a operator account of the review page is limited in provision of notification information indicating that the review content has been registered on the review page. (Paragraph [0047] “sentiment filter program 110 can include parameters for displaying the words that exceed a negative sentiment threshold that obfuscates the identified words that meet the negative sentiment threshold.”; step 206 and 208 of Fig. 3 of Deluca)
The motivation for making this modification to the teachings of Mala is the same as that set forth above, in the rejection of claim 2.
Additionally, in regard to claim 4, the Examiner further notes the recited “when” on line 1 does not move to distinguish the claimed invention from the cited art. This phrase is a conditional/contingent limitation with the noted limiting step(s) not necessarily performed. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. Language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation. [See Ex parte Schulhauser, Appeal 2013-007847 (PTAB April 28, 2016) for an analysis of contingent claim limitations in the context of both method claims and system claims.; MPEP §2111.04 II].
Regarding claim 5, Mala in view of Deluca teaches the method of claim 3. Mala further teaches:
wherein, when the review content is classified as the negative review of a lower rating than the negative review of the highest rating, in response to the results of the monitoring, notification information indicating that the review content has been registered on the review page is transmitted to a business operator terminal with a business operator account logged in. (Paragraph [0034] “This is their first step in starting an online presence. The user is then prompted to enter all other business information, which will also be pushed to partner sites. Accordingly, a new online presence on the system local platform database as well as partner sites will be created. The new account is authenticated 26 and the client lands on their dashboard 28.”; Examiner notes Fig. 3, 5 and associated paragraphs show a business operator’s dashboard with notifications regarding various rating with different starts.)
Additionally, in regard to claim 5, the Examiner further notes the recited “when” on line 1 does not move to distinguish the claimed invention from the cited art. This phrase is a conditional/contingent limitation with the noted transmitting step(s) not necessarily performed. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. Language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation. [See Ex parte Schulhauser, Appeal 2013-007847 (PTAB April 28, 2016) for an analysis of contingent claim limitations in the context of both method claims and system claims.; MPEP §2111.04 II].
Regarding claim 6, Mala in view of Deluca teaches the method of claim 5. Mala further teaches:
providing a review management page to the business operator terminal of the business operator account, wherein the review management page includes guide information along with the review content, the guide information indicating that the review content corresponding to the negative review includes negative content. (Fig. 3, Fig. 5 and associated paragraphs)
Regarding claim 8, Mala in view of Deluca teaches the method of claim 2. Mala further teaches:
wherein at least one of the multiple different review management processes includes providing a draft reply to the review content using a generative artificial intelligence model. (Paragraph [0041] “The system then passes the customer review, together with system suggestions including the trained specifications, to the Open AI (or any other AI source) to receive the final response of that particular review. The response is then displayed to the user on the system […] Such automatic posting can be switched to approved posting within the settings of the AI response.”)
Regarding claim 9, Mala in view of Deluca teaches the method of claim 8. Mala further teaches:
providing a review management page to a business operator terminal of a business operator account, wherein the review management page includes the review content and the draft reply for the review content as a pair. (Paragraph [0041] “The system then passes the customer review, together with system suggestions including the trained specifications, to the Open AI (or any other AI source) to receive the final response of that particular review. The response is then displayed to the user on the system […] Such automatic posting can be switched to approved posting within the settings of the AI response.”)
Regarding claim 10, Mala in view of Deluca teaches the method of claim 9. Mala further teaches:
generating a prompt to be input into the generative artificial intelligence model, wherein the generating includes generating the prompt using business information registered under the business operator account and feature information extracted from the review content. (Paragraph [0041] “The system then passes the customer review, together with system suggestions including the trained specifications, to the Open AI (or any other AI source) to receive the final response of that particular review. The response is then displayed to the user on the system […] Such automatic posting can be switched to approved posting within the settings of the AI response.”)
Regarding claim 11, Mala in view of Deluca teaches the method of claim 10. Mala further teaches:
wherein the business information includes at least one of trade name, industry type, or business description registered under the business operator account, (Paragraph [0041] “The system then passes the […] system suggestions including the trained specifications, to the Open AI (or any other AI source) to receive the final response of that particular review.”; Fig. 6 shows business descriptors such as the location/address, etc. are passed to the AI model in the specifications) and
the feature information includes at least one of video, text, and/or keyword information included in the review content, information on creator who created the review content, visit date and/or visit count for a business where the review content is registered, or information on a product that is a subject of the review content. (Paragraph [0041] “The system then passes the customer review, […] to the Open AI (or any other AI source) to receive the final response of that particular review.”)
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mala (US 20240338736 A1) in view of Deluca (US 20180060338 A1) in further view of Fletcher (see attached NPL).
Regarding claim 7, Mala in view of Deluca teaches the method of claim 6. Mala in view of Deluca does not teach:
wherein the guide information further includes a post suspension request button to suspend posting of the review content from the review page.
However, Fletcher teaches:
wherein the guide information further includes a post suspension request button to suspend posting of the review content from the review page. (see Page 3 “ How to remove fake google reviews” and “flag as inappropriate button” of Fletcher)
This step of Fletcher is applicable to the method of Mala as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to managing reviews for companies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Mala to incorporate a post suspension request button as taught by Fletcher. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Mala in order to protect businesses from false statements and allegations (see Page 1 of Fletcher).
Claim(s) 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mala (US 20240338736 A1) in view of Deluca (US 20180060338 A1) in further view of Miyajima (US 20230153364 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Mala in view of Deluca teaches the method of claim 10. Mala in view of Deluca does not teach:
providing a function icon for requesting another draft reply, along with the draft reply, in a specific area of the review management page where the draft reply is provided, generating the draft reply using the prompt when the function icon is selected from the business operator terminal for a first time and generating another draft reply using the prompt when the function icon is selected from the business operator terminal for a second time after the first time.
However, Miyajima teaches:
providing a function icon for requesting another draft reply, along with the draft reply, in a specific area of the review management page where the draft reply is provided, generating the draft reply using the prompt when the function icon is selected from the business operator terminal for a first time and generating another draft reply using the prompt when the function icon is selected from the business operator terminal for a second time after the first time. (Paragraph [0190] “An AI creation redo button 607 is a button for discarding a newly created article content before publication and recreating it. Specifically, when receiving an operation such as a click of the button from the user, the control unit 190 of the terminal apparatus 10A presents to the user a screen for discarding a newly created, pre-published article content and recreating it. At this time, the control unit 190 of the terminal apparatus 10A may display the words used when the article content was created to the user in a different faint. This allows the user to know on which words the article content was based before it was discarded.”; Fig. 6 shows a variety of article creation buttons including a redo button (see Paragraph [0190]), manual/automatic creation button (see Paragraphs [0185] and [0186]), etc.).
This step of Miyajima is applicable to the method of Mala as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to using artificial intelligence to generate replies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Mala to incorporate a function icon for generating draft replies as taught by Miyajima. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Mala in order to receive operations regarding creating article contents from users through a device (see paragraph [0179] of Miyajima).
Regarding claim 13, Mala in view of Deluca teaches the method of claim 12. Mala in view of Deluca does not teach:
wherein the generating the draft reply includes generating, by the generative artificial intelligence model, a new draft reply using the prompt each time the function icon is selected from the business operator terminal, until reaching a set number of times.
However, Miyajima teaches:
wherein the generating the draft reply includes generating, by the generative artificial intelligence model, a new draft reply using the prompt each time the function icon is selected from the business operator terminal, until reaching a set number of times. (Fig. 6 of Miyajima shows an automatic creation button 604 (Paragraph [0185]) and manual creation button 605 (Paragraph [0186]). El. 603 of Fig. 6 of Miyajima shows that each button has a limited number of uses.)
The motivation for making this modification to the teachings of Mala is the same as that set forth above, in the rejection of claim 12.
Regarding claim 14, Mala in view of Deluca teaches the method of claim 12. Mala further teaches:
selecting one of the draft reply or the another draft reply from the business operator terminal; (Paragraph [0041] “The system then passes the customer review, together with system suggestions including the trained specifications, to the Open AI (or any other AI source) to receive the final response of that particular review. The response is then displayed to the user on the system […] Such automatic posting can be switched to approved posting within the settings of the AI response.”) and
registering the selected draft reply as a reply to the review content on the review page. (Paragraph [0041] “The system then passes the customer review, together with system suggestions including the trained specifications, to the Open AI (or any other AI source) to receive the final response of that particular review. The response is then displayed to the user on the system […] Such automatic posting can be switched to approved posting within the settings of the AI response.”)
Regarding claim 15, Mala in view of Deluca teaches the method of claim 9. Mala further teaches:
a draft reply. (Paragraph [0041] “The system then passes the customer review, together with system suggestions including the trained specifications, to the Open AI (or any other AI source) to receive the final response of that particular review. The response is then displayed to the user on the system as well as automatically posted online. Such automatic posting can be switched to approved posting within the settings of the AI response.”; Fig. 6)
Mala in view of Deluca does not teach:
providing a function icon for requesting an edit of the draft reply, along with the draft reply, in a specific area of the review management page where the draft reply is provided such that when the function icon is selected, the draft reply is changed to an editable state, and the draft reply is configured to be edited based on information received through the business operator terminal.
However, Miyajima teaches:
providing a function icon for requesting an edit of the reply, along with the reply, in a specific area of the review management page where the reply is provided such that when the function icon is selected, the reply is changed to an editable state, and the reply is configured to be edited based on information received through the business operator terminal. (Paragraph [0187] “A rewrite edit button 606 is a button for re-editing an already created article content. Specifically, when receiving an operation such as a click of the button from the user, the control unit 190 of the terminal apparatus 10A presents a screen for re-editing an article content created and published in the past to the user. On the screen for re-editing, the terminal apparatus 10A receives from the user an addition/correction of information of words included in the article content. The control unit 190 of the terminal apparatus 10A transmits the added/corrected information of words to the server 20. The control unit 203 of the server 20 re-edits the article content based on the received information of words and the trained model, and transmits the edited article content to the terminal apparatus 10A.”; Fig. 6 of Miyajima)
The motivation for making this modification to the teachings of Mala is the same as that set forth above, in the rejection of claim 12.
Conclusion
/DANIELLE ELIZABETH ZEVITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3628
/GEORGE CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628