Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, 11, 13-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu US 2019/0347656
As per claim 1. Luu teaches A first computing system configured for hosting at least one node of a blockchain network based on a permissioned blockchain, the first computing system comprising at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the first computing system to carry out at least receiving a join request from an entity requesting to join the blockchain network by connecting a new node to the blockchain network; [0026][0028][0037][0038] (teaches a smart contract that automatically evaluates a join request to a blockchain network according to the smart contract rules that have been reached via consensus)
Lu teaches triggering an evaluation process of the join request, wherein the evaluation process includes an automated evaluation performed using at least one smart contract registered in the permissioned blockchain and configured to verify compliance of the join request with membership rules; [0026][0028][0037][0038] (teaches a smart contract that automatically evaluates a join request to a blockchain network according to the smart contract rules that have been reached via consensus)
Lu teaches and providing a response to the join request based on results of the evaluation process. [0028][0036][0038] (teaches that a verified user becomes part of the blockchain)
As per claim 2. The first computing system of claim 1, Lu teaches wherein the memberships rules are related to rights and functions in the blockchain network requested by the requesting entity and/or to the performances of a second computing system hosting the new node. [0028] (contract contains registration rules, privilege settings)
As per claim 3. The first computing system of claim 1, Lu teaches wherein the at least one processor and the at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the first computing system to further carry out at least receiving a digital certificate, identity information for the entity and requirements of the new node to be created, the requirements comprising at least one of rights to perform transactions in the blockchain network; rights to perform a consensus algorithm for validating transactions in the blockchain network; rights to register transactions to read or write data blocks in the blockchain; an identification of one or more channels in the blockchain network to which the new node requests access; rights to add ordering service endpoints to participate to consensus. [0026][0028][0037][0038] (receiving certificate identity in order to be allowed to join blockchain and perform transactions in the blockchain network)
As per claim 4. Lu teaches the first computing system of claim 1, wherein the evaluation process includes at least one of a verification of the identity of the entity on the basis of identity information or a validity check of the digital certificate. [0037][0038] (verification of signed certificates)
As per claim 5. The first computing system of claim 1, Luu teaches wherein the at least one processor and the at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the first computing system to further carry out at least accepting the join request if the results of the evaluation process indicates that the join request is acceptable; allocating rights on the permissioned blockchain to the entity; allocating rights on the one or more channels to the entity; sending to a second computing system of the entity a copy of a ledger of the blockchain network; sending, to the second computing system of the entity, a smart contract software or a consensus algorithm code to be run at the second computing system. [0028][0037][0038] (accepting join request and automatically verifying whether to allow joining of the blockchain based on smart contract terms)
As per claim 7. The first computing system of claim 1, Lu teaches wherein the at least one processor and the at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the first computing system to further carry out at least submitting the join request to a collective evaluation process involving users of nodes of the blockchain network, the collective evaluation process being performed using at least one smart contract registered in the permissioned blockchain; taking a decision to accept or reject the join request based on the results of the evaluation process including results of the collective evaluation process and results of the automated evaluation. [0026][0028] (smart contract join rules reached by consensus)
As per claim 8: The first computing system of claim 7, Lu teaches wherein the join request is submitted to the collective evaluation process only when the results of the automated evaluation indicates that the join request is not acceptable or needs further evaluation. [0039][0100] (putting requests on a blacklist and rejecting)
As per claim 9. The first computing system of claim 7, Lu teaches wherein the results of the collective evaluation process include a number of users having accepted or rejected the join request and the decision is taken based at least on the results of the collective evaluation process and on a consensus rule to be met to accept the join request. [0037][0038] (approving join request)
As per claim 11. Lu teaches A second computing system comprising at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the second computing system to carry out at least sending a join request to a first computing system, the first computing system hosting anode of a blockchain network based on a permissioned blockchain, wherein the join request is to join the blockchain network by connecting a new node hosted by the second computing system to the blockchain network; and receiving, from the first computing system, a response to the join request, wherein the response is generated based on results of an evaluation process of the join request, wherein the evaluation process includes an automated evaluation performed using at least one smart contract registered in the permissioned blockchain and configured to verify compliance of the join request with membership rules. [0026][0028][0037][0038] (teaches a smart contract that automatically evaluates a join request to a blockchain network according to the smart contract rules that have been reached via consensus) [0028][0036][0038] (teaches that a verified user becomes part of the blockchain)
As per claim 14. Lu teaches A method for use by a first computing system hosting at least one node in a blockchain network based on a permissioned blockchain, the method comprising receiving a join request from an entity requesting to join the blockchain network by connecting a new node to the blockchain network; triggering an evaluation process of the join request, wherein the evaluation process includes an automated evaluation performed using at least one smart contract registered in the permissioned blockchain and configured to verify compliance of the join request with membership rules; providing a response to the join request based on results of the evaluation process. [0026][0028][0037][0038] (teaches a smart contract that automatically evaluates a join request to a blockchain network according to the smart contract rules that have been reached via consensus) [0028][0036][0038] (teaches that a verified user becomes part of the blockchain)
As per claim 15. The method of claim 14, Lu teaches wherein the memberships rules are related to rights and functions in the blockchain network requested by the requesting entity and/or to the performances of a second computing system hosting the new node. [0028] (contract contains registration rules, privilege settings)
As per claim 16. The method of claim 14 Lu teaches further comprising receiving a digital certificate, identity information for the entity and requirements of the new node to be created, the requirements comprising at least one of - rights to perform transactions in the blockchain network; - rights to perform a consensus algorithm for validating transactions in the blockchain network; - rights to register transactions to read or write data blocks in the blockchain; - an identification of one or more channels in the blockchain network to which the new node requests access; - rights to add ordering service endpoints to participate to consensus. [0026][0028][0037][0038] (receiving certificate identity in order to be allowed to join blockchain and perform transactions in the blockchain network)
As per claim 17. The method of claim 14, Lu teaches wherein the evaluation process includes at least one of a verification of the identity of the entity on the basis of identity information or a validity check of the digital certificate. [0037][0038] (verification of signed certificates)
As per claim 18. The method of claim 14 further Lu teaches comprising accepting the join request if the results of the evaluation process indicates that the join request is acceptable; allocating rights on the permissioned blockchain to the entity; allocating rights on the one or more channels to the entity; sending to a second computing system of the entity a copy of a ledger of the blockchain network; sending, to the second computing system of the entity, a smart contract software or a consensus algorithm code to be run at the second computing system. [0028][0037][0038] (accepting join request and automatically verifying whether to allow joining of the blockchain based on smart contract terms)
As per claim 20. The method of claim 14 Lu teaches further comprising submitting the join request to a collective evaluation process involving users of nodes of the blockchain network, the collective evaluation process being performed using at least one smart contract registered in the permissioned blockchain; taking a decision to accept or reject the join request based on the results of the evaluation process including results of the collective evaluation process and results of the automated evaluation. [0026][0028] (smart contract join rules reached by consensus)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 12, 13, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu US 2019/0347656 in view of Beck US 2019/0173854.
As per claim 6. The first computing system of claim 1, Beck teaches wherein the at least one processor and the at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the first computing system to further carry out at least sending, to the second computing system, private data to be stored in a local private database of the new node. [0029] [0031] (teaches sending sensitive data to another node in a permissioned blockchain system, blockchain includes smart contracts)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to use the teaching of Beck with the prior art because it improves security of sensitive data.
As per claim 12. The second computing system of claim 11, Beck teaches wherein the at least one processor and the at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the second computing system to further carry out at least receiving a copy of a ledger of the blockchain network if the joined request is accepted; storing the copy of the ledger in the second computing system. [0029] (participating in transactions appended, and exchange information on the blockchain)
As per claim 13. The second computing system of claim 11, Beck teaches wherein the at least one processor and the at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the second computing system to further carry out at least receiving a smart contract software or a consensus algorithm code if the joined request is accepted; operatively communicating with one or more nodes in the blockchain network; and executing the smart contract software or the consensus algorithm code. [0029]-[0031] (smart contracts are executable programs used to enforce permissions on permissioned block, and executing consensus algorithms;) [0042][0043][0103][0104] (teaches wallet apps as smart contract software)
As per claim 19. The method of claim 14 Beck teaches further comprising sending, to the second computing system, private data to be stored in a local private database of the new node. [0029] [0031] (teaches sending sensitive data to another node in a permissioned blockchain system, blockchain includes smart contracts)
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu US 2019/0347656 in view of Upadhyay US 2025/0104058
As per claim 10. The first computing system of claim 1, Lu teaches carrying out evaluation process and results of assessment according to a smart contract[0028][0037][0038] (accepting join request and automatically verifying whether to allow joining of the blockchain based on smart contract terms)
Upadhyay teaches wherein the at least one processor and the at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the first computing system to further carry out at least generating a report of the evaluation process including the results of assessments performed by the at least one smart contract during the evaluation process and reasons for compliance or non-compliance with membership rules; and registering the report in a data block in a ledger of the permissioned blockchain. [0040] [0049]-[0053] (teaches compliance report, for rules according to a smart contract and storing said reports in blockchain)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to use the teaching of Upadhyay with the prior art because it provides useful information for the members of the blockchain
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439