DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . All the claims have been examined on the basis of the merit of the claims.
Priority
The present application claims foreign priority benefits from KR10-20240047906 filed on 04/09/2024 in Korea. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-12, filed 05/08/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 14 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of PARK reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-10 and 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US-20150379908-A1, hereinafter as KIM) in view of PARK et al. (US-20210408208-A1, hereinafter as PARK).
In regard to claim 1, KIM discloses a display panel (referring through paragraph 0083-0090, fig.4, display panel 100) comprising: a pixel circuit disposed in a display area (pixel circuit 140); a light-emitting diode disposed in the display area (light emitting device 150); a repair circuit disposed in a peripheral area outside of the display area (voltage measuring circuit 400 and/or data driving unit 200, fig.4 and/or pad circuit 170 which is disposed inside or near data driving unit); a repair line extending from the peripheral area to the display area in a first direction (repair line 181 in the vertical direction); a voltage line extending in the first direction (ELVDD1 line in horizontal direction); a data line disposed in the display area and extending in a second direction crossing the first direction (data lines 120, para 0029, in vertical direction, fig.1);and a first connection line electrically connecting the repair line to the voltage line (part of line ELV1 and W1 as a first connection line which connects repair line 181 to the voltage line ELVDD1), wherein the data line is electrically connected to the pixel circuit (data line 120 is connected to the pixel circuit 140, para 0032), and the repair data line is electrically connected to the repair circuit (repair line 180 is connected to the repair circuit as interpreted above).
KIM discloses the invention except for “a repair data line disposed in the peripheral area and extending in the second direction.”
In KIM the repair lines are in the vertical direction (first direction). This positional change from a vertical direction to a horizontal position would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, however, for the benefit of the doubt, PARK teaches this limitation.
In the same field of invention, PARK discloses a repair data line disposed in the peripheral area and extending in the second direction (fig. 6, repair liens RPL disposed in the horizontal (X-direction)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the invention, to use PARK’s teachings to reduce routing congestion and create a short horizontal jump connections so that the repair lines don’t have to compete with the data line for the routing direction and can be disposed in a different functional layer in KIM’s invention.
In regard to claim 14, KIM discloses an electronic device (fig.4, display device 10) comprising: a display panel comprising a display area in which a plurality of pixels are disposed and a peripheral area outside of the display area display panel 100 on which pixels are disposed in the display area and a peripheral area outside of the display area), wherein the display panel comprises: a pixel circuit disposed in the display area (pixel circuit 140); a light-emitting diode disposed in the display area (light emitting device 150); a repair circuit disposed in the peripheral area outside of the display area (voltage measuring circuit 400 and/or data driving unit 200, fig.4 and/or pad circuit 170 which is disposed inside or near data driving unit); a repair line extending from the peripheral area to the display area in a first direction (repair line 181); a voltage line extending in the first direction (ELVDD1 line); a data line disposed in the display area and extending in a second direction crossing the first direction (data lines 120, para 0029, in vertical direction, fig.1); and a first connection line electrically connecting the repair line to the voltage line (part of line ELV1 and W1 as a first connection line which connects repair line 181 to the voltage line ELVDD1),wherein the data line is electrically connected to the pixel circuit (data line 120 is connected to the pixel circuit 140, para 0032), and the repair data line is electrically connected to the repair circuit (repair line 180 is connected to the repair circuit as interpreted above).
KIM discloses the invention except for “a repair data line disposed in the peripheral area and extending in the second direction.”
In KIM the repair lines are in the vertical direction (first direction). This positional change from a vertical direction to a horizontal position would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, however, for the benefit of the doubt, PARK teaches this limitation.
In the same field of invention, PARK discloses a repair data line disposed in the peripheral area and extending in the second direction (fig. 6, repair liens RPL disposed in the horizontal (X-direction)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the invention, to use PARK’s teachings to reduce routing congestion and create a short horizontal jump connections so that the repair lines don’t have to compete with the data line for the routing direction and can be disposed in a different functional layer in KIM’s invention.
In regard to claim 10, KIM as modified by PARK discloses the display panel of claim 1, further comprising: a second connection line electrically connecting the pixel circuit or the repair line to the light-emitting diode (a second connection line W5 connecting the LED is to the repair line 182, fig.3A or a second connection line W5 connecting the pixel circuit 142 to the OLED via a welding point, fig.3A, KIM).
In regard to claim 13, KIM as modified by PARK discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein the repair line overlaps the voltage line in a plan view (repair line 181 overlaps part of voltage line – ELV1/ELV2, fig. 4, KIM).
In regard to claims 9, 21, KIM as modified by PARK discloses the display panel of claim 1, the electronic device of claim 14, wherein the first connection line comprises a metal (part of line ELV1 and W1 as a first connection line which connects repair line 181 to the voltage line ELVDD1 is a conductive metal line, KIM),
KIM as modified by PARK discloses the invention except for “and a thickness of the first connection line is about 1,000 Å or less.”
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make a thickness of the first connection line is about 1,000 Å or less, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). The motivation to make the thickness of the connection line in this range is to make the welding and the cutting of the connection line easier using laser welding or laser cutting, para 0067-0068.
In regard to claims 2, 15, KIM as modified by PARK discloses the display panel of claim 1, the electronic device of claim 14, wherein the pixel circuit (referring to fig.3, PARK) comprises: a first transistor (T1) comprising a semiconductor layer (semiconductor layer between gate electrode and S/D channel modulation) and a first gate electrode (gate of T1) and electrically connected between a driving voltage line (VDL) and a second node (second node as labelled in the reproduced fig.3, see below), wherein the first gate electrode is disposed over the semiconductor layer (gate of T1 on the semiconductor layer) and electrically connected to a first node (connected to the first node as labelled in the reproduced fig.3, see below); a second transistor (T5) electrically connected between the first node (connected to the first node as labelled in the reproduced fig.3, see below) and the data line (DL); a capacitor (Cst) comprising a second electrode (either of anode or cathode of Cst) electrically connected between the first node (connected to the first node as labelled in the reproduced fig.3, see below) and the second node (second node as labelled in the reproduced fig.3, see below); a third transistor (T7) electrically connected between the first node (the first node as labelled in the reproduced fig.3, see below) and a first voltage line (VSL); a fourth transistor (T7) electrically connected between the second node (second node as labelled in the reproduced fig.3, see below) and a third node (third node as labelled in the reproduced fig.3, see below) to which a pixel electrode (either of cathode or anode) of the light-emitting diode is electrically connected (diode LE is connected); and a fifth transistor (T2) electrically connected between the third node (third node as labelled in the reproduced fig.3, see below) and a second voltage line (VIL).”
In regard to claims 3, 16, KIM as modified by PARK discloses the display panel of claim 2, the electronic device of claim 15, wherein the voltage line (understood as the driving voltage line) comprises one of the first voltage line and the second voltage line (comprises one of: VIL or VSL, PARK).
In regard to claims 4,17, KIM as modified by PARK discloses the display panel of claim 2, the electronic device of claim 15, wherein the pixel circuit further comprises a sixth transistor (T3, PARK) electrically connected between the second node (the second node as labelled in the reproduced fig. 3, see above, PARK) and a third voltage line (VRL, PARK), and the voltage line comprises one of the first voltage line, the second voltage line, and the third voltage line (VDL comprises: VRL, VIL and VSL, PARK).
In regard to claim 18, KIM as modified by PARK discloses the electronic device of claim 15, wherein the semiconductor layer comprises an oxide semiconductor material. (Official Notice: generally understood and found in the in the art).
In regard to claim 5, KIM as modified by PARK discloses the display panel of claim 2, wherein the light-emitting diode (LE, PARK) comprises a pixel electrode, a common electrode disposed over the pixel electrode, and an intermediate layer disposed between the pixel electrode and the common electrode (anode, cathode and semiconductor layer between cathode and anode, PARK), and the voltage line comprises a common voltage line that transfers a common voltage to the common electrode (VSL line, PARK).
Claim(s) 8 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM in view of PARK and further in view of Chen et al. (US-20130120230-A1, hereinafter as Chen).
In regard to claims 8, 20, KIM as modified by PARK discloses the display panel of claim 1, the electronic device of claim 14,
KIM as modified by PARK does not disclose “wherein the first connection line comprises a conductive oxide material.”
Chen discloses wherein the first connection line comprises a conductive oxide material (fig.8, 308a, a connection unit that connects to the repairing lines 307a and 307b, para 0040 is made up of Indium Tin Oxide (ITO), claim 5 and claim 11 which is a conductive oxide material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the invention, to use Chen’s teachings of ITO for connecting lines in KIM’s invention which are disposed in the display substrate for the benefit of high transparency so that they do not block the image display light.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 11-12 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regard to claim 6, KIM as modified by PARK discloses the display panel of claim 2, wherein the semiconductor layer comprises an oxide semiconductor material (Official Notice: generally understood in the art),
KIM as modified by PARK does not disclose “and the first connection line and the semiconductor layer are disposed in a same layer.”
In regard to claim 7, KIM as modified by PARK discloses the display panel of claim 2, KIM as modified by PARK does not disclose further comprising: a first insulating layer disposed below the semiconductor layer, wherein the repair line is disposed below the first insulating layer.
In regard to claim 11, KIM as modified by PARK discloses the display panel of claim 10, KIM as modified by PARK does not disclose “further comprising: a third connection line electrically connected to the repair circuit and overlapping the repair line, wherein, in case that the second connection line is electrically connected to the repair line, the third connection line is electrically connected to the repair line.”
In regard to claim 12, KIM as modified by PARK discloses the display panel of claim 10, KIM as modified by PARK does not disclose “wherein, in case that the second connection line is electrically connected to the repair line, the first connection line is cut, and the repair line and the voltage line are electrically separated from each other.”
In regard to claim 19, KIM discloses the electronic device of claim 14, KIM does not disclose “wherein the display panel further comprises a second connection line electrically connecting the light-emitting diode to the pixel circuit or the repair line, in case that the second connection line is electrically connected to the repair line, the first connection line is cut, and the repair line and the voltage line are electrically separated from each other.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEEPROSE SUBEDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627