DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 20 has been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/23/26.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 6/23/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: the word “a” is missing before “first pattern” at line 5. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 11, 13-14, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuki et al. (US 2023/0295797).
Claim 1: Matsuki teaches a film deposition method (Abst.), comprising the steps of: supplying a first gas to a showerhead in a chamber (¶¶ 0027, 0030); generating plasma in the chamber by applying RF power to a susceptor having a substrate located thereon during a first time period (¶ 0034); applying a bias power to the showerhead during a second time period (which may be the same as the first time period) (¶ 0034); supplying a second gas and a precursor to chamber (¶¶ 0027, 0030); and depositing a film by applying the RF power (¶¶ 0046-0047).
Claim 2: Matsuki also teaches that the power and bias are turned on and off repeatedly throughout the process (Fig. 4).
Claim 5: Matsuki teaches supplying the RF power at a desired level (i.e. claimed above a predetermined threshold) (¶ 0034, e.g.).
Claim 11: Matsuki teaches that the susceptor comprises a heater on the susceptor (¶ 0024).
Claims 13, 14 and 16: Matsuki teaches a computer including a process which is programmed to run each of the process steps of claims 1, 2 and 5, as discussed above (¶ 0029).
Claim 19: Matsuki teaches that the bias power is supplied from a first generator (81) and the RF power is supplied from a second generator (84) (¶ 0034).
Claims 1-3, 5-6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2013/0005081).
Claims 1-2 and 12: Chen teaches a process of forming a passivation film (Abst.), comprising the steps of: applying a bias to a showerhead in a chamber (¶ 0032); generating plasma in the chamber by applying RF power to a substrate support (i.e. claimed susceptor) for a first period while a substrate is on the support (¶¶ 0032-0033); applying a bias power to the showerhead for a second time period (¶¶ 0032-0033); stopping the bias power to the showerhead (i.e. claimed blocking); supplying a second gas and a precursor to the chamber to form the passivation film (¶ 0033); and repeating the step of applying bias to the showerhead (¶ 0034).
Claim 3: Chen further teaches that the chamber is connected to a vacuum pump (¶ 0038) and that the chamber is set to a first pressure during the bias applying second time period and then adjusted to a lower pressure after the bias is blocked (¶¶ 0032-0033). While Chen does not expressly mention a valve, the use of a valve to adjust the pressure is implicit in the disclosure of Chen because on would be required to adjust the pressure using a pump.
Claim 5: Chen teaches use of a predetermined RF power frequency (see, e.g., ¶ 0033).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuki.
Claim 4: Matsuki is silent regarding the ratio of the first gas and second gas. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the amount of each gas used is selected based on the desired stoichiometry of the film formed (see, e.g., ¶ 0033 which discusses the use of gases). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected less of the first gas than the second gas depending on the desired ratios.
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in light of Matsuki.
Claims 13-16: Chen teaches each of the process steps of claims 13-17, as discussed above, but does not expressly recite a memory storing device and processor programmed to perform the method steps. Matsuki teaches a similar process of forming a film and explains that a computer is programmed to control each of the process steps (¶ 0029). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have utilized a computer with a memory and a processor to control the process of Chen with the predictable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERT A VETERE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712