DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on 03/27/2025 has been entered into this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 10/05/2026 has been entered and considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 10/05/2026, has been accepted for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 15is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brown et al. (5,316,667 Applicant cited reference).
Regarding claim 1, Brown discloses an optical sensor assembly interface controller 234 (that FIGS. 30 and 31 show) of/for a biological fluid separation system ("blood processing apparatus": see column 1 , lines 44-45) including a centrifuge ("blood processing centrifuge" 78, comprising a "bowl element" 80 and "spool element" 82: see also figure 20) configured to receive a separation chamber ("circumferential flow chamber assembly" 74 or 76: see figures 16-19)(col. 26, lines 14-18) in which a biological fluid is separated into at least two separated components included in a system for monitoring the interface region between cellular constituents and plasma in a blood separation chamber employs a sensor mechanism for emitting upon the interface region energy that is absorbed by the cellular constituents (figs. 20, 25A-25C,30, 31A-31B, 32, 33A-33C and 34A), the optical sensor assembly (234) comprising:
a light source ("light source" 236) configured to emit light having a first intensity toward the separation chamber (74/76), with at least a portion of the light exiting the separation chamber (74/76) as transmitted light (see column 30, lines 52-62);
a light detector ("light detector" 244) configured to receive at least a portion of the transmitted light as received light (see column 30, lines 52-62) and to transmit a signal having a voltage and a pulse width, wherein the voltage is based at least in part on a second intensity of the received light; and
a controller ("control circuit" 252 + "interface control circuit" 270: see
specifically figures 32 and 34A) programmed to receive the signal from the light detector ("light detector" 244) and determine a location of an interface between two of the at least two separated components within the separation chamber based at least in part on the signal, wherein the controller (252+270) is further programmed to control the light source (236) to dynamically adjust the first intensity during a biological fluid separation procedure and/or to control the light detector to dynamically adjust an amplification of the signal during the biological fluid separation procedure.
For the purposes of clarity, the control circuit (252) adjusts the light source (236) so that the intensity of light hitting the light detector (244) remains constant, which means that the signal transmitted by the light detector (244) has no pulse width (or the pulse width is infinitive) due to this control. The emitted signal has however a voltage and a pulse width when not taking into account the dynamic control of the light source by the controller (the control is only claimed further in the claim).
Further, the control circuit (252) Of the controller (252+270) adjusts the light source (236) so that the intensity of light hitting the (first) light detector (244) remains constant (see column 32, lines 3-12). If the emitted light is for instance absorbed by red blood cells in the interface region, less light is received by the light detector (244) and the light intensity emitted by light source (236) is increased such that light detector (244) again receives the same amount of light intensity. A second light source (258A-C) is connected in series to (first) light source (236) such that it emits a light having an intensity that is proportional to the intensity of the light emitted by (first) light source (236). The light emitted by the second light source (258A-C) is detected by a second light detector (268). The second light detector (268) thus detects the change of the intensity Of the light emitted by light source (236) and transmits a signal having a voltage and a pulse width (see "square pulse" 272 in figure 33B and "successive pulses" 272A and 272B in figure 33C). That signal is used by the interface control circuit (270: see figure 34A) of the controller (252+270) to determine a location of an interface between two of the at least two separated components within the separation chamber (74/76). The controller (252+270) thus determines a location of an interface between two of the at least two separated components within the separation chamber (74/76) based at least in part on the signal transmitted by the (first) light detector (244).
In addition, the control circuit (252) Of the controller (252+270) adjusts the light source (236) so that the intensity of light hitting the (first) light detector (244) remains constant (see I1 in figures 33A-33C). If the emitted light is for instance absorbed by red blood cells in the interface region, less light is received by the light detector (244) and the light intensity emitted by light source (236) is increased such that light detector (244) again receives the same amount of light intensity (see column 32, lines 3-12). The light source (236) is thus dynamically adjusted during a biological fluid separation procedure.
As to claim 2, Brown also discloses wherein the controller (252+270) is programmed to control the light source to dynamically adjust the first intensity during the biological fluid separation procedure and/or to control the light detector to dynamically adjust an amplification of the signal during the biological fluid separation procedure based at least in part on the voltage of the signal (see column 32, lines 13-15; figures 33A-33C).
As to claims 8-10, Brown also discloses a structure that is use in a system that is implementing limitations such as, wherein the controller is programmed to determine whether to dynamically adjust the first intensity and/or the amplification when a predetermined volume of biological fluid has been separated during the biological fluid separation procedure (claim 8); wherein the controller is programmed to determine whether to dynamically adjust the first intensity and/or the amplification when a predetermined amount of time has elapsed during the biological fluid separation procedure (claim 9); and wherein the controller is programmed to determine whether to dynamically adjust the first intensity and/or the amplification when there has been a spillover during the biological fluid separation procedure (claim 10) is/are included in the intensity control circuit 252 determinations to adjusts the input to the source diode 236 so that the intensity of light hitting the detector 244 remains constant (col. 31, lines 41-53) and the controller ("control circuit" 252 + "interface control circuit" 270: see specifically figures 32 and 34A) programmed to determine "spill-over." (col. 10, lines 33-41).
For purposes of clarity, when a claim takes the form “A or B”, a prior art reference teaching only A is anticipatory, as is a prior art reference teaching only B: that’s what the “or” means, that you are setting forth alternatives. "When a claim covers several structures or compositions, either generically or as alternatives, the claim is deemed anticipated if any of the structures or compositions within the scope of the claim is known in the prior art." Brown v. 3M, 265 F.3d 1349, 1351, 60 USPQ2d 1375, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2001), see MPEP 2131. In the present case, Since Brown teaches one of the alternatives set forth in the claim, the claim is anticipated.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 and 11-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references listed in the attached form PTO-892 teach of other prior art optical sensor assembly of/for a biological fluid separation system.
Conclusion
/ISIAKA O AKANBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877