Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/26/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 3/26/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/07/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 3/26/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Double Patenting
Claims 18 is rejected on the ground of non statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,267,409. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations in each claim set relate to the same concept.
US Patent 12267409
19/091,166
An apparatus, comprising: a processor configured to:
generate a receiver modified block of data at least partially responsive to adding an error detecting code to a block of data, the receiver modified block of data including the error detecting code;
generate a receiver authentication code at least partially responsive to the receiver modified block of data; and
generate an indication of a difference between the receiver authentication code and a transmitter authentication code.
An apparatus, comprising: a processor to:
generate a receiver modified block of data including an error detecting code;
generate a receiver detection code based, at least in part, on the receiver modified block of data; and
generate an indication of a difference between the receiver authentication code and a transmitter authentication code.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weaver (US Patent 5935268) in view of Barton (US Patent 5646997) and in view of Naeimi (US Patent Pub. 20210211467).
As per claim 1 and 10: (Currently Amended) An apparatus, comprising:
a processor, the processor configured to: generate an error detecting code at least partially responsive to a plain text data (Col 3, lines 9-35; generate the modified data block. A second error detection code is calculated for the first data. For example, where the original data block is modified by the insertion of the first data into the original data block to generate the modified data block);
However, Weaver does not specifically disclose generate a transmitter modified block of data at least partially responsive to adding the error detecting code to a block of data that includes the cipher text data (See Barton; Col 4, lines 10-25; embedding authentication data into a digital block, a digital signature is formed that is a reduced representation of the digital block. The signature and additional information supplied by the user are embedded into the digital block by replacing predetermined bits within the block. Encryption can be used to enhance authentication capability. The encrypted data can be further verified using error correction coding techniques); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, having the teachings of Weaver and Barton in it’s entirety, to modify the technique of Weaver for generating an error detection code for a modified data packet by adopting Barton's teaching for embedding authentication data into a digital block. The motivation would have been to improve authenticated encryption algorithms.
Weaver in view of Barton do not specifically disclose generate a cipher text data at least partially responsive to applying an encryption algorithm to the plain text data; generate an authentication code at least partially responsive to the transmitter modified block of data; generate an authenticated encrypted block of data at least partially responsive to the authentication code; and a transmitter, the transmitter configured to transmit an authenticated encrypted block of data (See Naeimi; Paragraph 23; computing platform 200 can provide data for transmission and offload encryption of data to network interface 240 and also control which specific packets, that contain segments of data, are transmitted (or re-transmitted) by network interface 240. For example, data can be encrypted using TLS or other encryption scheme).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, having the teachings of Weaver, Barton and Naeimi in it’s entirety, to modify the technique of Weaver for generating an error detection code for a modified data packet by adopting Naeimi's teaching for cryptographic protocols providing security of communications made over a computer network. The motivation would have been to improve authenticated encryption algorithms.
As per claim 2 and 11: (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to perform a derivation function generate the error detecting code from the plain text data (See Weaver; Col 3, lines 9-35; generate the modified data block. A second error detection code is calculated for the first data. For example, where the original data block is modified by the insertion of the first data into the original data block to generate the modified data block).
As per claim 3 and 12: (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the process is configured to generate an authenticated encrypted block of data at least partially responsive to the block of data and the authentication code (See Naeimi; Paragraph 23; computing platform 200 can provide data for transmission and offload encryption of data to network interface 240 and also control which specific packets, that contain segments of data, are transmitted (or re-transmitted) by network interface 240. For example, data can be encrypted using TLS or other encryption scheme).
As per claim 4: (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the transmitted block of data includes the cipher text data (See Barton; Col 4, lines 10-25; embedding authentication data into a digital block, a digital signature is formed that is a reduced representation of the digital block. The signature and additional information supplied by the user are embedded into the digital block by replacing predetermined bits within the block. Encryption can be used to enhance authentication capability. The encrypted data can be further verified using error correction coding techniques).
As per claim 5 and 13: (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the transmitted block of data docs not include the error detecting code that was added to the block of data to generate the transmitter modified block of data (See Naeimi; Paragraph 23; computing platform 200 can provide data for transmission and offload encryption of data to network interface 240 and also control which specific packets, that contain segments of data, are transmitted (or re-transmitted) by network interface 240. For example, data can be encrypted using TLS or other encryption scheme).
As per claim 6 and 14: (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the authenticated encryption algorithm is AES-GCM (See Naeimi; Paragraph 43; In accordance with some embodiments, described herein, decryption circuitry 250 can perform TLS data-path offload of decryption and authentication in accordance with AES-GCM).
As per claim 7 and 15: (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is provided at a communication system (See Naeimi; Paragraph 3; Various cryptographic protocols provide security of communications made over a computer network. Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) and Transport Layer Security (TLS) are examples of security protocols).
As per claim 8 and 16: (Original) The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the communication system is for a Compute Express Link (CXL) interconnect (See Naeimi; Paragraph 90; Compute Express Link (CXL)).
As per claim 9 and 17: (Original) The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the communication system is for a Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe) interconnect (See Naeimi; Paragraph 90; Peripheral Component Interconnect express).
As per claim 18: (New) An apparatus, comprising: a processor to:
generate a receiver detection code based, at least in part, on the receiver modified block of data (Col 3, lines 9-35; where the original data block is modified by the insertion of the VLAN header information into the original data block, a CRC is calculated using the VLAN header information shifted to a position corresponding to its position within the modified data block).
Weaver does not specifically disclose generate a receiver modified block of data including an error detecting code (See Barton; Col 4, lines 10-25; embedding authentication data into a digital block, a digital signature is formed that is a reduced representation of the digital block. The signature and additional information supplied by the user are embedded into the digital block by replacing predetermined bits within the block. Encryption can be used to enhance authentication capability. The encrypted data can be further verified using error correction coding techniques);
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, having the teachings of Weaver and Barton in it’s entirety, to modify the technique of Weaver for generating an error detection code for a modified data packet by adopting Barton's teaching for embedding authentication data into a digital block. The motivation would have been to improve authenticated encryption algorithms
Weaver in view of Barton do not specifically disclose generate an indication of a difference between the receiver authentication code and a transmitter authentication code (See Naeimi; Paragraph 41; FIG. 2B depicts an example of a receiver system. The receiver system can use similar elements of transmitter system of FIG. 2A and for the sake of illustration, receiver-side elements are described, but elements of transmitter and receiver systems can be combined).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, having the teachings of Weaver, Barton and Naeimi in it’s entirety, to modify the technique of Weaver for generating an error detection code for a modified data packet by adopting Naeimi's teaching for cryptographic protocols providing security of communications made over a computer network. The motivation would have been to improve authenticated encryption algorithms.
As per claim 19: (New) The apparatus of claim 18, wherein the processor to generate the error detection code based, at least in part, on plain text data (See Weaver; Col 3, lines 9-35; generate the modified data block. A second error detection code is calculated for the first data. For example, where the original data block is modified by the insertion of the first data into the original data block to generate the modified data block).
As per claim 20: (New) The apparatus of claim 19, wherein the processor to generate a cipher text data at least partially responsive to applying an encryption algorithm to the plain text data, the encryption algorithm optionally an encryption portion of an authenticated encryption process (See Weaver; Col 3, lines 9-35; generate the modified data block. A second error detection code is calculated for the first data. For example, where the original data block is modified by the insertion of the first data into the original data block to generate the modified data block).
Relevant Prior Art References
The following prior art is cited as being of interest to the claimed invention but has not been applied in any of the current rejections.
Peeters et al. - US Patent Pub. 2025/0117499 A1: The prior art teaches techniques for improving data encryption
Kim et al. - US Patent Pub. 2016/0180102 A1: The prior art teaches secure data management
Yuan et al. – US Patent Pub. 2013/0305061 A1: The prior art teaches data storage device and data protection by encrypting data
Conclusion
/ANTHONY D BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433